Used 2006 Volkswagen Rabbit Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
51 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,074 - $4,173

Used Rabbit for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

The All German Rabbit

Vanessa, 08/09/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I really like the fact that Volkswagen is building the Rabbit models in Germany. This is one of the major reasons I bought it. I previously owned a 1996 Volkswagen Golf that was built in Mexico and found the quality to be quite poor. And I know alot of people that had Jettas built in Mexico that traded their cars in within the first 5 years because they were constantly having problems with them. My father owns a 1989 and 1991 Volkwagen Jetta, in which it was built in Germany and it's still on the road with 250,000+. I am glad they are sticking with the German roots and not building them in Mexico, sometimes cheaper labor doesn't always profit in the long run.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive!

Igloo, 08/01/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I shopped around and drove everything. I compared the Mazda3, Chevy Cobalt SS, Honda Civic, Chrysler 300, Ford Fusion, Subaru Legacy...you name it. Finally, I tried the Rabbit. It's such a fun car to drive! The stereo is excellent. The handling is incredibly precise (you feel like you could drive around cones all day!), they offer you tons of features. It even has heated cloth seats and heated side mirrors! Plus it has A/C vents for the rear seats (very cool) and traction control! I am shocked that our new Rabbit (150hp) is even faster than out V6 Ford Escape (220hp V6). This is a huge improvement over the Golf. If you're considering a Mazda3 or a Civic, give this a try, you won't regret it!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Car

liu, 07/26/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought the Rabbit about two weeks ago and I love it more and more. I've always been a Japanese car fan in the past but this car definitely changed my perception about European car makers. The 2.5 V5 engine definitely gives you more power than you will need especially if you live in a big city. The first day I got it I took it up to high speeds on the highway and it's SMOOTH, thanks to it's great power to weight ratio. This is only an entry level European car, I can only imagine what the top of the line car will drive like. Great car, GET IT!!!

Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointed!

Paige, 07/28/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

First 3 years, I loved the car! It has 127K miles on it now & I have to have the transmission rebuilt. I am very disappointed in VW. I would have continued to purchase VW and drive them for the rest of my lift until now. There is absolutely no reason I should have to have the transmission rebuilt yet. It should last me to 250K or more with the proper service and believe me I have had it all done. I loved everything about the car but this has totally changed my mind on VW and Audi for that matter or probably anything foreign except Honda & Subaru. Such a huge disappointment. And on top of it all VW wanted to rebuild it for $5150.00. Didn't go that route, no way!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Gotta love that 5 Cylinder!

tay272, 10/09/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car alittle over a year ago and still havent had any mechanical problems with it and I don't see anything going wrong for a long time. Reliabilty issues aren't too much of a concern with newer Vws like this one. This engine is bulletproof and will deffinately last a long time. The car is a blast to drive and with a few mods, becomes much more fun. I just wanna step on it whenever I'm in the car just to hear that 5 cylinder engine opening up. No complaints with this car yet!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I Like It a Lot

kjonim32, 08/02/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Well, this is my wife's car who used to drive an SUV. So, when I offered her to test drive a Rabbit she got really mad. But 15 minutes into the test drive she told me that we were getting it. Well, now we have it and we LOVE it. I'm trying to talk her in to switching cars for a week, but so far I've had no luck. I do have a nice car by the way, a Chrysler Crossfire.

Report Abuse
2.75 out of 5 stars

Mixed Bag

takaouna, 08/12/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
4 of 10 people found this review helpful

This car's pros include its nice Interior, 6 speed auto transmission with Tiptronic and S mode, how it is loaded with options for a base model, its safety features - SAB/SC, ABS, traction control standard, its good torque, and how it is a new model. Its cons include its dreadful fuel economy for this class of car (19-20 mpg), how its 5-cyl. engine is rough for its size, its rattles, concerns about interior build quality, its weight for car of this class, its lack of acceleration, poor VW sales and service experience, and VW's poor reliability history.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Silver Rabbit

Rabbit Fan, 07/05/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have 500 miles on my Rabbit. Have owned it for two week and like it more and more. My last car was an '02 Passat, but I feel the Rabbit has more pep and is more fun to drive. I decided on the Rabbit after test driving the Honda Civic, Dodge Caliber, Chevrolet HHR, Mazda3, and Toyota Matrix...and picked it because it was quicker, had confortable seats, had a quiet interior, safety features, build quality and better visibility and I liked its good looks. I did not give the Rabbit total 10 because the gas milage is rated lower, but did get 28.36 on my first tank of mixed driving and it will improve after first 3,000 miles.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun Bunny

EJ, 07/21/2006
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car for our daughter. We looked at the Matrix, the Vibe, the Caliber and other similar cars. The Rabbit is by far the best overall value. The price is great, the list of options is long, the car is well put together (I am a longtime Benz owner, so I am picky about cars) and it is just PLAIN FUN TO DRIVE. I think that VW has hit a homerun with return of the Rabbit. Incidentally, some dealers are trying to charge a "market adjustment" premium over sticker price. DON'T pay a premium over sticker, shop around and you will find a good deal.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GREAT Rabbit

Jim, 11/25/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the most fun I've had driving a car in years. Nothing else I took for a test drive came close. The price of the 2 door is really hard to believe considering everything that comes standard. The only problem I have seen is access to the back seat in the 2 door, I wouldn't recommend it, if you have to get kids in and out pay the extra and get the 4 door. Try it, you'll love it.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love my Rabbit

alicia, 12/26/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned VWs for years and I love my Rabbit.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned

mattia76, 10/07/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It was love at first drive for the Rabbit and me. Love that it was one of the first ones off the boat. Love that it was made in Germany. Love the way it looks. I've been agonizing for months now at the prospect of selling it since we have a baby on the way. Test drove a lot of used cars that would have cheaper payments, and nothing even comes close. But we've decided to sell the wife's Versa instead. Woo-hoo! I'll drive this thing till I die or until I can trade it in for a diesel version.

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Shoddy CD Player Paint Blisters and Flak

sprint350ss, 05/07/2008
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

This vehicle comes equipped with a shoddy cd player radio. The paint has blistered off the buttons and the face of the device. Still under warrant however, VW USA does not want to remedy the situation for hundreds of VW owners. The device is considered wear and tear item. how do you wear the face of the radio. Shoddy materials is really what it is.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Car

i9er9er, 07/07/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

My Volkswagen Rabbit is awesome! I have had it for awhile now and I love it!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Just Bought an '06 Rabbit Maual

eduright, 11/16/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was going to buy a Passat, but changed my mind at the last minute. It's too much car. It's noisy, jittery, and rough riding on all but nice smooth pavement. The Rabbit I got with 16" tires mounted on cast aluminum, is nicer riding and quieter than the 15s that I tried on a base 2-door. I am going to put magnets on the fuel line and a little turbo "cookine" cutter in the air intake hose. I may put some sound deadening coating on the wheel wells to quell road noise a bit. The Rabbit looks sleek, with nice simplicity, style and some earthy grace. It's sage green with the beige/black/brown interior. It handles well, in a bit of a bubbly bouncy (but controlled way). Plus it has a great interior!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Runs Like A Bunny

og4itg, 05/21/2009
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Unlike past VWs, this Rabbit with 48,000 miles, has been totally trouble- free and rock solid. No problems or rattles and still as enjoyable to drive now as on day one. Spirited driving has yielded average 25.8 mpg. (range 19.8 to 32.2) Reliability problems are in the past so I have no choice but to stay in the VW family

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Good Value for the Price

Matt, 02/21/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for about five months and since then I've put on 8,000 trouble-free miles. It's a solid car with enough power for daily driving and its interior build quality is far nicer than many cars in its price class. The rear hatch is somewhat smaller than my previous generation Golf, but VW made up for it by providing a roomier backseat. For the price, the standard safety features, power/heated seats, sunroof, and electronic stabilization are hard to beat.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great car, a step backward for fuel econ

bluebunny, 06/27/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car, fun car, very solid and yet very nimble on all kinds of roads. The only problem is the fuel economy. We are averaging 17-18 mpg for 100% city driving, which is atrocious for VW historically. Though I really like the feel and the energy the engine gives the car, I think it was a mistake to put the larger engine in this car instead of keeping the old 4-cyl 1.8L standard from the Golf.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best small car ever!

vntgdave, 08/24/2008
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best small car I've ever driven. I'm 6'1" and 200 lbs. and I fit in it perfectly. It drives like a full size sedan and gets great gas mileage for the horsepower that it has. I've put 60K on her in 2 years and I've had no problems. I have long commutes for work (3-6 hours) and I rarely ever feel the fatigue from sitting in my car that long. When I have to drive compact to midsize rentals for my job (I hate most of them) I can't wait to get home to my rabbit. It feels safe too...especially with all of the airbags.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

FARFEGNUGEN

Prams, 01/17/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car! Very few problems since off the lot new, now 30K miles. Way fun to drive, starts fine at -30F, load the big dogs, the bikes, the stuff, and go. Get about 30mpg highway, mid 20's city. Haven't gone thru any brake pads yet and am overdue for speeding tickets.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

I love driving!!

crzyrbt, 07/28/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My fiance and I stumbled upon this great car by pure luck. The first time I drove this car I was completely surprised and wanted more. With a tap of the pedal your off to wherever you may go. Everyday I drive it I find myself saying " I love this car! " It is the funnest thing to drive!! I have a lead foot and its great right off the line. I do have to be careful though, all the sudden I find myself at 80 mph not even knowing it. The car could get better gas mileage all around but its really not too bad. With the way I drive sometimes it doesn't quite matter.I love this car!!

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Rabbit '06

Chris Gorham, 02/17/2008
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent performance and economy at super price vs. Audi or BMW.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Car. Period.

Paul, 06/30/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've always been a Japanese car fan, especially of Toyotas and Hondas, since they last soooo long. At first I was a little skeptical about the VW, but considering how they've made a major come back within the recent years with their Passat, Jetta, and Golf, I thought I give them a chance. My first impression is amazing. The car is solid and well built. It has so many features for such great price. Think about it: a 5-cyl, 6-speed automatic, is super nimble, has good stereo, comes with all the power goodies, and can easily fix up with some wheels and springs to look great! I'd take this over the Corolla or Civic any day. I love the 5-cyl. engine! Test drive it and you'll see.. It's smooooth.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awsome Rabbit

bpeachee, 07/01/2006
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Golf MK-V is finally here! This car is TOP NOTCH! I shopped it against the Fit, Yaris, and Fusion...and there is no comparrison. This has standard features you can't even get on the others. If you are tall (6'6") this is the most comfortable car (not just compacts) that I have driven. Its seats adjust and travel more that any car...and some SUVs that I have been in ! It drives fantastic, I highly recommend the 5-speed manual. It is a crisp, fantastic box, and the engine is just torquey as all get out. This car is FUN! It comes with great standard equipment, and the fit and finish is second to none. Plus, its built in Germany, as are the engine and transmission (manual's). This car is more than worth the price. The 4 door has more stuff...but the 2 door is a real bargain, and has everything you need.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

VW - The Rabbit formerly know as "Golf"

Viper655rt10, 07/02/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well, I've only had the car for 2 days. But I can tell you that it is great. The quality has gone up to an even higher standard with this car. Volkswagen has clearly decided to make your money worth it. I had a 2003 Golf. It was a love hate relationship. It was weak-sauce when it came to acceleration, as could be expected. But it was rediculously fun when it came to getting through traffic and going through curvy 76 through Escondido in the San Diego mountains to Julian. As for this one, it's freaking sweet. It accelerates like no other N/A sub 3.0L car I've ever driven and handles like Steve Nash...left..right..left...left again..go go go! And that's with the automatic! Imagine if I got the manual!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

The Bunny Is Back

Billy, 07/06/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The VW Rabbis is very practical, fun, and has an easy ride. It feels lighter than the Jetta. While it has a relatively spartan interior, the fit and finish is excellent and it comes standard with all the necessities and then some. This car is very solid, with its German engineering and feel. I am very impressed.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Hip Hopper

JackRabbit, 07/22/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My push towards the Rabbit came from shopping around in its class. For what you get for your money there is not a better choice. Although my engine is far from broken in, the car handles fun roads like a dream. The manual transmission is seamless. Even though there is only 150 horses, the engine is torquey yet quiet.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

2006 VW Rabbit

Ralph, 07/26/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a very nice car. I looked at five other hatchbacks, this had the best features i.e. interior, four wheel disks, 6 cd changer, power moonroof, etc. It is has very good quality throughout the car. Everyone is impressed.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I Love My Rabbit!

clk, 07/27/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my new VW Rabbit! There was only one two door left in the state so there was no choice in color, but they found the car quickly and got it shipped in a day and a half. The black stripe on the side of my car wasn't aligned correctly (off by less than an inch) and they fixed it quickly. The customer service was really great. It's fun to drive and I like the radio. Overall the Rabbit is a great car and really is affordable!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Zippy Rabbit

Kyle, 08/03/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've been researching cars for months and when VW finally came out with specs for the new Rabbit I was very excited. The test drive sealed the deal. This car has a lot of pep, handles extremely well, and is just an overall blast to drive. The car is very solid -- pretty much every aspect of the car gives that impression clearly. You get a lot of car for your money in this model, there's no question.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Big Blue

Big Bubba, 07/15/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our Rabbit as an around town car and really like it. It was made in Germany with expensive car precision. It even has A/C and heating ducts in the console for the backseats.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

My Bunny

Lexcord, 07/19/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When we drove the Rabbit, we knew that this was the one. It is a driver's car. Our first tank of gave gave us 27 MPG (mixed driving 85% highway). The engine is smooth and its acceleration is great at lower RPMs probably because the torque curve peaks at around 3,000 RPMs. I gave build quality a 9 because the lumbar control knob was broken upon delivery. We were going to buy a Honda Fit but decided to try out a Rabbit after seeing the comercial. It is such a nice car to drive and FUN! It feels safe and solid. I am so happy with our new car, the only way we would get rid of it would be if VW came out with a TDI model.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I am in LOVE with this car.

MJude, 07/19/2006
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since the Volkswagen Rabbit will not be available in diesel until '08, I delayed purchasing one. However, once I test-drove the car, I fell in love; if not at first sight. The Rabbit is sturdy, unbelievably safe, comfortable and so amazingly fun to drive! The fuel economy is great, and it seems that I get much better then the EPA suggests. This car is in no way a let-down. Definitely check it out if you haven't already! This car is the epitome of flawlessness.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Pleasently Surprised with the Rabbit

dieter bausch, 07/19/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is roomy, has comfortable seats and is a pleasure to drive. The workmanship in the interior is excellent and the ski bag and hatchback are features, I don't want to miss.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

What a Great Car

Marty, 07/29/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful car. I am 6'2" tall, and the driver's seat goes back too far. It is a great ride, with just the right amount of road feedback. It's A/C works great.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car, High Performance Potential

BlackRabbit, 07/20/2006
PZEV 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Not only are the 2006 Volkswagen Rabbit's looks appealing but also the engine size and the power it delivers are great. Turbo charge this car and the GTI / R32 will be left in the dust.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Just Love It

Brandon, 07/20/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Out new Rabbit Black 2 Door Manual is only three weeks old. I traded in my '06 Ford Focus ZX4 for it. I was very disappointed with the Focus. I have 1,350 miles on the Rabbit and I drove from NYC to Montreal and I never have a better driving experience. The seats are great and the car was smooth. Also, it was great on gas. I just spent $50 for the round trip. This car has great handling and a quick aceleration. In my opinion it is the best car I have owned so far. I just love it!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2006 VW Rabbit

sue, 07/20/2006
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I think VW came out with a winner! I test drove and had the car located in my area. I am pleased with the great seating and standard features. I love the whole car and do not regret buying it at all like some of my other cars even in this span of time. I totally recommend it. It's roomier than you think and it has a nice firm ride and great pick up when you need it

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Gotta Love a Bunny Named Hazel

marthompson, 08/11/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our Rabbit in early July, and have really enjoyed the car. Hazel is named after the main character in the book Watership Down. We like the quality of construction, the fact it accomodates two 6 footers, zippy performance, versatility, value, tiptronic transmission, seating comfort, and outward visability. The car is fun to drive and can enter a highway with confident acceleration. I love this car and would buy it all over again. I would maybe consider the TDI version when it becomes available. While I like the GTI version, I like the inline 5 engine of this Rabbit (a.k.a. Hazel).

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Daily Driver

Pleasantly Surprised, 09/05/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I started looking at the Rabbits because of the ads and because I used to own a '87 Golf. When I started checking out the standard features I was shocked at how much car you get for under $20,000. I thought there had to be a compromise in quality somewhere. But after driving the Rabbit I was impressed. The car has a very solid feel and grips the road well. My previous vehicle had a 2.5L V6 (5M) and was nowhere near as quick as this car. The visibility is good in this car with a slight difficulty in seeing past the "b" beam. One of my favorite points about this car is how safe I feel driving it. Beside the eight airbags, it has four wheel ABS and ESP optional(which I got). Buy the Rabbit.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

VW Rabbit 06 4 Door Manual

Moss, 09/06/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car overall! It handles great and you could feel the high quality German build. I test Drove a Civic and a Mazda3, and Mazda6. Test driving this car sold me right away. It has a great sound system and great drivng performance

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Best Car to Buy and Fun, Too!

skippey96, 09/08/2006
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have only owned American cars in the past. Now I have a new love, let me tell ya. The Rabbit is a pleasure to drive and is sporty looking. The only problem is people love to look at it and ask questions about it. Not that that is a bad thing, but well get one of your own and you'll love it to. Did I forget to tell ya it is fast (great on gas to). I hope that more people get them, you wont be sorry.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

phat rabbit

Jae Hyun Park, 10/06/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car brings out the true meaning of peoples car. The quality, the performance and the PRICE! Makes me want to drive more.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

More Than Expected

bill, 10/12/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Rabbit is a well built car with great handling and a good price. The hatchback makes this small car practical. The safety features and performance sold me on this, my second VW. So far I have been getting 25 mpg in city and 32 in mixed mostly highway driving. The car is fun to drive and I am glad that I bought it.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I Courted a GTI, but Married a Rabbit

Leo Gioia, 12/09/2006
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had never been satisfied with the drivability of our 2005 Passat wagon. It had the 1.9T engine. Lets just say I was disappointed by extra engine load and the often unresponsive delivery of power. I had test driven the GTI and loved it but bought the wagon because I needed the four doors and it was on sale! After owning the wagon for less than a year. I was back in the dealership courting a four door GTI. The Rabbit caught my eye and it was love at first sight. I was compelled to take a test drive. Well I was so pleasantly surprised at how nimble and smooth the Rabbit drove that I dropped the GTI and traded the wagon in for a Rabbit. I am very happy, driving is fun every day. I have no regrets.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

The Driver's Car

trepidity, 12/13/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I hated driving before I drove this. My previous car had no power and I didn't feel safe driving my children in it. When shopping for a new vehicle I had the following demands: good pick up, a hatchback, 4 doors, and a manual trans. In hops the Rabbit. One test drive and I was sold. The torque is what got me. Like I said, I hated driving before this car. Now I find any excuse. I have to drive a lot as well so I didn't want to spend money on a car that I didn't like driving. The Rabbit has plenty of room for two child seats. It has sporty looks for a great price.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

VW fun car

bill, 08/02/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Car handles and rides with the european style that I can only afford with the rabbit. Some day hope to purchase a diesel version, but with my current low 10000 miles a year, it is hard to justify the cost.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

People wake up!

Melon, 09/26/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Where do I start? Well,I've owned plenty of vehicles in my life, GMs, Dodges, etc. Didn't like any of the American built vehicles. I was a lucky owner of a 1981 VW Rabbit diesel (250,000+ on it) and 1988 Cabriolet from the Karman factory (195,000). Best cars I've ever owned absolutely were V-dubs. Only thing I can say is that the new Rabbit is awesome. Handles great. Fun to drive Fuel econ went up a bit but big deal the car handles/drives like a fairly powerful German sports car. No sissy engine here. Besides I couldn't afford the Audi A6 that I'd wanted and the car is the closest my pocket would allow for me to have a completely enjoyable ride. Love it!!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

morgoone, 04/19/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My parents bought this car for me as my first car and I have never had any problems. It is fun to drive and has enough room to comfortably seat me and 4 friends for whatever excursion comes to mind. I always feel safe in this car because i am surrounded by airbags. The sound system is amazing and makes my friends jealous. This is a great first car.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

overall, good car

srihari, 05/16/2008
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First of all, I am six feet six inches, most of that legs! Given the fact that I prefer small and efficient cars, nothing that I tested came close to this VW in terms of leg room (lots!). When I first drove it, I was very impressed with the car's power and handling. Interior fit and finish is baby BMW style, gorgeous combination of black and beige. Not so good: the car is heavy! Feels almost like a an older American car: heavy, with a large displacement but uninteresting engine. Lots of torque but no fun to rev up. Nothing like a Mazda or Honda in terms of tossability. Getting about 24-25 mpg, mostly highway. If I floor it just a couple times per full tank, mileage drops to 21 mpg!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050