Skip to main content

Used 2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe Consumer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
1

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
4 out of 5 stars

Great But Pricey Grand Cherokee

Da, 12/31/2022
updated 07/11/2023
2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe Overland 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
35 of 38 people found this review helpful

Update 7/10/23: *** Once again, electric range is great for our needs. We've filled this car 3 times in the last 7 months. Unfortunately, the issues reported below persist and new ones have appeared - all with the infotainment system. I recently had all of the software updated, but it didn't eliminate the issues: 1) occasionally a VERY loud buzzing sound and *boom* - the entire system reboots. 2) Sometimes when parking and getting back in after just a few minutes, the system 'loads' for several minutes. Other times, everything is fine. 3) After the software updates the blinker speed is now about 1/3 normal. Apparently this requires a Stellantis tech to reprogram it and my dealer isn't making this a priority 4) The TPMS issue is apparently a big one and there is a STAR case open to resolve it 5) Occasionally the heads-up info configuration changes. This gets fixed when restarting the car. So...while the driving and comfort is still nice, these nagging issues significantly take away from the ownership experience. I have a hard time being okay with these (and the lack of fixes/updates) on a $75K vehicle and think back to my tech-heavy X5 which was a much more satisfying experience. At this price point I will switch from Jeep unless they make big improvements in this area. Update 2/2/23: *** After owning the GC 4xe for 6 weeks I'm pleased to find the electric range still meets our needs. With normal driving I can get 26-28 miles from the battery. We put around 700 miles on 1/2 tank of gas and have still not filled up :) After living with it a while here are my biggest complaints...the 4 cyl engine is NOT refined. It's quite loud and thrashy and is very noticeable when it kicks on. Once cruising at highway speeds its fine though. The car assigns profiles to the memory seat 1 and 2 positions. When switching a profile it switches everything: map destinations, seats, radio presets, etc... Unfortunately this effectively reboots everything. That means the widgets reload, the TomTom map restarts, the stereo restarts, etc... which takes several minutes! Imagine driving somewhere with navigation, hitting the memory seat button, and everything reboots...not good! I'd like to save all settings and only have the seat readjust with button #2. From what I can tell, not possible. Still getting the TPMS fault on startup which requires adjusting the cluster screen. The HVAC system seems to trigger on at a high (and loud) setting...would like to see more subtle management of the automatic climate control. Most of those items are annoyances that I can adapt to but as mentioned below, not what I would expect to deal with on a $75K vehicle. So my biggest complaint remains the luxury pricing without the luxury experience. Loaded with options, this is an excellent $60-65K vehicle. **** I bought a 2015 GC Summit for $48K, so the idea of a $75K Overland was difficult to say the least. This is BMW/Mercedes/Land Rover territory. In fact I came from a loaded X5 that I really enjoyed but was leery of owning out of warranty. I drove the standard GC and the powertrain is just too outdated, couldn't compete with the twin turbo V6 in the X5. The Jeeps 375 HP PHEV powertrain made it compelling though. With a true 25 miles of electric range the GC meets our needs for daily driving on electric. Stomp the pedal and it scoots close to X5 performance. The interior is luxurious but a bit buggy. I assume this will improve with software updates. Seats are very comfortable, McIntosh is great, and the overall tech is great. I thought the night vision was gimmicky until testing it on a dark street and it highlighted a person walking that I couldn't see. Definitely has value in certain situations! Several weird things though like the passenger screen can control FM stations but not Sirius, the TPMS system faults at startup until you start driving. Not a big deal but the warning message stays up so I have to cycle through cluster screens to get back to the right view. The heads up display nav instructions are tiny. It's hard to read street names and the text cuts off. They should have designed the HUD like BMW as one big screen instead of assigning content to small quadrants of the HUD. Massage and seat cooling works very well. Adaptive cruise and lane keeping is solid. Quiet ride with excellent suspension. So far I'm enjoying the GC and got this on a lease since they were including the full EV credit to reduce the cap cost. Take away the credit and I'd likely go for the X5 PHEV if it was a dollar for dollar comparison. Why? Feature-wise it compares well against the luxury brands, has off-road capability, and includes 3 years of maintenance. Overall I feel the GC 4xe is very good at a discount. Jeep really needs to rein in the sticker price or up the ante with what they offer though. For example, the Pentastar V6 is an old powertrain...why not offer the new Hurricane 6? Why is the destination charge hundreds more than other makes when this is coming from Detroit? Why only a 3 year warranty when luxury makes are 4 or even 5 years? Why do I only get a 3 month 'trial' of connected services on a $75K vehicle? If Jeep wants play at this price point they need to up the offering. I jumped on this car in 2015 for $48K and hesitantly got this 2022 at a discount. Though I'm enjoying the GC this is priced squarely in luxury territory and faces serious competition.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Very Capable and Efficient

Birkiejeep, 11/19/2022
updated 06/20/2023
2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe Overland 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

The GC 4xe is an amazing plug in hybrid that can tow 6000# (in the pricier trims). But don’t expect to get a hitch on the base model. To tow 6000# with the base, you have to order a $600+ tow “prep” package which does not include a hitch or wiring, which will cost another $2000 or so for 2” receiver, wiring harness and installation (you practically have to disassemble all the base trim to install). So get a Trailhawk or Overland if you’re going to tow. The 26 mile electric range is great for running errands or commuting and will increase the mileage if the gas motor is only used sparingly. The technology is amazing and will tell you anything short of Santa’s arrival time. It handles very well, cruises the highway with ease, and absorbs bumps well. The 4x4 system is reassuring, and interior adjusts well for your comfort. If you have Yakima rack components, you’ll want to get their landing pad #19 to attach to the 4xe roof rails, then you can use control towers and anothers to carry crossbars and stuff. Oh, the radio manual is almost as thick as the owner’s manual 😄. I’m very satisfied with my Overland so far! Update: Starting with a fully charged battery, I recently got 27mpg on a 200 mile trip, driving 75mph on the Interstate along with about 25 miles of 62mph on State roads in Wisconsin. Not bad for a truck with 375hp that can tow 6000#! Update 2: On a recent Wisconsin camping trip towing a 4000# travel trailer for a combination of 777 miles, 508 miles gas and 269 miles electric(recharging for local sightseeing, etc.), I averaged 18.2mpg driving 56-58mph State Hwy and 68-71 Interstate. Very satisfied with that compared with 11-12 with my old Tahoe! Incidentally, someone mentioned the lack of a 4xe tachometer, but there is a lineal one across the bottom of several heads-up display screens(1. Driver Info for one), when the engine is running. It is also referred to in the Hybrid Supplement manual page 31.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

This SUV might be completely awesome

Mike Tedrow, 11/13/2022
2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

I’ve been driving my GC 4xe for almost a month and I reluctantly love it… It is the “entry level” for the 4xe and it still feels very luxury and nice. It has all the important to me features 4x4, quiet smooth ride, nice leather seats, nice screen, extra large moonroof, alpine stereo, and it is the perfect size. The worst part is that the hybrid engine probably isn’t what the X5 or RX is. If your daily drive is within 25 miles you’ll love it. If it’s much longer and better gas mileage is very important to you go elsewhere. The transition between engines isn’t always smooth. It’s works well just not $60k+ well. If having a jeep in this segment is more to you than excellent gas mileage you’ll love it. For me it really is the sweet spot. I commute 2 or 3x a week and get between 22-25 mpg on other days it’s full electric and great (I’ve yet to buy gas but getting really close) Charge times are long, it’s 10-12 hrs and the charger gets warm. I was planning on plugging in the charger in my ceiling outlet for my garage door opener and leaving it plugged in while hanging the charge cord next to the car from there but that doesn’t seem safe. I unplug both ends each time… not as smooth as I hoped but a non issue if you get the better charger (only 3 hrs) My wife hit a pretty big pot hole going fairly fast the first time she drove it and all seems as good as new so I can tell this is well built and a real jeep. I think it looks great, again it is the perfect size for me. I’m 6’4 and fit in Just fine. I wish the seat would go down a bit more but it isn’t bad at the lowest. I’m not a fan of the rims and i don’t think the lights are the same as the upper trims which bugs but totally worth not paying an extra $20k.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

It’s a Lemon!

setlv1, 01/11/2024
2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I’ve literally had this car for less than a year, and it’s been nothing but a nightmare! First my car had several recalls, and then my lane departure system continuously malfunctioned within the first few months of ownership. It took 3 months, 4 visits to two different Jeep service departments, 2 module replacements, and a new camera to “fix the issue”. Within months of repair, the lane departure malfunction happened again 🤦🏽‍♀️. Now, not even a year into ownership and with only 7,000 miles on my vehicle, i have to have my transmission replaced due to an internal malfunction. Just when you think it couldn’t get any worse, they have no clue when they will get the transmission or the timeframe for repair. Can you say LEMON!?! I would definitely steer clear of this vehicle until Jeep resolves all the kinks with it!

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Are you kidding me?

chuck forsman, 03/21/2023
2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4xe Trailhawk 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
25 of 32 people found this review helpful

I liked the car a lot until the electric mode mostly quit on me. The dealer says that it goes into hybrid mode when it decides it needs fresh fuel or oil. It was recently serviced and had a recent fill up, so that makes no sense. To make matters worse the car will lurch into a low gear and won't recover until I stop the car and restart it. This has happened several times with me and my wife and it happened when the mechanic drove the car. Still, they are telling me that that is the way the car is engineered. That's dangerous and I'm dumbfounded. Has anyone else experienced the same behavior? What recourse do I have?

Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5