Skip to main content

Used 2015 INFINITI QX80 Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
22 reviews
1

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2015 QX80, so we've included reviews for other years of the QX80 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Infiniti Luv

Nellz, 12/17/2017
updated 06/27/2018
2015 INFINITI QX80 4dr SUV 4WD (5.6L 8cyl 7A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

Due to thid type of engine it needs a oil change every 5k miles which can be inconvienent. Gas gussler but what SUV is not. Wonderful car inside and out. Very perfect for a family of 4. We have 2 kids in carseats and this is the perfect size SUV

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Lots of comfort and lots of room

Trenton Cogdill, 01/15/2017
updated 01/22/2021
2014 INFINITI QX80 4dr SUV 4WD (5.6L 8cyl 7A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I bought new in 2014 totally loaded. I am 6 ft 6 in tall and this is the only luxury SUV with adequate headroom without tilting the seat back. I have taken 5 hour trips with 4 adults and two children in total comfort. Voice operated navigation is great. Absolutely no mechanical issues in 55000 miles. I am 71 years old and this is by far my favorite vehicle. Better than Cadillac, Mercedes, and BMW that I have owned.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love my '15 QX80

G M, 07/16/2020
2015 INFINITI QX80 4dr SUV 4WD (5.6L 8cyl 7A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have to start by saying that I absolutely love this vehicle. I'm a big guy (6'4" and 275 lbs.) and this vehicle fits me like a glove. I sat in the Sequoia, which was too small, and the only other one I found a comfortable position is was the Chev, but I couldn't bring myself to buy a GM. Many others have said it, but if you're worried about gas mileage you shouldn't be driving this vehicle. Love all of the features, the power, and the ride. My favorite part is the look. They nailed this one and I've gotten a lot of compliments from co-workers on the styling and the interior, even now in 2020. I have to mention that this is also one of the few third rows that I even fit in. My wife, who is shorter than me, isn't afraid to drive this vehicle despite its size due to the 360 cameras, and the ease of steering. To put it into perspective, she was afraid to drive the FJ cruiser I had before this because it was too big. I've had this for 25k km and haven't had any issues yet. The review about the gas gauge is accurate but so what? when the light comes on, you know you have 7 gallons left. To me that was not a show stopper. If you keep on the regular maintenance, it shouldn't be an issue. I would buy this vehicle again in a heart beat.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great Infiniti QX80 Ownership Experience

Craig Elford, 06/10/2016
updated 01/09/2023
2015 INFINITI QX80 4dr SUV 4WD (5.6L 8cyl 7A)
59 of 63 people found this review helpful

My 2015 QX80 is my second Infiniti full size SUV as I previously drove a 2006 QX56 which I still own as a third vehicle for our family. I put over 205,000 miles on the 2006 model, and had absolutely no problems. UPDATE - Currently have 260,000 miles on my QX80. Great quality vehicle with outstanding ownership experience. When it came time to look at new vehicles I again did rigorous evaluation before purchasing my 2015 QX80. I looked at the Ford Expedition (I previously owned a 1997 model), the Lincoln Navigator (my wife drives a 2006 model), the Cadillac Escalade, the GMC Yukon Denali, the Chevy Tahoe LTZ, and the Toyota Sequoia Platinum. I am 6'-8" and immediately eliminated the Toyota Sequoia as I could not even sit in the driver seat due to the very short headroom as my head hit the ceiling even with the seat back reclined pretty significantly. I loved the legroom and headroom for all the GM products as they had best in class legroom, but GM still has not engineered a decent 3rd row seat to fold flat into the floor. While they advertise the new versions that way, in reality you lose at least 4" in the height of the cargo area as they have artificially raised the cargo floor to accommodate the third row seating when folded down. Legroom on their 3rd row seating was basically unusable. That left the Lincoln Navigator and the Ford Expedition, but there was simply no comparison when evaluating the quality of the vehicles between the Infiniti QX80 and the Ford and Lincoln products. I have been extremely pleased with the outstanding quality of my QX-80. With 400 horsepower it has plenty of power to provide effective performance for such a large, heavy vehicle. While it does not have sports car acceleration, if you are driving a full size SUV that is not a primary consideration. I have found the 5.6 liter engine to have plenty of power and zip and even when cruising at 70 mph there is still plenty of acceleration when you need to pass. The 315 horses available on my 2006 QX56 was adequate, and the new fuel injection on the QX80 provides a noticeable difference in power. The greatest improvements in with the QX-80 is in the changes made with technology to improve the ride and to make the driving experience safer. I have found the blind spot monitor to be a tremendous help, and the intelligent cruise control is an amazing technology to monitor what is happening with vehicles ahead of you to ensure safe distances are maintained. If you have not used this technology, you will love it as you can set the interval you are looking to maintain and the sensors on the vehicle do an amazing job of monitoring not only the vehicle immediately in front of you, but also the vehicle on ahead to determine if there is a potential safety hazard and will automatically adjust the set speed accordingly. The driving and passenger ride experience is incredibly comfortable. With the long wheel base, the quality of the seats, and the suspension system provides a luxury car ride for your passengers. I get so many compliments from those riding with me as to how incredibly comfortable the ride is as well as how impressed they are with the luxury finish. Infiniti has used very high quality materials and it is very evident in the look and feel of the vehicle. Even with the size of a full size SUV, the QX80 handles incredibly well for both highway driving, city driving, and the surround view cameras and sensors make it every easy to handle vehicle even in tight spaces. Turning radius is excellent for this size vehicle and I can actually U-turn in a much smaller radius than many passenger cars. This vehicle is a dream to drive on the highway as the ride is so comfortable, yet when needed the handling is very responsive. Another great advantage to a full size SUV is the amount of cargo you can haul in the cargo area behind the 2nd row, and if necessary with the second row captain seats folded down. I have hauled an incredible amount of gear in my vehicle multiple times and for the past two years have been transporting dogs for a senior dog rescue and having the voluminous cargo area is great and provides a lot of flexibility. This is where it is so important at the elegant engineering of how the 3rd row seating folds into the floor. While I would agree with the other two reviews listed regarding the low end of the gas gauge accuracy, and at times the shifting of the transmission could be smoother, but that is only when you are really pushing the vehicle and need to accelerate quickly. Overall, to me these are very small issues compared to the overall quality and experience of owning this vehicle. The QX80 also has unique styling which you may either love or hate, but you won't look like every other full size SUV on the road. I personally really like the styling as it is not just a square box like so many of the competitors. The net is, I love my 2015 Infiniti QX80, and would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone. I now have 220,000 miles on my QX80 with very few issues. I am very diligent with oil changes and tire rotations. We have been so impressed with my QX80 we purchased a new 2017 QX60 for my wife to replace her old vehicle. She loves it!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely cushy, most roomy and reliable. Thirsty.

JBoles, 03/04/2018
2015 INFINITI QX80 4dr SUV 4WD (5.6L 8cyl 7A)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

Don't go see this car if you're not prepared to buy it. You will fall in love with the interior- plush seats with a multitude of settings, heat/cooling options, quiet, the most spacious 3 row out there. Love this vehicle but wish was a hybrid/not so thirsty. 3 years in with my 2015 CPO Limited Edition and haven't done anything but change the oil- and I drive the heck out of it. Gets a solid 14 mpg.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5