Used 2002 Ford Escape Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,656 - $3,352

Used Escape for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2002 limited 3.0 ford escape

kia, 08/11/2010
XLT Premium 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

I bought this car when it had 114k mi. Black on Black. I had it for a year. the car was absolutely awesome. It had great pickup,good break system and great handling. I never took the car to mechanic for any reason. The only reason that I sold it was ,because I was trying to upgrade it but now I regret it. I changed 2 cars after that but I'm still not happy with what I have. I recommend this car 100%. If you can get the limited, because than the car would have all the options you would need, and there isn't so much difference in the price. the only good upgrade from this car is nissan murano or BMW X3, don't waist you time with other SUVs

Report Abuse

My Rugged 02, Ford escape xls

Vito Mulea, 10/01/2018
XLS Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I purchased my vehicle in 2012 at Good Sam Motors here in Ocala when I first purchased this vehicle I didn't know if I would get good longevity out of it however it fooled me! This vehicle has over 250,000 miles on it occasionally I still have a few things I have to do to it nothing major the hand ability of this vehicle is very good right now I need a valve cover gasket on the engine and also my front end makes a clunking sound at certain intervals or bumps Drive drivetrain wise seems to be very strong I am very surprised with Ford engines especially this 3.0 very rugged and holds up pretty good I'm a firm believer in frequent oil changes and add a Lucas or STP oil treatment withevery oil change it handles great in bad weather for a 2002 I really have no complaints with 250,000 miles on it... thank you Vito m.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Wonderful little SUV

Michael Gazin, 02/10/2016
XLT Sport 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
31 of 35 people found this review helpful

Know that its not supposed to be a luxury vehicle or a sports car. Its a sturdy solidly built vehicle that is very reliable. My particular model is equipped with a v6. Its not going to get the best fuel economy in the world. Drive conservatively and you can easily go a while without getting gas. It makes a good first car for a teenager. If you take care of it, it will take care of you. Since I've owned it, I've put almost 10k miles on it. It's had oil changes routinely. It had one coil pack go bad so I went ahead and replaced all 6 coils and spark plugs which wasn't cheap, but I feel its saved me in the long run. It handles pretty good on the road. It's no sports car but its not going to slip out all the time either. The 4x4 is decent. It doesn't have low range which is somewhat of a bummer but it makes sense seeing as most people will be driving this on the highway. But its nice to know that if you live in a snowy place or out in the woods you have 4x4 available. It's very spacious inside. Plenty of room even for 5 people. Overall I'd say this is one badass SUV. As long as you take care of it, its going to take care of you too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What a blast to drive!!!

Kirk Bailey, 04/06/2002
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned a lot of so called "mini" Suv's but none as fun or powerful (with the V6) as I have with the Escape. My son and I go into the back country quite often to camp and fish, so I wanted something that didn't eat up gas and that would get us where we needed to go. The ride is car like so it doesn't beat you up getting to your favorite place yet has enough ground clearance for most off road adventures. I have had no problems with the mini brute but kinda wish it had been built on a frame. Overall, we love it and alot of people ask about it all the time.

Report Abuse

02 Ford Escape 4 cyl/standard

smokey2, 10/01/2008
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle about a year ago as my first car after much thought, and I must say I made the right choice. I chose it for gas mileage and looks, and was able to get a great deal off craigslist. The required maintenence was pricy ($1000 for a new timing belt), but expected. The vehicle is spacious inside, while being able to fit in almost any parking spot and turning around in places other cars can't. The standard transmission is the way to go given the 4 cyl's engine power.

Report Abuse

Nearly 130,000 miles with no problems

shihchi, 11/13/2006
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Have 128,000 miles in 4+ years. No problems. Never back to dealer for any repairs or problems. Avg. 21-24 mpg. Still solid. Spent 4 years on construction sites with no ill effects. Used as primary family vehicle. Daughter hit a deer on spring break with it; vehicle was A-OK, but deer wasn't. Still handles well and is quick. No complaints about CDs sticking or gear shift lever blocking access to anything. Large number cubbyholes are useful. Compared it to RAV4, CR-V and VUE. Escape was by far the best value and fun/comfortable drive. Wife, daughter and son all like it.

Report Abuse

Love my Escape

LJ, 07/01/2008
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had very few problems with my Escape other than the recall issues. It's in the shop now for a new alternator but that after six years and 219,000 miles of driving. Thumbs up!

Report Abuse

LEMON

laurl, 10/08/2002
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Read the consumer complaints section on NHTSA.gov, for some important info on this car. You will find 106 others like me who own this car and have multiple experiences with stalling headed down hill or on the freeway. We loose steering and most of our breaking. It's like someone cut the lines. It's frightening. Don't be snookered by crash tests and packaging. 'Cause you don't want to know what that crash feels like! The car also surges a lot like you have the cruise control on.

Report Abuse

Pretty Good Car until 130K!

dragonfly58, 08/03/2012
XLT Choice 2 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Purchased my Escape used w/80K miles on it. Three years later w/150K I'm now having BIG problems. Before it hit 130K the car was great! No problems, fun to drive, but now having big problems with E-Vap codes, check engine light always on, fuel hoses replaced, plugs/wires/coils burnt out, back seat release broke, falling apart all at once, cruise control won't work, CD player died, interior falling apart. Mileage horrible, no where near projected, getting 17-19mpg at best. Drivers seat wearing out, no cush left, but lumbar adjust ok. Have always had problems w/cargo door staying locked for days on end, the pits when groceries loaded & you gotta unload over back of seat.

Report Abuse

This is a great car!

Elisabeth S, 08/05/2016
XLS Sport 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have loved this car! Maintenance has been minimal and it has started first time, every time!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Real Trooper With Love

Jenny, 02/23/2010
XLT Sport 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Had it since 2002. Yes, I've had some major repairs. The engine went at 96K miles, so it cost us $7k to fix that. It cost me $4k to fix all 3 converters, and yes I had to pay to fix 3 of six coils. They said driving of fast accelerating and sudden stops could contributed to it, and we also drove it in England for 3 years, so that didn't help either. But it's always been there for us through the worse of times. Blizzards are no problem for me. I have better traction than most newer SUV's and trucks, including your MB's and Lexus. It does make squeaky sounds in the interior, but it's older. Not much you can do. With all the accidents, it's always gotten lesser damage and held up the most!

Report Abuse

Piece of crap

loulou, 08/14/2003
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

An insightful warning to anyone considering purchasing this vechile..... don't do it. I bought brand new and have had to replace the engine, the steering column (twice) the door locks, repair the air conditioner, power outlets. The chip has been reprogrammed too many times to count....... and it still has problems. This thing is a death trap.

Report Abuse

lacks reliability and quality components

Rachel, 10/01/2009
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this 4 yrs ago, used. So far I have had to fix the AC/heater 3 times, fix the parking brake twice (soon to be 3 times as it's going out again) and replace both the transmission and the CD player. And now there's an electric problem that is causing my emergency brake light and emissions system warning lights to come on for no reason, as well as causing failures in my CD player, dashboard lights, and gas gauge.

Report Abuse

Worst Ride I've Every Had

EX Owner, 08/23/2004
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased a 2002 XLT Escape with leather seats in July of 02. We liked the body style of the vehicle and read all of the consumer reports on the vehicle; SUV of the Year, etc... This vehicle has to be the worst riding vehicle I have ever been in. The seats are very uncomfortable on long distance trips. Road noise is awful. Interior trim is cheaply designed. Fit and finish leaves a lot to be desired. Finally traded it this past weekend; OH HAPPY DAY!!!! At it's price, I honestly can not recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Report Abuse

Looks are not Everything

lair, 09/12/2009
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

The transmission died at 54k , replacement cost: 3k, The alternator died at 72k replacement cost: $600. The fifth door does not open on hot days. Either I bought a lemon or it's just a typical American built car, and that's all it is, mainly because it has the same transmission as the ford contour (why would ford use a car transmission in a 200hp SUV?). It looks great though, Just engineered stupidly. I trust my 1995 Toyota pick-up more than this piece of junk. Now, on the bright side, it truly is a nice ride and the interior, sound system and all the rest is great. [just beware it will break down on you].

Report Abuse

This Little SUV is a Bull

Paul D., 08/01/2010
XLT Choice 2 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

First of all I bought this Ford new. I have 50,000 miles on it. The repairs I've made, other than routine maintenance, are. Fuel pump and a tie rod end and that's it ( knock on wood). Power from this 200hp V-6 is more than ample and it's good to know you have that extra power when needed. The ride is a bit stiff but that is to be expected from an SUV. The seats are very comfortable so that makes the stiff ride more bearable. Very roomy. Highway road noise is above average. If your looking to improve on that a good set of passenger tire would help. A/T tires are not the way to go unless your looking for more traction. Fuel-ok at 20 mpg combined city/hwy for a V-6. Nice SUV.

Report Abuse

fordmamma

smoochypoochy, 09/16/2010
XLS Sport 4WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought my Escape new in sept of 02. previously owned a 95 escort wagon (5 speed) with over 200,000 miles on it. just wanted a 4x4 for my commute in the snow. Wow! great little car in snow. handles well. Too bad it now has over 250,000 miles on it. looking for another manual Ford transmission. They seem to never give up. 4 cylinder engines lacks power, but didn't buy it for that. Only had oil changes and fluid changes. Totally recommend Fords. Just test drove a '97 toyota Avalon, not impressed. STICK WITH AMERICAN

Report Abuse

Ignition problems

esmb, 02/07/2002
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The key sticks in the igition. We have to wiggle it out. Took it back to the dealer 3 times. Even changed the igition. Did not help. We were told by someone there that the escape and some other brands are using a forign tumbler and that is causing the problems. So the problem can't be fixed unless they change back to American. If anyone has any ideas please email me. esmb@aol.com

Report Abuse

Going back to Jeep

Rottmom, 04/22/2004
XLS Value 4WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 97 Jeep Wrangler for this pile of cheap junk. Not even 11,000 miles and this car needs new tires badly. Everything is plastic and fiberglass. Gear shift position is downright dangerous if you're reaching for the radio. WORST is the 4-wheel drive which really doesn't exist. I can't wait to unload this mediocre dangerous vehicle. Don't forget the recall that just came out. Ford dealer doesn't have evening or weekend service hours.

Report Abuse

Changes I would make

Jenifer, 07/15/2005
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The car locks should automatically lock when the vehicle is put into drive. There should be rear air conditioning for the back seat. The passenger seat should be automatic when needing to move back and forth. There have been two recalls to this vehicle. To spend $25,000+ you should get a car that has no recalls! Ford should compensate their customers on their recalls, especially when you spend that amount of money. Maybe replace the vehicles with a newer one or one with no imperfections.

Report Abuse

Not when it's broken

hanges, 01/27/2006
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This was the best performing vehicle that I have EVER owned; too bad it had to go into the shop for work over 12 times in one year (20,000 miles). Rotors, fuel lines, EGR valve, fuel tank gaskets, etc. I did get 30 mpg with it and with it fully loaded (floor to ceiling with slip 40/60 seats) set the cruise at 72 and never have it drop below 70, even then going through the Rocky Mountains.

Report Abuse

Hard Pressed to Find One Better

JSampson, 11/12/2010
XLS Sport 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

4 cyl 5 spd model @ 80k now: Bought used with 38k on it. I'm very meticulous about car issues and I have noticed only a couple things that have needed attention over the years. In my mind these issues are less about Ford and more about components manufactured in Asia (I'd bet). 1. Idle Air Control Valve needs some cleaning/replacement after 75k miles or so and is a total pain to get to. 2. DPEF sensor craps out about the same time. Neither one ever left me stranded or were $$$ but did create an erratic idle at times. Outside of that, absolutely nothing has gone wrong. Engine has adequate power and has returned 25 mpg avg, consistently. Handling and braking even w/o all discs is good.

Report Abuse

Buy this and your repair shop will know you by name!

dylywylly, 07/27/2014
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 17 people found this review helpful

I will start with the positives. It really is a fun car to drive, when it is not in the shop. The negatives, it is always in the shop. I bought this car two years ago and from day two it has had problems. It was first something in the 4x4 that was leaking that was a $400 fix. Then came the first oil leak (yes I have had three!) that was another $150 to repair. After that it was something in my front axle that was causing my car to pull like it was out of alignment. New front axle and $600 I though the car was good to go again. After that it was my break line that broke, it left me break-less in a ND winter. And many more! In short don't buy this car! It is yellow, like the lemon it is.

Report Abuse

60k miles and a repair nightmare

NoMoreFords, 11/11/2009
XLT Sport 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

Purchased new and it ran great, then things started to happen. 10K - Lose molding on the roof. Rear wiper does not touch the window. 40K - 6-disc player stopped working. 50k - 3 coils out of 6 had to be replaced. Windows started squeaking when opening and closing. 65k - Replaced oil pan gasket due to leak, and then two month later the oil pan due to stripped plug. 70k Replaced all three catalytic converters (they were plugged up). 70k - Replaced leaky water pump. Replaced cracked alternator. I give up...

Report Abuse

So Far So Good!

Jtptampa, 04/04/2002
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

So far so good. Afew details are pretty cheap. Runs good, decent gas mileage, fun to drive, bigger than it looks inside

Report Abuse

Hard to find manual transmission SUV

Midwesterner, 04/11/2002
XLS Value 4WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We looked long and hard for an SUV with a manual transmission. The 2002 Escape has met our expectations and then some. Easy and fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Excellent for the money

Mike of Detroit, 05/24/2002
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

In 1 year I have had 3 engine problems (nothing major but still inconvenient). Performance wise, the vehicle is excellent. The acceleration is quick and it handles like a dream! The cargo room is adequate. The back seats fold down with little effort, it's great. However, I do worry about the vehicle's thin, light-weight doors in an accident. They don't seem very safe. You must get the center console, without it it feels as though you are going to fall out of the driver's seat.

Report Abuse

BLONDIE

shoessel, 05/25/2002
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The vehicle rides smooth, like the interior and exterior design, great fuel economy, like the sound system

Report Abuse

Good American Car

Jane Johnson, 06/22/2009
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I first saw the Escape when it first arrived on the scene. I told my husband then that I wanted that car when I was ready to get another car. In 2002 I bought my first Escape. I have never had a sorry day. I love this car. It has 105000 miles on it now and it's never been in the shop for more than the usual oil changes. I am older and therefore have a problem climbing out of most cars. With my Escape I can climb up and hop down. That is the main reason I wanted a small SUV. I also have a horse so this great car can carry all my horse equipment with no problem. I think American cars get a bum rap. I get 21 miles to the gallon highway (I drive 30 miles to work each way). luv it

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

JC, 12/06/2009
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is really great SUV. My mom has 2002 Ford Escape that already has over 273,000 miles. Her friend drove a lot for work and vacation. Then she brought it from her friend because they got new car. We take a good care of this vehicle and thanks god its working very good. We rode/drove it A LOT. Ford Escape goes very well on winter, I remember we made it on the hill with 2WD which is awesome. This SUV is better gas than Jeep and Chevy blazer. Her vehicle is a little bit bad shape now but as long its run like reliable and we're keeping until the car break down but this SUV never die.

Report Abuse

One of my best!

wado, 05/06/2010
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drive a lot and have had many cars, trucks, SUVs but my 2002 Ford Escape was by far one of the best vehicles, that I have ever owned! The "ease", of entry/exit, is awesome, for me, and the performance vs mpg is a "perfect combination" I have owned over a hundred vehicles, mostly used, but 37 new, mostly Ford,GM, and this one stands out! Bravo to Ford for such a nice ride, just wish that they had left the spare INSIDE, where it belongs, and continued offering the column shift, for those of us, that are cramped by consoles. The redesigned 2008 and up are much more refined however!! Definitely worth a look!

Report Abuse

Great Escape

Brian, 02/03/2008
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought mine used with 71,000 miles on it. It being a small SUV I didn't really think it would do very well off road even though it had the 4wd. I was extremely suprised on just how well this thing can off-road! I have put it in some pretty hairy places and it just pulled on through without even second guessing it. It handles quite well on the road. I drive 75 miles a day for work in this thing, and I love every minute of it.

Report Abuse

good vehicle for the money

Rcruz, 01/23/2003
XLS Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After shopping for 3 months and reviewing all of the SUV's in this class, I decided that relaibility, power, and affordability was the route to go. The Escape is not as fancy as the Tribute( same exact Mazda engine) or the CR-V, or the Santa Fe but for the money it's the best in it's class. I think Ford's only shortcoming with the Escape was they should have spent a little more money with the build quality and intierior- I personally would have paid for it. Overall I would suggest this SUV to anyone in the market- the 6cyl. 3.0 201hp- 4 dr.

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware!!!

Never Ford Again, 06/26/2004
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The first problem we had was at 2500 miles. The car overheated and air conditioning went out. From that point on anytime we were driving for more than 30 minutes the car would act as if it was overheating. The dealership couldn't fix nor could for. At 28000 miles Ford finally bought the car back from us a full value. This car has major potential electrical problems. Buyer Beware!!!!

Report Abuse

Great SUV

clittl17, 07/11/2004
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car has been so dependable. No problems what so ever. Normal wear/tear such as tires only. One set of breaks just replaced. Will replace (only when needed) with another Escape! Highly RECOMMENDED!!!!:):):)

Report Abuse

good ride

bamroz, 08/13/2004
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Reliable, powerful vehicle that has a good look to it. Vehicle has nice features, but too much plastic.

Report Abuse

Decent Escape

Use It, 03/02/2006
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have 85K miles with no significant anomalies. Yeah, the usual CD sticking, wait till it cools down or use a credit card and it'll come out fine. Still virtually all original parts including tires with decent tread still if you can believe that. This has been used off road a fair bit in serious snow and dirt, along with dogs/skis/bikes/canoes/kayaks/kids/lumber/rocks/bricks/etc. Have changed the tranny fluid every 40K or so and tranny is fine. Great vehicle so far. Good job Ford.

Report Abuse

2002 Ford Escape - Lousy Transmission

debbylee, 09/21/2006
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had a 1991 Ford Explorer, my first Ford. Loved it! So next time I got a 2002 Ford Escape. I have had nothing but problems. Transmission problems from day 1. Air intake chip going bad twice. I sure love the design and wish it had worked out. Still driving it.

Report Abuse

Bullseye!

scape2, 03/08/2002
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Ford and Mazda hit it right on the money and many don't like it! This SUV had a rough start and many took advantage of initial problems and let them be known. I am a proud owner of a 2001 V6 XLT 4x4 in beautiful black. Loaded with stepbars, sunroof, bike racks, tint, 6CD changer the works. I take it skiing, fishing and tow my jet skiis. Granted, the interior needs a little updating but its no worse than a Suzuki, or Honda interior..

Report Abuse

More for your Money

Tatjana, 04/17/2003
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is more than what you are bargaining for - the price is right. You will not be disappointed in this car (rated best SUV for 2002). It's fun and yields about 300 mi per tank in the city. Very reliable and fun. Easy to drive due to it's midsize shape. It's outer design is modern, simple and sporty. The car for those young professionals that want to make a good investment ....

Report Abuse

351,000 like new

B, 06/25/2019
XLT Premium 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our family has had this vehicle for 17 years. It is my daily driver and has 351k on the odometer. We applied Ziebart rust and paint protectant when purchased and the car litetally looks only a few years old. I would love to attach a picture. As you can imagine, many items have been replaced to keep this machine running. Yet, the original radiator, 3.0 v6 engine, rack, and transmission are all original. The leather interior also still looks amazing. We had a few pieces fixed at a local auto upholstery shop. Simply put, this vehicle is extremely reliable. Support it with maintenance and it will support you back.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

To pull a Dodge out the ditch!

nizzlejr, 06/14/2008
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

All I have to say is wow! Ford hit it pretty good with a cheap 4x4 to get around in the winters and summer in Canada. I have to say that the only real problems I've had is changing a motor under warranty. Other then that my Escape has treated me well. Off road in this and you'll be very surprised. I've had the chance to go with Jeeps and such with no problems geting through the muck. Ford has put metal parts on this "truck" where you would see plastic, ie; end links. Very strong SUV. Fuel economy is something to get used to but then what would you expect to get in a near 4000 pound vehicle? Tows great. Transmission is good. I plan to enjoy this "truck" for another few years yet.

Report Abuse

DON'T DO IT

codilh, 09/18/2003
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS VEHICLE!! I've had more problems with the Ford Escape than any other vehicle that I've ever owned. 550 miles - all new gas lines 15000 miles - new transmission 16000 miles - leaking windows, windows off track 30000 miles - new brakes & rotors; new accelorator pedal & throttle; new stearing gear

Report Abuse

Ford Escape 2002

Emster, 01/03/2007
XLS Value 4WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is a good car for the most part, I think there are some design flaws that make this vehicle a "high maintenance" vehicle once the warranty is up. I had trouble with the wiring and windshield cracks. Overall, it got me where I needed to be with little trouble. It has a smooth ride and fits 5 comfortably.

Report Abuse

Lost a customer

Annette S., 11/18/2009
XLS Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

After purchasing my truck I had costly repairs the very first year. Over the next 3yrs the truck had been great until last friday Nov 13th, when my truck had an electrical fire! Please be careful Escape owners, the truck was off and I was not inside when it caught fire. Never again will I own another Ford vehicle due to Ford not taking onwership of the problems with their vehicles.

Report Abuse

All before 20,000 miles

TinkerM, 07/16/2004
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Well, the first thing was the battery it went within a month would not hold water, had to wait until they got another from Mexico? And when installed they left it filthy. Second was the drivers window, when lowered was rubbing on panel had to be replaced. Third, a recal for staling at 40 or over MPH we inquired and were told it was not a 2002 problem as with the 2000's and 2001's. And the most scary the bearings were going out on the front wheels. We noticed on right turns around bends going over 40 a noise, thank someone above we did not let it go. We swore no more American Cars and now are back to that.

Report Abuse

this car

matt, 03/08/2005
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is quit possibly the worst truck I've ever driven. The brakes are horrible. We had to replace the rotors at 32,000 miles. It handles like a barn on wheels. The CD changer went out and had to be replaced. The driver's window makes a horrible screaching sound going up and down. There are so many noises the dealership couldnt even figure it out for 3 months! The transaxle damper went out and it took Ford 4 months to get a part. Road noise is terrible and it eats tires. But it's cute! I hate to say it but Ford could learn something from our foreign compitors. Oh yah DON'T buy one!

Report Abuse

STEP AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE!

Marty, 07/04/2005
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

My Ford Escape is self-destructing as I write - the CD player won't eject without help from my license, the rear wiper doesn't work, the right inside door panel is coming off, the shift indicator light works once in a while, the alternator had to be replaced at 24K, the right rear door doesn't shut without being slammed (this was supposedly fixed by the dealer), the doors are hard to open - feels like the door handle is going to break off (probably will soon), the left running board is separating from itself and it's difficult to shift out of park when parked on a hill. The defrost only works with the visors down, the a/c is inadequate. Could go on and on, but am out of room.

Report Abuse

Still a nice car

J Becker, 09/06/2007
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Vehicle is comfortable and it drives well. The mileage was high, but it was in good shape. I purchased this vehicle in January of this year and for the first four months no problems. In the last four months it is starting to cost me money. I have had to replace the tire rod in the front,and now I need to replace the cv-joint so the anti-lock brakes will work. The belts in my tires are bad, and there is always a light bulb going out.

Report Abuse

My [non-permissible content removed] ford

Nika Liner, 03/04/2016
XLS Sport 4WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 14 people found this review helpful

NEVER again will I buy a ford. This car is full of wonderful surprises , one day a spark plug flies out , another day the breaks give out and you almost die. basically if you're looking for a car you could possibly die in unexpectedly, this is the one!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050