Skip to main content

Used 2014 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$30,163 - $38,263

Used CL-Class for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...7

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2014 CL-Class, so we've included reviews for other years of the CL-Class since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
    5 out of 5 stars

    Wish The Fuel Tank Was Bigger!!!

    yellowabarth, 07/11/2012
    2008 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class CL63 AMG 2dr Coupe (6.2L 8cyl 7A)
    17 of 17 people found this review helpful

    2008 Model, Got her used and does exactly what is says on the Tin... Sold a S500 because it was slower than I expected from standstill and this car is the reason to Live! I look for reasons to travel, Wish the Petrol Tank was bigger, then I would not need to stop.. No problems so far, is an American version in Dubai, and just got the Navigation working and it's sweet. Seats, Amazing, Steering , Amazing. Paid a third of its new price and got 3 times the value of a normal car. Fuel Bad, but who cares, Tyres are expensive but who cares. 50,000 Kms passed and everyone will have been hard, but she takes it in her stride. Engine sound to die for. No real complaints, but read my improvements.

    Report Abuse

    4.75 out of 5 stars

    The Ultimate High Performance Coupe

    steebie1044, 08/02/2012
    2012 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class CL550 4MATIC 2dr Coupe AWD (4.7L 8cyl Turbo 7A)
    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

    I've owned a number of Mercedes over the years, including the 560SL, 450SE Sedan, E350 Coupe, CL55, S430, E350 sedan, and the GL450. When I began shopping for another Mercedes, I researched the 2012 CL550 and concluded this was to be my next Mercedes. I found a Diamond White 2012 CL550 with Sahara Beige Premium Leather interior, and truly fully equipped with an MSRP of $127,000. The base CL550 MSRP is $114,000. I test drove the car and absolutely fell in love with the vehicle from a luxury and Performance perspective. Smooth 7 speed transmission and powered by a Twin Turbo Charged 427 HP engine. I compared this CL with a 2002 CL55 I owned. The performance of the 2012 was the best.

    Report Abuse
    5 out of 5 stars

    Amazing!

    Henry Gutierrez, 03/01/2016
    updated 09/05/2017
    2008 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class CL600 2dr Coupe (5.5L 12cyl Turbo 5A)
    13 of 13 people found this review helpful

    I've owned Audi s5 A7 corvette, Porsche all which were great automobiles. But... I purchased my 08 cl 600 for a fraction of the original price 4 months ago with 27k on it. It's 8 year old car. ( obviously someone's baby) it is perfect! Black on black. It is incredibly fast! Poor gas mileage, worth it.:)) What a pleasure to drive in town or Hiway. The interior is very luxurious . Love the dynamic seats!! Sound system sounds like I'm at the symphony. Funny: :) porches and other high performance cars/drivers pull up at light, notice the V 12 badge and know not much of a chance. I've read some of the reviews and know repairs are costly. Hopefully I don't have any soon.(crossing fingers) the dealership did go over her with a fine tooth comb, plus I asked a lot of questions and had it looked over from an independent. Hope we have many years and miles together. 10 months later I still love this car. In to dealership once. Car would run rough for a second than ok. Suggested a gas additive which seemed to do the trick. Traded my CL... had an extended warranty that was about to expire. The repairs were many for the short time I had it. Cylinder pack, ABC hose, seat motor, blower for a/c .... beautiful car and a thrill to drive! Rocket! But...

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    3 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    4.75 out of 5 stars

    Bullet Proof CL63

    CMM, 07/28/2008
    2008 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class CL63 AMG 2dr Coupe (6.2L 8cyl 7A)
    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

    An absolutely phenomenal car that makes CL (or S) driving more excitement than you can imagine. Not quite as much torque as the 12cyl CL600, but quick as nearly anything else on the street. When speed isn't an issue, it rides like a limo - smooth & quiet. With the AMG sport package and 20" wheels and tires it turns heads wherever it goes. Although it's 4500lbs, it feels like a sports cars with the Active Body Control suspension that keeps the car dead flat. The tranmission is tied to the suspension settings and here again goes from smooth and easy to 7000rpm manual only shifting. Actually the middle Sport Mode is the best selction for shifting. Overall, the best Benz I've owned in 20yrs

    Report Abuse

    5 out of 5 stars

    Last of the Mohicans!

    Benzo Love, 03/08/2017
    updated 09/19/2022
    2010 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class CL550 4MATIC 2dr Coupe AWD (5.5L 8cyl 7A)
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

    I purchased about 5 years ago a 2010 CL550 4matic with amg package. Diamond white with designo saddle brown interior. Love, Love this coupe! I have to say, there is nothing like it on the road and unfortunately, there will never be another one like it. I'm keeping this coupe till I die. I try not to drive it as much so I can keep the mileage as low as possible. I get multiple compliments every time I drive it. It's super rare and that's another reason to love it even more. This coupe has the perfect balance of sports car and luxury sedan. I've owned BMW's my whole life and this is my first Mercedes Benz. I have to say that the performance and design functionality of this coupe is bar none the best in the business. I was in between a 650xi and the CL550. I test drove both, and the outcome was obvious. Don't get me wrong, the 650 was an excellent car, the issue is, there was hardly any room in the back seats and the ride wasen't even close to the Benz. The Benz has this "BOSS" look to it. Like it says "GTF" out of my way. Again, this is my experienced opinion. And as for the gentleman that gave the most recent review on this coupe, I promise you, he doesn't own one, but I'm sure he wishes. If you compare this coupe to a C-class coupe, that's like comparing a 3-series to a 7-series Bimmer. Come on man! Update 3/16/22: Still running strong! Issues that I had and upgrades that I did. PSA, I have an extended bumper to bumper warranty, 5 years or 130k miles. Most of these repairs are DIY. I did my own tune up, oil changes, transmission changes etc... Very easy on this car. FYI. I have the warranty for major issues that I can't do myself. For a piece of mind. 1: Thermostat stuck open 2: Front air strut went bad, changed both under warranty (Most expensive repair on the whole car, total $3k labor and parts) 3: Wheel speed sensors on front wheels. Cheapest and easiest repair. Upgrades: 1: BMC drop in air filters, allows more free flow to the engine. This you can tell a huge difference on throttle response. 2: Sprint booster. This allows the throttle response to not have any lag. Excellent improvement vs. Oem. Quick response and no more lag. A must for any modern car. 3: Removed and replaced cat back exhaust with an AMG exhaust. Alot more free flow and and the sound is perfect. Not to aggressive but not quiet either, sounds the way it should. 4: Staggered wheels. I put 285/30/20 in rear and 245/35/20 in front. I was told you can't do this as I have a 4matic, but after digging deep and researching, I found the secret sauce. Don't be scared, I'm running this set up for 3 years now. No issues what so ever. 4: Upgraded my head unit. There is a company that does plug and play upgrades to your oem head unit. So it's basically the same look but now with Apple and Android car play. I have all the same toys the new benzes have. Minus the price tag. Excellent upgrade. Overall, this car has been bulletproof. Other than changing fluids and oils, this car will last forever. I have been approached many times to sell it, but until I find something that can top this car, I ain't selling. Maybe a Bentley continental would top this but the price tag is still above 100k. I'll wait for that to drop before I consider making that move.

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    12345...7
    Items per page: