Used 2017 Chevrolet Colorado Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$18,941 - $34,987

Used Colorado for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...13

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best truck I have ever owned!!!

Ron V., 04/28/2017
LT 4dr Crew Cab SB (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
46 of 50 people found this review helpful

Considering the price, comfort, and gas mileage you cannot go wrong with this truck. I bought my truck brand new and it has been excellent. I was skeptical to get the four cylinder engine, but I am glad I did. The engine is a direct injection that runs very smooth and saves gas. I have taken the truck on several road trips with excellent gas mileage. The biggest plus is the comfort. For a taller driver (6'2) the leg room is ample and allows you to stretch out. The rear seats are ok for space and comfort. The onboard computer systems are very user friendly and easy to navigate. If you are looking for a daily driver pick up, long trip pick up or even a weekend truck, then this is it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Colorado 2017 Z71 draws a lot of second looks

Mike Oxley, 10/10/2017
Z71 4dr Crew Cab 6.2 ft. SB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
32 of 35 people found this review helpful

Update Review - 10/30/20 - I'm at 14,953 miles (3 years 1 month) with the truck and all still remains well. No issues at all, still happy and still recommend this truck for any user requiring a smaller truck. Meets all of my needs for hauling lawn fertilizer and other around the house materials. I still get a lot of favorable comments regarding the look of the truck, Z71, Cajun Red color. Updated Review - 4/29/20 - I'm at 12,809 miles with the truck and all is well. No issues with the repair Torque Converter or anything else with the truck. Averaging a combined hwy/city mileage of 21 mpg. Still happy. Updated Review - 10/25/19 - I'm at just a little over 10,300 miles (2 years 2 months) with my truck and while I'm still very happy with the performance/ride/handling/features (25+mpg hwy) I need to update the Torque Converter issue. The rumbling/vibration showed up again around the 7500 mile point with the "new" torque converter so I took it back to the dealership. They confirmed the issue and told me that Chevrolet had finally determined the problem as being an issue with the transmission fluid and that the "fix" now is to flush the "old" and replace it with a new, higher quality fluid. Something about the "original fluid" having a moisture issue. So I took it in and had the fluid replaced (no charge/warranty) and, so far, everything appears to be OK. That being said the issue seems to occur every 3 to 4000 miles so I'm at the point that if it is going to occur it should start to show up. I want to also comment that the Seacoast Chevrolet, NJ Service Department has been exceptional in their help and support for this problem even though I didn't purchase the vehicle from them. As I mentioned earlier I'm still very happy with this truck and will purchase a Colorado again when I'm ready to trade this one in. Updated Review - 10/25/18 - I've had the truck around 13 months with 5235 miles on it so far. Everything remains the same (regarding my previous comments/likes) with the exception of a problem that developed with the Torque Converter that showed up around 4500 miles (causing a "rumbling/vibration" around 45-55 MPH while under acceleration). Apparently this is not an unknown problem, i.e., Chevrolet has a bulletin out about it. I will give full credit to the dealership (Seacoast in NJ) and Chevrolet for promptly fixing the problem (replaced the Torque Converter) and covering the issue fully under warranty. The problem appears to be completely resolved; will continue to monitor. I'm still a very big fan of this vehicle and still recommend it highly. This issue was a minor "speed bump" which can happen with any vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice Truck But Too Many Issues For 3 YO Design

Everett in Cincy, 10/01/2017
LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
34 of 38 people found this review helpful

I bought diesel powered truck as a replacement tow vehicle for my 2005 Sequoia. The first warranty issue happened 3 days after purchase. Be aware that there are conditions with the diesel that can cause the vehicle to go into limp mode and cannot be cleared without taking the truck to a dealer. Then the Air Conditioning unit started freezing up and GM has not been able to find a fix after several tries. This is a know issue with the truck. I suggest you take the time to read the forums before you purchase this vehicle. You pay top dollar for this truck but it is not worth it. I am in the process of exercising the Ohio Lemon Law for a buy back.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lemon

Patty B, 02/06/2019
LT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.1 ft. SB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

At 9k miles this thing overheated and had lost all fluid. The dealer told me a temperature gauge was replaced. At 18k miles it happened again. Was told the water pump had to be replaced. 4 days later it's shaking, check engine light is back on, and I received an OnStar alert that there's a problem with the emissions system. Complete garbage!!!!!

Safety
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

High Efficiency

High Pockets, 08/19/2017
LT 4dr Crew Cab SB (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I am 6'5" and love my Colorado. I bought the 2017 with Diesel Engine. After 12K miles, I must say I love my truck. The leg room for a tall guy is great and the ride is comfortable. We recently drove round trip from Dallas to Chicago and averaged 32+mpg. I left the trip meter on through several fill ups recently and after 3K miles averaged 30mpg. The efficiency is very nice. I also had the sound system upgrade package and must say it is worth it. My wife is getting tired of strangers and friends wanting to talk about the truck..... but she did admit the road trip comfort was great. I do drive conservatively so I haven't tested the power that much. A time or two I had to move fast and was pleased with the result. Getting great deal on diesel will be tough since there are not so many of them. However, I think paying more has been worth it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...13
Items per page: