Used 2001 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
397 reviews
List Price Estimate
$1,747 - $4,406

Used Jetta for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...40

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.88 out of 5 stars

2002 Wagon rocks!

MarkAS, 02/27/2002
GLS 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
183191 of 183193 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2002 Jetta wagon in Oct 2001 and I love the car. I got the 2.0 liter 5-speed manual transmission and this car has no problems accelerating with one person. The cornering is excellent and the ride feels like a sports car. The interior looks and feels great (esp. at night). Small size makes parking easy. The wagon gives you almost as much cargo space as a small SUV with much better gas mileage.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

The real review on a jetta

jarren1, 04/25/2011
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Germans use nothing but quality when it comes to their cars. VW are a well designed machine you have to do regular maintenance. I had my jetta for well over a year and a half No problems. I even went to basic and ait, the car sat for 8 mnths. got back jumped the battery and she was still in good condition. Oh and when it come to quality. They took the time have the mirrors self adjust when u put the car in reverse, a safe fail feature on ur windows if anything obstucts the window from going up. Not to mention i got stuck in the snow and no choce but to floor it at over 8,000 rpms for over 5 mins to get free. It makes me mad when someone talks down on a perfectly good car. The jetta is a Go.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Can't get a better Drivers' car for the money.

matthew32, 02/23/2013
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Have owned this car for about three years. It had 94k mi when I bought it and now has 118k. Have done a lot of repairs, but not any more than for the multitude of 100+ k mi vehicles I have owned in the past. The car came with service records and is in excellent condition for the age and mileage. I have done brakes, alternator, clutch, suspension, front susp bushings and ball joints. Unexpected repairs were: Fan Control Module, PS Pressure hose, timing chain. The TC broke at 117K, causing damage to 5 valves and an injector. Cost of repairs were around $4500, but still worth it considering that I have a 12 yr old car with 118k mi that looks, runs and drives like a new car.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Highly Recomended

dmo1860, 03/14/2015
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is outstanding. I have 250,000 miles on her and she still drives like she has 80,000. She has the 2.0L and is extremely reliable. The engine is paired with the 5 speed manual gearbox and is an absolute joy. I have no doubt that this car will make it another 250,000 miles! And it has been a hard 200K miles on it too (driven by a teenage boy.) If one is for sale and its in good condition, I highly recoment getting it. Wether it's for a first car, or a car for your kid. if you take care of it, it'll take care of you. It is the most solid car I've ever driven and I hope I'll Never have to get rid of it.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

awesome car

dbanda51, 10/19/2012
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

this is my 2nd vw. i had a 99.5 jetta 2.0 as my 1st car and loved it except for it was to slow.great on gas though. i later got a bmw 323i and kind of liked it but not as much as the jetta so i got rid of it. and finally found the 01 jetta Wolfsburg. it had everything i needed, 5 speed, sport seats, turbo, 4cyl (for great mpg).i have owned it for about a year and a half.has never let me down.previous owner kept everything tight and said he never got check engine light, as of today i haven't either. i have also added coilovers, APR tune (making 215hp!), forge dv valve (makes the psshh sound), 17' rims, and a Nav system, i have put about 20k miles on it without a prob. this car is awesome!!!

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Throttle body problems

Dawn, 12/05/2004
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Problems with throttle body within months of purchase. Car on third throttle body. Extreme loss of power on freeways and uphills. Two near accidents. In last 4 months, it has been in an authorized repair shop 5/6 times with thousands of dollars worth of repairs. Contacted VW corporate 5 times. Never asked for new car or rental for inconveniences, just requesting a safe reliable car (like mine). V. disappointed with VW customer service more so than vehicle.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A True REVIEW

lovemyjetta4, 11/29/2011
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 4A)
25 of 31 people found this review helpful

I just Bought My 2001 Volkswagen Jetta VR6 GLX it has 173,000 miles, usually this many miles will scare a typical buyer away. this car has been nothing but reliable, it does have a little sputter problem but im willing to fix this car. I came from a Saturn L200 and it was way more expensive than this car to fix (MOST PARTS) When most people buy a Volkswagen or ANY import for this matter, they think they can run the crap out of it and not have to repair it. Germans are GENIUS Engineers and this is my 3rd Jetta since 18 and im sorry, but NOTHING beats a VW. they do have issues but ALL cars do, usually anyone complains when they have to spend money. for any new buyer dont be afraid of VW's

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Good When It Works, Which is 10% of the Time

ME, 03/14/2007
GLS TDI 4dr Sedan (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is great when it works. It has good handling, and a nice feel, but it is the biggest pile of junk I have ever owned. I have spent more money in one year on repairs than all the other cars I have owned put together. I will never buy another and am trying to get rid of it. So don't ever buy a VW! Most people I have talked to have similar experiences.

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

I know you might love it, but please DON'T buy it!!!

tsheanance, 02/22/2011
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Dear potential buyer of a VW Jetta, I have a 2001 VR6 GLX. I absolutely loved the looks of it, but almost as soon as it 100k miles, the car has started to fall to pieces! Everyday it's like a part is needed to be repaired. In my car I have replaced the serpentine belt, air pump, back break light...my radiator is still leaking coolant and I need a transmission control module chip ($950) since it shifts hard into third gear. The bumper is WAY too low to the ground and I actually broke it off twice (once at Petsmart parking lot...talk about embarrassing). Also, the car is cheap on the inside. The radio button is currently unraveling. You touch it, it breaks. LESSON LEARNED.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Hate it!

megan_724, 06/29/2005
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Never will I buy a VW again. I've had to replace the brake sensor twice, all spark plugs, and numerous other "small" repairs that total thousands of dollars. My car dies when I am driving down the road, with no explanation. The interior fabric is crap. The bumper falls off for NO reason. I would never recommend a VW, even to my worst enemy. Whatever you do, buy a Honda or Nissan.

Report Abuse
12345...40
Items per page:
51050