Used 1994 Volvo 850 Wagon Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$767 - $1,849

Used 850 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Old Driver's Opinion

OldDriver, 01/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These are great cars and are very safe. I have had no problems and this is my second Volvo to own. I will buy another Volvo.

Report Abuse

Happy volvo wagon owner

Caribou, 08/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall the vehicle has been a solid performer. Excellent power, excellent winter driving, everyone loves the heated seats, very roomy for passengers, and plenty of room for cargo. Purchased car with 30,000 miles - currently going strong at 116,000. Repairs in the first 3 years were minor. Howeer, within the last two years had to replace the transmission and correct several oil leaks. The oil leak repairs were all minor at less than $100 each. The A/C evaporator needs to be replaced. Our car included: 6 Disc CD Changer, and third seat.

Report Abuse

Safety Matters

ADuckGirl, 08/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our second Volvo, and both my husband and I love it. We were originially sold on the Volvo safety record, but after driving it for a few weeks, we realized that the performance of this vehicle is also outstanding. We got it right before our son was born, and although having a rear-facing child seat in it was a bit of a tight fit, now that he's in a forward facing seat, we don't have a negative thing to say about it. It's roomy enough for our child, three dogs, and all our gear for vacations, and it's extremely reliable.

Report Abuse

Excellent safe and fun family car

Caribou1, 08/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In 1997 bought 1994 Turbo Wagon with 30,000 miles. Vehicle equiped with heated front seats, headlight washers, trip computer, third-seat, integrated child seat, 6 CD disc changer, moonroof. Overall - the car has performed very well and still retains a lot of pep. Repairs in the first 3 years of ownership were minor. The car currently has 116,000 miles - and recent repairs, as one would expect, have been more serious: replaced transmission, A/C evaporator needs to be replaced. However, vehicle does not burn oil, and has only sprung minor oil leaks that were inexpensively repaired.

Report Abuse

Great family car

Bunger, 02/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These cars are very safe, and dependable. There are problems with the auto transmission, so expect to replace it about every 100K miles.

Report Abuse

unreliable, but a good car overall

zimco, 06/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We've had our Volvo for 10 years and in the past few, it has shown much aging. The air conditioning broke approximately 6 times and was VERY costly to fix. It proved a huge paralysis in the reliability of the vehicle, and made it a bad summer car. It can have a stiff ride and can be the a little noisy because of the back door jiggling over rough pavement. However, it is a pleasant car to drive, with good pickup and surefooted handling. It can accomodate up to 5 adults in comfort, and is a quiet cruiser and highway merger. Reliability aside, it is a comfortable, capable, athletic, enjoyable car.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive, but not fun to own

pat, 11/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We purchased this vehicle with 82,000 miles, and sold it with 139,000. During this time, the car needed new tires every 12,000 miles because they wore unevenly, even with proper inflation. The brakes needed to be replaced every 10,000 miles, becasue the rotors warped, even with minmal use of the brakes. The radiator, catalytic coverter, O2 sensors, engine components, power seat, and blower motor needed replaced. In addition, the AC broke twice, and we had an oil and coolant leak repaired. After we were hit by a runaway car, it took 6 trips to THE DEALER to fix the car properly. The dealer parted out are car during the fifth trip, swapping used parts for the newer ones off our car.

Report Abuse

clean machine

ultrasuperchump, 06/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

comfortable, reliable, I feel very safe in it

Report Abuse

Looking for a bigger car

Dick Dastardly, 07/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I replaced a 95 VW Jetta with the 850 Turbo Wagon. I am very impressed with the cargo capacity of this vehicle. The built in child seat is invaluable as it allows for a third person to sit with my two children in the back seat comfortably. It does lack a cup holder which is inconvenient but can be added via special order. The turbo adds power to create 220HP which comes in handy. Very comfortable ride. With 117K miles it drives without flaw. Mileage is fair with 18-19mpg in city. Overall a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

more lights than a pinball machine

hangthenorweigans, 03/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car, it's not printable...O2 sensors, again and again, emission failures, power seat failure , REAR MAIN ENGINE SEAL failure. Only one Dealer in a 4 hour radius, means zero customer service, no loaners and no concern. The worst vehicle experience of my life. Don't be blinded by the look, or the pitch by other owners, they are two embarrassed to admit that this car is higher maintenance than a 6 week old infant.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050