Used 2010 Acura RDX SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,951 - $10,995

Used RDX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The Best small upscale SUV, hands down

klrsmile, 01/16/2012
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

Having test driven a variety of its competitors, including some SUVs up-market as well as down (GLK, X3, Q5, Highlander) as well as being a former MDX owner, my wife and I were equally impressed with the RDX, albeit for very different reasons. He: Love the performance, 0-60 in about 6 seconds - very impressive, and surprisingly nimble, a very fun car to drive. The stereo is equally impressive, sounds great and free 12 months subscription to satellite insures something for everyone to listen to. She: The cargo space handles weekend shopping and family upkeep with ease. Crash test ratings help keep the kids safe

Report Abuse

One happy buyer here

May 2010 Buyer, 10/08/2010
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Having used these reviews in my decision, I'm repaying my debt to the forum. Great car, would buy it again. I would recommend to anybody looking for something fully loaded for base price, V6 power in a V4, and luxury without the price. Five months and 8,000 miles later, I can appreciate the quality and workmanship even more.

Report Abuse

Love it

Pleased, 11/25/2009
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love Honda Motor Company. Had an MDX before...which loved. Opted for 2wd b/c I don't need SH-AWD in TX. Better mpg...but just barely. Only complaint on RDX is that any 4 cyl. should get 20 MPG at least. I'm no lead-foot, but I only average 17 MPG in city. The tech package is great. Very similar to my MDX's, but also controls my ipod and weather forecast. Love hands-free talk features and the feel of steering. I don't use paddle-shifters. Ride is sportier and quicker than MDX, but just slightly bumpier. Road noise is great...not an issue. Plenty of room for us, but we don't regularly haul anything other than groceries. I don't tow anything and don't plan to.

Report Abuse

Navi

Bean, 09/14/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The RDX is exeptional in every way...I'd recommend it to anyone. The quality is second to none. But I want to stress the superiority of the NAV package. After a recent road trip in a friend's Lexus, I am embarrassed for Toyota. The Honda Navi is far superior...the joy stick, zoom in/out, changing addresses on the go, categories of attractions, etc. The Acura Navi is intuitive, easy to use, fun and informative. I only have Lexus' to compare it to, but that Toyota's is a total waste of money.

Report Abuse

Great Purchase

Will , 03/21/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Bought this instead of the CR-V and GLAD we did. My wife and I have a small family and wanted something bigger than our Accord but with decent gas mileage but still fun to drive. This fits the ticket. Averages 22 mpg w/ mixed driving and got 28 on a road trip. Ride is a little rough but not bad and is more than likely the quality roads we have in Louisiana. Love the ability to play my mp3's. Very happy with purchase.

Report Abuse

Nice Commuter SUV

bob, 06/17/2010
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I finally found it, a compact crossover SUV that has the right combination of luxury, comfort, and drivability at a reasonable price. My daily big city commute requires superb acceleration and smooth handling to ensure a safe drive. The Acura RDX gives me this, is fun to drive, and gets reasonable gas mileage. The seats are wide and welcoming for my 50+ year old body. The RDX is a very good value compared to other luxury SUVs. The base model cost 10-15% less than the other SUVs that I considered, yet had all of the features that I wanted. And when I sit in it, I can tell that Acura delivers a high quality product.

Report Abuse

Follow-up Review

follow-up, 04/15/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I originally reviewed after only a few days. Now I have had it about 6 months. Great car. Smaller than my MDX, but same great vehicle. The computer says I get 19.5 mpg all city driving. FWD is better on fuel than AWD, but still should be better. Very peppy and easy to drive. Turbo is great. Tech package is a must. I connected my ipod and love the fact the I can control it with normal stereo controls. Chevy Traverse drove well, but the interior, road noise, and overall drive doesn't even compare to Acura. I love it.

Report Abuse

Follow-up to my previous Follow-up

Follow-up...again..., 08/13/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've driven it for a year and I LOVE it. I wondered if I would miss my bigger SUV after the "new car" was gone, but I don't. This is a great car. Fun to drive, sporty, and easy to fit into any parking place. MPG could be better, but on the highway I do a little better than 21 MPG so no complaints. The Navi is superior to competitors' systems for ex, don't have to be in park to enter a new destination, etc. With seats folded down, I can fit anything I have needed to carry. MPG is the ONLY draw-back. I think a 4 cylinder should do better (even if it drives better than a V6) but that's just me. I just wanted to assure readers that the car is worth the money. I'd buy it again!

Report Abuse

Excellent Value and Fully Loaded

Mark, 06/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After testing the BMW X3, Lexus, and Audi Q5 we happily selected the RDX. For the value the "base" model includes Bluetooth, heated seats, nice sound system, real time rear camera which shows up in the rear view mirror (pretty cool, just to name a few features. These features are additional packages in other crossovers and add a great deal to the cost. Moreover, the RDX is fun to drive with plenty of pick up, especially around corners.

Report Abuse

Best Bang for the Buck!

Tim , 08/01/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Researched for 6+ months. Looked at Hyundai, KIa, Ford, Toyota, Honda, GMC, Chevy, Nissan. Drove their small crossovers. For the money, paid under 30, this by far the best of the bunch. Fit and finish is top notch, super quiet ride, great acceleration, easy handling. Had owned a TL several years ago and found this as well built. Cost is 15% to 20% under Infinity, Audi and Lexus. The front wheel dive is as good as AWD costing 2 grand more. Would recommend to all.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive

hmsq5, 02/28/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car puts a grin on my face every time I drive! Granted the front shield can be polarizing but overall the car is incredibly fun to drive. I had a '08 A4 prior to the RDX and the RDX handles corners better than the A4. And with way more power. Noise level between the two is about the same but the turbo growl on the RDX is really pleasant. I find the ride to be very comfortable, steering with good road feel and the interior clean and functional. We have a '11 Q5 2.0 and the RDX is much more fun to drive. The Q5 is bigger, quieter and feels more numb on the roads. It doesn't handle as well as the RDX, costs $8000 more comparably equip and Acura dealers are >>>>> than Audi.

Report Abuse

I too wish I could return

sad_owner1, 01/29/2014
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

The 2010 RDX drives like a dream. Handles very well especially in the snow. I loved this car until I've had to make the following warranty replaced repairs... 4 new batteries, Replaced auto start, Replaced Air compressor relay switch, Alternator, Windshield wiper switch and still have issues with windshield wipers. This sadly, will be my last Acura

Report Abuse

A great segue for a Sports Car owner

shivaswrath, 12/27/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I used to drive a '05 Mitsubishi Evolution VIII. Family changes forced my hand to the RDX, but I have been continually pleasantly surprised. VERY responsive engine, love the transmission with the paddle shifters, and excellent interior comforts. I do mostly highway commuting and this car has made every stopped moment in traffic on I-95 heaven. A worthwhile, long-term investment; just bear in mind maintenance isn't cheap since the turbo REQUIRES synthetic Mobil 1 ($100 a dealership).

Report Abuse

2010 RDX Review - SH-AWD

Justin, 06/15/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First time buying an SUV. Looked at the Rouge, Escape Ltd., CX-7, Tiguan - also higher up the XC-60. For the money (paid $33) the RDX blew away the comp. Love the interior (first 'luxury car'), audio is awesome - leather heated, very comfortable seats (fr and bk). exterior is nice. Very peppy, i merge like a champ w/ the turbo. everyone compliments my new ride, & rightly so. I'm a proud owner BUT MPG is killing me. i need AWD (in Alaska) and I'm averaging 18.5 MPG. I drove a Jetta before, so maybe I'm over reacting but premium fuel and 18.5 is the only thing I'm not thrilled with. If you are in the $30-35k range this is the vehicle hands down. Happy Owner

Report Abuse

2010 RDX

AG, 06/13/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am very impressed with my RDX. Excellent on long drives. Power on demand with turbo is awesome! Even without technology package, tech features are great and way ahead of competitors. Solid feel with great agile handling. Cargo area very good for size (much better than BMW). Considering features, tremendous price/value. Gas mileage very acceptable for an SUV (23 mpg after only 3 wks. of ownership).

Report Abuse

2010 RDX - Impressive vehicle

JR, 08/03/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The refreshed 2010 RDX is a significant improvement over the 2007 through 2009 in the following ways: 1) The ride is more compliant (suspension improvement) 2) The ride is quieter (the reduction in road noise was immediately noticeable) 3) The turbo is quieter from inside the RDX as well as engine noise which is more muted than before. I think they even changed some of the materials a little bit to quiet things down 4) The leather is improved (softer, more supple) 5) The navigation screen is a bit larger 6) USB interface has been added 7) The front grill on this one actually looks classy and more luxurious than the previous front end. 8) Etc, etc, etc.

Report Abuse

Not much to not like

scallaha, 08/25/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I read plenty of Edmunds reviews for plenty of different cars before deciding on the RDX so now, I'm giving back. I needed something large enough for my small family (wife and kid), but also something I could look forward to driving. RDX fits the bill. I'm averaging 21 mpg which really isn't bad for a CUV/SUV size car even with upgrading tires to Bridgestone Alenzas (had to swap the hazardous OE tires with something that has traction). Really happy with the handling and performance balance with mpg. For a CUV, this is quite a fun car to drive. The interior is nice and the stereo in the tech package is way better than I expected. All in all, I'm quite happy with the purchase.

Report Abuse

Dream Car...that became a Painful Nightmare

Garrett, 10/24/2017
SH-AWD w/Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just to start off the bat, I am only 21 years old. So, a few of my gripes are because of my specific likes and dislikes. For the first year and a half, the car ran like a dream. The turbo engine passed cars no problem. The interior stayed nice and clean and intact. The transmission shifted nicely. Very rarely was it in the shop for any reason other than A/C recharge or oil change. From May of 2014 until April of 2017, this car was the best decision I made. That was until April 2017. The first strange thing I noticed was that the car would randomly die. Drive it for a few days, leave it sit for 1, car would be dead. Had to get it towed to auto repair. Simple fix, just changed the battery and recharged. Few weeks later, same situation happened again: car would run fine for 2-3 days, then leave it sit for more than 24 hours, and it wouldn't start. Towed it again, auto service just recharged the battery. Funny story...IT DID IT A THIRD TIME! Took it back to auto service. From that point on, it was a trial and error scenario, seeing which functions and features on the car were constantly draining the battery. Tried that once or twice. Only to have the wrong options selected and towed back to auto service. (All-in-all, this process lead to 4 instances of towing a "dead" car and 5 instances of the battery dying.) After a month and a half of this problem continuing, finally found the solution: THE BLUETOOTH MODULE! Always connecting to a nearby device even when the car wasn't running, even when the device was not in range. Had the bluetooth module removed and never put back in again. Summer of 2017, the car is running fine...and actually running again. At 127000 miles, I figured something would start to go. The transmission began to slip, jerk, chug, pop, lock, and drop. Revving the engine up to 3-4 RPMs and it wouldn't move, it would actually decrease speed. On the highway was a worse problem: going 40 mph in a 60 CONSTRUCTION ZONE and it felt like the car was in neutral slipping down the hills as I floored the gas pedal. Braking began to pop when getting close to full stop (right before 10 mph and less) it would chug forward and then stop). At 136,000 miles, it has continued with the problems in the transmission, shifting, and braking and doesn't look to be improving. Dealers and auto mechanics swear there is nothing wrong with transmission or shifting. It feels like a chore to drive anymore. Will be getting a new car soon enough. But....loved the Turbo while it lasted.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Avoid at all cost

David Collantes, 08/08/2015
SH-AWD 4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl Turbo 5A)
7 of 15 people found this review helpful

Very unreliable car, poorly manufactured. "Leather interior" is not quite leather, instrumentation will not give you details on battery not charging, or similar issues until it is fully dead. Ride is not comfortable, "eats" gas like a monster. Overall craft of the car is poor. Will never buy an Acura again, unless it comes straight from Japan.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wish I could return it

amit batt, 10/05/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought this car to downsize from our Volvo XC90 - and be more "green". What a mistake! The mileage is no better despite the miserably small cabin and trunk (looks big but doesn't hold much). This car should never be bought by a family - if you are a young couple who doesn't drive far or carry much (or mind the 90+ dB road noise) , then, I have a vehicle for you.

Report Abuse

Not really good for the money

dahaad3925, 06/04/2011
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

The RDX was really convenient for the extra cargo space, but it lacked two things that really bugged me. 1.) storage space in the cabin. There was absolutely no where to put anything out of sight in the cargo compartment. I wish they had put more little cubbies to store stuff in. 2.) The cabin noise when you drive down the street. I could hear everything and it drove me nuts! I am a luxury car owner. Before the RDX I owned a BMW, and in comparison I wanted my BMW back everyday. Overall, I don't think the RDX was worth the almost 40K I paid for it brand new. I'm not going to lie, the surround sound and technology was nice, but it's practicality is why it gets a partial substandard review.

Report Abuse

A Winner!

trome, 11/08/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I picked up my RDX today and found the fit and finish to be excellent and the seats the most comfortable I have ever sat in except perhaps for Volvo. I priced up a Volvo XC60 and if you option it out with things that are standard on the base RDX like leather, blue tooth, heated seats, XM rado, bi xenon lights, sunroof you would be looking at a 38k car. I paid 31k for my RDX and feel it was the bargain of the century! Especially after considering a RAV4 v6 which the dealer wanted 28k for and it does not even compare to the Acura.

Report Abuse

2010 RDX (AWD)

Robert McGuire, 11/14/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have only had this vehicle for two weeks but I have enjoyed it very much. It is fun to drive, has the power I need when merging on to the highway and I love when the turbo kicks in. Not very pleased with the road noise and you feel every bump, that's something that my wife and I both agree on. The road noise you can get use to but the bumps are another thing.

Report Abuse

RDX 2010 SH-AWD with Tech

raza, 11/17/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolutely best car I ever drove. All wheel drive is a blast to drive in the rain and snow... the tech in the car is amazing. The only downside is the gas mileage getting about 17-19 on highway. Probably needs to break in some more. Pretty quick for a 4 cylinder. Seats are very comfortable.

Report Abuse

Not Bad for a 1st time SUV owner

Maria, 12/11/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car since August 2009. I got it using the Cash for Clunkers program. I am overall pleased with the car. The gas mileage could be better but it is a 4cyl. turbo. I used to have only 6 cyl. vehicles and this car is faster than what I used to own. I wish we could use regular gas. It is fun to drive, handles the road well, great technology and love the heated seats. It suits the needs of my small family and I also did not want a large SUV being that this is the first time that I have owned an SUV.

Report Abuse

The good just got better!

Acuraman, 01/07/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the second RDX that I have owned. Acura has done an excellent job in this mid- model change improving those areas of complaint by owners of the 2007-2009 models, such as road noise, braking performance, ride stiffness, etc.

Report Abuse

Awesome

Bill, 03/09/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the second Acura I have owned, the MDX being the first. All things considered it is the best small SUV on the market period. I looked at them all- BMW, VW, Audi, etc. As long as you are not looking for a troop transport it has plenty of space.

Report Abuse

Better than a Lexus?

Les, 03/19/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Prior to buying this vehicle, I researched the Lexus RX 350, the Volvo XC 60, the Audi Q5, and the Ford Escape. I test drove the Volvo. Most of these vehicles, are over $40,000, plus tax and license, and that is w/o many of the amenities that come standard with the RDX. The RDX interior is very nice. It is functional and user friendly. The bluetooth is very easy to set up and operate. The rear view mirror has a back up camera. It is amazing how much you get for under $32,000. I am still waiting to see how the gas mileage is going to be. My Lexus IS 350, got about 19 miles a gallon. If I can get that, I'll be happy.

Report Abuse

Fun SUV

Jeanie, 03/20/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What a fun SUV! I've owned my RDX for 2 weeks now. Got it to replace my Toyota Sienna minivan in order to downsize with one of three kids now off to college. It's a smaller car for me, and I haven't traveled in yet yet with luggage, but so far I love it. VERY fun to drive. Unbelievable pick- up and handling. Comfortable. Easy to learn controls on the dash. My one negative is the stiff bumpy ride. I'm used to a carlike ride, so learning to tolerate the bumps will be a challenge. Also, when using the bluetooth and ipod on my iphone, the ipod sound will not work. I've got to figure that one out soon!

Report Abuse

Just Perfect For Us

tom w, 07/01/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Can't tell you how much we like this car. We looked and drove many others before making our choice. It is the wife's car but I find myself making excuses all the time to drive it. Very fun to drive. Just like a go kart on take off. A lot of bang for your buck. Ours is black and we get a lot of people looking and asking about the car. It looks great. The people a Acura were very nice to deal with also. We leased and found the $0 down lease deal to be one of the best offered anywhere. My wife only puts about 10k a year which is what's offered in the lease. You can pre-buy extra miles which is smart if you drive a lot. If you put more than 12k a year you should purchase the car not lease.

Report Abuse

Shop around for best prices

Chuck, 02/22/2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased the Acura RDX front wheel drive with technology package. Excellent car alot of power for a 4cyl. Interior controls are very accessible. The handling is very good for a SUV. The sound system is really good. Overall I love this vehicle would definitely recommend to friends.

Report Abuse

Great Sports Car

Jonathon Wacek, 08/30/2009
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

When looking at crossovers it was hard to find one with design, reliability, and power. My wife wanted a CRV but I was not impressed with the small engine (166 hp for a big vehicle). I tried to convince my wife about the RAV4 with a V6 engine but she didn't like the style. We found the Acura and I believe it is a great compromise (250 hp!!). Great power and reliability I wanted, with the looks and feel she wanted. To my surprise it was only $2,000 more than a loaded CRV or RAV4 after neg. We have had it for about a month and my wife loves it. I am not impressed with the gas mileage. With a prius 17-19mpg hurts. As a crossover it fits our wants but we don't use it for towing or haul.

Report Abuse

Great around town vehicle

Charles, 05/10/2010
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is a blast to drive. I'm a long time Acura MDX driver and the RDX is a lot more fun in daily highway/city driving. When I'm not cranking up the turbo, I seem to average about 23 mpg with the 2-wheel drive.

Report Abuse

Excellent Value

Renaki, 05/17/2010
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Finally we decided on the Acura RDX. After test driving and debating over 13 different suvs this was the winner in the end. The choice came down to a balance of value, creature comforts, and performance. With the deal we received on the RDX it's hard to find another vehicle in the same class that offered up the comfort of the seating, the rear cargo room (61 cubic ft), the technology niceties etc for the price. I was shocked at how comfortable the seats were after riding in the vehicle all weekend and the audio features are excellent. Fuel economy is my biggest gripe and it would be nice to have some reclining seats in the back like other competitors. All in all this is an excellent car

Report Abuse

Overpriced so-so SUV

ezma, 09/25/2013
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

I hoped the turbo is fun to drive. In order to get a car like this, performance is a must, but it doesn't. Use premium gas plus high priced in maintenance, this car is failed to qualify as a luxury SUV. The NAV is the worse one on market. I don't even want to use it because the lack of touch screen. To operate the NAV feel so dump. Turbo kick in is similar to the down shift gear. Bit just too slow. I would say even RAV4 V6 is way better than this junk. So this is a way overpriced with really bad performed SUV. 2010 to 2012 are the same. 2013 and later changed to V6 but no more SH-AWD. I don't see what's the position of this SUV.

Report Abuse

Not worth the money

momof2, 09/06/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car due to cash for clunkers. I think I would have like this car better had I not driven or knew about the Tiguan (no inventory available). No rear air vents, back seats don't move, sunroof is weak and virtually no power outlets (1). Luxury is a far reach for this car. All the thought was put into technology rather than make the vehicle functional. The dual air zone is for the front seats...I guess they don't think anyone will sit in the back as if the back seat is just decoration. The vehicle does drive smooth and has great control but cabin noise is another "non luxurious" characteristic.

Report Abuse

Great sports car

geohov, 11/03/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle handles better than any car I've ever owned. It does have a hard ride though. My friends think it was over $50k. Quality is first rate. It's my wife's car, but I take it for a ride whenever I can.

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive, but...

sea_level, 11/29/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love how it handles and it is a blast to drive. It is a pleasure to drive on long road trips. The GPS, XM and Bluetooth work well, especially for handsfree phone calls. It has plenty of power and the AWD makes corners fun. However, it has a firm to rough ride and lots of engine noise especially at low speeds. The tone of the engine sound reminds me of a very low-end econo car, not something that costs in the high $30's. The leather used on the seats seems sort of low quality, along with the carpet. The seats are extremely comfortable though. Overall, I do think it is a very good little SUV and will probably be very reliable for many year. It just has a couple of drawbacks.

Report Abuse

RDX Review

Sandra, 03/04/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm a first time Acura purchaser in her 50s. I reviewed several SUVs of this size and type (including BMW X3) but the RDX kept coming to the top of my final list. And I'm really happy with my choice, it was the right one for me. I really liked both the test drive and the time the dealership spent on answering my questions. Its a very comfortable ride, and I ride high up, which I like. I feel very safe in my car and it gets me where I need to go. I've only had it a month and have more to learn about its many features (the tech features are amazing), but it will come in time.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050