Skip to main content
12345...25

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 Seltos, so we've included reviews for other years of the Seltos since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

So far, very VERY good!!!

Will, 11/13/2021
2022 Kia Seltos EX 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
241 of 246 people found this review helpful

A month ago, I traded in my 2013 base Soul for the 2022 Seltos EX, and love it. I've put just over 400 miles on it, most of it cross town commuter driving. I'll start my review discussing what I've read in other reviews, then finish up with some general observations. I agree with most of the reviews concerning front seat head and leg room. I'm 6' tall and find both to be substantial, even with the sunroof, which is standard with the EX. Some reviewers were also impressed with back seat legroom, but I beg to differ there. If you're a 6 footer and will be carting around 2 or 3 other large adults, you should probably opt for a larger vehicle. The back seat passenger(s) will not be very comfortable in the Seltos. That's a non-factor for us, as it's usually just my wife and me. If we'll be taking anyone else, we'll take her Equinox. One of the "cons" from expert reviews is that the standard engine is under powered. I find that it has plenty of pep. Unless you want a car to take to the drag strip or the Indy 500, the base engine will do just fine. When I have taken it on the highway, I've had plenty of power to merge into traffic and pass slower vehicles. One complaint, primarily on owner reviews, is that if you don't want to use ISG (Idle Stop Go), you need to turn it off every time you start the car. Well, that's not unique to the Seltos, or even Kia in the whole. Most modern cars have that feature, and most of them default to "on" every time the car is started. More about ISG later. Now for my general observations. I find the Seltos extremely comfortable. I'm a 70 year old six footer, and have no trouble getting in and out of it. I've got plenty of driver's head and leg room, and my foot goes easily between the accelerator and brake - unlike some cars I've driven. The leatherette seats in the EX are plenty comfortable for short local driving, but may leave a bit to be desired for longer trips. I like the leather padding on the steering wheel. I've put a cover on the wheel of most of the other cars that I've owned, but didn't need to do it with the Seltos. I had never before driven a car with either CVT or all wheel drive. I fully expected that they would take some getting used to, but that has not been the case. If anything, the CVT is smoother and quieter than some of the cars I've had with traditional automatic transmission. When I first got the car, I had the display on that shows how much power goes to each wheel. It showed that under normal situations, all power went to the front wheels. It rained on a couple days and on those days, there was a bit of power going to the back wheels as I was accelerating, the switched to front wheel only once I got up to speed. I've gotten excellent gas mileage. Most of my driving has been in town, and I've been getting 28-29 MPG regularly. The infotainment system, navigation, and driver displays all took a little effort to learn, but they make sense. For the size car, there is ample cargo space - even more when we fold the back seats down. And we can drop the back floor down a bit and give even more space. I like the fact that the Seltos actually came with a spare tire. A lot of cars sold today just have a tire repair kit - no spare. The car came with a complementary 1 year subscription to UVO. It was kind of glitchy at first, specifically using it to remote start the car. However, I was able to get it fixed after a couple of emails to tech support. An interesting note is that for a week or so after I got the car, each time I got home and parked the car in the garage, I got an email reminding me that my doors were unlocked. After that, the emails stopped coming. Maybe the app "learned" my habits and determined that it was the normal situation Back to ISG. I like it. The engine always starts up again as soon as I take my foot off the brake pedal, and it's smooth and quiet. The only way I know that the engine has started again is the tachometer and the engine stopped symbol is not illuminated. I frankly do not understand why anyone would NOT want to use it. One argument I've heard is that more gas is burned each time the engine is started. That is false. It may have once been the case, but not with modern fuel injection engines. Another argument is that it's hard on the starter and the engine. Again, both have been improved. For example, 30 years ago, a starter could typically last 50,000 start events before failing. Now, that's been increased 10 fold - up to 500,000. And motor oils have also been improved. Also, it's COLD starts that put more pressure on the starter and engine - not warm starts where the oil is already circulating. True, ISG does not result in a huge fuel savings, but every little bit helps. And ditto with reduced pollution.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable roomy interior, and nice cargo area.

CAMPJEEP, 04/14/2020
updated 10/21/2021
2021 Kia Seltos SX 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
307 of 318 people found this review helpful

I have always been a Jeep owner and will miss the Jeep family. I started out to get a Jeep Compass Limited for my retirement vehicle (since I don't go off-roading anymore). For what I payed for my new 2021 Kia sx turbo I got so much more than expected in value for the cost, like when sitting in the the roomy interior of the kia (I am 6 foot tall, 240 lb ), the styling their with the 10.3-inch navigation screen, all the driver-assistance tech, the Bose premium 8 speaker sound system looks and sounds very nice. Even the speaker grills are shaped like mountains when sitting in there, those comfortable seats for my long legs. Kias warranty. Looking at the exterior I noticed the wheels, the attention to detail in the front and the rear styling, fit and finish of the exterior, the 28% approach and departure angles (OK) not so much for the plastic skid plates front and rear. But it dose make it look a little rugged-looking though. The power from 0 to 60, and that (center differential lock) and torque vectoring for this price point. I wanted to mention the best in class braking 60 to 0, this is just my opinion only. (The 235 tires might have something to do with that.) I am impressed with the ride and how it handles on the rough back roads, there are some pavements that are louder than others but 95% of the time it is very good for its class, it has 235 tires with 18 inch rims and is not as quiet as my 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland (Hemi) ha ha but is almost half the price and I am retired now. It dose get twice the millage though... Remember the tires have a lot to do with road noise, stopping distance, handling and ride, (the width of the tire, its sidewall height and tread compound). UPDATE 10/20/2021 SX AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo ) I now have 13,000 miles on the Seltos. We have went to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park twice now myself and two grandkids and we had room for all of are stuff and no comfort complaints, It is about 7 hour trip from are home in Ohio and my back side never never had any complaints either ha ha. The 1.6 Turbo had no problem going up Jellico Mountain on I-75, and in the Smoky Mountains it handled the US-441 Newfound Gap Road with curvy roads and steep winding curves like a champ and a 11-mile section of U.S. Route 129 there has become a hugely popular destination for motorcyclists and sports car drivers and had no problems their. On Christmas Eve 2020 11PM it was 17 degrees and we had 6 inches of snow and I tested it out on are hilly back roads stopping half way up a hill and starting up again and it handled that with no problems. I run Firestone weathergrip touring tires. At 9,000 miles I had it serviced and oil changed for the second time and they recalibrated the DCT transmission threw a technical service bulletin. It did shift better and I would advise asking about it, my dealer let me know with out asking... It is not a sports car but the AWD and the1.6 turbo is very energetic while returning better then estimated fuel millage. We have got 31,32 on are road trips and 27,28 all around gas millage on regular gas. I have tried here to give you some honest real on road driving impressions that I have had driving the Setos sense 4/2/2020. I am just really enjoying driving the Seltos SX.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

Brandon, 10/25/2021
2022 Kia Seltos EX 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
83 of 85 people found this review helpful

Pros: The infotainment system works well and has a lot of features. The touchscreen is one of the biggest I've seen for a car. The Apple CarPlay feature works great. The safety features are also great and not intrusive while driving. The interior is synthetic leather and gives this small SUV an upscale feeling. I love the exterior appearance of the vehicle. The audio sounds good, even though it's not the Bose system. The cargo space can hold quite a bit despite the car's size. Cons: There's quite a bit of wind and road noise while driving. The acceleration is lackluster, but that's to be expected when you don't get the turbocharged engine. The front seats can be a bit uncomfortable on long rides, especially for your lower back.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great small sized SUV

Monique Butts, 08/30/2020
2021 Kia Seltos SX 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
117 of 121 people found this review helpful

I traded in my Mazda CX5 for the new KIA Seltos. I have to say I'm really loving it! Compared to my Touring model Mazda, the Seltos really delivers on quality, features and comfort for about the same price. Smooth ride! The turbo sx model I highly recommend so you're not hesitant when pulling out or merging. Plenty of cargo space in the trunk area with a nice cargo cover for security or keeping the sun off groceries. Ample leg room in front and rear seating. The seats are surprisingly comfortable for being new and leather. The Bose speakers are my favorite as they light up and pulse to the music in a non distract blue. I had hoped for the fun yellow color, but it looked more like a banana and lime had a baby...but totally loving the steel grey exterior and black leather trim inside. Very happy overall.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Never thought I would say I LOVE my Kia!

Iamelsao , 07/13/2020
2021 Kia Seltos EX 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
70 of 72 people found this review helpful

I have been a VW girl for a long time but, this Kia Seltos is great! I love the amount of quality you get for the price. It's comfortable, economical and very affordable. I do really like the large console screen. I have only 1 complaint and that is that the time changes back 1 hour every few days. I have to take it back to the dealer to see what the problem is. Otherwise it's so far my favorite vehicle!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...25
Items per page: