Skip to main content

Used 2020 Jaguar I-PACE Consumer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
44 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2020 I-PACE, so we've included reviews for other years of the I-PACE since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE I-PACE!

Richard de Forest, 09/23/2019
updated 03/26/2020
2020 Jaguar I-PACE HSE 4dr Hatchback AWD (electric DD)
46 of 47 people found this review helpful

Edmunds is dead wrong in its incorrect review regarding the regenerative braking system. In "HIGH REGEN MODE" it gives me, instant powerful braking with smooth, NON JERKY, ONE PEDAL driving. Plain and simple! Edmunds needs to correct this inaccurate aspect of its review of the 2019 I Pace EV400/ AWD vehicle. My I PACE performs perfectly and driving in ECO mode I'm averaging 224 -239-mile driving range. In updating my review of my 2019 I PACE (see above), the most important event was Jaguar increased the driving range from 237miles to 267 miles of driving range, with another increase in range to approximately 297 miles of driving range coming in the future This puts the I PACE at comparative ranges of the Tesla. The car has given NO us problems and is a dream ride! It's important to once again point out that Edmunds first (and continues to write incorrectly) that the braking was "grabby and jerky" using the recumbent braking system. The test driver had the car dialed in to the WRONG setting {LOW} instead of the HIGH setting. When correctly set in the HIGH recumbent mode the car is faultless at "One Pedal Driving". I'll probably get 100K miles before needing brakes. Still LOVE MY I PACE! The styling is unique and a mix of 'muscle' and elegance. People are constantly looking at the car and asking about it. It beats Tesla in many ways: easy to adjust settings without having to adjust Tesla's ONE SCREEN digital touch screen which is dangerous while trying to make adjustments while staring at the screen and driving (I owned one); the interior trims: leather Reco racing seats; the glass roof doesn't overheat the cab like Tesla and the handling is tighter than the Tesla on curves, etc. When the lease is up I'm going to buy out the residual and keep the car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Honest John. Jaguar I Pace Owner

Honest John, 10/21/2020
2020 Jaguar I-PACE HSE 4dr Hatchback AWD (electric DD)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

The I-Pace is neither the least expensive nor longest range BEV SUV, but it is a marvellous sporting drive, a great touring car, and has a high quality cabin wrapped in the best looking body design in its class. The infotainment system is modern and effective, if sometimes slow to react on pre 2021 models. It is internet connected at all times, and is capable of over the air software up-dates. Early production issues such as a spongy brake pedal and software glitches have been fixed under warranty. Having driven over 81,000 km (50,000 miles) there has been only one serious service issue, being a defective 12 volt battery which was replaced under warranty. There has been no main battery range degradation since new. In the summer, 400 km (240 miles) range is feasible if driven carefully. More realistically summer range is about 350 km (200 miles) and 250 km (150 miles) in extreme cold (-25 degrees Celsius or 13 degrees Fahrenheit). Home charging overnight looks after 90% of my "refuelling" for a nominal cost. Commercial charging has proven to be reasonably quick and available for a trip across Canada with ease. Commercial charging costs are about the same as premium gasoline for a mid sized SUV in Canada. I am so pleased with the I-Pace that I've ordered a 2021 model featuring numerous software up-grades, my 13th new Jaguar since 1992. One thing is for sure - I will never go back to a gasoline or diesel powered vehicle.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

After rough start my I-Pace is great

CurtSprings, 06/30/2019
updated 03/18/2020
2019 Jaguar I-PACE SE 4dr Hatchback AWD (electric DD)
37 of 38 people found this review helpful

The I-Pace is gorgeous, fast, comfortable and efficient. After surviving the first few months of software and hardware problems the car has been nearly flawless. Jaguar released numerous software fixes and other than a few infotainment niggles the car is fine. It's fun to drive and looks amazing. Cold temperatures reduced range from 230 to 180 miles but wasn't an issue for me because most of my driving is in the city. Performance is awesome and after 10 months of ownership I am still looking for excuses to drive my I-Pace.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best EV - Best Car in its Class - Love it!

Mark, 03/15/2020
2020 Jaguar I-PACE HSE 4dr Hatchback AWD (electric DD)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is simply amazing. First, it’s stunning and sleek - lots of compliments. Second, the interior is best in class combining the right mix of hi tech gauges with Jaguar modern elegance and beautiful design with high quality metals, leather, stitching and wood. Lots of attention to detail and jewelry inside. Third, it accelerates faster, corners sharper, rides and absorbs road wrinkles like magic and is more fun than any vehicle I’ve ever owned - including about every Porsche model. Fourth, the upgraded Meridien sound system is magnificent. Fifth, the warranty is best in class. Sixth, the software upgrade did increase range. Sixth, the brake issue mentioned isn’t an issue at all so confused as to the call-out. Buy the HSE with all the options...wish I had heads-up display. Only quibbles are laggy software, lack of electric steering wheel and slow charging options. I gave it 5 stars with the highest recommendation. Smile every time I get to drive it. Subaru coined ‘Love’ for its brand...the i-Pace evokes just the same and more.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Much much better car that most people think...

Maarten v M, 05/26/2020
updated 11/30/2020
2019 Jaguar I-PACE S 4dr Hatchback AWD (electric DD)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

First off, the I-Pace is my first EV car and before buying it, I did a lot of research on this type of car, including competitors like the Tesla Model 3 and Audi Etron. The Etron disappeared first from my list. High weight, relatively poor performance, high consumption and actually quite boring. The Model 3 was a more difficult choice. It's a smaller car but also cheaper, has the Tesla ring to it and is of course full of gadgets. It also was the best selling car in 2019 in my country (Netherlands). Which means, you see it everywhere. Pros were high efficiency, expected good resale value, OTA updates. Cons were a rather bland interior, lesser build quality and, IMHO, rather boring looks. However good the car is in itself, it has become the T-Ford of EV's by now and for me, that's not necessarily a plus. Then the I-Pace. I find the I-Pace strikingly good looking. It's not a real SUV, more of a crossover. The interior is roomier than you think, thanks to a very long wheelbase. It's a ground-up EV design with a few quirks which don't bother me too much. I had a chance to test the car for week to see if it would fit my life style and it did. The 1-phase charging is a minus, but after six months of ownership, it has never been a problem for me. I drive about 750-800 km every week, but even then the 1-phase charging has never been an issue. My daily drives routinely are often 200-220 200, so that leaves plenty of time for charging. The fastcharging speed of 100 kW can only be reached in specific circumstances, more likely you will see something like 80-90 kW for a while which will taper off above 55%. But in 17000 km (11000 miles), I have had to fastcharge only on international trips so far. The I-Pace got a bad reputation for having a very short range just after it was launched. That was due to a combination of faulty software, a First-Edition model with 22" wheels and all goodies, which reduces range a lot, and a launch during the winter. I purchased mine in November 2019 and have received several updates since then. I bought the Business Edition S-Model, a combination of S and SE-features not sold anywhere else. Did choose the 18" wheels for the longer range though. During the (mild) winter, my average range was 350-370 km (218-231 miles) on a full charge. Now temperatures have gone up (May 2020), the range has improved to 430-450 km (268-281 miles). I have set the Regen to High on the I-Pace and that makes one-pedal driving a breeze. Once you have accustomed yourself to that it's make for a very relaxed drive and it will increase your range. All around, it's consumption is similar to that of the Tesla Model S up to 70-75 mph (112-120 kph). Above that, the larger frontal area and higher drag will increase consumption more than that of the Model S (being a lower, sleeker sedan). High speeds will eat up your range very quickly of course and will reach 45-55 kWh/100 km (72-88 kWh/100 miles) if you really go all out as I did on a high-speed trip on the German Autobahn in January. The I-Pace real top speed is 208 km/h (130 mph), and can get there very quickly if you hammer it. The I-Pace has been a excellent drive with zero problems. Very quiet, very comfortable yet fast when you want it to be. Build and paint quality is very good, so squeaks or rattles anywhere. The lay-out of the cabin is very good, the screens have good visibility but need cleaning quite often. I keep a microfiber towel in the car for that, but this is typical of touch-screens in general. The infotainment system could have been a little faster but functions well. Voice control sometimes has difficulty understanding me. Smartphone connection has been flawless, although when I drive with my wife I have to be quick to make sure the car connects to my phone and not hers. The I-Pace is very quick car and has no problem with with almost all ICE-cars except high-end sportcars. And the faster EV's of course. It also handles very well considering it's size and weight. Only on twisty roads will you find the damping becoming over taxed. This is mainly because of the suspension setup, which is aimed at comfort, not ultimate speed. I find the trade off well worth it. Despite its capabilities, the I-Pace invites you more to a relaxed style of driving that trying to set a new A to B record. Trunk space has been more than enough for me, my wife and our two small kids (3 and 1). The frunk in the front stores little besided the cables and a first aid kit. But when driving alone, I keep the cables in the trunk for easier access. In all, the car has been an extremely good experience and I have no regrets buying it. Am actually happy I did not get the Model 3, seeing it on just about every corner by now. Update Nov-2020: The I-Pace has now done 29000 km/18K miles and still going strong, With temperatures dropping the range has decreased but I am still getting 400 km or 250 miles on a full charge. Car has had no issues whatsoever. Very happy owner!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5