Skip to main content

Used 2012 Chevrolet Equinox Consumer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
120 reviews
List Price Range
$11,775 - $21,998

Used Equinox for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...24

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Been great so far

Chuck Hoover, 10/31/2015
LT 4dr SUV w/1LT (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
65 of 67 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2012 new, it now has 42000 miles on it. It has NEVER been in the shop for anything except oil changes and tire rotation.I have a 4 cyl.FWD will get 33 mpg on highway going 65..about 28 going 78. about 20 in stop and go city driving. It does make a jumpy transmission shift if you hit the gas while it is downshifting on occation not always. Has not been great in snow but didnt have the right tires on it. Just now put better tires for snow on it last week.I drive to Florida 2 times a year from Pa. it is very comfortable.Change oil every 5000 miles.After reading about the poor oil consumption I will start watching it now. Havent had any oil problems yet.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
ad labelAd
10 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
View current offers on the Chevrolet Equinox
View Offers
Chevrolet.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges.

2.88 out of 5 stars

Transmission Trouble & Haven't Made 1st Payment

notsogreat, 04/10/2012
LT 4dr SUV w/2LT (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
60 of 62 people found this review helpful

I was so excited to get my new Equinox (6 cyl 2LT until 37 days and 1,800 miles later. The transmission is bad- at least so far the shift solenoids. We were told they had to order those parts first before they can tell if there is any additional damage to the transmission. If this doesn't fix it, they will begin replacing parts. They'd don't have a clue when we'll get it back and I'm worried it will be a lemon. With problems like this so soon, GM should be falling all over themselves to get us a new identical vehicle at no extra cost to us. At the very least, they should start with replacing the entire transmission and not just tinker around with it. Are we upset?? You bet....

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Jumpy Shifting and Stalling Out

Ryan Toombs, 04/24/2015
LS 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
87 of 91 people found this review helpful

My wife and I bought the 2012 Equinox only a month ago as a Certified Pre-Owned with only 39,000 miles on it. One short month and 1,000 miles later, the check engine light came on. The actuator had to be replaced. No big deal since it was under warranty. The vehicle also shifts very hard/jumpy, like you are being slowly rear-ended. We recently stalled out in a McDonald's drive-thru because of this issue. I was told that the hard shifting of the Equinox is one of the biggest complaints they receive at the dealer. They informed me it is just how the vehicle drives and that I would get used to it. My wife doesn't want to get used to it. No going back for me, but hopefully I saved you trouble!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

An Engineers Review of the 2012 Equinox

Eric, 09/18/2015
LTZ 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
125 of 132 people found this review helpful

We have own our 2012 Equinox since November 2011. This a very good value for the money. My wife and I both choose this vehicle after test driving this SUV along with Honda CRV, Ford Escape, and Toyota Rav4. Ride I am very pedantic with vehicles and so the ride of a vehicle is the first thing I check out. The triple door seals and the acoustic dampening of the engine make for a very quiet ride. The 18 inch wheels and suspension make for a very smooth ride -- even over rough terrain. Seats The seats in the equinox are the most comfortable seats in its class. The leather interior do not feel cheap, like it does in the Rav 4 or Escape. Powertrain The engine is seems to be a good balance of performance with economy. We tend to get about 24 miles per gallon in the Equinox which is probably related to the hills of San Diego and the fact I tend to drive close to 80 on the highway. I have experienced a rough shift in the transmission once or twice. I think that is something that could be improved upon. Controls The controls are very well thought out throughout the vehicle. You do have to lean forward to touch all the buttons on the infotainment system but you the gear shift is in a nice nature position for the drive unlike the CRV with the shifter growing out of the center stack. One change that I would like to see in the Equinox is a push button start. I had a friend of mine drive it who was use to driving an audi and he had trouble putting the key into the ignition. I think the new Ford Escape push button is very well done. No repairs needed We have never had to repair the Equinox since we have purchased it almost 4 years ago. We have only had oil changes and tire rotations. Cargo The cargo capacity is not huge but after observing the other SUVs and they are the same in size. You will want to be very careful in picking out strollers that fit inside if you have young children or babies. If the stroller collapse flat and long they will be a tough fit. If they fold in half you will not problem. All in all, I would recommend this vehicle to any wanting a Small SUV. Everyone I know who has purchased one love them.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

PROBLEMS PROBLEMS & MORE PROBLEMS

Anonymous, 10/17/2018
LT 4dr SUV w/1LT (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Worst car ever. Timing chain problems. The terrain is also very similar as it has the same motor. Timing chain in terrain is warranties up to 120k miles so why wouldn't the equinox have the same warranty if it's the exact same motor?? That's stupid. The timing chain will literally ruin the motor. I am currently in the process of spending thousands of dollars trying to get this fixed and mine is a 2012. My aunt bought brand new and same exact thing happened to her. I am a single mom and bought my car less than 100k miles and its failing. Transmission problems, timing chain is bad and now I get to see if I need to replace the motor. This is the second car I've bought from GM and I will never buy again. Most of their cars are built with unreliable motors. They are so focused on making it look pretty and techy that they forget reliability is of most importance.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...24
Items per page: