Skip to main content

2022 Mitsubishi Mirage G4 Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$15,645

Compare dealer price quotes
Select your trim:
12345...7

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 Mirage G4, so we've included reviews for other years of the Mirage G4 since its last redesign.
4 out of 5 stars

2018 Mirage SE

CEM, 02/12/2017
updated 08/22/2018
2018 Mitsubishi Mirage G4 SE 4dr Sedan (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
51 of 52 people found this review helpful

After owning 4 of these, 2 hatchbacks and 2 sedans, One was a 5 speed manual, rest were the CVT. The only warranty claim on any of them was a cracked armrest on the door. The manual is more fun to drive and get more MPG. Only problem is if you want a loaded car you are forced to get the CVT. Reviewers online hate the car ( Consumer Reports, Kelley Blue Book, Edmunds, ect) but owner give it one of highest consumer satisfaction ratings among its class. Why is this? Well, Mirage owners get what this car is about, great MPG without dealing with the expense of buying a hybrid, Great warranty, Above average reliability, Great safety ratings, Cheap car to insure and maintain. Smooth ride, VALUE FOR THE MONEY. No other car manufacturer could come close on price. Example was the Nissan Versa, its was 3645.00 more money, had half the warranty. Don't pay attention to the sticker price, find out what the dealer is willing to sell it FOR! If your main concern is going from point A to point B no one can do it cheaper than a Mirage. My big concern now for Mitsubishi is Nissan owns the majority share now, Hopefully Nissan leaves Mitsubishi alone !

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Pleased

M. McD., 05/20/2019
updated 11/23/2020
2019 Mitsubishi Mirage G4 SE 4dr Sedan (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

another update: Lots of additional miles, no problems & consistent 42+ MPG in a mix of driving situations. Dollar for dollar, this is probably the best automotive value I have ever owned. Nothing exciting about this car unless squeezing every mile possible out of each penny in a surprisingly comfortable, utterly reliable little sedan excites you. We remain Very pleased with our G4. UPDATE in June 2020: car continues to exceed expectations. After a job change, I needed a commuter for a 52 mile round trip to work. The G4 has been great. No repairs, low maintenance costs for the first 30K + miles & fuel economy over 40 mpg in a barrier mix of urban, suburban stop and go & highway driving. While the car is a bit loud when driving at highway speeds and when accelerating, this issue is offset by comfortable seating and a great ride quality for an economy car. We are very happy with our Mirage G4 SE. We wanted a car to run errands locally and (very rarely) to take an 80 mile round trip to visit relatives. We also needed the car to fit a tight parking situation & have a trunk that can hold a folding wheelchair. After looking at the Versa (dreadful unless optioned heavily) & the Yaris sedan (pretty good), we drove the G4 SE. The car rides better than the competition on typical suburban streets and has very comfortable seats. The SE trim includes upgraded seats and fabric as well as a driver’s armrest. The exterior is simple, but attractive. The pearl whit paint on ours is quite nice. The upgraded alloy wheels on the SE also look good and come with larger tires than the ES trim level. Acceleration is slow unless you really stand on the gas pedal. The engine drones during moderate acceleration but takes on a surprising growl above about 4100 RPM. I have no trouble getting up to speed on short on ramps, but highway passing requires a bit of advanced planning because 50 to 70 MPH acceleration is pretty slow. Fuel consumption is awesome: I average 41 MPG in mixed driving and have seen 50+ MPG during extended highway driving. Visibility is great, the headlights are strong and the wipers are effective and provide coverage of nearly the whole windshield. Snow traction is very good and during the brutal cold of last winter, the car had no trouble starting at -22 f and the heat was adequate even at arctic temps. The A/C is great too. I like the car much more after one year than I did when I first bought it. No problems/repairs for the first year and maintenance is cheap. Overall, great value for the money—we couldn’t be more pleased.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Enough with the bs

Dirk, 06/18/2019
updated 06/21/2021
2018 Mitsubishi Mirage G4 ES 4dr Sedan (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

This is a great, no frills A to B sedan that puts money back in your pocket. My wife and I own a 2014 Hatch and a 2017 G4, both reliable, cheap to insure, maintain, and own. Sure, its slow and not a Cadillac of luxury, but thats not you own one. You own it because you can put 200k miles on one and spend a small amount doing it.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

This car sips gas!!!!

Yankeefan, 02/16/2019
2019 Mitsubishi Mirage G4 ES 4dr Sedan (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

39.7 miles per gallon I'm averaging. Plenty of room for all 4 of us and I'm a pretty large guy. Great cargo room. Excellent features. A highly underrated car. For this price and with the gas savings it's a no brainer imo.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Just what the Dr Ordered

Markatmoc, 08/14/2018
2018 Mitsubishi Mirage G4 ES 4dr Sedan (1.2L 3cyl CVT)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

I drive roughly 100 miles a day. I needed and wanted a car that got good Gas Mileage. I was not looking at a mirage G4 at first, I thought I wanted a Hatchback or small SUV, I was looking at the outlander, then i tried the Mirage HAtchback, it was ok i was impressed by the gas mileage numbers, but thought it was a bit small for what i needed, so then I was shown the Mirage G4, I looked at many models before settling on a ES with several options, I wanted entertainment and comfort and great gas mileage. Thats exactly what it offers, great leg room and you sit up higher than you think you would, getting in out is a breeze. It has apple car play, android auto, bluetooth, DVD, HD Radio. I have gotten as good as 49 Miles per gallon, and average around 43, I mostly drive the interstate back and forth to work. I also Coach Soccer and trunk space is exceptional in this car. I have cut my gas bill in half and i really enjoy driving this car.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: