Skip to main content

Used 2019 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22 reviews
List Price Range
$19,999 - $34,998

Used Impala for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

UNDERRATED, SO-SO IMAGE, SAD PRODUCTION STOP

Pops, 03/30/2019
updated 10/05/2020
Premier 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
95 of 96 people found this review helpful

Professionally, I drive many makes and models each 100-500 miles daily over interstates and local streets and changing the vehicle daily. The Impala is one of my top favorites and accordingly I own one. Cabin room and seating comfort is superb. Ease of steering effort is optimal and handling ranks with the best rivaling some sports oriented sedans. V6 acceleration is very powerful and braking is competitive. Fuel economy is 29 highway at 75mph and 18 city. Logic of dash and steering wheel controls is good and easy to operate. Features most all of the latest high-tech safety items. I would improve (1) quality of dash plastic materials and (2) extension length of telescoping steering wheel. Tremendous vehicle and value. Sad to see GM abandon the full-size sedan market.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

The Sedan which handles very well

SATISFIED IMPALA OWNER , 03/03/2020
LT 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I bought a new, 2019 Chevy Impala LS V-6, off a dealer's lot, five months ago. I ascertained that the Impala had a trunk, almost 19 cubic feet, which was what I was looking for. Please note that I have a 6 cylinder LS. For some reason, I could not enter 6 cylinder, under the "Model-Trim", at the end of the review. I road tested the LS, and it was very easy to handle, and the overall ride was smooth. I've been impressed with the electronic features on the car. For example, I enjoy the Bluetooth feature, whereby recorded music on my smartphone, is broadcast through a speaker on the dashboard. Also, I enjoy the hands free feature, whereby I can receive cell phone calls, which are also broadcast, through a speaker near the instrument panel. The instrument panel also displays the telephone number of the party who is calling me. In addition to the electronic features, I enjoy the folding down rear seats for added cargo space, which is similar to the old station wagons, which had that feature. The other plus features of the Impala are the ease of handling, the low noise level on the road, the excellent heating system, which comes on very quickly, as well as the very good air-conditioning system. I've been satisfied with the gas mileage which is over 19mph combined city and highway driving. I haven't as yet had the opportunity to take the Impala on the highway for a long road trip. However, I was informed that I would realize 28mpg, or perhaps a little more, for straight highway driving. The backup camera comes in handy for backing into tight spots. However, I cannot rely on the backup camera exclusively for backing up. I prefer to also look out the rear window when backing up. The problem with the Impala is that the rear view window was designed to be too high, and hence it is difficult to clearly see who is in back of the car, as well as who is coming from the side (peripheral vision). Also, regarding the backup camera, when it rains, it is useless as the rain interferes with the rear camera. Other criticisms that I have with the Impala is the cheap material which is used in the interior. For example, whenever I move the sun visor(s), they come off the attaching mounted hook device, as the latter is made very flimsy. I have to keep reinserting the visors into that device. Also,the device which controls the outside left and outside right mirror is also very cheaply made. There is practically no differentiation on that device, to inform the driver that it is in a neutral position (neither controlling the right mirror or the left mirror). One time, when I was trying to position the left outside mirror with that device, first the left rear window, and then the right rear window started to open. To this day, I don't know how that control affected those windows, and I probably would not be able to duplicate that phenomenon again. Apropos to the two outside mirrors, I cannot understand why the LS model, does not have the heated outside mirror feature. Now, whenever it snows or rains, I have to be concerned with opening the driver window, and clearing the outside driver's mirror. The latter feature should have been standard on the LS model. Other concerns are the car radio. It is exceedingly difficult to ascertain how to switch from AM to FM and vice-versa. The controls are very confusing on the radio, and the car manual is even more confusing. The same holds true for the control on the steering wheel, which is accessed in order to see the percentage of remaining motor oil life. The latter control is very difficult to access. In that regard, I'd like to compliment the manufacturer for the display pertaining to the pounds per square inch of the tires. I always keep that control displayed, and I am very appreciative for it. Now, I no longer have to bend down, especially on a cold winter day, and check the air pressure on each tire. I know in an instant, what the tire pressure is on each tire, not only when I start the car, but also when I am driving on the highway. The final criticism that I have is with the design of the height of the Impala; it is not always easy to get into the car, and there are times, when one has to be very careful, not to bump one's head, when doing so. Also, I won't attempt to go to an anytime bank, as it is difficult, to reach out of the car window to access the controls of the anytime machine. On the plus side, the controls on the dashboard are well displayed, and the intensity of the headlights at night, are very good. The various compartments inside are nice, although the glove compartment could have been made a little larger, with a light inside, as is the case with the light inside the compartment, between the two front seats. Last, I would like to commend the Impala for the large roomy area, which is prevalent in the rear seating compartment. There is ample room back there, and the seats are very comfortable. The seating is also very comfortable in the front.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Better than expected

Rasmaxwell, 09/30/2019
updated 10/18/2021
Premier 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
39 of 42 people found this review helpful

I have 8,000 miles on my 2019 Impala Premier, and I would like to pass along my comments.The GM V6 engine is smooth and capable, and ditto for the well matched 6 speed automatic transmission. Highway mileage is an impressive 30-34 mpg, depending upon speed/weather/traffic. The car cruises effortlessly and with minimal road noise. I did swap out the standard 20 inch wheels with mediocre Bridgestones for 18 inch wheels with V-rated Michelins, and this change contributed in a major way to lower road noise and a smoother ride. Handling is above average. The seats are also very comfortable for long drives of several hundred miles. Passenger and trunk space is impressive. It remains to be seen how well this car holds up over 50,000+ miles. That being said, I currently have no regrets in buying this car. I never thought that I would say this about a Chevy, as I have principally owned Toyota and Honda products in the past. Update as of 3/31/20 - No issues at 15,400 miles. Concerned about resale value. Update as of 12/13/20 - No issues at 22,000 miles. One of the better cars that I have owned. Update as of 10/15/21 - No issues at 33,000 miles. It runs great.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

impala baby

robert, 04/07/2019
Premier 4dr Sedan (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
35 of 38 people found this review helpful

this car is great it is a under valued car,that is of great value for your dollar spent.it is a shame chevy could'nt sell more.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

The Sedan which handles very well

SATISFIED IMPALA OWNER , 03/03/2020
LT 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought a new, 2019 Chevy Impala LS V-6, off a dealer's lot, five months ago. I ascertained that the Impala had a trunk, almost 19 cubic feet, which was what I was looking for. Please note that I have a 6 cylinder LS. For some reason, I could not enter 6 cylinder, under the "Model-Trim", at the end of the review. I road tested the LS, and it was very easy to handle, and the overall ride was smooth. I've been impressed with the electronic features on the car. For example, I enjoy the Bluetooth feature, whereby recorded music on my smartphone, is broadcast through a speaker on the dashboard. Also, I enjoy the hands free feature, whereby I can receive cell phone calls, which are also broadcast, through a speaker near the instrument panel. The instrument panel also displays the telephone number of the party who is calling me. In addition to the electronic features, I enjoy the folding down rear seats for added cargo space, which is similar to the old station wagons, which had that feature. The other plus features of the Impala are the ease of handling, the low noise level on the road, the excellent heating system and a/c system, and the ability to switch to a manual transmission drive. I've been satisfied with the gas mileage which is over 19mph combined city and highway driving. I haven't as yet had the opportunity to take the Impala on the highway for a long road trip. However, I was informed that I would realize 28mpg, or perhaps a little more, for straight highway driving. The backup camera comes in handy for backing into tight spots. However, I cannot rely on the backup camera exclusively for backing up. I prefer to also look out the rear window when backing up. The problem with the Impala is that the rear view window was designed to be too high, and hence it is difficult to clearly see who is in back of the car, as well as who is coming from the side (peripheral vision). Also, regarding the backup camera, when it rains, it is useless as the rain interferes with the rear camera. Other criticisms that I have with the Impala is the cheap material which is used in the interior. For example, whenever I move the sun visor(s), they come off the attaching mounted hook device, as the latter is made very flimsy. I have to keep reinserting the visors into that device. Also, the device which controls the outside left and outside right mirror is very cheaply made. There is practically no differentiation on that device, to inform the driver that it is in a neutral position (neither controlling the right mirror or the left mirror). One time, when I was trying to position the left outside mirror with that device, first the left rear window, and then the right rear window started to open. To this day, I don't know how that control affected those windows, and I probably would not be able to duplicate that phenomenon again. Apropos to the two outside mirrors, I cannot understand why the LS model, does not have the heated outside mirror feature. Whenever it snows or rains, I have to be concerned with opening the driver window, and clearing the outside driver's mirror. The latter feature should have been standard on the LS model. Other concerns are the car radio. It is exceedingly difficult to ascertain how to switch from AM to FM and vice-versa. The controls are very confusing on the radio, and the car manual is even more confusing. The same holds true for the control on the steering wheel, which is accessed in order to see the percentage of remaining motor oil life. The latter control is very difficult to access. In that regard, I'd like to compliment the manufacturer for the display pertaining to the pounds per square inch of the tires. I always keep that control displayed, and I am very appreciative for it. Now, I no longer have to bend down, especially on a cold winter day, and check the air pressure on each tire. I know in an instant, what the tire pressure is on each tire, not only when I start the car, but also when I am driving on the highway. The final criticism that I have is with the design of the low height of the Impala; it is not always easy to get into the car, and there are times, when one has to be very careful, not to bump one's head, when doing so. Also, I won't attempt to go to an Anytime bank, as it is difficult, to reach out of the car window to access the controls of the Anytime machine. On the plus side, the controls on the dashboard are well displayed, and the intensity of the headlights at night, are very good. The various compartments inside are nice, although the glove compartment could have been made a little larger, with a light inside, as is the case with the light inside the compartment, between the two front seats. Last, I would like to commend the Impala for the large roomy area, which is prevalent in the rear seating compartment. There is ample room back there, and the seats are very comfortable. The seating is also very comfortable in the front.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: