Skip to main content
12345...9

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT

DEEZ, 09/25/2015
updated 10/17/2022
2013 Honda Fit 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5A)
70 of 73 people found this review helpful

@172,000 Didn't drive it a lot this past year. Nothing wrong, just love the car and gave it to my daughter to learn on. This will be the 3rd new driver for the old girl. hahaha. It'll be a sad day when we have to part ways. I wish Honda still made this car. What a great, dependable car! @ 165,000 miles I hope they start making them, again. My Fit sure has changed my mind from the beginning. I have the Fit, a Sienna xle, and a Camry. Hands down, the Fit is my favorite - I'll never by another Toyota - they're too noisy and too expensive to maintain. The Fit is easy maintain and easy to drive, although I still don't like it as a highway car. When I first bought this car I took it back to the dealer because I thought the steering had a flaw. It was just the wind. It's very light and really gets pushed around on the road. We took it from Ohio to Virginia this summer and what a terrible trip. It's just not built to drive over 55. Hate the van-like mirrors in the front - they just cause a blind spot. Also, there is a terrible smell in the ventilation system which is common with these Fits. Really I would not buy this car again. The storage is great and MPG is better than advertised. I haven't had any mechanical issues. We bought it for my wife to learn to drive. I wouldn't suggest this as a first car, especially with the blindspot created by the van-like mirrors and the horribly uncomfortable headrests. Update at 72,000. I went from Hankooks to General Altimax tires and the handling and ride are much better. Nothing really wrong with the car. I'd say it's a very good city car. I don't much care for having to change the tranny fluid every 30,000. Road noise is a little aggravating, but it's a cheap ride with good gas mileage. Update at 90,000 I really would not buy this car again. Those small windows in the front are hazardous. Ii's just such a huge blindspot. Also, It's just too light and small for the highways. And the headlights on low beam are too low, but fine on high beam. Road noise is also aggravating. If it weren't for those small windows in front, I'd say it's a very good city car. The gas mileage is very good. Storage is good. Front seats have a lot more room then you would expect for a car that size. It has no power. It will seat 5, but it's a real struggle, and you can't use the AC with more than 2 people in the car. There just isn't enough power. I'm looking at new brakes again, but other than that - no mechanical issues. TERRIBLE paint quality. I think they put on about one coat. 97, 000 Just put brakes and rotors on. I took the headrests off - better vision and much more comfortable. I'm impressed at how this thing goes through the snow. It's been doing what I bought it for. - cheap, reliable transportation. I still don't like the smell in the defrost, the mirrors, or the headrests. Also the arm rest on the door wore out. But, knock-on-wood, I haven't had any dependability issues, aside from not being a highway car. 110,000 miles. I like the car more and more. It's almost 5 years old. I just had the valves adjusted and the throttle cleaned which made it run better. That hesitation when you stop and go is a lot less, and it seems to have a little more power. I put another set of tires on - General Altimax 75,000. I doubt the tires will last more than about 30,000, but I expect it now. I had to replace a stabilizer bar bearing for about $30, and of course I change the transmission fluid every 30,000 miles. I've learned the smell from the defrost can be reduced by turning on the defrost and heat, the last couple miles of a trip, to help dry out condensation. I've taken out the head rests in the front and back for better visibility, and comfort, especially in the back. We live in NE Ohio where there is a lot of snow, and even in the summer, the road conditions are horrendous - I swear, it would probably be less wear on the car if I drove through people's yards. This little Fit holds up well, I'm surprised, and happy. I still won't take it on another long trip, but it's a great town car, and given the same situations, I'd probably buy it again. See you for an update next year! 4-12-19 @ 118,000 Still running strong. Tires look good. A good car for the money, and more comfortable without the headrests. Still not a highway car. 4-12-2020 Just put rear shocks @ almost 140,000 miles. Also, had a problem last Spring with a hard braking when it was cold. Fixed that with a new brake booster check valve, I'd buy the car again. It's been dependable and cheap to operate. The vanlike mirrors are something you have to get used to. I took out the headrests for more comfort, but this has a lot more room than you'd expect. My wife loves the car, so do my son and daughter, so I expect it will be their around town car. It's help-up well and still looks good, even in NE Ohio weather. It has grown on me.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Nothing impressive, but it gets the job done.

John, 06/05/2016
2013 Honda Fit 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle for the cargo space and for its bare bones nature. I bought a Honda for their "legendary" quality in the small car market. Maintenance for this vehicle has only entailed routine oil changes and 1 set of tires at this point, but this vehicle is barely broken in at 29,000 miles. Should be noted, another reviewer commented on having to replace the A/C in their Fit before 30,000 miles. I am currently replacing my A/C compressor in my '11 Civic with 59,000. This could become a theme with Honda as this is far to early to be replacing these parts. My main problem with this vehicle is fuel economy. I expect 35 - 43 mpg in a small vehicle like this. When SUV's are starting to get over 30 mpg, a small vehicle like this should be pushing 40 mpg, but it doesn't. I use only ethanol free fuel, as there is a slightly better bump in fuel economy, but I still won't get better then 34 to 36 mpg on my daily commute (mostly highway at 60 MPH). I should note that this is while driving like a grandpa and utilizing as much drafting and coasting as possible. On long drives (upwards of 2 hrs) I have obtained 42.1 mpg while traveling between 55 and 60. This car will drink fuel at speeds exceeding 65 mph. MPG drops drastically during the winter, I'm sure it is due to the quality of fuel and the cold temps in NY, but I tend to average 29 to 32 mpg. Acceleration is just plain poor. Don't expect to pass a slower vehicle on a 1 lane road at 55 mph, unless, of course, you have a mile to do it. I haven't driven the newer 130 hp Fit (2016), but I have to imagine that the additional 13hp makes a huge difference. HONDA PAINT SUCKS!! I have a 2011 Civic and 2013 Fit. The civic is color blk and the front of it looks sand blasted. The Fit (red) has stood up better, but I have made it my mission to protect it. I will leave large gaps between me and the car in front. Still, with these vehicles, the paint chips every time a small object hits it. I have read countless reviews where people complain about this. BEWARE: HONDA PAINT Greatest feature(s) is the average fuel economy display. I still calculate manually with each fill up, but it is nice to have an idea of how your doing. It has caused me to drive much slower in a continuing effort to beat my "high score". I also like the windows as you have almost zero blind spots. I call this vehicle the fish bowl because you have more window than car. Nothing impressive about this vehicle. I had the arm rest installed in mine and switched out all the lights, except headlights, for cree LED lights solely because the out dated incandescent draws too much power and lacks the brightness. The heater during the winter will take 10 minutes to warm up, so I am usually close to reaching my destination before I have substantial heat. I installed a trailer hitch on mine and pull a small 4' x 8' trailer from time to time to the hardware store. This makes the vehicle incredibly more useful. Some reviewers have commented about sway while operating in windy conditions. This vehicle will travel wherever the wind blows. It is a constant fight to keep it straight, which should be obvious due to the bubble design and light weight. Snow handling is great. I drive in NY state's snow belt and I'm often fighting icy/snowy roads. The stock, narrow, wheel rims give you excellent traction. I haven't needed snow tires as an all season has worked just fine up to this point. One down side is your road clearance. I often bottom out on snowy roads and always risk the possibility of getting stuck. Car seats are difficulty to get in the vehicle and deal with, but this tends to be the case with all compacts and sub compact cars.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Sold after 13000 miles

mcm0455, 03/29/2014
updated 09/29/2016
2013 Honda Fit Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5A)
47 of 50 people found this review helpful

Edmunds asked for a follow up review. I sold this car in February of 2014. Lots of good to say about this car, great handling, lots of room inside, very comfortable seats and driving position, easy to maintain, very reliable. Now for the reason I sold it, the power is marginal, really have to stand on the gas and stay on it. Kinda sketchy on the highway, nervous at speeds above 70mph. Used it one winter to go skiing, and with studded tires, it went better in the snow than 99% of the cars and SUV's minus the ones with actual snow tires. Overall was a fun car, just needed more power for everyday driving.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

co3945, 05/13/2013
2013 Honda Fit Sport 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5M)
33 of 35 people found this review helpful

I have had my Fit Sport 5MT for over 3 months and I am very pleased with the car. I purchased it to take over daily driver duties from my BMW 330Ci. I wanted a car that is fun to drive, inexpensive to operate, and high on practicality, and so far the Fit delivers on all counts. The cargo area is very capacious, and the Fit was able to carry 4 new boxed 16" aftermarket wheels behind the back seats. I am also able to fit my road bike in the back using a fork-mount rack. I only need to fold one seat and I do not need to drop the seat on my bike to load it back there (I am 5'10" and ride a 56cm frame). Seating in the back is fine with ample head and leg room considering the size of the car.

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Not perfect, but great value

richinsd, 09/28/2012
2013 Honda Fit 4dr Hatchback (1.5L 4cyl 5A)
79 of 87 people found this review helpful

I looked at almost all of the competing vehicles and went with the Fit since it fit my needs best. For the price, it's hard to beat considering the legendary reliability of Honda cars. The closest compition is (IMHO) the Scion xD and Hyundai Accent.

Report Abuse
12345...9
Items per page: