Skip to main content

Used 2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$25,590 - $38,998

Used Silverado 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Rented 4 pickups bought the Silverado

Jpv, 03/27/2016
updated 05/25/2016
LT 4dr Crew Cab 6.5 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
29 of 33 people found this review helpful

I was in the market for a new pickup and definitely preferred the Toyota Tundra before driving any of them because I have owned Toyota and Lexus vehicles for the last 20 years. Can't beat the reliability anywhere. Drove the Tundra and liked it but could not average more than 15 mpg, didn't matter that I took a trip to Naples, still 15 mpg. The truck was very nice but that was a problem for me. I rented an F150, not crazy about the looks and the aluminum body, just my opinion, and the Ram, could not get past the rotating knob for a shifter, reminded me of the old push button transmission fad of the old Chrysler and the gas mileage was terrible like the Tundra. Rented a Silverado thinking I have not bought a Chevy in 30 years and to my surprise, I posted 22.9 mpg on the highway, a high of 24.2 and an average of 21.9. I was shocked and amazed at how great it rode and handled. The Apple car play was a bonus and a great addition to the my sync system which sounds surprisingly good. Purchased the crew cab short bed with the all star package and the V8 and so far averaging 22.5 mpg in mixed mostly highway driving. Also, I do not have the Silverado shake I have read about and hope this truck serves me as well as all the Toyota vehicles I bought in the past. Only time will tell but so far, very pleased with the purchase but it has only been the first week

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
ad labelAd
Also Consider
10 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Chevy Silverado 1500
View Offers
Chevrolet.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges.

5 out of 5 stars

Replaced my 2007 Chevy Silverado

Dean Brendel, 07/09/2016
LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 8A)
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

As a 2nd time truck buyer, the 2016 chevy silverado is hands down superior to the 2007 silverado that I previously owned. Its much quieter, handles like a dream, has better gas mileage - although 15.7 is about as good as I have gotten so far but thats still 2 mpg better than my 2007. I have only had it for 785 miles so its new. Its beautiful and well appointed. The only drawback is climbing into the truck. I do not have running boards yet but will need to get them to provide a step up. My wife has a problem getting into the truck. In terms of acceleration, it does fine. The interior is very nice with the leather seats which have a cooling feature which is great in the summer. I have only had it for a couple of weeks so its all really new. I read other reviews that talk about a vibration but I have not had that happen. I am a proud owner of this truck

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

19 Mpg in city!

Dave S., 09/21/2016
updated 10/13/2021
Work Truck 4dr Double Cab SB (4.3L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This truck is not in Edmunds model description. I went from a 1998 Saturn "great car", to a Chevy Silverado 2 WD, WT extended cab with a V8. I had been spoiled with 34 mpg in the city and 42 mpg highway, for almost 19 years. With the first fill up of gas in this truck I averaged almost 19 mpg city driving. I'm very impressed with the truck so far. It is very quite, has plenty of power, and looks like it will get almost 2 times the mpg of my previous 83" Chevy pickup. But, with only 300 miles on it, I can't tell you much. I'll let you know in 19 years what I think ;) I had a hard time finding this truck. It seems like most trucks are loaded, 4 WD with 6 cylinders. For 1 mpg difference why buy a 6 cylinder? I really wanted to buy a extended cab with a 8' bed, but GM doesn't sell it in the 1500 trucks. I looked at the 2500's until I saw how bad the Mpg was! 6 Months in, and 4,000 miles. I'm averaging 15 - 17 Mpg in city. I've been making her work hard. Remodeled 2 houses since I got this truck. Average homeowner doesn't need the 8' bed. Heck I'm managing without! Many 1500# + loads. Several trips with16' beams with a tailgate extender and well flagged!! With tailgate down you can bring home 10' items pretty easily. Just brought home some (.25") 4" x 10" x 10' Steel Rectangular Tube, just flagged it! 18 month review. I have almost 11,000 miles. Still getting 15 - 17 in the city. Truck's running great. Remodeled another house, major repairs. In hind site, I should have bought a standard cab with an 8' box. My kids are old enough to both have their own cars and I only use the back seats once a month on average. Not worth the extra $9,000 or so extra for the back seats. Also an 8' box would have come in handy MANY times! I've pushed the loads accidentally over 2,000 #'s a few times. The trucks tires don't like it, best description would be wallowing like a boat!! But the the brakes and motor don't care! The suspension was not bottomed out so I ASSUMED I was still in the weight range. I wish GM would work on the mpg on the super duty trucks!!! I still love this truck! 24 Month review. 14,000 Miles. In the city this truck is still averaging 15.5 - 16.5 Mpg! I still love this truck. One round trip from Rochester Hills MI, to Caro MI. I didn't take the freeway, just a relaxing drive up M-24. 130 mile round trip, truck averaged 27.5 Mpg. Awesome! 2nd Trip from Rochester Hills, to Grayling MI, Averaged 72 mph on "75". I drove around in Grayling and surrounding areas also. When I got home I checked my mileage again. Averaged 24.3 Mpg for 525 mile round trip! This truck with the longer wheel base rides very smoothly on the freeway's. I have a Tonneau cover on the truck, so I'm sure that helps with the mileage. I still can't believe this truck can get those kinds of #'s. Great purchase. But, still wish I had just bought the standard cab. I rarely need the extended cab! 30 Months in. 16,000 miles. Truck is still running GREAT, and averaging 16+ miles per gallon in the city. Does decent in the snow. 48 Month review. 24,000 miles. At 80 mph mileage will suffer. I recently drove up north for a vacation at higher speeds and mileage dropped to 19. On the way back drove at around 72 and again averaged 25 mpg. I still can't believe a truck can get this good of mileage. I also own a 2008 Chevy impala and this car doesn't get as good mileage as the truck at highway speeds! The truck is still working GREAT, and I'm very happy for the purchase! 5 Year review. Last winter the sensors on the tire pressure went haywire. But, as soon as the temp's came back up it went back to normal. And that's the reason I don't buy LOADED vehicles. If you only plan to own a vehicle for 3 years it doesn't matter. But if you plan to own a car for 10+ years like I do, it DOES. Truck is pushing on 27K miles. I drove almost zilch during covid-19. I'm still getting 16 or so Mpg in city and 25 Mpg on the highway as long as I drive under 72. Still a great purchase. No maintenance needed yet, just oil changes. Though I plan to buy a new battery soon.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely pleased with Silverado LTZ

Tom, 12/21/2016
LTZ 4dr Double Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 8A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

We traded in a 2016 Toyota Tacoma off road double cab for a 2016 Silverado LTZ. The LTZ has the 6.2L and 8 spd tranny. The Silverado get's better fuel mileage, more comfortable and is hands down a better truck than the Toyota. My family loves the cabin space, the layout, comfort and I like the smooth 6.2l and 8spd tranny combo. I've had the truck 3 weeks and have 2,500 miles on it and I'm impressed with the MPG's! Sub-zero temperatures and I'm getting 19mpg on the highway- better than my Tacoma ever did!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Long time F150 owner now Chevy!

Casey SIlverado, 05/15/2016
updated 01/09/2017
Z71 LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 8A)
25 of 30 people found this review helpful

I have owned 3 F150's over the years and was in the market for a new truck. I wanted a truck with big v8 power (my last F150 had the 6.2l motor). reasonable gas mileage and ability to tow a 7x14 V nose enclosed trailer long distance in comfort. I don't do off road stuff but every so often I do hit some dirt roads. I didn't want to move to a F250 or any 3/4 ton. I looked first for a truck with a 6.2l engine and the only one I found with that option was Silverado. Well, I started looking and found that not only was it basically the same motor as in the C7 but it came with a 8 speed transmission. The Silverado comes in many different flavors and the engine choice limited me to a High Country or an LTZ Z71. I found 2 trucks about 70 miles away from where I live and test drove one and bought it the same day. I got what I needed (power, comfort, rugged). I also got what I wont use (crazy technology built-in wifi, lane assist, front assist, rear assist etc)) and hopefully it will be as reliable a truck as my fords have been. I just couldn't do a twin turbo v6 in a truck so hello Chevy and so long Ford! Update at 6000 miles. So we put this truck through some pretty intense miles. Hooked up a 7x14 enclosed motorcycle trailer with 2 baggers and towed it from VA to CO and then to WY. Went up steep mountains and through torrential rains. Experienced the joy of bad roads in various sections of the 5000 mile vacation over 2 weeks. Love this truck. Gas mileage went to hell ofcourse towing 5000 pounds+ but stable, able to go up steep inclines, handle wet roads, couple of emergency manouvers without problem, no overheating running straight for 16 hours in sometimes 102 degree heat. Update at 10,000 miles. No issues still. Using the truck still primarily for long distance trips and hauling stuff around town. Gas mileage varies between 17-21.7 depending on my heavy foot. With the big motor, its fun to to hammer it every now and then. They say this particular setup can do 0-60 in 5.9 sec, I can believe it. Crazy for a 6000 lb rig, not complaining LOL!

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...12
Items per page: