Used 2016 Hyundai Accent Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,900 - $13,599

Used Accent for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

What a deal.

JPady, 02/05/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
47 of 49 people found this review helpful

I got lucky. I needed a car and there just happened to be a lot of leftover 2016 Accent's so I scored an incredible deal. $3,000+ off (including rebate) on an economy car is huge. Plus when the dealer couldn't get a manual transmission for me, he threw in automatic for no charge too. I researched it as much as I could in a week. I considered the Rio, Versa, Fit, and iA, and the Accent won hands down. I was looking for low price, long warranty, and I wanted power doors & windows (the entry Versa & Rio did not have those). The reliability (JD Powers, Consumers Report) was above average for the group, and I think it's the best looking too - very stylish for an econobox. And you can't beat the warranty. The two things I didn't like were: No spare tire and no covered console storage with manual trans. I won't drive without a spare, so that became part of the negotiations (spare tire kit was $400 list). And as a final bonus, the car I got had Option Group 2 which has the console bin. ...And cruise control! So far, I love it. This car is a real pleasure to drive. I've only had it a month, but I like it more now than when I bought it. It's the most competent sub-compact I've ever owned. No, it's not the perfect car. Heck, it's one of the cheapest on the market. But all things considered (price, features, looks, reliability, warranty, performance, economy, etc.), I would give it 6 stars if I could. UPDATE 8-11-18: So far, so good. Still love it (but still wish it was a manual trans :-). The only problem so far was a sensor in the steering wheel needed replacing, which was covered under warranty. Overall MPG is 34.1, and the best I got was 42.5 on road trip. I alternate turning the ECO button on every other tank and the difference has been negligible (less than 1 MPG).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding Value

Marc Brunetti, 09/13/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

Purchased 2013 Accent Sedan, and very happy with it. 116,000 miles in three years and not one problem. Drove from Florida to New York with two adults and two teenagers fully loaded and got 42 mpg on highway. Got the mpg on highway up to 51 mpg by coasting down hill. Just bought another, 2016 model. Stability control and anti lock breaking a plus. Downside: fabric on seats gets stained too easily. Comfort on long rides. No rearview camera.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Accent-u-ate

gary dirisio, 08/29/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

It's a good car for getting from point a to point b. It's solid but does have vibrating issues due to light material used. It gets great gas mileage. Not fancy but a good value for the money. Plus great warranty

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great compact car with a few exceptions

Dillon75, 12/15/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

I had just got this car a week ago brand new first thing I want to say this car is lower than my sister's civic in the front the car might be an inch from the ground my bumper is already a little scraped from bottoming out on entrances. This car performs great I raced my friend at a light in her impala in the manual mode and it took off before hers. The seats are okay just a little firm gets great gas. Safety concerns you hardly have a hood you can't see the hood of the car in front of you not really a crush zone. But other than that it's great but once again super low front ground clearance don't get mad if you scrape it up a little

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value, but sedan was more practical

Carolyn S, 08/29/2016
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Its a great little car for the price. I had a 2012 4 door 4 1/2 years that I loved and the dealership had a special. I had wanted a hatchback. Found out after delivery the hatchback is 10" shorter than the sedan so I really did not get the additional space I was looking for. Gas mileage is less than the sedan, averaging about 28 unless I am really conscious of how I am driving and coasting (I have a manual stick) There is a bizarre film that keeps creeping up on the inside of the windshield that is driving me absolutely batty. I clean it and days later it returns and I can't figure out if the defroster, heat or AC i causing it. but cleaning the inside of the windshield always leaves greasy streaks. Very Bizarre. I had the Simonez coating put in and on the car. not impressed by that - ended up putting seat covers on it anyway and its the only logical cause I can think of for the film being greasy. Sluggish acceleration. Pretty much get what you pay for. I did get the bumper to bumper warranty for 100,000 miles over the 50,000. I wish I had gotten it on the 2012 instead. I probably would have held onto the 2012 longer had the warranty not run out. This has less rearview visibility because of the tiny hatchback window. I had driven the '12 63,000 and loved it. This turns tight, stops on a dime, great for parking in small spaces but interior space is disappointing. Car is comfortable, AC is very cold, heat is great. Stops, goes great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

THE GREAT SEARCH IS OVER - HYUNDAI ACCENT WINS

Leah Nikaidoh, 08/25/2016
Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Hi all. Okay I REALLY don't write reviews because I usually think they are biased, but here I go. This is the first time I've done a serious effort in test driving cars before buying one. Prior to this, I only leased or bought VWs - however, my last one (a beautiful 2012 GTI that was red and had plaid interior) required 3 MAJOR repairs in six months, so I had to bid her a fond farewell. So, my uncle and I did test drives (separately) of the following cars: Hyundai Elantra GT, Hyundai Accent hatch back, Mazda 3 hatchback, high end Toyota Prius, and Kia Soul. I narrowed search down to the Mazda and the Accent. The Mazda had more bells and whistles, but the Accent was a lot less expensive and the biggest selling point was the 5 year bumper to bumper warranty. I actually upgraded to the 10 year warranty for only $1800 (which is partially refundable if I don't keep the car). The mileage on both cars were about the same - if I wanted leather seats I would have had to spend more money and get the Mazda or the Hyundai Elantra. I definitely wanted a hatchback and the Accent's cargo space seemed a lot bigger than the Mazda. The interior gadgets are minimal - while I miss my hands free calling, I don't miss it enough to spend another $5-8K. So, I'd recommend you consider this car - my purchase price was great and I have to honestly say that the car dealership has been terrific.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

All Air bags didnt deploy

chrystal pruitt, 05/03/2019
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was making payments to own this car, well let me get to it. I was hit by a box truck going 55mph on the driver side, my steering wheel air bag didnt deploy nor did the air bags on the passenger side of the car. The only one that did was on the driver side. The doors were crushed and it was darn near crushed completely in half. I almost died in this car as well as my kids that were in the back seats in car seats. We all suffered serious injuires, spent atleast 3 to 4 days in the ICU and 2 of us were recommended to have surgery. This car may look good but take it from someone that almost died in this car....no way the safety is 4 out of 5. If this allowed to me post pictures I would, I have proof of what I claim

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Reliable,SAFE good looking car

Clay streetman, 11/06/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2016 Hyundai Accent with lifetime warranty in may. I was wanting a nice looking reliable car with good gas mileage,escpecially having to drive back and forth from north Mississippi to Texas after moving.After debating between the Accent, chevy Cruze,and versa, the Accent to me was by far the best looking and I loved the test drive in the Accent the best. The interior of the Accent is very nice, seats good and looks quite fancy,inside and out. Equipped with satellite,auxiliary,Bluetooth, radio sounds great with the 6 speakers. There is more than enough room inside, including the cargo area. Very spacious. It has about all the features you could have except for backup camera and automatic seats. Handles beautifully! Love driving it. Handles great in any condition.very reliable.the only downfalls that I have is there is it gets just a bit noisy on rough roads, though it rides very smoothly. Fine finish on doors and dash scratch rather easily, engine noisy when accelerating heavily. Awesome car.safety is VERY great. Ended up in a horrible accident in my first 2016 Accent. Flipped twice and rolled four times. I unbuckled and reached in the backseat, and run off the road in a ditch at 70mph. Keep in mind, I wasn't buckled. All that happened was I fractured some vertebra in my back, still have trouble with it to this day. For it to flip and roll that many times, UNBUCKLED, That is definantly a safe car. When all the airbags deployed, it's like I was in a big bubble. Hated to lose my car(thankful to be alive!) ended up getting another Accent, a silver metallic looking one. My first one was white. If I could give it 6 stars I would. I give safety a 10.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Look and drive like a brand new car

Avau Faaesea, 12/19/2018
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car in December 2017 for my birthday. My husband and I are moving overseas and we are selling the Hyundai Accent and keep the KIA Sportage. We love both cars. If we didn't have to move we wouldn't sell the Hyundai. Even though it is a 2016 vehicle, it runs and looks like a brand new Hyundai Accent or better. It's a well maintained, updated on services, no accident, no dent, no tear, clean, 49,000 low mileage, beautiful candy apple red beautiful car. Whoever the future purchaser of this car is the most luckiest person in the world to have such a perfect well maintained vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

First car I've ever owned

April, 05/04/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
18 of 30 people found this review helpful

I just got my 2016 accent two weeks ago and I absolutely love it. It takes a minute to get up to speed as it is a 4 cylinder vehicle but I get about 35-40 mpg! Absolutely love it. It is quiet and comfortable and the AC will freeze you outta the car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Really good car for daily use!

Anonymous, 03/08/2018
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car will give you a great performance. Driving is really smooth! Best car at its price!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Economy car with many little personal gripes

Slimjim, 11/29/2017
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

So I have driven this car for about 3.5 months (3000miles) now and I've come to a settled decision about this little economy hatch. I'll preface this review by saying I've owned many other smaller cars throughout the years; a 1996 honda accord, 2007 nissan versa hatch, 1961 ford falcon wagon, 2007 toyota yaris Hatch(current). I'll start with the negatives and go from there. The car had 7xxx miles when i picked it up, and currently has around 10xxx at the moment. First off, the ride quality is decent, but the noise level is quite abysmal. Conversation is impracticable in this car without speaking up quite a bit. Above 70mph, it feels/sounds like an commercial jet at cruising speed, hitting all sorts of turbulence. The stability of this car at highway speeds is ok at best. The brakes are ok for this size car. Nothing special. The killer for me is the engine. At idle, the engine bobbles around the rpm slightly which feels unsettling to me, as this is a new car. The acceleration off the line is pure garbage and low end is pathetic. Coming from a yaris hatch, the yaris feels like a sprint car around town compared to the accent. I'm in no way a reckless driver, but i like a car with slightly more giddy up off the line. After 2k on the tach, it livens up a little, but the first 2k is a deal killer for me. Gas mileage for me was decent, as advertised. My real question is how in the h#ll does a 1981 200cid inline 6cyl ford engine get the same mixed mpg as a new 4cyl accent??? No joke, the 1961 falcon gets around 28-30 CITY. I push it around town quite quickly too, and the mileage remains the same!! Anyways, I found the eco mode on the accent to be un-usable and barely affected the mpg. I kept it off after 2 days of use. The automatic transmission is a nice little transmission, but the manual shift mode is unresponsive, and frustrating. Once again, I'm not looking for formula 1 style shift times in manual mode, but the thing doesn't even respond as you upshift or downshift in a jiffy. It's like you've gotta wait for the car to think for a moment, and have a cup of tea, before fulfilling your request to downshift/upshift; and consecutive shifts are not possible. No matter of jamming/slamming the shift lever fixes it. My point being, make it work half decent if you plan on putting it in a car. Total fail. The stereo system was standard but the buttons often took multiple clicks before they registered. You were required to firmly push 1 corner to properly activate the button. Ok, enough with the negatives, lets get into the things i disliked a little less about the car. Firstly, the cabin interior and seats are ok, nothing to write home about, just good. I loved the armrest for the driver as it was attached to the seat. As crazy as it sounds, i liked that feature alot and used it all the time. I also loved having a usb connected system which synced up nicely to my smartphone and played all my music through the system. Cruise control worked well, and the ac also worked just fine. Overall, the car satisfies what it was intended to do with a few gripes along the way. I could not own this car in the automatic version, but i question whether the standard version has improved drive-ability around town. I didn't think too much about the issues at first, but in the end, they truly begin to wear on me and drive me nuts. I'll think is stick with my Yaris for now. Cheers

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

One up from a skateboard

Mike Gender, 07/13/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
11 of 27 people found this review helpful

I traded my 2006 Hyundai Accent for this 2016 Hyundai Accent and unfortunately the 2006 is a better car; better in quality, gas mileage, and comfort. The 2016 doesn't even come with a spare tire, nor tools to change it. You have to call roadside assistance, wait an hour, because the car don't come with a spare, they tow you to a repair facility. The car has a economy switch that you can push on to get better fuel economy, but it gets better fuel economy, with the switch off. My 2006 got better mph (34 mph) the 2016 (32 mph) The inside of the trunk and the lid is only primered, like they just gave up. The seats are hard and uncomfortable. The car is probably the worst manufactured car ever made. I now have 17000 miles on this 2016 Accent, and my second impression of this Accent hasn't been any better. Besides no spare tire, and the hassle that presents, this car came with nitro in the tires; So, when one of my tires is low, you cant go to the service station and put air in it, you have to go to an authorized nitro replacement station and get it pumped up. This nitro refill doesn't consist of one squirt of nitro, its deflating all tires and refilling them (and paying 30.00 dollars to do so). I cant believe Hyundai would even think of such a thing, a simple review online of nitro reveals that it has minimal effect. Hyundai did away with the spare tire to impress US Government regulators on the Accents gas mileage, but I don't know what Accent they used to provide figures, but this Accent I drive gets horrible gas mileage, while delivering poor engine performance. I have 24000 miles on the car now. I finally got brave and took it out past 6 pm. I find that the angle of the roof makes it hard to see out of the car at night. The fourth of a mirror on the driver side that helps with the blind side is worthless at night. The car has severe wind and road noise on the inside that constantly has you thinking that either the window or the door is open. The car still gets unacceptable gas mileage and is just a poor quality produced car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Accent Hatchback

Ron Allred, 07/22/2016
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Car seems good so far. Noticed the layout under the hood could be better especially the upper radiator hose accessibility. I do a lot of my own maintenance and accessibility to components is very important. Transmission seems to up shift a little early. Car seems to be sound & very solid. Only have about 2500 miles on the car and am pretty well pleased so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A good starter car

Ray Mack, 09/28/2017
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Hyundai Accent is a very good entry level auto. The particular car we bought is "plain vanilla" but it is reliable transportation for basic everyday commuting. The 60 month/60,000 mile second owner factory warranty makes buying it used a good value. (We ended up with 24,000 miles and 3 years left). The 100,000/10 year new car warranty is definitely a good reason to buy new. You have no worries about repairs (should they ever be necessary) for a very long time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Junkie Junk

Don Finch, 06/23/2018
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Do nothing but spend money on my car. Hit 61000 miles motor blew up. STOP DO NOT BUY THIS CAR.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

brand new baby

linda dixon, 03/08/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
2 of 14 people found this review helpful

I am having problems with the instrument panel!!!!. The panel will go out at will which shuts down all instruments ie odometer,speed.etc. I have had at 2 different dealers they can not find the problem. Will go off at will. No problems with the above matter since taken to a dealer in Pa. in Dec. of 2016. Still my baby.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Jay, 08/08/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
1 of 14 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great little car

merk_ep, 07/27/2018
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car about 3 weeks and drive it daily. For my needs it's a great little car. It has good acceleration,except when you use eco with the a/c on. It stops really good. It's stylish and cute. It's roomier than it looks and the doors open wide. It has good storage/cargo space.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this car!

Maison White, 07/29/2020
SE 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased second hand still under warranty and only 30ks on the clock. Love it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Miles per gallon

Tbone, 05/31/2020
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

OK, Edmunds says 26 mpg combined and adding too low for a car this size. Most people know that the mileage you get depends on how you drive. The reviewers at Edmunds must have concrete in their shoes because in my 2016 Accent I am getting a combined 38 mpg with a manual trans. A simple car to get from point A to B. No pricey gimmicks to fail.

Report Abuse

Extremely dependable!!

Joe, 06/18/2020
SE 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2016 Hyundai Accent new and still own it with 84k miles. I have had not one issue with this car at all. Power is adequate, fuel economy is excellent, 35 was the lowest and 48.8 was my highest. I just changed the oil and I checked the front and rear brakes which are originally and they'll both go 150k miles easily if there are no problems with the rotors or calipers. The car is wearing great, paint still shines nicely and the seats show no wear. The spark plugs are still original and won't need replacing for another 10k miles. Another thing to note is there's no timing belt to replace. Hyundai now uses all chains which will save you $500-$800 every 60k miles. All in all if you're looking for cheap transportation, this car delivers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050