Skip to main content

Used 2004 Volvo V70 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$5,466 - $8,778

Used V70 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...23

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

It's not cool, but it's certainly utilitarian.

J. M., 11/03/2016
updated 05/07/2021
2004 Volvo V70 2.4 Fwd 4dr Wagon (2.4L 5cyl 5M)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic all-around vehicle. It's big and comfy enough for a normal person, can haul whatever you need, can tow as much as a small truck (3300lbs), gets 30mpg on the highway (25mpg mixed), and is fun to drive (5 speed manual transmission.) I'm a Volvo enthusiast, so my opinion is slightly biased. I got this wagon for a really good deal because it needed some body work. I performed the necessary repairs and have put ~67,000 miles on it in a little over 4 years. Parts are relatively inexpensive if you shop online. Places like FCPEuro and EEuroParts have mostly everything in stock and have fair pricing. RockAuto has a lot of stuff, too. There are several dedicated Volvo forums that cover just about every repair possible. I will continue to drive it and upkeep it until the wheels fall off. It's a very useful, all around good vehicle. November 4th, 2020 - the car now has 230k miles on it and is still going strong. It’s still the best vehicle that I’ve ever owned. May 6th, 2021 - the old Volvo has survived the pandemic thus far (with 233k miles and counting!)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Like V70 2.5T

Rich Tebbetts, 08/02/2015
2004 Volvo V70 2.5T Fwd 4dr Wagon (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Nice car. Got used in 2010 with 91,000 miles. For major repairs only had to replace radiator in2012. Still doing well at 122,000.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Bumpy Beauty

donalan, 04/06/2016
2004 Volvo V70 2.5T AWD 4dr Wagon (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

We own a 2004 V70 T2.5 AWD Wagon and we like it a lot. Plain looking on the outside but not dower. Inside the materials all look pretty good after 12 years and 188k miles. Acceleration is a strong point while handling is capable but the bumps from the road transmit jolts and noise to passengers inside - not a luxury ride. In fact its bumpier and noisier inside than most non-luxury cars. That said its not terrible just not a smooth ride. Seats are well crafted and very comfortable. The rear leg room is limited for a family car. My kids are now in their teens and we will need a car with a bigger back seat - not fair to sentence anyone over 5'6" to a long car ride in the rear of this vehicle. We can get another 5" of rear seat leg room in a Toyota Highlander. Storage is ample and the cargo capacity is excellent for a car. We can still pack for a 2 week vacation without a roof rack. Reliability has been pretty good for a car this age. We did have a radiator failure that leaked coolant into the transmission (and transmission fluid into the radiator) - that could have been catastrophic if we had not caught it immediately (e.g. driven it for more than a few miles in that condition). Otherwise its been struts, engine mounts, 02 sensors, brakes etc - all normal wear and tear over 12 yrs 188k mi.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!!

daisykl, 02/17/2012
2004 Volvo V70 2.5T Fwd 4dr Wagon (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

We bought this as a family car. I am so happy we did! We have owned it since it was new- no problems!

Report Abuse

4.13 out of 5 stars

OIL PRESSURE ISSUE

cyclist57, 12/02/2014
2004 Volvo V70 2.5T Fwd 4dr Wagon (2.5L 5cyl Turbo 5A)
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

There is a problem with the oil pan seals that requires attention! My 2004 v70 with 67k flashed the oil warning light twice for a second at a time and then a warning messge NO OIL PRESSURE STOP. 300 feet later I parked the car and then had it towed to the shop...started to place on tow and then to move into the garage....Result was the engine was gone! Oil level was checked after first warning light flash...full! Not real happy as I just bought the car....result is a replacement motor and the oil seals replaced before it was installed....My 2000 v70 never had seals replaced...still does not drip or burn oil at 200k....

Report Abuse
12345...23
Items per page: