Used 2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$981 - $2,269

Used Cavalier for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Chev Cav 2000, aka, LEMON

Pavel, 11/19/2003
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

My 2000 Chev Cavalier gave me problems right from the first 15,000 miles. In that time I had replaced all 4 Goodyear Tires..they all developed holes in the sidewall...my fault even though it had not happened to me in my 20 yrs of auto ownership. Goodyear would not prorate any tires. At 40K, the radio went out. Fortunately, I had an extended warranty, but I had to fight w/Robert Levis Chev in Slidell, La to get it fixed. While fixing the radio, they damaged the digital oddometer (they wouldn't admit it!). After this incident, I've had to repair the fuel pump, battery and alternator, and other stuff I'm forgetting. I'm buying a new car, thank God.

Report Abuse

i drove it for 17 years

Tall Girl, 08/18/2015
2dr Coupe
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

2/17/2020 Sold the car in 2017. They fixed a few things but never found the short. They recently sold the car with over 200,000 miles on it. Engine/trans still going strong. 8/15/2016 update - STILL GOING STRONG W/173,489 miles. I bought mine brand new in 2000. It is bright red with tan cloth interior. It is the base car with no power anything except brakes & steering. Exactly what I wanted! 3 speed automatic transmission and a 2.2L 4 cyl engine. Plenty of pep when it was new, a cold a/c, a hot heater, and no blind spots to speak of. I was in love with my car. For the first 10 years the only thing I did to it besides oil changes was a few recalls under warranty, and new brake pads/shoes. At 11 years I bought new tires, a battery, and had a tune up done. At 12 years the a/c compressor had to be replaced and it cost $600 at a mechanics shop, then little things here and there. The rear defrost went out at 127,000 miles - but I live in Alabama, so I never replaced it. At 140,000 miles I had my original serpentine belt and hoses replaced and an inline fuel filter put on. It has never run hot, and I have never let it get below 1/4 of a tank. It doesn't use or leak oil, it shifts like it has a shift kit in it and has since brand new. 16 years later it still runs good. At 167,840 miles It received its 3rd battery. 17 years into owning it, and 178,xxx miles, it developed a short. Mechanics could not find the shortso i had to replace a battery, then another battery, then another battery. I sold my little car. It was very hard to do, but the people who bought it are getting it back on the road as soon as they can. I will see it again I'm sure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun little car

outdoorsy24, 07/09/2012
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I had this in highschool. It was fun, looked cool for the year, got great gas mileage, and never gave me any issues.

Report Abuse

Chevy Z24 Convertible

Marcella Carothers, 04/19/2006
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car new. It has always been very reliable. It is a sharp looking car with white striping and tinted windows. It is a lot of fun to drive and I always have envious compliments wherever I go. I have had several new cars in my life and this is the one I liked the most.

Report Abuse

So what if it aint a 'Vette?

John W, 05/19/2003
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is a fun little car to drive and own. It isn't refined like a Jaguar. It isn't a performance car like a Corvette. For the money, it makes no pretense about what it is; simply an enjoyable ride about town with the top down. Besides, if you want all those fancy features, open your wallet up a bit more and quit whining.

Report Abuse

Great little car!

Cheryl, 05/20/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 2 years (bought used) and have had no major problems. It handles very well even in the snow, and has a ton of spunk. The gas mileage is unbelievable, I get 28/city, 35hwy! Super fun to drive, nice tight steering and lots of acceleration, great sound system and convertible is perfect in the summer!

Report Abuse

Great car!

stevewl1164, 06/18/2014
LS 4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in April 2009 and it had 118k, four door and three speed automatic. I paid $1100 for it. It had a new set of Michelins too! The dash near the windshield cracked and now has chunks missing. The original stereo/CD died. It uses no oil between changes. I replaced the radiator, the alternator, and changed the oil every 3000 miles. As of June 2014 it has 186k. I usually get 28 mpg in mixed driving, but sometimes get 30. I figured for $1100 if it lasted a year I could give it away and not be out anything. Five plus years later it is still going strong. Mine has the old OHV 2.2...never had an engine or transmission issue, nor check engine light. I may never get this lucky again. I kept this car until January 2016. I sold it because I bought a 1998 Cavalier with only 100k and was not driving it. It had 218k when I sold it. The people I sold it to said it now has about 230k and have had no problems with it at all. It was so hard to let it go. I wish I had kept it. Even though I have the 1998, I still miss my 2000 model. It was the best car I have ever owned.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great Car

donnn, 02/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've had this car since the day I turned 16, and I've loved every minute with it. I drive over 60 miles a day, and this car has NEVER let me down in the least bit. I have not had to repair a single thing in the 60,000 miles that I've had it. Starts in the coldest weather, and goes through any kind of weather like a champ. Its great on gas, and I'm always getting compliments on how sharp looking it is. Treat this car well, and it will run forever.

Report Abuse

Great little car

Roger sharp, 08/24/2015
Z24 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this cavalier convertible 6 months ago They rod bearing went out 2 months ago every body told me to replace them engine 2.4 oh dual cam But being a stubborn old man (80 years )old can do that myself it is then most complicated car I have ever worked on

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My favorite car ... Ever

Claudia Trainer, 06/23/2017
Z24 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Lots of fun to drive, a head-Turner. Roomy, hands-free opening trunk. Kids don't like back seat (got rid of kids).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Love my Cavalier

jennybear, 03/31/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second cavalier. The first one I had was a 91 and Chevy had made major improvements by 2000. I bought my vehicle second hand at 30,000 miles, and have loved the drive ever since. She is good in the snow. (as good as you can get without 4 wheel drive) She is dependable. The only part that I have had to repeatedly replace is a chip in the dash for the heat. I have only had to replace this 2 times in 10 years so that is not bad. Plus it's a cheap part to replace, like 10 dollars. Otherwise a little cramped in the back seat, but as a driver comfortable seats, fun to drive, dependable, durable, and I think Ill try to keep it for another 10 years.

Report Abuse

Eight and a half years of good driving.

A.B., 09/16/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Yesterday I bid a fond farewell to a close friend after 8 1/2 years. I got my Cavalier in March 2002 as a high school graduation present from my grandmother. I have to say, the Cav did its job and then some. I went to college 3-4 hours away from home, and I now live a half hour away from where I now work, and have done the commute for 4 years now. The Cavalier was great on gas and kept me safe on one of the worst, most congested Interstates in the country. From an old man t-boning me after running a stop sign to skidding on ice on the Interstate, hitting a snow bank, and the only damage being a bent license plate, this car's toughness isn't to be underestimated. I loved the old gal!

Report Abuse

Reliable and Sporty

Z24, 11/13/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been driving this car for about 6 years and it has been pretty reliable overall. It has over 100,000 miles and still runs well. Some repairs needed include replacing the front wheel bearings, replacing the part that holds the muffler, and replacing the serpentine belt several times. At one time, the check engine light went on and the dealer said it needed new oxygen sensors. I did not get them replaced and it still runs fine and no longer has a check engine light on. There is some rust developing on certain parts, especially the side panel under the gasoline door. This car is easy and comfortable to drive. It is fast enough when you need it and still gets good mileage.

Report Abuse

Hate to think of ever replacing her

Brian, 11/09/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2000 Cavalier 4dr stick- shift new in 2000. Just needed fuel efficient transportation and never expected to fall in love w/her. This car has done it all. I have pulled a small trailer with it since new and still only just replaced the clutch once at 109k miles. Consistently gets 36 mpg on interstate and 28-30 daily driving. I have had this car most people wouldn't take a 4wd truck. As for design and ride comfort, it's a cavalier not a mercedes. This car has 116k miles and I hope I get another 10 yrs out of her. I hope one day, when I finally have to let her go, that I can find another ride as great as this car.

Report Abuse

Best little car ever!

Jes, 06/10/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this sweet little car right out of high school and have enjoyed it every day since. The only thing I have ever done to my car is get new tires and oil changes. It has never broke down or needed anything replaced. I have driven it hundreds of miles across the country and it is very comfortable for a little cheap car. I have to sell it now because I need a four door car for my new little baby. I am going to cry when my sweet little Cavalier goes away!

Report Abuse

Reliable

Kevin, 09/09/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our 2000 Cavalier in October of 1999. We have 123,000 miles on the car. We get 28 mpg average between city and highway. We have the 2.2 litre engine. The car is very easy to drive and still runs very well. We have had very little trouble out of it. It has been very reliable. No leaks of any kind, and everything works. Still looks good and I enjoy driving it every day. We paid $13,000 for it new and have had the car for nearly ten years. I have no plans to sell or trade my Cavalier. I have owned many different cars from many different manufacturers, but I have kept this one the longest and have found it to be the most reliable.

Report Abuse

Z Power

Tank, 12/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a winter car and never considered buying an American car, much less a Cavalier. To my surprise this little Z24 is fantastic, I only paid $2500 for it and that is a steal compared to anything else in the market in that good of shape, No rust...no fuss. Although it is not perfect it is very fun to drive and reliable so far. If I get 2 years out of this car, wow, I will buy another.

Report Abuse

Love My Chevy

BiMi, 05/29/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2006 and have loved every minute. It is so reliable and the gas mileage is astounding. The dash and cracks around the vents and radio are discouraging. So much of the cosmetic parts of the car have broken off. My husband and I have driven from Florida to Philly, Philly to Virginia (4 times). It has done extremely well. My husband used to make fun of my "sissy car". his car broke down, but mine keeps on going and going. He stopped calling it my "sissy car". It is now "our car".

Report Abuse

Great little car!

cakesa3, 12/14/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drive a 2000 cavalier which has taken my sister through High school, and is now taking me through college. It is a great little car! It has only given minor problems which u can expect from any car. When we got the car, it was abandoned by its current owner. It did not run and it needed a new transmission, but my uncle who is a mechanic saved its life. :) I don't like to see people bash this car-or American makes period. No, its not the most comfortable car. But if thats what your wanting, then your going to pay more. This is a simple car-to get you from point A to B. If your looking for something more luxurious, GM does make the Cadillac. Now there's 116,000 miles and still running strong!

Report Abuse

25,000 miles in one year!

sturns, 05/12/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car a year ago with great apprehension. I have heard bad things about Cavaliers and GM. But my fears have been asuaged. This car is a beast! From freeway to stop and go driving this car has gone 25,000 miles in one year and I have had no real problems. It can be a little underpowered and at times noisy, but it's strength lies in reliability. It also excelerates well in turns. Good job Chevy! Good job GM!

Report Abuse

very expensive to replace or repair

sherrykkkee, 04/09/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Drivers window has never worked right. About 400 to replace motor which helped for short time... Back window coming loose, that is a 595.00 cost. I have a fungus growing in back seat due to water leaks. Door rubber was replaced before.... Not a good car for tall people. Have been repeatedly ripped off by dealership and other mechanics.... I only put the top down about 4-5 times a year.... If I touch drivers window button, it could take 2 days to get it back up.....

Report Abuse

best economy car

adrian, 01/12/2003
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been extremely satisfied with the car, the editor's review here is very unfair. Best exterior design by far among everything out there, powerful engine, ABS and other options are standard (compare with Civic or others in this class), and last but not least good price (compare again with competition such as Honda) Crash results are listed here as poor, but i've had a serious accident and it behaved very well - both airbags went off, the front of the car was smashed, but i was just fine, with no injuries.

Report Abuse

Cavaliers are a great car

kirby, 01/16/2005
1 of 20 people found this review helpful

This is now my 6th Cavalier. No matter how you cut it they are reliable and low maintenance. In the past 18 months of owning the 2000 cavalier I have now, it has cost me less than $200.00 in total repairs(regular oil changes included). My only complaint is the suspension is a little weak. All Cavaliers have been known to hit hard over bumps leaving the comfort of driving being sacrificed. However if you can sacrifice the comfortable drive for a cheap, reliable, low maintenance, gas miser. Then a Cavalier is right for you.

Report Abuse

Sondra

zoeydsngwrtr, 03/26/2003
2 of 37 people found this review helpful

I am a return customer for the Cavalier. I find that for their class, they are pretty good, (in my mind they come in second to the Civic, it is just too much money for my budget). The car drives very well, and you get what you pay for plus some.

Report Abuse

Love this car

heather stevens, 06/21/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I always love to drive this car. It is cost effective and very reliable. It is a great car for first getting out of college.

Report Abuse

Shaky Brakes

RaYcH, 07/05/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I agree with the person who said there is vibrating feel with the brakes sometimes. It's weird. Overall, I love my car. It looks good and drives well. I had some problems with the Solinoid(not sure of the spelling) when I first bought it. Took the dealership a while to figure out what was wrong. Guess thats what I get for buying a used car. But it's a great car for a good price.

Report Abuse

our 2nd Cavalier

tom decker, 03/10/2006
1 of 23 people found this review helpful

Oil changes and tires have been the only maintenance to date for our Cavalier and for us, that equates to reliability.

Report Abuse

Great little car for your money

Kari, 06/03/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new and I'm just now trading it in. The only reason I'm trading it, is because I need a bigger car for a family of 5. I wouldn't trade it if I didn't have too. It's been the best car I have ever owned. I've only put on 81,600 miles on it and it still drives like its new. Had someone back into me but my father was able to pull the dent out and it doesn't look so bad. Only had to replace the tires and brakes. Great car for your money. I'll miss her, I've been through a marriage and divorce and now a new family with her. I hope the next person loves her as much as I have.

Report Abuse

2000 4 door Cavalier

sher, 06/11/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new. After 3 months the rods blew, the trunk broke, the dash has 6 cracks. Seats are very hard on back. Very noisy ride. Fan motor broke after 55,000 miles. Brakes squal even though they were fixed. CD player broke after 4 years old

Report Abuse

Should've shopped around

Happy Couple, 04/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought the car new. Ride quality is extremely rough and the dashboard rattles CONSTANTLY. The front seats are uncomfortable and it has a cheesy stereo. Overall, the car is a good value considering the package options.

Report Abuse

R.I.P.

Stef B, 08/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Cavilier was the first car I ever owned and I loved it. It looked great, was comfortable, and was fun to drive. The only problems I ever had with it were your basic wear and tear fix ups, considering it did have a few miles on it when I bought it. Other then that it was a great car. I've read on the internet that Caviliers are considered "death traps" but I'd have to disagree. I was in a severe accident in mine and that car saved me and my friends who were with me when the wreck happened. I'd consider these cars to be very safe and reliable, great for a kid's first car. It would have lasted me a long time if my wreck hadn't happened.

Report Abuse

Great Resale Value!

JUP, 05/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it 2 years ago for my Daughter! Car rode fairly well, lacked power with 4 cyl engine. Had some minor issues heater core motor went early on, couple rattles. Had 1 recall heater hose rubbing against AC unit(unfortunately car broke down (overheated) before we got the notice) GM took care of it 100%. Car cost slightly over $11K with rebates. Just traded it in on Sante Fe. Trade in Value suprised me. Got $6,600 real dollars trade against bare Invoice. Super deal on Trade in had 22k miles pristine contion. Recouped over 60% of original cost. . Overall for cheap first car not too bad. Daughter is Petite car fit her well, for me uncomfortable to be in for any length of time.

Report Abuse

2000 Cavalier

TCRaven87, 01/10/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought the car at 45,000 miles and it now has 110,000 miles on it. Only thing major that needs replaced is the AC Compressor. I've made quite a few long drives with it and cant complain about the comfort. The dash near the windshield is cracked and the dash squeaks. The gas mileage also is not what a small cars should be. With City/Highway combined I can get 330 miles on a full tank. and recently I notice some electrical issues. Other than that I can say that it has not left me on the side of the road.

Report Abuse

Good car for the price

Jason, 05/21/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car cause I wanted a 5-speed car that was cheap on gas. I have had good success with GM vehicles. The car has plenty of power when needed, but enough low end power to pass without down shifting at highway speeds and to no have to rev it up just to get it going around town. There were issues I had to correct from previous owners attempts at repair. Things that are actually problems were the brake rotors that warp and turn signal stalk/cruise control/head light switch (multi function). Rotors are an easy fix as any aftermarket fix the issue, performance rotors and pads help with pedal feel though. Suspension is compliant and handles ok, but could use sway bars and strut towers.

Report Abuse

an excellent car for first later drivers

john brittain, 07/06/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

an ideal car for small family.all the features needed for an efficient vehicle and good engine performance. fold down rear seat for lots of storage space.disc radio with very good sound.rear door safety lock feature. strong body construction. manual locks and windows which i wanted to avoid costly electrical repairs(as on a pontiac ste which i had.)

Report Abuse

2000 Z24 is very reliable

RicanZ24, 01/28/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had this car from the very begining. I always kept up with the maintenance. Never had any major problems with it. The thing I can complain about is the famous crack in the dash that everyone gets. I had this fixed and it cracked on me again. Too much plastic. The paint job GM has on the car is cheap. After 5 years my paints was starting to peel off. Its going on 8 years now and the roof, trunk and hood are in bad condition due to sun damage. Other than that my car runs like a champ. As long as you take care of your car it will take care of you in the long run.

Report Abuse

Good Reliable Car

Joseph Wilson, 06/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Cavalier for about two years. I love the styling of the car inside and out. It's a great looking car. The things that can be improved are the performance. It's slow....especially with the A/C on. I've only had one recall on it which is great. Two other things are the dash is very noisy and not stable. Also the sound system is horrible.

Report Abuse

Worth driving?

hud_green, 06/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Z24 2 1/2 years ago. I have had little maintenance. (breaks, water pump) As usual with any Chev the paint has begun to peel in a minor fashion. The car has held up well, it has been driven accross Canada twice. It runs smooth on the highway in the summer. In the winter it doesn't respond as well and creaks considerably more.

Report Abuse

Z24 Coupe - Great Value

Neuromancer, 06/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased this American Model car up here in Canada. Runs very strong and has been very reliable. I find the fit and finish to be less that what my previous car had, but was to be expected with an American car in this price range. Good fuel economy despite having a sporty, and admittedly eager to be beaten, 2.4L powerplant. Performance is on par with my old Civic SiR and interior is just as comfortable. I guess time will tell if this car is as reliable as the Honda was. My only big complaint is that the braking system is complete garbage. Everything turns to mush when driven hard, and the rears not having discs reminds me of other ten year old cars.

Report Abuse

Never Again

Never Again, 05/19/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased the car used but from a dealer with 43,000 miles on it. It is a 5 speed manual. I have now replaced the transmission 2 times and the thing is acting up again. I am a trained tractor-trailer driver and have had no problems with any of my truck transmissions. There seems to be a poor design and the parts used to build the hydraulic clutch are simply terrible (plastic). The thing has shaken, rattled, and rolled since I first bought it with little things like knobs falling off all the time. Although, I will say the engine has lasted, but I am sure it is going next. It just does not seem like the people at GM cared about craftsmanship or quality. Do not buy one, especially a stick.

Report Abuse

z24 cavalier

Jerry, 09/18/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned a z24 for 7 yrs. Bought it off lease with 50k and its been very reliable, cheap transportation. Never had anything but routine maintenance and minor stuff to do. I am actually surprised at how good this car has been as I didn't expect too much from a cavalier except economy. Everything about it is economical (repairs, mileage etc). Handling is good. Ok in winter but better get real good snow tires.

Report Abuse

First Car

DomF, 09/18/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2010, meaning it was already 10 years old. It had about 88,000 miles on it. For a 10 year old car, it sure didn't seem like one. Maybe because it's my first car and I'm just in love with the idea of a car but I think it is the greatest. It is very easy and cheap to maintain and runs great. I am very satisfied with the interior and exterior. There really isn't anything I feel I would change about this car.

Report Abuse

Cavaliers are Awsome!!!

apracing, 07/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i dont know why this rating is soo low people must just be writting crap without knowing what they are talking about. For a very affordable price the cavalier is the perfect car for any student high scool or college!!

Report Abuse

2000 Cavalier

rips, 08/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car runs great. It has been in Florida the whole time and has not been exposed to the winter elements and salt from the roads.

Report Abuse

2000 Chev Z24 review

ORF, 08/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Z24 outperforms other compact coupes in many ways. It was thousands of dollars (Cdn) cheaper than Japanese rivals and the 150hp engine offers ample mid-range torque that most Japanese engines don't have. Shifting is crisp and smooth with the Getrag 5- speed. Ride is stiff but helps a lot keeping the car stable during cornering. Reliability is better than expected. The only problems I have encountered so far were the erratic fuel guage and battery leakage, which were fixed under warranty. Overall the car is very fun to drive and inexpensive to own.

Report Abuse

Good Quality car

-dood-, 09/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a good quality car to drive. It has a sporty exterior that turns eyes and a good midsized engine that performs very well. I have had little trouble with the car and it doesnt look like i will have much later either.

Report Abuse

nice car!

diaster24, 10/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

ive had no problems what so ever with my car i got a really good prive on it and i love it its pretty fast with a cold air intake this one is worth buying!

Report Abuse

Fun first car

houstonbabe, 07/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new as my first car. I really love the exterior, and I am small so I can handle the cramped interior. I have driven it almost 36,000 miles in two years and have had no major problems. If only the dashboard weren't noisy or cracking I would be completely satisfied.

Report Abuse

Big woman in small car & still happy

pessimisticrealist, 09/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a 6'1" 300+ pound all woman who was in search of a car that would get better mpg than the piece of @#*) I was driving. I was having alot of problems due to my size. I couldn't get into most 4drs because the doors are just too darn short. I wanted an American automobile & had just about decided to buy a Kia Sephia (four door bunches of room) when someone at work bought a 2dr Cavalier & I borrowed it to run to the store.Except for the small hip area & lack of length on the seat belt,I fell in love.It took a little while to get used to the enormous dash area but otherwise,I loved it. It has room enough for my husband & I.

Report Abuse

It's a Trooper!

DCGirl, 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

All I can say is this car has been good to us! We have driven across the country from Washington, DC to California TWICE with not a peep from our Cavalier (except for locking the keys out in South Dakota). My only complaint is how easily it gets dinged and dented, even with very minor impact.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050