Skip to main content

Used 2018 INFINITI QX30 Consumer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
37 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2018 QX30, so we've included reviews for other years of the QX30 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

Wish I Knew Then What I Know Now

Svnisus, 08/31/2018
2018 INFINITI QX30 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 5/18 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
173 of 176 people found this review helpful

Please, please, please I BEG you before you purchase an Infiniti QX30 open the rear hatch and look to see if the left wiring harness is crushed. If so, please walk away. My brand new 2018 with only 70 miles was purchased on 6/16/18. Because the start/stop feature battery was dead I didn't actually take possession of the car until 6/26/18. During the first month of ownership I began having problems with the backup camera going black, navigation system flashing weird messages and the lights and radio not turning off after the car was turned off and the driver door was opened. When I took it in for service the dealership said these problems were because software needed to be updated, which they did. There was also a window gasket that needed to be replaced. That part was ordered and an appointment made two weeks out. This car came complete with a rear cargo cover which we didn't disconnect to vacuum the top of until approximately 5 weeks after purchasing it. After dropping it down we saw the left wiring harness was damaged. The next day I drove it to the dealership and was told they would order a new cover and replace it at my next already scheduled appointment. Upon returning for that appointment I was told they couldn't order just the harness cover, all the wires which control the whole car run through the harness and it was one complete part which would have to replaced. They quoted me a price of $11,000 and due to the cost they were going to have get approval from Infiniti beforehand since it would be covered under warranty. The dealership had given me another QX30 loaner to drive. I checked and that harness was completely intact. I then checked several others on the lot and found 4 out of 6 were compromised, one to the point the VIN number tag located above the left harness had been pushed up and out of place. Infiniti refused to replace the wiring harness. I then contacted Infiniti Consumer Affairs, they opened a case and said a regional manager would contact me. After speaking to the regional manager, again my request to have the problem corrected was denied. I was told it was a design defect and yes, the wires were being pinched but there wasn't any sense in replacing it since I hadn't really hadn't had any major problems because the next one installed would just do the same thing. I explained I was concerned about both electrical failure and since I keep cars for a very long time, what would happen if these electrical problems didn't occur until after the warranty expired. I was told there was nothing they could do. I then asked to speak to someone over the regional manager and was told there wasn't anyone else that dealt with the public. I then called Consumer Affairs back, explained I wasn't happy with the situation, asked again to speak to someone else and was again told there wasn't anyone else to talk to. This morning the car was in reverse and once again the backup camera went to black. I emailed the service adviser to schedule yet another appointment to have the car looked at. I firmly believe it is all tied to the design defect causing the wiring inside the harness to be compromised and Infiniti refuses to take responsibility for the problem.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I great smooth and fast SUV

Augustus, 10/18/2017
2017 INFINITI QX30 Premium 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 11/16 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

The car has performed above and beyond my expectations thus far. Super smooth ride with the premium version AWD SUV. When car is in standard mode it really accelerates. It's a weird feeling walking up to this car because of it's low profile however, when you are driving it you still feel like you are driving an SUV. At first I wanted the dark grey car but saw the majestic white with beige and black leather interior and fell in love. The only things that still bother me are the button puss park. It still freaks me out. Also the back up camera sometimes turns black when your backing up. (it happened to me only about 5 or 6 times since I owned the car). I spoke with the Infinity Dealer about problem and they said it is a known issue with this car and are in the process of resolving it. Love the large premium tires too with beautiful dirt free trim. What else can I say about the Bose stereo and Speakers. Phenomenal! Bluetooth works great too. Dimming mirrors at night to take away that annoying one car who always seem to have his or her bights on. Adjustable seats a re wonderful and cater to small people as well as large. Great lumbar support! Nice beautiful cockpit with everything under the sun . Too much to even name.One thing is missing though. Where is the sunglass storage? I feel great when I'm in this beautiful looking car. And when you feel great you look great! We have 2 cars at home and I always tell my wife not to dive this one because driving is fun when you are driving in a QX-30!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Thought it was a 6 cly

Hokie, 12/14/2018
2017 INFINITI QX30 Premium 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 11/16 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

So I purchased slightly used. Drove a QX30 rental on a trip up north..great ride and fell in love with it. My wife thought it was a 6 cyl because the 4 cly with turbo had so much kick to it. It goes! Just got back from a 1,700 mile trip to DC and it caused me no fatigue at all. My QX30 is fully loaded except 4 wheel drive. I get about 25-27 in town and mid 30s on the highway. Wish the gas tank was a little bigger but filling up for under $25 works for me. My only complaints are: 1) Clanky start noise that I hate, 2) Lack of surface space to place a mount for my cellphone, 3) Limited storage for coins, glasses, etc. , 4) Navigation needs more refinement, 5) I'm putting too many miles on it because I enjoy driving it. My Loves: 1) I love all the options, Bose sound, self parking, adaptive cruse, BT, lane warning, radar and 360 cameras. I just wish the auto stop/start was not there and that it would not clank when restarting. That is my biggest complaint.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

What a great car!

Mike Chaudron, 02/25/2017
updated 03/05/2018
2017 INFINITI QX30 Premium 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 11/16 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
77 of 83 people found this review helpful

Purchased my QX30 due to a job change and needing a different vehicle. I needed a good road car with a hatch for occasional supplies. It'll be just me 90% of the time and will seldom use the backseat, as we are empty nesters and my wife has a larger SUV. After a lot of research I found the QX30. Previously I owned a G37 and liked the car, but had a terrible dealer experience (in another state). I found the model I wanted, Premium black/black and test drove it. After getting multiple quotes I was able to reach a deal. The car is great. It's based on the Mercedes GLA 250, but I think the Infiniti looks much better. It handles extremely well and the twin turbo is plenty powerful with loads of torque at the low end. There are three drive modes, economy, sport and manual, which allows you to use the paddle shifters. It's quick and agile. The Bose Surround Sound is outstanding, the best sound system I've ever heard in a car. I love being able to see text messages on the screen (they are read to you while driving) and the touch screen is excellent but I prefer to use the turn knob. The interior materials are very upscale and the seats are amazingly comfortable. I feel it's a great SUV for any one who wants a great looking, sporty, excellent handling small SUV. It's ideal for empty nesters who don't need to haul a bunch of people.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Infiniti is like family to me

Lynn, 01/09/2018
updated 08/01/2019
2018 INFINITI QX30 Sport 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 5/18 (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
42 of 45 people found this review helpful

This QX30 model has a major design flaw. When driving with A/C on, every couple of minutes it blows hot air then reverts back to cool air. I have noticed this even when driving it with vents only,no A/C. I bought this car cause I liked the look, size and handling and its adequate cargo space. I would have preferred a hybrid but settled for a known commodity. It hasn't gotten more than 25 MPG but it was advertised at 31 on their sales sticker. It didn't come with "heat seats"or lane protection and there is no automatic lift gate opener either in the car or under the back bumper. It has had a rattle since I bought it - interior - its been checked on three occasions at the Infiniti service repair and they cannot find the source of the rattle. Aggravating. The sun room is really a moon roof, it doesn't open to allow fresh air into the car. I am not as enthralled with the car as I was when I bought it in Nov. 2017.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5