Skip to main content

Used 2018 Porsche Panamera Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
27 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2018 Panamera, so we've included reviews for other years of the Panamera since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
2 out of 5 stars

Great! (When its working...)

SadOwner, 12/14/2019
2018 Porsche Panamera 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8AM)
43 of 43 people found this review helpful

I have had the car for 9 months and driven 14K miles... The handling and performance is superb until the transmission can't decide on a gear. Sometimes "reverse gear is unavailable." (It's a Porsche, I don't need reverse). No really, can't select reverse! Electronics remind me of a Christmas tree, there is always some warning light on. Don't worry if one disappears another will take its place. This is truly impressive. The soft touch doors fail intermittently. Cruise- control cuts out. Alarm goes off. Engine loses drive when turning and crossing traffic,(T-bone anyone?) Traction control is always a bump away... Had a o2 sensor fail. Car would not start. Had a fuel sensor fail, car would not start. So far 4 trips to the shop, totaling 18 days without the car. Buyer reconsider, there are other good looking cars out there that actually work. I am pursuing this vehicle as a Lemon.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

road handling great...electronics suck

Seabolt, 07/26/2018
updated 02/20/2020
2018 Porsche Panamera 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8AM)
66 of 68 people found this review helpful

The redesign was a huge hit. The 911-ish back end vs the old 'fat butt' is a smart move. Road handling excellent. MPG surprisingly good (28 hwy). Electronics suck and the driver interface was evidently designed by committee. Sometimes CarPlay works...sometimes not. Takes forever for the software to load every time you start the car. Too many ways to control the same thing (climate, media etc) - and a lot of it is not intuitive. Audi electronics are far better. (my 5 yr old Mercedes CLS was more advanced). Two of the five clusters on my dash currently 'out' (dark). First time it happened (then went back on) dealer said they couldn't find a cause. Front end suspension squeak unable to resolve, though great dealership service

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

2018 Panamera AWD Turbo Review

M.S., 11/14/2017
updated 05/15/2018
2018 Porsche Panamera Turbo 4dr Sedan AWD (4.0L 8cyl Turbo 8AM)
66 of 68 people found this review helpful

Update: multiple electronic issues including a complete shut down while driving. Trim coming off. Carpet buckling without any use. First car I ever regret purchasing. Sorry to say.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Personal review of the 4S Sport Turismo

David Chen, 07/25/2018
2018 Porsche Panamera 4S Sport Turismo 4dr Wagon AWD (2.9L 6cyl Turbo 8AM)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

Starting off, the looks on this car are gorgeous. It stands out from the crowd of "boring" looking cars and can give you some unwarranted attention on the road or driving in town. Most people won't know that the car is a Porsche however they'll know when they hear it. So my car: a Panamera 4S Sport Turismo (a mouthful to say haha) is Volcano Grey Metallic with the 21 inch high gloss black rims. It has the standard interior in black (enough for me as there's still leather everywhere in the car), Surround View Camera (360 degree camera system that I highly recommend getting if you don't want to scrape your front bumper or expensive rims), Sport Package (which includes the sports exhaust system in black **when put into sport or sport + the car pops and crackles on each up shift and downshift, sport chrono pack **makes the car faster with a faster 0-60 and higher top speed @180mph, and rear axle steering **a must for such a large car like this). I recently picked up the car this month of July 2018 and have already driven nearly 800 miles on it. Talking about the driving dynamics, the car handles so smoothly and there is no transmission out there that shifts as quick or as smoothly as the PDK. The Sport Turismo (fun fact) comes standard with a 3 level air suspension. If you're wondering how much of a lift the car can get, it is approx 0.5 inch or more. With the sport chrono option, you're also able to do launch control (and don't worry, you can do this an unlimited amount of times) which is an exhilarating experience. Moving onto the interior and daily usability of the technology inside. At first, all this tech can seem daunting and confusing at times. However, it took me personally around 20-25 min playing around with all the settings to fully understand the car (it's basically a giant iPad). One of the cool things about the navigation is that it can be put into 3D Google Earth mode. It's very easy to input destinations or look for certain places without putting in the destination. For the media, you have Bluetooth, jukebox, aux, Sirius XM, and more. My car does not have the extra $5k Burmester Speaker system but has the standard Bose system which still sounds fantastic. In regards to daily driveability and interior space, the sport turismo offers a little bit of more room than the standard panamera but has a lower loading height (if you want a more detailed video, I'd recommend watching Doug Demuro's review of the car on YouTube). The car in normal mode is alright and what I would consider to be the "boring" mode. The air suspension soaks up bumps very well even with my car's 21 inch rims. In sport or sport plus the chassis and suspension become more stiff and the engine becomes more responsive and "alive". I was surprised that even in the most stiff, most fun mode (sport +) that the car still rode very smoothly (props to Porsche engineering). Overall, if you're in the market for a wagon for the family but you still want it to drive like a sports car, the Porsche Panamera Sport Turismo satisfies both aspects. If you have any more questions about this car or my review, feel free to DM me on instagram @sportturismo_4S.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Basic issues need fixed before spending $115,000

Rajesh M, 09/09/2018
2018 Porsche Panamera 4 4dr Sedan AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8AM)
55 of 58 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2018 Panamera 4, 3 months ago. Head turner for sure. Wow factor, yes. Could not connect the garage door opener despite multiple attemtps. Dealership technician came to home and still not able to fix it. The engine sputters when decelerating on inclines. Not happy about these 2 issues. Has speech recognition button installed in car but the function has been deactivated (not sure why and the dealership's answer does not make any sense). Why put in a button and then deactivate it. Apple car play only works if phone connected via USB to the car and not wireless (in this day and age!!)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5