Skip to main content

Used 2019 Toyota Yaris Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,998 - $22,998

Used Yaris for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Awesome car with an awesome price tag!

Zach, 04/17/2019
LE 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl 6M)
61 of 61 people found this review helpful

After owning the car for a little over a month, I’m an extremely pleased I went with the Yaris over a Chevy Sonic. I am a huge stickler when it comes to a feeling of quality, and this little car does just that. The interior is trimmed out very nicely for a subcompact. Nothing feels cheap, although the center console is a little flimsy. Even the hard plastics feel nice to the touch, and soft touch materials are abundant throughout the cabin. Controls are basic, but nice. The center display screen is a very nice touch and simple to use with the rotary dial. The car is incredibly fun to drive! Idk what the whole gripe about it being slow is!? The car makes 106 hp and weighs just over 2400 lbs. it literally feels like you are driving for a Miata sedan! It’s very zippy, and the handling is phenomenal. The sound system is excellent and I’d have to put it on par with my 03 Lexus. Fuel mileage is astronomical while averaging 43 mpg everywhere I seem to go. The manual transmission is something I would recommend as well. My only gripe would be as I am a taller guy, it takes a while to find a comfortable position. Other than that I could not be happier with this car! It is a blast to drive

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Affordable and reliable

Frankie, 11/15/2018
LE 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl 6A)
42 of 45 people found this review helpful

Fantastic gas mileage, stylish looks, fun to drive. Loads of standard features. I drive mostly in town and under 40 mph. It is a perfect car for metro driving. You get what you pay for. Toyota hit a home run with a 35-40 mpg sedan. L.E. model is sweet. No regrets.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

Pat, 01/19/2020
L 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl 6M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Before I had this car I drove a 2019 civic Si but got in to an accident and had to replace it. I wanted something cheaper and new so I looked between the 2019 corolla, civic coupe, Honda Fit and the yaris sedan. To me the yaris was the best overall bang for the buck especially since I didn’t really care about the apple/android CarPlay since I bought a $20 car mount and slapped it on problem solved (thank you Siri). I purchased the Yaris L trim 6 speed manual for $12,800 OTD. I average 37.7 MPG between city and Highway in LA traffic. The cabin noise is tolerable. I’ve driven to and from Vegas from LA in this and had no complaints (even without a center armrest). I love the simplicity of this car, it’s very easy to use and reminds me of my 97 corolla in terms of how user friendly it was. The hill assist is convenient. Another perk is that it has a full spare kit in the trunk, not many cars now a days has that which I think is ridiculous. Lol people complain about the horse power but in reality a cars job is to get you from point A to B. With the 6 speed its enough to pass on the highway at a decent speed. I don’t understand why people complain about not having enough horse power, even if they did it’s not like they use it to it’s full potential. All these safety features and lane assets are making drivers more lazy and unsafe.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Even Better Than Expected

TorchMini, 05/04/2019
updated 05/17/2021
LE 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl 6M)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I thought I'd like the Yaris (Mazda2) but three months later, I LOVE it. It reminds me of my Mini Cooper in the joy of driving, but it's quieter and handles the bad roads more forgivingly. The engine is low on overt power but the car really moves fast where I need it, like around town off a dead stop due to its super light weight and great transmission (automatic). I've had no trouble passing's on two lane roads under 60 mph. When it has to rev, it feels smooth and sounds great. The doors are feather light and so easy to open & close (unlike my old MINI). I love the lines of the Mazda "Kodo" design which look especially good in the Pulse Red I got. Based on the record of the Mazda Skyactv engines going back to 2014, I believe I can drive this little gem for ten years without overspending on the automotive budget. I'm 71 years old and my passengers are mostly canine, so my smaller back seat isn't an issue, and anyway they are quite alright for most people and leave me a nice big trunk. I know the Toyota front face isn't as popular as its Mazda2 heritage version, but I am fine with it. It invites me to drive each time I see it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Still so happy with my Yaris.

Ariel W., 07/21/2019
updated 07/23/2020
L 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Got my 2019 Yaris L back in June 2019. My first review still stands. Very comfortable ride, great sound system. Disagree with those who say the car is noisy. As for gas mileage, the car is a very slow sipper (averaging mpg is 43) Just could not be happier with my purchase!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: