Skip to main content

Used 2017 Land Rover Discovery Consumer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
26 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
1 out of 5 stars

Never Buy a Land Rover Discovery

Nikki Meyers, 08/22/2018
2017 Land Rover Discovery HSE Luxury 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
32 of 33 people found this review helpful

Picked my Disco up last August...it was flat bedded back to the dealership within hours! It is in the dealership right now...it is the SIXTH time, and they usually have my car for 7-10 days every time. Only has 5000 miles on it and have had non-stop issues, many that you have featured on here. The infotainment system has been "update" 7 times and is STILL very much broken. Cameras, sensors, apps, nav, bluetooth, gets stuck off then gets stuck on even when the car is turned completely off and I am out of it...you name it...it's broken. It was in for nearly 2 weeks, and within a week I had to have it picked back up. Right now they are trying to fix: Hood cable is too long and could be a "very bad situation" (their words), the infamous infotainment system disaster, no less then 3 warning lights on, windshield washer fluid spilling everywhere and always showing it empty (even though it has not ever been used), and this big one: Twice while driving down the road (not while at a light, etc..) the car randomly shuts off and goes into an idle mode! The service guy today told me that he doesn't know why no one ever called me because it could have been very unsafe and he was sure that it scared me (it did!), and that this "should"take care of it. Apparently it was something with the ECM and their was a needed update to the engine control unit that is the Powertrain for the vehicle! Hand to God that's what he said! Iv'e been trying to give this car back for months...such a ridiculous situation and company. never again. Keep in mind this is only about half of the problems I have had

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Do not buy a Discovery.

Ira, 10/02/2017
updated 10/07/2019
2017 Land Rover Discovery HSE Td6 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
76 of 82 people found this review helpful

Bought this car due to the VW buyback--we had a Touareg TDI, and wanted another diesel vehicle. The Discovery ticked all the boxes: seemingly solid build quality, diesel efficiency, great handling, and plenty of storage space. Its price was less than that of a comparably equipped BMW X5/Mercedes. We also considered a Q7, but there is no diesel option. We have put on just over 2K miles in the month we have had it--fuel economy with 50/50 city/highway is spot on at 25.1mpg. Can't wait to take it on a road trip and see what it can do. It is a great riding vehicle, we have taken it off road a few times at our farm and it handled great--looking forward to the snow to see how it does. Again, this is the most expensive vehicle we have ever purchased, but getting our $ back from VW was a major factor in deciding to purchase it. Complaints: the rear driver's side door was not assembled very well-the arm rest is not flush, but the dealer will fix it. There was also a rattle in the exhaust shield, but that was easily fixed. Thus far, no leaks or other issues. The car is very quiet, and handles well for a vehicle of its size/weight. I would recommend this car. ****Update**** We now have nearly 9000 miles on the vehicle. Here are the highlights: the vehicle needs snow tires for winter driving in Wisconsin--the OEM tires are horrible in snow and ice. The 4WD system is great, and the winter driving mode are incredible, but the tires could be improved. -We had an issue with the DEF sensor in the extreme cold (ewe had a week of -10F)--it was remedied after several days at the dealership. -Our family appreciated the heated 2nd row seats and heated windshield, washer fluid nozzles, rear camera and headlight washers. -Great on a road trip--got 31mpg @ 73mph on the interstate. Plenty of room. -The vehicle gobbles up DEF. Have extra on hand, but don't overfill the tank, as it confuses the sensor, which could lead to an engine shutdown. -The navigation system suck-no voice commands-sadly, it is much easier to use Google maps on the iPhone. -The sound is great from the upgraded Meridian entertainment system. The interface through the Land Rover App sucks--it drops connection to the phone, causing the streaming to stop. -I wish it had apple car play. -The bluetooth phone system works great--very little background noise-very clear voice transmission. -There is a voluntary fix for the suspension. I have to schedule time to take the vehicle in for 45 min installation of a new part. Haven't done so yet. -Got the vehicle stuck in both mud and snow on our farm--but was able to get it unstuck using some the fancy 4wd settings. Pretty cool. It's a good car, that could be great with a few tech updates and better cold weather tires. ********Update August 2019******* ~29000 miles The car continues to have issues--glitches here and there, in the shop for a tailgate that was out of alignment, DEF heater/pump issues, interior panels coming loose, the back-up camera and entertainment system work intermittently. Never could get the hands free tailgate to work consistently. Additional electronic gremlins. Took forever to get a replacement windshield after it was destroyed by an errant golf ball while on the way to meet a client. Still gets great fuel economy, questionable reliability, and the dealership service staff were very inconsistent. Worried about future issues, costly maintenance, and low resale value, we traded it in for a 2019 VW Atlas. Now we don't have to worry about anything--other than crappy fuel economy.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

2017 Discovery is a lemon

Alberto de Armas, 02/23/2018
2017 Land Rover Discovery HSE Luxury 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
55 of 60 people found this review helpful

2107 Discovery is a lemon and worse is the customer service from Alan’s Rover North America and Warren Henry North Dade!! For the past seven months I have had the truck I had electrical issues with the computer and the infotainment system. After for attempts to repair they couldn’t fix. I filed for final attempt and it didn’t work. So I have been fight with Warren Henry Land Rover North Dade and Land Rover North American. They didn’t want to return my money. I hate the way both the dealer and the manufacturer have handled my case. Sad after 12 years of being a client of Warren Henry and Land Rover they did this to me. I finally settled for 2 of the 7 payments I did and the accessories and settlement. It was the worse experience ever with a dealer and a manufacturer. I do NOT recommend buying from Warren Henry nor a Land Rover!!! They lost me as a client for ever and I will make it my goal to make sure everyone I can tell I will!!

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

2nd Update to my original review from Dec 2017

Babak, 01/17/2018
updated 01/21/2020
2017 Land Rover Discovery HSE 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl S/C 8A)
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

Current mileage 35K, I have had this car for 2 years and 4 months. Here is the list of new issues since my last update: 1. This past summer the engine started losing coolant. It turned out that the water pump had a crack in it. The dealer replaced the water pump, issue was resolved. 2. After the water pump, the A/C started acting up and would not cool the car. After three visits to the dealer, it was finally determined that the A/C compressor had gone bad. By the time they managed to figure that out, fall had already arrived, so I have not had the change to fully test that. 3. Right before thanksgiving, one rainy morning, with no warning water started pouring down the upper corner, passenger side of the windshield. Called the dealer and they said that it is known issue with all 2017 and some 2018 Discoveries (talk about quality control). They said they need to order a new windshield for my Discovery. This was 2 months ago. I have called the dealer a number of times and they are still waiting for the part. Meanwhile the headliner is already destroyed the carpet is in a bad shape. Land Rover's customer service is telling me to park the car in a garage and not drive it. They are offering me $35/day for a rental. Not a happy experience. Good luck getting any kind of support from Land Rover. ******* This is a follow up to my original review from Dec 2017. Mechanically the Discovery has been a beast with no mechanical issues to report with 20K miles on the odometer. My biggest issue with the car was the infotainment system and also emergency breaking system (land rover calls it AEB) not working. In regards to the infotainment system I can report that after 4 software updates in the past 12 months, the system is finally working well. As a matter of fact I got the car back from the dealership yesterday (1/17/2019) and they even installed Apple Carplay on my 2017 Discovery ($350 charge for the upgrade). AEB is another story, I finally found a way to test a system without damaging a car (using cardboard cut-out of a car and also a person). The system kicks is very late, only with few feet between the car and the object. 3 out of 10 tries the system did not work at all and I ended up hitting the object. The audible warning is almost non existence. In general I don't trust the AEB system in this car. All said and done, I feel a better now comparing to the first few months of ownership of this car. The dealership support is very poor (at least for my local dealership) and same goes with Land Rover's customer service. They don't have much power over the dealer. So if you run into an issue with your local dealer, good luck getting any help from Land Rover. ****** I have had my Discovery for 4 months now and have driven it for exactly 4200 miles. I had this car special ordered and had to wait 4 months for it to be delivered. This is not a car that I just picked up off the dealer's lot. I tried to leave a similar post on Land Rover's own website, however they blocked my review twice. So here I'm. The support from Land Rover or the dealership is non existent. They love you up the point that you are purchasing the car. As soon as you pay for it, good luck getting any kind of support from them. The car now has been sitting at the dealership for the past 10 days, due to TouchPro (infotainment center) issues. Nothing works. From slow boot ups (up to two minutes), to entire system locking up, to USB ports not connecting or rejection an iPhone after 30 seconds. Bluetooth music streaming has poor quality and has connectivity issues. Cameras continue to lock up and not available. The front parking sensors work only when you put on reverse, otherwise they don't work (unless you manually activate them for 2 or 3 mins). Navigation locks up. You cannot receive your listen to your text messages on infotainment system. The Bluetooth cannot support it. I can write a whole book about it. On the 7th day of the ownership a screw fell of the driver's side door. This is the screw that holds the door latch in place. It turned out that the other 3 doors had the same issue. The AEB (autonomous emergency breaking) does not work. I ended up setting up a soft dummy (that did not damage the car) and drove over it at about 10 miles per hour (the system should be active a 3 miles per hour an up). The system never kicked in. The dealer is telling me to continue driving and are telling me that they don't have a way to physically test the system. The only way to remotely start the car is to use the Land Rover app. Good luck getting the app to work. 9 out of 10 tries to get an error message about network congestion or poor cell coverage. The steering is very lose. You need a constantly correct the path even on straight high way stretches. Overall very disappointing ownership experience and would definitely consider off loading the car once it is financially feasible.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Not worth the money and time you spend in service

Linda, 12/07/2018
2017 Land Rover Discovery HSE Td6 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I regret buying the 2017 Landrover Discovery. I special ordered my Discovery. It took over 6 months for delivery. My discovery has been in the shop 7 times in less than a year for serval different reason. Electrical problems exterior body problems car features not working now there’s a leak and every time it rains the cars interior gets wet. I’m so Frustrated with service department and their service manager. Very poor customer service. I do not recommend this car

Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5