Used 2017 Subaru WRX Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,290 - $28,983

Used WRX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Your going to love driving this car!

S.D. Jones, 07/23/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

Was looking for a fast sporty car that had the flexibility to put the family in when needed. Meet the WRX. Faster than most of my buddies cars and the back seat has ample room for 2, 6 foot adults. The car is a blast to drive. The driver experience from handling, visibility & ergonomics is great. Upgraded infotainment features are better than previous models but still lacking. The standard radio has poor sound quality. Must set the equalizer to get decent sound. Everything is at your fingertips. The interior is upgraded from years past. The graphite accents are a step above previous models. The exterior has an aggressive look. The graphite wheel package (premium) really makes the car pop. Just drive the car & you will love its get up & go youthful vibe. The twin duel exhaust and engine roar complement the overall experience. @ 28k for a premium model, you get a lot of car for the money. Wind & road noise is not great. Typical Subaru, but you have to concede in some area's if you want to stay under 30. Trunk space is decent for this type of car. They do suggest premium gasoline. I'd put it on your list to test drive if your looking for a car in this segment. I looked at Ford & VW, but chose another Subaru based on past experience and overall value. Plus it's a blast to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This is a practical sports car.

sellingmystuff4321, 12/09/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
43 of 46 people found this review helpful

This review is for the 2017 Subaru WRX base model 6 speed manual transmission with the optional STI short throw shifter. This is a sports car designed to be driven fast on curvy mountain roads. This is not a car for the chai latte sipping crowd who worries about mobile connectivity and comfort. This car makes road noise so if you are accustomed to riding in a regular soft and quiet car, you won’t like this car. The turbo pulls hard and it goes where you point it like it’s on rails. It’s a heck of a lot of fun to drive and will put a smile on your face. Especially when you turn off the stability control and the track light comes on the dash. This car is only sold with Dunlop summer performance tires that handle great. I bought this car opposed to a Mustang or a Camaro because I need a back seat to take my dogs to the beach and bring home a lot of stuff from Costco. I guess this is my midlife crisis car. But it is probably as practical of a sports car as you can get. But it is a sports car so your insurance will probably go up when you buy this car. I'm married, 44 years of age, with no tickets in 20+ years and 820 credit score. My auto insurance went up almost 170 dollars per 6 months with USAA and they tend to be better priced than most. But I live in southern California and we have loads of idiots on the road 24 hours per day running into you so it might be cheaper where you live. But wherever you live, you will probably pay quite a bit more on insurance with this car. The gas mileage on the freeway, (when you are moving) is fantastic. The car sits at 3k RPM at 80 mph in 6th gear. (Please note: never floor the gas pedal in 6th gear when you are driving at low RPM. You can ruin the motor in a turbo charged direct injection engine when you do that. Sixth gear in this car is for economy, not driving hard. I cannot stress this enough. Don't be the guy who blows his engine then blames Subaru for it) When driving around town in stop and go traffic the mileage is not very good. Probably low 20s. But this car, unlike most, actually performs better than the manufacture stated mpg. This car requires premium fuel. It’s a direct injection turbo charged engine that runs at high compression so you have to put high octane gas. If you don't it will run poorly and you will eventually have problems with the engine because your too cheap to run the proper fuel. Suspension in this car is tight and designed for performance so you feel the bumps in the road. So when you go to Starbucks and get your chai latte, be sure to put a stopper in it so you don't end up wearing your latte. The radio/speakers in the base model really do stink. I read on internet forums about how bad they were but I figured it was a bunch of kids who listen to lame music at stupid levels but they were correct. And if you think you can buy an aftermarket radio head and put that in it, think twice. Pretty much no aftermarket head unit will work with the aux, USB plugin, and back up camera in this car. So if you really love your music, you might consider ordering your WRX at the dealer with the Harmon Kardon head unit/speakers installed. It will cost you about 2k so you really need to love your tunes. To me it’s not worth it because I bought this car to haul *** in the mountains of San Diego but I just want everyone who reads this to be fully informed. Also the headlights on the base WRX really stink. The high beams are good but the low beams are quite bad but nothing that some 12 dollar Sylvania Silverstar halogen bulbs won't fix. Also the STI shifter is not the smoothest shifter I've ever had. My old 96 Honda Prelude SI shifter was much better. Also the cultch travel is a bit long. But these negative points are not enough to make me say this is not a fantastic car. I just want everyone fully informed. Last but not least, the resale value in this car is out of this world good so when you want to sell it 5 or 10 years down the road, you will get real money for it. That is about it. I LOVE this car despite the negatives and I highly recommend it for people who love to drive real sports cars on curvy roads but also need a practical car they can take the dogs to the beach and go to Costco and load up on stuff.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

STi: An engaging driver's car

Jamie, 10/16/2016
STI 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

If you want a car that will engage you and keep you interested, this is the car for you. The strong performance and responsive handling make it fun and involving to drive. It does not isolate you from the driving experience, you can hear all the widgets working. Some might see that as an excuse for poor NVH, but that's a part of the experience. While some may consider the drivetrain un-evolved, the long history means a diverse aftermarket and deep knowledge base about every facet of the car. It's also a Swiss army knife of a car that can do practical daily duties in all conditions, (though somewhat less so since they took away the integrated roof racks and the hatchback options). However, it is not the car for people who are looking for the most refined experience, latest and greatest electronic gadgets, best raw performance or best gas mileage. This is my 3rd Subaru, so I guess I've drunk the cool-aid. Buy it before the EJ engine goes away.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 Subaru WRX Premium

Mark, 06/17/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Just leased a 2017 WRX Premium (M6) in white. I love this car! Has excellent performance and overall value. Ride isn't the smoothest nor quiet. But if you're wanting ride comfort and a quite car, then look elsewhere! Overall interior looks good and a major improvement from last generation, but Subaru could do better. Subarus aren't known for quality audio, but you can always upgrade through Subarus accessories or aftermarket. Again, I'm happy with my new WRX and looking to purchase in the near future!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 WRX - WoRX for me!

Brock, 08/30/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

2017 WRX Limited - 6M, Navi, Harmon Kardon, Blind Spot Monitoring, Homelink, & much more... How have I survived this long without considering a WRX?? I've had a Lexus IS 300, Hyundai Genesis Coupe, and this WRX simply outperforms these other two by a country mile! The grip is incredible. Power is fantastic. I love the way the front end pulls you out of a corner while the rear is pushing at the same time. The shifter feels great. Visibility is incredible. The Harmon Kardon system thumps. ...all with safety, reliability, and resale value to boot! The ONLY thing sorely lacking is Apple CarPlay & Android Auto! Subaru, add these ASAP!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rex Rules

jsc, 08/03/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Still under 1000 miles and have been babying the motor to break it in; have not been able to unleash the full fury of 268 horses and 258 lb-ft. That said, it is pretty obvious that the torque curve is steep to 2500 rpm and then flattens out after that- one can really feel the engine pulling at 3000. Ride is rough- but that's to be expected; the base car, which I purchased, has 18" wheels wearing the Dunlop Sport Maxxs have stiff enough sidewalls as it is without the need to go any wider or squatter. The car will definitely get winter tires when the season changes. The infotainment (if one can call it entertainment) works well enough, but the interface is klugey and having both "Home" and "Apps" softkeys seems redundant. Sound quality is good enough, but no one buys the WRX for the radio. Hearing the chug-chug when the engine starts is the kind of sound you do want to hear. The interior is nice, if a bit spartan, but the motive technology is what sells the car. The car has been averaging 25 mpg combined; I notice it will get exceptional mileage (30s) on the highway when driven exclusively that way, so while it may not be the most comfortable tourer, at least it can be called efficient. I would have preferred leather seats but you have to get the sunroof-equipped Limited to do so, and I did not want to give up 2" of headroom.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Phenomenal performer for bargain price

Peter P, 05/17/2018
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have owned my 2017 WRX Premium manual for a year and a half now, with 20k miles. This car needs to be compared against other cars in its pricing. Quite simply, there are NO competitors now that the Evo is gone. No other car handles this incredibly, with this much grip and AWD capability. The torque vectoring in corners through braking is not just a gimmick. My friend who owns a Corvette Z06 couldn’t believe how much speed I could carry into corners due to the torque vectoring. Also, people who say the audio system is poor simply don’t know how to calibrate it. Look up a YouTube tutorial and fix it in 5 minutes. You’re welcome. :) the only bad thing about this car is that it needs more power. But, then you would sacrifice the fuel economy, which I can get up to 30mpg when driving lightly and staying off the turbo. So it’s probably the best balance of power and fuel economy for a daily driver that has great trunk space and good backseat room.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best choice ever!

Steven, 12/31/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for 2 months now and just getting past the 1k mile break in and this car has been wonderful! Living in New England we see crazy ranges of temperatures day to day and even hour to hour. Recently got a decent snow storm with about 5+ inches and with michelin xice xi3's had absolutely no issues. Felt like dry pavement(unless launching it for fun). Fuel efficiency is awesome if you can stay out boost, to and from work the gauge reads out up to 26mpg in all city driving. Getting into boost still a nice 20-23mpg. Very happy with it! There is a very small bit of road/wind noise, but if you've ever owned a subaru it's far ahead of the older models. Barely noticeable. Unless you have loud tires(like the stock dunlops on the premium/limited models). Those things were loud. The snow tires I have on are so much more quite, weird huh. Infotainment system does its job. The Bluetooth command system is subpar though. Can't get it to call most people I want it to. But good for answering calls hands-free while driving. Quality of calls is great. Speakers are decent. Can't really complain, it's a wrx. Didn't buy it for the radio/speakers haha. Shifter is a little notchy and noisy. First gear is a pain to get into if you're moving forward at slow speeds. Brakes are good, I would personally like more bite earlier but they are good overall. Visibility all around is on point. Mirrors are pretty good sized as well which I personally like. Things occasionally barely audibly buzz when first warming up after being out in the really cold temps for a day. If you know what you're getting into with a wrx(rally bred vehicle) you won't be disappointed by any means. Unless you really really want that subie rumble, this car is excellent. The perfect daily driver/ grocery getter(solid trunk space)/sports car mix. Premium fuel recommended/required? I personally use shell 99% of the time unless I don't want to drive that far. Shell 93 is expensive, $2.70 last fill up. But it's worth every penny. Do your research and test drive it a few times if you're not sure. But it's a solid vehicle with excellent all weather traction and space for adults and babies (a little tight with car seats) plus great safety ratings. Faster than you'll need it to be but still efficient. Or look into the aftermarket world and create a racer. It does it all and does it well. 10/10 would buy again. P.S. SUBARU BRING BACK THE HATCH

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 WRX Limited

mariusz gajdka, 04/21/2017
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

It is my first Japanese car ever and I love it. One comment though. If you are not fammiliar with manual transmission this car is not for you. Clutch is unforgiven buy it if you are confident in your abilities. For sure you will start smiling from the first day you owe your WRX

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great performance vehicle

Jon J, 12/05/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

This car is super powerful and inspires a lot of confidence when driving. That's pretty much where things end. The seats are mediocre, the shifter has never been great, and the technology is years behind even other Japanese manufacturers. If you spend the $30K to buy this it will put a smile on your face every day if you get a little bit of open road in front of you. When traffic exists, you will find yourself wondering why the heck you bought this. If you can take it to a track now and then, this is the ultimate all around vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

The sport compact for the auto enthusiast

Keith G., 02/15/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Absolutely love the WRX sedan. Have mine in the base trim with the 6 speed manual. It was always a dream of mine to have one of these cars for years now and I finally have it. I bought mine right before the snow storm here in NY and had the opportunity to enjoy the weather with the car but it left me with one of my biggest complaints I think I will ever have : it comes with summer tires and they are awful in the snow. If you think you're getting a "subie" to show off in the snow, please remember to either get yourself a set of all season shoes or another set of rims with winter tires. I know this is painfully obvious but it really isn't an option either way. Otherwise, the interior is pretty cheap but it fits the nameplate, honestly. I really love the hell out of this car and couldn't be happier.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Few Observations - 2017 WRX w/CVT

Bob in Tampa, 08/22/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

CVT: In normal driving, this CVT out performs a MT for most of us because it always upshifts and downshifts when it should (while the best drivers with MTs will usually but not always shift precisely at the right time). For a good time, a MT always wins. And while I really like this CVT, I feel like I have more control with a MT. Brutal Suspension: I've seen at least one review saying the WRX has a brutal suspension. There must be something wrong with mine. Yes it is firm, but even my 96 year old mother likes the way the car rides. Nanny Controls: Excluding Eyesight, I've found basic nanny controls are introverts, shy and rarely making themselves known. Eyesight is an extrovert, looking over your shoulder, beeping to get your attention, flashing warnings, even sharing steering, brakes and accelerator if you let it. Eyesight is a glimpse of more good things to come and cars that will do things we haven't yet dreamed of.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

If you love to drive

Brad in OH, 06/11/2017
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2017 WRX (CVT) for almost two years and I can honestly say that I still make excuses to drive it. I have never driven another car that is so much fun. There is just something about the combination of the synchronous awd, the low center of gravity, the power and suspension. I actively look for curving roads just for the thrill of cornering. I have owned many cars over the years, from Hondas to Volvos. My first Subaru was a 2011 Legacy GT. While I loved the drive, I hated the transmission. It was tricky and a complete pain in city traffic. After trading it in for a more mundane sedan I realized how much I missed the drive. When I learned that the WRX was available with a CVT, I was immediately sold. I don't mind the very stiff ride, as that road feel is a part of the appeal. There are times that I wish it were a bit quieter, but not so much that I would consider giving it up.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sports sedan for the family man

Jorge, 02/08/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second WRX and overall I am very satisfied. Acceleration is very strong for a 4 cylinder, 0-60 in the mid 5s, Considering its all wheel drive its lightweight and agile. The turbo kicks in early, but falls on its face at higher RPMS. The aftermarket is very large so making more power is easy if you so desire. I have full bolt ons and can hit 40 mpg on the highway, 35 mixed. Shifting into second gear smoothly can be a bit tricky, but there are aftermarket remedies as well. Subaru did a great job updating the interior over the previous generation, but the factory sound system is still lacking. The car is comfortable enough to daily, and still capable to aggressively drive down back roads. The seats are comfortable and supportive. Interior space is good, I don't ever feel cramped. Plenty of trunk space, at least for my needs. I'm not too big on gadges or electronics, but the blue tooth takes a bit long to connect. After owning the car for over a year, no unscheduled maintenance, just regular oil changes and tire rotations and she's good to go! This is the definition of an affordable sports sedan for the family man.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome

Roland, 08/12/2016
STI Limited w/Wing 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I drove the 2017 WRX and the STI,and I have to tell you,the only reason I bougt the STI is because it sound better,if feels better,and performs better.that simple,my STI limited it has everything I want on a car.It's been 2 years now and I had drove the car for about 10000 miles and I just recently change the oil and the car is still brand new,I think it sounds a little louder, when I turn it on everything rattles inside of my house and I have not done any performance at all but what can i say I love my STI. Recently I broke my foot and I can’t drive it so my wife has been driving the car around, She get a lot of compliments but She hates the car because it’s too loud, She loves the looks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission Issues after 12,000 Miles

Emily Hamblen, 05/25/2017
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

In July 2016 I bought my first new car, a 2017 Subaru WRX. In March 2017, after 12,000 miles, I noticed a vibration in 4th gear. I brought the car to Patriot Subaru where they pulled the transmission to correct the issue under warranty. A week later the transmission started to whine when accelerating. I brought the car back to the dealership where it was determined that the majority of my transmission needed to be replaced. This occurred on April 25th. Now a month later the car is still sitting at the dealership because parts are backordered. I contacted Subaru and was put in contact with Grant Noble. For two weeks Grant has been unable to address the issue or expedite the parts. I am extremely dissatisfied with this product.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Clunking noise.

Tim Matthews, 03/09/2018
STI Limited w/Low Profile Trunk Spoiler 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

Since about 4,000 miles, the car developed a clunking noise in the front suspension. It is progressively getting worse. It has been in the shop four times across two different dealerships. They can't find the problem but they admit it is making a noise. Even Subaru America will not do anything. At this point I am hiring a lawyer. Update, I traded the wrx in on a more reliable vehicle, GMC Sierra and I have no issues with my GMC.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun car with a few downsides

Nick, 05/12/2017
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my second Subaru WRX. My first was a 2016 base model with the 6 speed manual. I originally got rid of the 2016 because I was sick of daily driving a manual transmission car in traffic. I traded it for a 2017 Premium trim with the CVT. The Premium trim has a few nice extras like a sunroof and fog lights and the car is built well and has a good firm ride and feels sturdy. The big problem I have with this car is that the CVT. It just doesn't belong in this car. I like that it has 3 driving modes that you can choose from but the shifts are noticeably artificial. My second problem is the fuel economy. I thought the CVT would help the mpgs over the manual but its actually worse. I was averaging 22-23 mpg in the city with the manual and the CVT is averaging 18-19 in intelligent (economy) mode. I absolutely love this car with the manual, especially if you live someplace where you can really use it and have fun with it. At this point I really regret getting the CVT.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Speedy!

Aaron Comins, 01/28/2017
STI Limited w/Wing 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Awesome car and i mean awesome! Extremely fast and exhilarating to drive. Few cons are non heated steering wheel and nav Screen is small.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Best combination of fun and value!

Matt, 04/08/2017
STI Limited w/Low Profile Trunk Spoiler 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Pound for pound and dollar for dollar, nothing rivals this car. It performs like a Corvette (actually outperforms a Corvette in bad weather) but you can get two of these for the same price. I'm too old for a car with a wing-- I think they look silly-- but when Subaru added the option of a lip spoiler instead of the wing I went ahead and made the purchase. The back seat is plenty roomy for two adults (or a baby seat or two). Note that it ships with summer tires, so if you live somewhere that gets below 45 degrees you'll need a second set of tires and rims. Also, you'll need the center arm rest extension for comfort, but be warned that the Subaru arm rest extension will replace your nice padded carbon leather/red stitching with cheap black plastic. Get the JDM dual console arm rest extension from subispeed instead-- it gives you the same higher elbow support but it allows you to reuse the original console lid, preserving the overall look and feel. Update: still love to get into this car every time. My son and I took it on an epic four day road trip from Chicago to the west coast. It's fine if a bit loud on the interstate, but it really shines on the twisty two lane roads. Very comfortable seats, the interior controls have before intuitive, and with new all season tires the road noise is lessened. Update 10/10/2018: A year and half into owning the car, I'm still thrilled to get into it every morning. One drawback: the navigation system is garbage. But with Google maps on my phone, I have a perfectly adequate workaround.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The 15+ WRX daily drive with fun injection

Samuel Baldridge, 03/03/2018
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you’re looking for one four season performance car that can be daily driven comfortably and still deal with snow and terrible roads and you’ve got around $30k, this is the car for you. Great fuel economy for the performance class, fees like an Audi at high speed, but has a lower CG and less weight hanging out beyond the front axle so it doesn’t understeer like an Audi. Dead flat in corners, predictable near its limits and quite quick. It’s only downfall is tire noise and it’s terrible factory boost control solenoid. Unbeatable value for the money

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission issues 17 WRX Limited

Mehran, 02/08/2019
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 2017 Limited WRX manual shift with 25k miles. Brought it in the shop earlier this week for some transmission noise and they installed new clutch kit and fork. Picked it up yesterday and today it popped in the freeway and is back in the shop. Not a good trend

Performance
Report Abuse

Fast fun practical sedan, good hwy mpg

Shane O Mac, 12/10/2019
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car all around. Only issues I experienced is due to Subarus decline in quality. They have premature clutch wear issues, clutch can go out by 20K miles. Subaru has a technical service bulletin and has created new parts to address it, but will fight you on warranty claims since it is a wear and tear item. Service can be slow.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Kickass!

TonyC, 07/12/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned! Yes its a little loud inside, but I hear swapping to all seasons helps a lot. The premium stereo is good, but missing a lot of features, which is lame. Suggest getting the stock stereo and upgrading aftermarket. And there is soooo many aftermarket parts for this car, it's insane.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

WRX squared

Chad Garcia, 10/30/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Loved the wife's STI so much we went and bought a WRX to match...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car I've had to date, and had a 911 turbo

jb, 07/22/2017
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love this car. It doesn't attract too much attention. It is reliable. Oil changes only. No rattles. Interior panels are durable and the ones you might wear (door) are literally 3 dollars or so each online...so you don't have to baby/worry/avoid using it...get in, drive, go. For the real world, this car is every bit as good as a 911. Less attentiona seeking for sure - which to me is a very good thing. Getting 34mpg hwy, 28city...the p car was 24/15.... The ride is comforable. I love the cvt on S# - whatever you read about the cvt, it is likely wrong...it is great and if you live in a metro area (most of us now), it is equal to the stick or perhaps even better....just do a traffic jam every day with a stick.....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The most unreliable car

Never again, 12/14/2019
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this car brand new subaru wrx 2017 3 months passed battery failed on me my thought was mehhh its fine not big issue then i literally jinx myself, 4 months later again battery failed, now its been year and couple months and 40,000 km on it and the clutch is totally gone premature dont you think and it gets better its not on warranty and guess what came out of my pocket yup thats right 1500. Fast forwarding to today the car has been having issue with ac unit and brakes just week later after its been at the shop . guess what i am done im already placing this car on sale and i will never step foot onto another subaru dealership ive had 7 cars in my life and this was by far the worst never ever ever had issues with my honda,VW,acura,nissan,BMW,lexus and toyota . so disappointed in this car, subaru warranty bs spin around

Report Abuse

I traded my WRX in for a 2019 Ford Escape Titanium

Dan Wright, 04/23/2019
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have put very few miles on the Escape because I retired last May 6, 2019, and with the stay at home order, I have put less than 5000 miles on the SUV. But I love the Escape Titanium with its good handling, quick acceleration, and comfortable and good looking black bucket seats and a red exterior.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Test drive multiple times....

Luther Williams, 09/22/2016
Premium 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great car if performance is main foucus. Plenty of low end torque for everyday driving. Drivability in everyday traffic is poor. Car really wants to be driven hard, when driven slow shifting is cumbersome. 1st gear has a rev hang that cause rough shift to 2nd. Sucks as an everyday driver, CVT maybe a better choice....

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Is it really a performance car?

AirLokita, 10/06/2017
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

So I always wanted a WRX and decided to buy one to replace a BMW 135i. I have to say, a little disappointed. Everything everyone has written is mostly true regarding outward visibility, ergo, handling -- all excellent. Very confidence inspiring in the twisties. But there's a big problem: it's slow. It's just a slow car. Would be quite surprised if this dyno'd at the advertised 270hp. Not Prius slow, or stay out of the left lane slow, but it's really not quick. The aforementioned BMW - and I'd guess any x35/40 series of BMW, would eat this for breakfast/lunch/dinner on almost any given road. The salesperson insisted I keep it under 4K RPM on the test drive, and I just sort of assumed there was a more active part of the powerband above 4K. Nope. I like the car though. It's companionable, and I trust it (unlike the BMW). Not a bad value. Shoulda bought the STI. Update: Cobb accessport stage one eliminated the annoying rev hangs; plus cat back exhaust and the car feels quite a bit better. Road noise is unacceptable. Still, I like the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A long time dream fulfilled

Vernon Meade Jr, 07/22/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 WRX Base

John Rosenow, 05/15/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Lots of fun driving. Good grip on wet roads.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Test Drive before purchase!

I. Georgiev, 11/05/2018
Limited 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought it brand new in June 2016 because It looked perfect on paper. Made the mistake of not even test driving it because the dealerships around me did not allow them at the time. Mistakenly decided to purchase it anyway because it's a Subaru and a close friend of mine convinced me that it's one of the greatest cars in the world. The car looks good and the interior has a decent quality to it. In my opinion better plastics than a BMW 435i which I test drove recently. The CVT is pretty decent despite getting a lot of hate. The mileage was pretty bad considering I wasn't trashing it and drove conservatively 80% of time. I was getting 24-25 at best mixed which is pretty appalling for 2.0l, 3400lbs, direct injection + cvt. The ride quality is worse than my former 350Z and nowhere near as fun. The exhaust noise is super mediocre. The worst audio system I experienced in a car. it sounded like a gramophone. Also constant drone in the cabin at certain rpms. Installed OEM STi midpipe which was supposed to address that. It did nothing. The more I drove it, the more disappointed I was getting, to the point where I couldn't stand it anymore and sold it after 2 years and lost 10k in the process. Reliability was superb at least. Not a single issue. Oil changes were a 15 min breeze. I regret not getting a used IS350 at the time. piece of advice for anyone in the market- get a Golf GTI. First and last Subaru for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving my sti

Big Dee, 11/02/2017
STI Limited w/Low Profile Trunk Spoiler 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love it. Boost is great ... handles great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Radio issues

Christina M., 12/18/2017
STI 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2017 Subaru WRX and have had problems with radio after 3 months. The radio keeps freezing and you have to turn car off and restart to get it working. Have had it into Subaru 2 times with videos and have called them many, many times. I get the same response, "Subaru is working on it." I am told it is not compatible with an iPhone, well I do not have an i phone, I have a droid! Lies continue! I am frustrated beyond belief, this is going on 9 months. When the radio freezes, you cannot push any buttons on screen and shutting it off via phone does not work either, you have to shut the car off and restart it. The AM?FM and Sirius radio was freezing as well. Subaru is lying to its customers and keep pushing the problem away. Just want to let everyone know to think long and hard about purchasing a Subaru due to the customer service. Example, my Dodge had a radio issue, the same thing was happening, the radio would freeze. Brought it in, with in a week there was a new radio and it is working great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2 Years later and love her even more

Brent, 12/05/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This month has been 2 years since I purchased my WRX new. The car has been flawless. Always reliable and dependable. Best mpg i have gotten was 28 mpg mostly highway while having fun. I'm sure if i put the cruise control at 70 I could get another couple mpgs. Car is decently quick and handles like its on rails. I have never been so excited for turns in my life. Only complaint is the stock tune. It pulls hard to 4k rpm then dies till 5k rpm then picks up again. Next year i will modify the car. Full exhaust, intake and pro tune. Afterwards she will be a complete different animal. Just note when you mod your new WRX you will pass up the warranty on your engine. As long as your tuner is spot on, there's really nothing to worry about. One more thing, this car has held its value so well. I were to sell it now I would only lose 5% of what i paid. That's excellent since most cars lose 10-15% when you drive off the lot. Overall very happy with my WRX.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

57 cars owned and this one does it all...

Eric, 04/21/2019
STI Limited w/Wing 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Unless you need to tow something, or haul more than 5 people, there isn't a better car, period. This satisfies the driver, the player, the metro, the green thumb, mom, girlfriend, kids, teens, and it will make grampa feel young again. It is just SO satisfying to drive. Every muscle car is fast, yes. Problem is, you get 2 gears and unless you want a ticket, the fun is done. I'm shifting as much or as little as I want. I can be docile or aggressive. I can get 25mpg,or I can run it like it's intended and get 20mpg. The interior has SURPRISING room both front and back, and is comfortable when adjusted to your liking. I am 6' and have a toddler car seat behind me with room for both of us to spare. Tremendous tech features and easy logistics. Attention to detail given in the STI Limited, and it feels very modern and sharp. Radio needed adjustment and fine tuning, but sounds terrific through the Harmon Kardon speakers. For performance, the STI HAS IT ALL. AWD, Forged wheels, brembo brakes, big turbo and intercooler, responsive steering, tuned suspension, Adjustable center differential, and 3 adjustable ECM settings on the fly that are very noticeable in their differences. All of it comes with Subaru reliability and durability. I'm just so happy this one fell into my lap. You will not regret it. Like the title says, I've owned 57 cars in 25 years of driving, mostly because I get bored easily. This is my new favorite! Onlu one recommendation...buy the JDM armrest extender for the center console. It was a strange design to have the OEM one so low.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't settle for less

Jp_Poncedeleon, 04/21/2020
STI 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A lot of power with a slight push of the pedal. The steering response is amazing. 3 modes to choose from intelligent for good gas mileage, Sport intelligent and sport. Recaro seats are beautiful and very comfortable. Fast and luxurious. I love it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050