Used 2000 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
72 reviews
List Price Estimate
$1,110 - $2,595

Used Golf for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

Still lovin' it.

JStew, 02/17/2004
GLS 4dr Hatchback
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought the car new in 2000. Have had only a few minor problems. Yes, the oil issue is a pain but it improved over time. I've had the hatch latch repaired under warranty and the cruise control module was replaced, but otherwise no problems. Great gas mileage, still fun to drive. Hatch holds a lot of stuff. A great basic car.

Report Abuse

3.13 out of 5 stars

If only it would work reliably ...

pparis, 04/24/2003
GLS TDi 4dr Hatchback
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I was drawn to the TDI by its sleek design, great handling, and its incredible fuel efficiency (50 miles a gallon means that I go to a gas station a little more than once a month). What I did not expect, after I had owned several Golfs prior to this one, were the major problems with reliability. Nearly from day one, things started to break: sunroof, door locks, glow plugs, electronic command module, my ignition key was not recognized and the car disabled itself. Now, the turn-lights aren't working and the "check-engine" light is on again. I should have been more suspicious of the 2-yr warranty. All that in 2.5 years plus really lousy service is more than I can handle.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Love/Hate Relationship

ExOfficio, 04/26/2002
GL 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my 4rth VW. The new Golf is by far superior. But with VW you are either lucky or poor. More often than not, the latter. While I love many things about the Golf, this will be my last VW. In 1st year - 5spd needed to be completely replaced due to a mftr defect in the 5th gear. Had to battle VW 6 mths with dangerous tranny (wouldn't go into 1st+5th gears -I had to start in 2nd!). Many other problems during the 60000 miles so far. Fun to drive but at what price. Love car but hate reliability. I had it shipped directly from Germany hoping it would prove more reliable than my previous VWs. Some who have been luckier than I, but more who swear they will never buy VWs again.

Report Abuse

3.63 out of 5 stars

It's Great ... If It's Working

sherman, 09/11/2007
GLS 4dr Hatchback
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

My wife and I bought our Golf GLS four-door new in 1999. It only took a couple of months before bizarre problems manifested themselves. Windows that fell into doors, mysterious rattling, seatbelts that refused to work, a radio that went on and off by itself ... plus more serious issues such as transmission problems and sudden brake failure (that's right: failure!), blown head gaskets at 30,000 miles, fluid leaks. Good luck arguing warranty issues with your VW dealer. We spent at least $1000 a year fixing the Golf every year we had it -- factor that in if you buy one. Buy a VW if you're wealthy and/or married to a decent mechanic.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car!

Eckeman, 10/27/2009
GL 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this one with 5K miles way back in 2000 and it has been going strong for over 9 years. The only major issue I've had was brake rotor and pad replacement at 25K, which was costly. We also had some minor oxygen sensor and catalytic converter issues that were under warranty and easily resolved. I replaced the timing belt and water pump at 90K, as recommended. So in short, we’ve put nearly 120K on this thing with very few problems. The design is very sleek; it hardly looks dated after nearly 10 years. The car is great on the highway, with a very solid, tight feel. It has great safety features (4 air bags, ABS). I love the steering, controls, dash lighting and the interior space.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

250K and counting!

4UHONEY, 02/10/2010
GLS 4dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Got w/40K put about 210K on it, overall it's been great, the regular VWGolf problems, the front power windows broke about 3/4 times but VW had a recall and fixed for good, refunded me the $ spent on fixing the previous times, the H/L bulbs would burn every about 4/5 months I carry a spare set in the glove box, other than that just regular maint.the 2000cc eng use oil, thats normal 1 qt every 4 or 5K since new, changed timing belt 1st time @ 150K and was still like new, changed water pump as well just 4 prevention,still orig. clutch. just recently @ 245K the radiator went, so how can I complain??? its a great car. I've read ppl claim to be good in the snow, mine handles horrible in the snow.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

German engineering is a myth

superpyogenic, 08/02/2002
GLS TDi 4dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Gas mileage is great and the performance is about the same as the pathetic 2.0 engine. Reliability is a serious issue. Both tie rods, the infamous VW window regulator, a brake relay, and now the power steering pump have all failed after the lame warranty ran out. German engineering is a myth. These cars break just as often but cost twice as much to fix.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Needs Improvements

Choisan, 01/21/2003
GL 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car was my first brand new car. Here is my grand list of bad behavior by my little golf; rear break pads and rotors replaced at 20k, radio replaced due to sticky buttons, mid console replacement due to damage during radio installation, rear break pads replaced again after another 15k miles! At 40k miles, water pump and timing belt went! Covered under warranty, but they also had to replace oxygen sensor and mass air flow sensor. Bottom line, the car is neat, but reliability sucks, VW service dept. sucks, and customer care folks suck too. So, I hope that my experience will help deter future suckers from buying a German engineering nightmare.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2000 VW Golf GLS TDi

Paul Tee, 07/08/2003
GLS TDi 4dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought new, fun to drive, great MPG I average 45MPG, It has distinctive styling when most cars look like all the other cars. German engineering at an affordable price!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

good car so far

jsatt14, 07/15/2011
GLS 4dr Hatchback
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

i havent had my car for too long but so far it has been great. its my first car and it has been good so far. gas milege is great went to pa about 300 miles from my house and only used alittle less than 3/4 a tank. its comfortable to drive, half the time i dont wanna get out of it. the down side is that the glove box broke and the main driverside switches barely work. i cant lock the doors with it and the windows dont always roll down when i use them. overall its a great car and hopefully it doesnt bring me alot of problems. id buy another one in the future.

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page:
51050