Used 2009 Volkswagen Eos Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
46 reviews
List Price Estimate
$6,737 - $11,571

Used Eos for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Problem free for 72K miles!

rcboater, 03/24/2014
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
30 of 31 people found this review helpful

Bought my car new in May 2009. Car is now 5 years old, and we've put 50,000 fun-filled miles on it. MPG is pretty good, too. On the highway, I get 32 MPG. In my mixed suburban driving, I will get about 28 if I drive normally, but have gotten as high as 35 on the same route by driving conservatively. My car has never leaked- but I paid heed to the advice on the owner forums to lubricate the roof seals annually, to keep them soft and pliable. (That's a 20 minute job.) I've had NO issues with the mechanical aspects of the car-- to date, the only thing outside of regular scheduled fluid changes was new rear brake pads at 31K miles. UPDATE: Now up to 68K miles, all still good. Rear brake pads again at 60K. My only real complaint with the car goes back to how VW packaged the options in 2009. Back then, to get the leather seats and steering wheel audio controls, you had to buy the Lux, which meant you got an automatic. I wanted the manual, which meant I had to have the Komfort, which couldn't have those other options. I do love my manual Tx- so it was the right choice, but I wish VW had been more flexible in the optioning. UPDATE: Now up to 75K miles all good. I did go ahead and proactively have the timing belt tensioner replaced, now that the extended warranty has expired. I decided the $1100 cost was worth it to prevent a potential catastrophic engine failure. NOT happy that VW won't issue a recall on this. I won't go into details, but google VW timing belt tensioner for the full story.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Baby Boomer Bust!

Stephen Harris, 02/18/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

I believe this car is for the baby boomer that has finally reached a time in life when they feel they deserve a fun car. They have lived with the practical long enough and want something that makes no obvious sense. I think it is the most fun car I have ever owned and has the VW stamp of quality. No problems after 4000 miles of ownership and a trip of 2500 miles to Florida and back was super. No problem with trunk space, two bags consisting of one duffle and one regular was plenty for wife and I for one week. VERY comfortable and had no problems with power for passing or keeping up with traffic. Grandkids love the "transformer" and it gets lots of attention. Most people can't believe it's VW

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

TIMING CHAIN BREAKS NEW MOTOR REQUIRED

Tim, 04/22/2017
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
29 of 34 people found this review helpful

I would like to express how disappointed I am with Volkswagen and my VW 2009 EOS Komfort. DO NOT PURCHASE ONE THESE VEHICLES UNLESS YOU WANT TO PUT AN EXPENSIVE NEW MOTOR IN THE VEHICLE AT SOME POINT BEFORE IT HITS 100,000 miles. My issue with Volkswagen/Audi is the common problem with the timing chain in many Volkswagen (VW) and Audi models manufactured between 2008 and 2013. They have a serious engine defect where the timing chain will break and cause to severe engine damage that costs thousands of dollars to fix. Can you please explain this to me why there has not been a recall on all these vehicles. 2008-2010 and 2012 VW Beetle 2009-2013 VW CC 2008-2012 VW EOS 2008-2012 VW Golf 2008-2012 VW GTI 2008-2012 VW Jetta 2008-2012 VW Passat 2008-2011 VW R32 2008-2010 VW Rabbit 2009-2012 VW Routan 2008-2012 VW Tiguan 2008-2013 VW Touareg 2011 VW Touareg Hybrid 2008-2012 Audi A3 2008-2012 Audi A4 2008-2012 Audi A5 2010-2012 Audi A6 2012 Audi A7 2008-2012 Audi TT 2010-2012 Audi Q3 2009-2012 Audi Q5 2012 Audi Q7 I have had such timing chain malfunctions, that bend valves and result in extensive engine damage that it can not fixed and only option is to install a new/used engine. My vehicle is a VW 2009 EOS Komfort. Now I am without a vehicle and have an estimate of $6,000.00 to have the engine replaced. This was from an independent mechanic shop. When I talked to the Baxter Volkswagen LaVista, NE dealership, they informed me that I needed to have them look at the motor at a cost of $495.00, to tell me something that my independent mechanic told me for free, that the engine was not repairable. Then they informed me that it would cost $8,000.00 to have a new engine put in the vehicle versus then $6,000.00 from the independent mechanic shop. To me this is completely ridiculous, as no fault of mine this vehicle engine failed me. Can you explain to me why a vehicle with less than $90,000 miles would have this problem? Why so many other, of the vehicle listed above, have had this problem and nothing has been done about it. Why has a recall not been made? If Volkswagen had any integrity they would listen to their customers. With the lack of support from the Baxter Volkswagen LaVista, NE dealership and VW of America I will now longer be a customer for any Volkswagen.

Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2.5 out of 5 stars

Do not buy this car!

JLM , 10/02/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2009 VW EOS 8/30/08. On 9/29/2008 a valve that measures the clutch temperature malfunctioned. If the clutch is too hot "safety measure" the car can’t change gears. This malfunction occurred while I was on the freeway; I was almost hit by a semi trying to pull to the side of the road. It was like I put it in neutral and revved the engine, every light in the car flashed indicating a problem. I was initially told that my problem was a faulty engine switch. This diagnosis didn’t make sense. I had to demand to speak with the head mechanic for my concerns to be taken seriously. This value malfunction also causes a pressure problem in the transmission. I have contacted a lawyer.

Report Abuse

2.25 out of 5 stars

Worst Car Ever

jlmurray81, 07/20/2011
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
21 of 25 people found this review helpful

I leased this car back in August on 2008 and have had nothing but problems with it and the dealership ever since. Four weeks after I leased the car, a transmission valve had to be replaced. I learned about his problem only after nearly being killed on the freeway because my car lost all forward momentum. To add insult to injury the dealership insisted it was my starter that caused this issue. Only after speaking to a mechanic was this issue actually addressed. The dealership had my car for over three weeks and tried to charge me for the rental car. Approximately a year later the manufacture issued a recall for this transmission value issue.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Nice car with a few hiccups

drspoon, 03/25/2010
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This fun car is a dream to drive. The turbo engine really gets up and goes. We have taken the car on long trips and it is really very comfortable. Now after having it for a year we find out the hard way that the engine is an oil burner after total 20k mileage. Just got it back from the dealer where the oil consumption is one half quart per 1000 miles-- an amount that Volks says is acceptable. I asked how I can make the 10,000 mile factory suggested oil change interval and the dealership simply says I cannot. For the price of this car and the supposed quality of Volks engineering this is simply unacceptable. No more Volkswagens for me!!!!!!!

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

My 1st VW and my LAST

louloulane, 05/12/2010
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Beautiful eye catching car. Too bad it's not reliable. I have had to have it towed 3 times in 3 months back to the dealership. We bought 2 VW's on the same day, an Eos & a CC. The Eos has been such an unpleasant experience it will be the last time a VW is owned in our family. 1st time and last time for a VW for us. Ignition, electrical,turbo problems.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

this is the one!

atlanticdave, 10/11/2012
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

unlike so many other folks who seem to have owned nothing but foreign cars, i have only ever driving u.s.-made cars...and, although i know that american cars are essentially now the best they've ever been the quality they've ever been, i have to say i have never owned or driven anything as nice as this car...i am saddened that not all of us have had positive experiences...i purchased it three years old, with 14,000 miles on it...and i just want to say, so far, so GREAT! nice ride, nice interior comfort, great sound system, very head-turning and eye-catching, plenty of acceleration, i recommend this car without hesitation! i have driven it 6,000 miles, and have nothing but positive things

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION

BOCA LEN, 11/13/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Overall my EOS is a reasonably priced convertible with generally good quality. I bought the car new. I drive to work and never abuse the car - just basic transportation However, at 1400 miles the transmission blew and had to be replaced with what I now know is a refurbished unit. Last week at 10,000 miles the refurbished transmission blew again. The dealer wants to replace with a refurbished unit again. VW extended the warranty, the dealer has been pleasant to work with and provides a loaner car. The point is, this transmission is too complex. I thing that anyone considering buying a VW with this transmission needs to be aware of the problems that are inherent with this unit. Beware!

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

FUN LITTLE CONVERTIBLE

FLORIDA LEN, 10/19/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was concerned about buying a hardtop convertible, but I bought the EOS knowing how well VW builds cars. So far, early on in ownership, the car is solid and exhibiting no leaks. The car is a good value for the money. It is not a styling standout, but the design is nice looking. The interior is typically German, all business. What is great about the car is that is overall very solid, handles well and has decent mileage from a very peppy engine. Although, a small car, it feels very safe and secure and I am glad I bought it.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

FUN2BEHAD

FunFunFun, 11/06/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I had a 2006 Passat on lease. I had been looking for 6 months for a convertible. VW let me out of my lease for a ridiculous amount and I got a EOS. I had tried the Toyota, Sebring and a few others but loved the handling of the EOS. It's fun, no problems, lots of compliments. Most fun driving ever. The back seat is small, but deep and bigger then the Volvo, Lexus etc.. I always get compliments on the car. It's been so much fun. Great for road trips to the beach.

Report Abuse
1.88 out of 5 stars

This car is awful! Beware!

amyinbuffalo, 08/03/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Long story short: I leased my Volkswagen EOS April1, 2009. Today is August 3, 2009 and it's been in the shop 3 times (STILL THERE mind you) for the convertable top malfunctioning OVER AND OVER AND OVER again. It stopped mid-air in a parking lot and wouldn't open all the way OR close all the way! I had to get a Flat Bed to take it to the dealership! Now VW wants to replace the ENTIRE roof! It's 3 MONTHS OLD! And, this is the best part, they are telling me that I MAY HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS. It's $8,000 alone just for the top! I am PETRIFIED to drive this car anymore and I don't want it anymore. The aggravation I have been through is appalling. It's STILL in the shop for the rest of summer!!!

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Timing chain/ tensioner destroys engine

SNaseef, 07/31/2018
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is painful to write. I bought this car in 2009 and have loved it. So much fun. Took excellent care of it, had all maintenance check done at required intervals. I had a major problem with the manifold and fuel injection system in 2016, however VW had issued an extended warranty on this system to 120,000 miles, so it was fully covered, except for $500 to have engine Decatur’s. In Nov of 2017 the convertible top stopped functioning and I was told that a single wire broke and that a whole new wire harness had to be replaced at the cost of $2000.00. I did the repair because I knew the top only had so many times to open before it would malfunction, and since I totally loved the car and had only minor repairs in past I decided bite the bullet. I intended to keep this car well over 150,000 miles. A few weeks ago the car wouldn’t start and I found out the timing tensioner failed causing the timing to jump and that my engine would need to be repaired or replaced. My mechanic was sure it would need a new engine but referred me to VOLKSWAGON to have the work done. He was furious. He said this shouldn’t happen to a car with this mileage. The VW DEALER told me it would cost $360 to take a look at the car. VW told me if I was lucky enough (unlikely) to only need a new timing chain the cost would be a few thousand dollars. To replace the engine would be $7,000 to $8,000. The Kelly Blue Book value on this car running, in excellent condition, was at top $4485. This was my first and last VW. The car body was built like a tank. VW has failed the public (lying about fuel emissions, causing the resale values of their vehicles to plummet). VW CUSTOMER CARE is a joke - why they even spend the money to man the phones is rediculous. I have called them twice for these last two issues and all they could do is say they were sorry I had these problems. The last person I spoke to told me I would not hear back from VW on this last matter. I will be telling everyone I know about my issue and advising anyone who is interested VW/VOLVO to steer clear! UPDATE: Two months after I sold the car for junk for $400 I got a letter from VW telling me they had settled a class action suit and they would be reimbursing the cost of repairs for those who had this problem and made repairs and paying for the repairs in anyone who had this problem in the future or who needed repairs for this problem. It really pissed me off because I called Volkswagen to ask if there was a pending case or if they had issued extended warranties for this issue. I also went to the dealership where I bought the car and asked the owner about this issue and if he knew of any legal cases and he lied and said he did not know of any issue switch this problem. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER VOLKSWAGON PRODUCT! I tell everyone I know this story. Volkswagen is not a reputable company

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased

CCP, 10/12/2008
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sorry there are "lemons" . Fortunately, I am one of the lucky ones. I have been in search of a convertible for close to a year. I knew I wanted German technology, retractable hard top, front wheel drive if not all wheel,and some updated technology like a navigation system and ipod adapter. What you can get loaded in this car is a just a starter price in BMW or Audi. Audi does not yet make a hard top and BMW does not have front wheel drive in the class. The retractable hardtop has a panoramic sunroof that opens..the only convertible with this feature. They have corrected the "whirring"with small windscreen above he windshield. Technology of top closure:priceless. Gas OK.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

It's worth it!

EOSEJIL, 01/16/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Black on Black fully loaded EOS in October and gave it much thought, it was totally the right choice. I have read a TON of reviews on the '07-'09 and here are tips for those who have had issues. You need an excellent dealer with VW fans in service, the prep work needed on this car is extensive. I test drove several and only two dealers seemed to have it prepped right. My car has no issues at all. Also you cannot wash this car under 40 degrees or you will mess up the seals, plain and simple. If you do not have a garage I would not buy an EOS. You have to be patient with the car, the window move to get in and out be gentle. '09 DVD Nav is worth it too if you drive a

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Compare to WHAT??

50something, 06/10/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We wanted a convertible for years. We considered and drove the BMW 128i, Porsche Boxster, and Mercedes 350 CLK. On vacations we rented Sebring and Mustang Shelby convertibles. When we discovered the EOS on a trip to Arkansas, we bought it on the spot and left our Acura RDX at the dealer. We continued our vacation in our brand new EOS and had a blast. Consider it a 1200 mile test drive! The person who wrote Edmunds review saying the car could not handle the twisties must be faking his reviews in my opinion. I also own a 1985 Porsche 911; the new EOS driven in Sport mode with the DSG handled every bit as well as my Porsche. The car definitely has German DNA and was FUN, FUN, FUN!!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

EOS Headaches

Sasha, 07/27/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Loved vehicle, but came from factory with air conditioner condensation draining into cabin causing inches of water, mold, and stench. If you are considering buying this car, make sure the dealer checks this in their final inspection/prep. Transmission also needed work ~ 4,000 miles. Great car and gas mileage (avg 33.3 mpg highway) besides these problems. Comfortable for long distances...

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

New leftover 2009 EOS

Jeff, 03/25/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this along with a new 2010 Golf tdi. So far we have about 3000 miles on it, and it has preformed well. Most surprising is the relatively good fuel economy. Overall we have posted 29.8mpg with a high of 36mpg, and this is winter and the car has a ways to go before fully broken- in. We picked up the car for $26,600 or $5700 off MSRP. It's still too early to tell how this car will turn out but so far it is good. The only drawback is the weight of 3500 lbs, but all convertibles are heavy, and this is one of the lighter ones. Cornering although acceptable is not as crisp as lighter German cars. This is our first convertible, so we'll have a better idea after our Wisconsin summer.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great Little car

K F, 07/06/2016
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car is fun and great on gas. It has a zippy S-transmission that gives you the feel of a manual with the ease of an Automatic. It didn't come with an owner's manual so I am not sure how to use many of the entertainment functions which is frustrating. The interior is leather which gets VERY hot in the summer. The interior was used well and I am adjusting to the missing pieces. I love how this car drives and love the convertible/sunroof option. The dealership I purchased from gave me a good deal and I would buy from them again!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

thoughts on eos at 87000 miles

ed conway, 03/04/2017
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

my first month with low milage eos has been great and it has continued thru the next 3 1/2 years and 65 thousand miles.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Total Fun Car!

Steve, 06/12/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've always wanted a hard-top convertible ever since I saw one two months ago. I generally assumed that it would be way out of my price range, but when I found out that Volkswagen made a hard-top convertible, I was totally 'hoodlumed'. It turned out to be not only very reasonably priced but it drives and handles really well. People will also be very surprised by the roominess of the rear seats. The back is definitely big enough to hold two average sized dwarfs or a couple of medium sized farm animals. My automatic transmission shifts very smoothly and the engine definitely holds its own on the highway. Overall, this car is a pleasure to drive.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Run..... from EOS

nstallent, 08/16/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Eos, that I loved, is sitting in Al Johnson Volkswagen repair shop and is going to stay there. I have 12 sheets of repairs. Volkswagen has tried to be very accommodating, but now lets see when I get to settle. I traded my 2000 Camaro Convertible with 22,000 miles, I am really upset that I traded my car for that piece of junk!!!! Nancy

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Avoid It - Traded Mine In

LR, 11/23/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

53 days in the shop in the first year, finally had enough and traded it in for another brand. Every imaginable problem with the electrical system, sensors, gas cap, abs, braking, fuel pump, air bag, among other problems. Every little repair required shipping in parts so repairs took forever, and nothing fixed right the first time by dealer. I owned the car for a little over a year and just took a huge loss on the trade, but it had to go. Had trouble even getting near blue book on trade due to the car's reputation. Did lots of research prior to buying and 07/08 models were well reviewed. 09 seems to be a disaster. After 15 years driving VWs, this will be my last. Very disappointing.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Very safe hardtop

Tristan, 12/05/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 4 months, nothing has gone wrong the build quality is amazing. I recently flipped the car on Thanksgiving day, and the hardtop is very safe, only caved by about an inch to maybe 1 1/2 inches. The anti-rollbars popped up and if I hadn't had the top up I believe I would be just as fine. Only got a couple cuts on my hands when getting out. I highly recommend it just for the safety features even though the interior is amazing along with the engine. I was hitting 36 mpg with premium on the freeway at an average of going 75 mph.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

OK, so far, but fear the @#$ will soon hit the fan

LDodson, 09/26/2018
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 2009 EOS has less than 80K miles on it and those miles have been gently driven. I feel safe and comfortable inside this SOLID little car! I love the hard-top convertible. But, I live in fear of what I suspect will be some significant cha-chings in the not-too-distant future. First of all, sometimes a piece of the convertible retraction mechanism does not completely work; I have to reach around and "nudge" the part into place. Someday it will fail completely and I'll have to pay a fortune to replace what is basically a wire. Second of all, there are some strange electronic goings-on: the CD player stopped working and, worse, there is a ghost in the machine--recently, when I drive with the A/C on the windows start "magically" raising and lowering themselves. This is very distracting and not good for the car as the windows might be in the "closed" position but the glass will be on the outside--making it more likely that glass will be broken if the door is slammed and that water will leak in through the gap. Lastly, there is the known issue with the timing chain or timing chain tensioner for which there is a class action suit that will likely be settled within a few months. But, will my car "fail" outside of the window of opportunity to benefit from the suit? Even if I participate and get reimbursement from the suit, will I still have a large out-of-pocket outlay?

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Bad timing chain issues

Shannon, 01/19/2021
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just to restate what others have said, the timing chain stretches out and causes major damage within the engine and it has to be replaced. Ours was our baby. We bought the 2009 used and at just over a year of ownership and right over 100,000 miles the engine now needs to be replaced at a cost of 6,000 dollars US. We still owe 4,000 dollars to the bank and do not want to add more to our loan just to fix the car. We LOVE this fun, little car but it is not worth this. Our recommendation: DO NOT BUY!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Enjoying the Eos

loudounman, 03/29/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased base model w/ 17 inch wheels. Great fun to drive. Plenty of pick-up with turbo. Slight hesitation but then it really moves. Compared with BMW 328 but glad I went with Eos. Saved alot of money and enjoying the car. Give this car a try and dealers are willing to deal right now.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

3 months and 3000 miles

zrickety, 08/02/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car a few months ago after looking at many cars. The EOS rocks!! She said, 'I never loved a car, but I love this one.' High praise, believe me. It's a blast to drive. Dr Jekyl when you need to be conservative, Mr Hyde when you want to cut loose. It's early on, but the car has been consistently quick and solid. Future collectible here, would definitely buy again!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

You get what you want

Jeff, 10/09/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is very fun to drive. I have never had a convertible in my life so I was not to happy when she brought it home. I figured it is her car and she will be the one driving it so get what you want. She loves it. The handling is good and speed is fine. Does it have wind noise. What can you expect when the top comes off. Great car overall

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I love this car

Cindy, 10/15/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car. I have a new 2009 color-gold/silver, not the official name, it is beautiful. Everything works well, very quiet and I get lots of looks. I love having the moon roof so I have a great sun-overs car all year. The only thing I don't like, is the movement of the windows after you turn the car off- they go down a little before rolling all the way back up. This is bad in a rain storm. I would recommend this car to anyone who had considered buying a convertible. It is better than a convertible with the sun roof! It gets great gas mileage so I don't mind the premium gas.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Great functionality, poor driving

swissre, 11/04/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After almost 3 months of owning a new EOS I am still happy with the functionality of the sunroof, it has good torque throughout the RPM range even compared with other turbo engines, it has very good speakers but lousy sound unit (premium) but the worst for me is how it drives. You have to be really delicate to avoid the car spinning like crazy when you start. I have the upgraded 17'' wheels with Continental tires and that has helped little. So at the end it dissapoints because the engine is great and the DSG gearbox is amazingly smooth but the car is not sitting on the road as it should and can become dangerous because of the big torque it has for its size.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Lovin this little car

neweosfan, 02/11/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my Eos 3 mos and really enjoy this car. Comments: the top is amazing - attention getter - same as on much pricier models - mine works great & used a lot. Moon roof great & huge for the car, handles on mountain roads well. Light car, acceleration to spare, good brakes, fun! Quiet ride (top up), sound system good for the price. Lots of people stop me to compliment/ask about this car - really. And I live in a car lovin town. That was a surprise. Glad I saved that BMW money and got this sweet little ride. Love it - recommend it highly. Fun, good-looking, great convertible top. One thing, got hit in driver's door. No repair parts are avail., so slow to get Euro parts at plant.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great car for the value

NYattorney, 03/19/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really wanted to reward myself with a hardtop convertible- just wasn't entirely sure which. Once I saw and test drove the Eos, I immediately fell in love. It's the perfect size, picks up fast (thanks to the turbo engine), is the only hardtop with a sunroof, and the style is sleek. The only complaint I've had so far is since I bought it towards the end of winter, I've noticed that when it drops below freezing, condensation builds up inside the car and freezes on the windows. The gas mileage is not GREAT, but i guess we should expect that from a turbo engine!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Just perfect

rulerofthemoon, 03/20/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had the car for about 3 weeks and could not be happier. It's the perfect combination of sporty fun and practical comfort. The convertible hardtop is stunning to watch and will sell you on the car. Interior noise is what you'd expect for this car ... unlike the soft-tops I drove that just were too loud with the roof up. Get the upgraded floor mats ... adds a nice touch. The Komfort trim is VERY well equipped. The Lux version is a considerable premium but some items, like steering wheel controls, are useful.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Made me a VW Fan!

Mariya, 05/21/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I searched for a convertible for 6 months, researched endlessly an honestly barely considered the VW-then I drove it and fell in love! My husband had owned a Corrado & Jetta Wolfsburg yet I never thought much of them. I am now a VW convert. The hardtop is significantly quieter than every other convertible I drove. The turbo has amazing pick up and makes it incredible fun to drive (I have never thought any car was fun) Nice sound system and great interior.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Agree with poster JLM from 10/01/2008

MG, 06/03/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Same problem as poster JLM.Totally dissatisfied and would not buy it again. Car in dealer for at least 10 biz days for a problem that I believe VW know about all along. The DSG transmission is the culprit and appears in all VWs-not onlyt he EOS. Check the VWVortex website for similar stories. I wish that I had before I bought this mistake.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

This is a keeper

VWFANS, 06/12/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very cool car. No other has a hard top, a drop top, and a sunroof. It is fun to drive, pretty comfy,everything is layed nicely and to be able to go through the car wash is an added plus. VW builds quality! Gas miles ....WOW like 30 in the city! Buy one you will be so happy you did.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Value - Fun to Drive

Jay, 07/12/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Traded in my 2004 Saab Aero convertible on the EOS. This car has the best turbocharger I have ever experienced. I always have proper power and torque. In fact if you stomp the accelerator from a standstill, the car will hop as a result of excess torque. With Nav, I paid $33K for this car - thousands less than any other quality convertible and I am averaging 29 mpg in the first 2,000 miles of mixed driving. The seat are exceptionally good (I have a very bad back and can tell!). The only criticism I have is that a power passenger seat is not standard although it is not that big a deal. VW has the best priced lineup of any car manufacturer.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Dream Car

Joe, 07/17/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had no idea how fun a car could be, until I bought the Volkswagen Eos. I can't stop driving this thing... It makes driving fun again. I should have purchased this years ago. The Eos has the same solid feel of your typical Volkswagon with the added luxury of being able to put the top down. The car is peppy, gets very good gas mileage and feels good to drive. Excellent sound system. My kids and their friends all beg for rides in the car. It has been a great experience!!!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Classy Ride

HTEXBB, 07/20/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was going to reward my self with a new car and thought I would go with the Sky but after driving decided too small. Happened upon the VW EOS by accident and so happy I did. I even thought about going Certified Pre- Owned Mercedes but kept going back to the EOS. After I test drove the car, I was hooked. Its such a beautiful car and it is fun to drive. I'm not use to not having more storage but I'm sure I will get use to it. The car is amazing!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

1 year so far no issues

Paul, 07/31/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I put 13k on it so far so good. Absolutely no-issues. I was driving a VW passat earlier and wanted to get a convertible, SAAB, VOLVO and EOS was in my list. With the price , quality , handling and look we decided to go with EOS. Excellent gas mileage Highway I even got 35MPG.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

DTR, 08/21/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first convertible, and I was a little concerned about the problems that are typical of the breed- -wind noise, cowl shake, etc. I have been very pleasantly surprised by how this vehicle performs. Yes, there is some wind noise, and it's not quite as "solid" as a sedan, but I'd definitely purchase this car again. It's so much fun to drive, and gets great gas mileage.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever!

My favorite!, 09/27/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was a little worried getting into this car because of the reviews about the not so sporty steering, I disagree a whole lot! Its so much more fun then then the chrysler sebring hardtop or Pontiac G6 hartop! My favorite features are the great sound system and the HUGE sunroof with pop up wind blocker. For the money its worth it! I live in Michigan and i must say it turns heads, i love seeing the people in awe when i bold off the line! Also i get 25 mpg in mixed driving! The other day i had the sunroof open and i was doing 100 on the highway and it felt and sounded like 65! If you can live without 5 seats and a smaller trunk this car is perfect for You.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Love the Goddess

BW in Wash DC, 12/20/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought myself a b-day gift w/a Komfort 6M. Brings a smile every time I have the top down. It is the perfect combination in size, handling, and fun. Not a speedy coupe but come on, it is a convertible, relax, ease back, and feel the sun on your back. No problem yet w/seal leak as some others reported in earlier models.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

So Glad I went with it.

mac, 01/05/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and sons take my car every chance the get. I have trouble sometimes getting it to drive. It is smooth and reliable. I really was going back and forth on which car i wanted and test drove many and settled on the EOS and glad I did. The interior is excellent I do wish the back seat had a little more leg room but I don;t plan to sit in the back. the Stereo system is tops and the control of the car is tops. i am surprised on how quiet it is when the hard top is on.....Great Car

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

It's the greatest Car I owned

mac, 06/14/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned Fords and Honda's all of my 50 plus years. Last year I went to look at a VW Passat and left with a fully equiped EOS. I and my kids are thrilled. I have a hard time keeping my car keys in my hand my four boys take it every chance they get. It by far is the best car I ever had not a lot of back seat leg room nor storage but runs great with nice get up. Would recommend this car to anyone who doesn't have to load their family in their car anymore.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050