Used 2002 Ford Escape Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,653 - $3,348

Used Escape for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...19

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2002 limited 3.0 ford escape

kia, 08/11/2010
XLT Premium 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
28 of 30 people found this review helpful

I bought this car when it had 114k mi. Black on Black. I had it for a year. the car was absolutely awesome. It had great pickup,good break system and great handling. I never took the car to mechanic for any reason. The only reason that I sold it was ,because I was trying to upgrade it but now I regret it. I changed 2 cars after that but I'm still not happy with what I have. I recommend this car 100%. If you can get the limited, because than the car would have all the options you would need, and there isn't so much difference in the price. the only good upgrade from this car is nissan murano or BMW X3, don't waist you time with other SUVs

Report Abuse

My Rugged 02, Ford escape xls

Vito Mulea, 10/01/2018
XLS Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I purchased my vehicle in 2012 at Good Sam Motors here in Ocala when I first purchased this vehicle I didn't know if I would get good longevity out of it however it fooled me! This vehicle has over 250,000 miles on it occasionally I still have a few things I have to do to it nothing major the hand ability of this vehicle is very good right now I need a valve cover gasket on the engine and also my front end makes a clunking sound at certain intervals or bumps Drive drivetrain wise seems to be very strong I am very surprised with Ford engines especially this 3.0 very rugged and holds up pretty good I'm a firm believer in frequent oil changes and add a Lucas or STP oil treatment withevery oil change it handles great in bad weather for a 2002 I really have no complaints with 250,000 miles on it... thank you Vito m.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Wonderful little SUV

Michael Gazin, 02/10/2016
XLT Sport 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
31 of 35 people found this review helpful

Know that its not supposed to be a luxury vehicle or a sports car. Its a sturdy solidly built vehicle that is very reliable. My particular model is equipped with a v6. Its not going to get the best fuel economy in the world. Drive conservatively and you can easily go a while without getting gas. It makes a good first car for a teenager. If you take care of it, it will take care of you. Since I've owned it, I've put almost 10k miles on it. It's had oil changes routinely. It had one coil pack go bad so I went ahead and replaced all 6 coils and spark plugs which wasn't cheap, but I feel its saved me in the long run. It handles pretty good on the road. It's no sports car but its not going to slip out all the time either. The 4x4 is decent. It doesn't have low range which is somewhat of a bummer but it makes sense seeing as most people will be driving this on the highway. But its nice to know that if you live in a snowy place or out in the woods you have 4x4 available. It's very spacious inside. Plenty of room even for 5 people. Overall I'd say this is one badass SUV. As long as you take care of it, its going to take care of you too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What a blast to drive!!!

Kirk Bailey, 04/06/2002
XLT Choice 4WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have owned a lot of so called "mini" Suv's but none as fun or powerful (with the V6) as I have with the Escape. My son and I go into the back country quite often to camp and fish, so I wanted something that didn't eat up gas and that would get us where we needed to go. The ride is car like so it doesn't beat you up getting to your favorite place yet has enough ground clearance for most off road adventures. I have had no problems with the mini brute but kinda wish it had been built on a frame. Overall, we love it and alot of people ask about it all the time.

Report Abuse

02 Ford Escape 4 cyl/standard

smokey2, 10/01/2008
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle about a year ago as my first car after much thought, and I must say I made the right choice. I chose it for gas mileage and looks, and was able to get a great deal off craigslist. The required maintenence was pricy ($1000 for a new timing belt), but expected. The vehicle is spacious inside, while being able to fit in almost any parking spot and turning around in places other cars can't. The standard transmission is the way to go given the 4 cyl's engine power.

Report Abuse

Nearly 130,000 miles with no problems

shihchi, 11/13/2006
XLS Value 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Have 128,000 miles in 4+ years. No problems. Never back to dealer for any repairs or problems. Avg. 21-24 mpg. Still solid. Spent 4 years on construction sites with no ill effects. Used as primary family vehicle. Daughter hit a deer on spring break with it; vehicle was A-OK, but deer wasn't. Still handles well and is quick. No complaints about CDs sticking or gear shift lever blocking access to anything. Large number cubbyholes are useful. Compared it to RAV4, CR-V and VUE. Escape was by far the best value and fun/comfortable drive. Wife, daughter and son all like it.

Report Abuse

Love my Escape

LJ, 07/01/2008
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had very few problems with my Escape other than the recall issues. It's in the shop now for a new alternator but that after six years and 219,000 miles of driving. Thumbs up!

Report Abuse

LEMON

laurl, 10/08/2002
XLT Choice 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Read the consumer complaints section on NHTSA.gov, for some important info on this car. You will find 106 others like me who own this car and have multiple experiences with stalling headed down hill or on the freeway. We loose steering and most of our breaking. It's like someone cut the lines. It's frightening. Don't be snookered by crash tests and packaging. 'Cause you don't want to know what that crash feels like! The car also surges a lot like you have the cruise control on.

Report Abuse

Pretty Good Car until 130K!

dragonfly58, 08/03/2012
XLT Choice 2 2WD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Purchased my Escape used w/80K miles on it. Three years later w/150K I'm now having BIG problems. Before it hit 130K the car was great! No problems, fun to drive, but now having big problems with E-Vap codes, check engine light always on, fuel hoses replaced, plugs/wires/coils burnt out, back seat release broke, falling apart all at once, cruise control won't work, CD player died, interior falling apart. Mileage horrible, no where near projected, getting 17-19mpg at best. Drivers seat wearing out, no cush left, but lumbar adjust ok. Have always had problems w/cargo door staying locked for days on end, the pits when groceries loaded & you gotta unload over back of seat.

Report Abuse

This is a great car!

Elisabeth S, 08/05/2016
XLS Sport 2WD 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have loved this car! Maintenance has been minimal and it has started first time, every time!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...19
Items per page:
51050