Used 1994 Chevrolet C/K 1500 Series Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$889 - $1,871

Used C/K 1500 Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Nothing more reliable

Gilbo, 12/31/2002
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I find it amusing when I look at some auto ads, where the seller states "lots of new parts". My ad would state "no new parts...never needs any". It's so reliable, that I never do anything to it. I put on over 30K miles a year, and it has over 170K on it now. The only bad thing about this truck is that mine has a bench seat, which of course doesn't recline. If you want a truck for work or play, that runs in hot or cold, and is as reliable as the day is long, get this truck.

Report Abuse

Keeps on Running

TXMAN, 07/25/2010
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My Uncle purchased this truck new in 1994. When he passed in 2002, I inherited the truck. With 152,000 miles there have been no major repairs or cost of ownership. Like all trucks from this year, the windshield wiper motor had to be replaced. Engine and transmission are running strong. The paint still looks great, unlike other years for Chevy trucks, when the paint fades and peels over time.

Report Abuse

the confederat runs like a champ!

sparky8265, 02/27/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

bought it a week ago used from a dealer told everything worked great 4x4 is solid changed out the transmission for $1100.00 used included install, ran great! just did plugs and wires to get rid of the misfire and she runs great!, typical rust on the ext cab corners good prject for this summer! in 2wd never have gotten stuck in the Mn snow, runs great idels great chevy has never let me down with any of the 5 cars or trucks or vans ive owned in 14 yrs! I standardly do all my own work except when I dont have a garage to do it in, so this last few jobs done by a shop and did great work in getting her back on the road, want a good truck look no further! I have the 350 5.7 V8 no option to add

Report Abuse

Built like a rock

gm, 11/23/2010
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

i have had 2 94 silverados in my life. the first one was bought new and totaled in 09, that one with the 5.7 auto, then i bought a 4.3 manual, the 5.7 is an awesome puller, and the 4.3 has a lot of power for a v6. these trucks are so tough, i hit at least 5 deer with these and never did a thing to them, (besides crack the grill little) the first one only lasted to about 140,000 miles and the 4.3 now has almost 200,000, and the only thing that was every changed was the alternator, the only downside is comfort and a HUGE turning radius, these trucks are a lot tougher than the new one, i hit a deer with my 06 and there was almost $5500 worth of damage

Report Abuse

Going Strong After 290,000 miles

nashvillekat1, 06/12/2011
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

I can't believe that after driving it almost 300,000 I can still go 2,000 miles without having to add oil. Bought car at dealer with 20,000 miles and have had no major repairs. Only problems now are Auto Transmission shifts rough when cold but otherwise still ok. A/C is out with a leak. Otherwise, original fuel pump, alternator, differential, engine, etc... going strong. Bob Seeger was right... Like a Rock.

Report Abuse

It IS Like a Rock

South Jersey Chevy, 04/04/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck over ten years ago with 80000+ miles on it. Has never let me down. The fuel pump tried once, but I was able to jump start it by banging the tank with my fist. Truck design is simple, it was not over engineered. Very easy to work on for what few repairs have been needed over ten years. (All trucks need maintenance and repairs no matter what brand, foreign or domestic). I look forward to another ten years behind the wheel.

Report Abuse

Great since new

chevytim, 10/29/2013
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

My baby.Bought my '94 W/T brand new in July of '94.I have a company supplied truck for work since '98, so this one gets used for everything but that.4.3L V6,4 speed auto trans(weird that auto trans wasn't on Edmunds list selection),no a/c(who needs it?).Except for auto trans ,bare bones truck.A little over 100,000 miles.Silver,looks like new.Always dependable.Use it for work sometimes when the Ford diesel is broke down.Love this truck,hope to have it another 20 yrs.Never had any major repairs.Even with it sitting in unheated garage sometimes for extended periods,it always gets up and goes.Interior is very comfortable also ,which is good on longer trips.

Report Abuse

Dependable Truck

Msilva, 11/21/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck new. With over 150,000 miles it still runs great. The A/C went out at 140,000 miles. The starter at 50,000 miles and the wiper motor at 100,000. That's it. No other mechanical problems with this truck. It's been taken off-road by teenagers, stolen by illegals - still very dependable.

Report Abuse

Keeps on Going

amber19, 09/18/2012
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Very reliable, great truck. Just hit 220,000 miles and still purrs. I am 3rd owner and over the 4 years since my purchased have only replaced starter and battery. Handles great in the snow, and towing. I hope it makes it to 300,000 miles!! It is an automatic 5.7 V-8. ( It didn't have the option up above.)

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

off road mania, 11/21/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best pickup I've ever owned. I didn't want to part with it but I needed better MPG's. The Silverado never let me down and was super realiable. It towed everything I threw at it without a problem, race car, atv, boat, and the tranny or engine or drivetrain never let me down. Good performance off road but a little rough on the road (it is a truck though). 60/40 bench seat was very comfortable. Factory stereo could use some improvement. The only issue I had with the truck was the rear cab corners rotted out and it seems to be a problem on these trucks. Overall this truck can get it done and quickly.

Report Abuse

Unstoppable.

Doug, 12/29/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought in 2008, I'm the third owner. Recently broke 327,000 miles. The first engine and transmission were replaced at around 260,000 miles. It has the 4.3 Vortec V6 and is far more powerful than I expected. Mine is 2wd and a blast to drive, will smoke tires and kick the back end out, no problem, while still hauling me to school and work every day. The gas mileage is pretty decent for a pickup, although nothing to write home about. That's not why I bought it. Interior is large (for a regular cab). Doors are gigantic and there is an incredible amount of legroom. Will fit 3 adults without too much complaint. Amazingly reliable, runs well in all weather, and doesn't let me down, ever.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

1500 W/T, 07/16/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this truck from my girlfriend's dad, and I have to say it has been great for me and for him as well. Starts everyday runs great I just put a tune up on it (plugs, wires, air filter, cap,rotor, fuel filter) replace the U-joints just because and a new gas line but considering that it has 266,000 miles on it and I drive it everyday, that 4.3L engine has proven it self to me.

Report Abuse

02/24/03 Truck Rating

hotrod44, 02/24/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The truck has been an excellent buy and maintenance free since the day I bought it.

Report Abuse

This has been a GREAT truck!

Drrazorback, 07/28/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck, sold it to someone else, and bought it BACK from them! This has been the BEST truck I have ever had! With 241,000 miles currently on it - knock on wood - I LOVE MY TRUCK! You would not be disappointed with this automobile!

Report Abuse

Dependable truck

Sparky11, 12/18/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought truck new in 94,have 120k on it did brakes and tires around 80k..never had front end aligned,smooth ride and quiet..still has new vehicle look always get compliments. only problems were A/C compressor went out at 42k and have to use higher octane gas to limit pinging. would by another in a heart beat..

Report Abuse

My Truck

Masterson, 11/08/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the thing new in 94 and I am not even considering replacing it yet. I would buy another Chevy in a heart beat..The Vortec V6 gets great mileage for a truck and after 12 years it still looks great.

Report Abuse

like a rock

big steve, 04/01/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i am 6'4'' and 330lbs. and there is still plenty of interior space for my big body other than that the body is still looks good compared to a lot of more modern vehicles and also with nearly 300,000 miles it is still a very reliable truck

Report Abuse

1988-1998 K1500 are JUNK

sean2202, 06/05/2010
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased my K1500 extended cab silverado Z71 with 68,000 miles in 5/02 from 1 original owner and it was great for the first 2 years. I did all the regular maintenance by the book. At 114,000 I had to replace the engine. The engine builder said the block was junk because the cylinder walls were soft like butter (original block made in Mexico) After this I had to replace the front and rear gears at 128,000. I had the truck repainted in 2004 because the paint was pealing. Other repairs were the radiator, alternator, rear brake lines 2 times A/c compressor fuel lines and the front brake caliper. Now at 145,000 my frame is rusted and cracked in half in front of the leaf spring.

Report Abuse

Bad Experience

Adam Walker, 04/03/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Although being a gorgeous truck, my Chevy has broke down on me several times having owned it for less than a year. No problems for 1st 3 1/2 months ow owning it when slowly going over a speed bump my exhaust pipes decide to break off and slam to the ground, luckily I had rope to tie them and drive home to weld pipes back to frame. Worst experience would be having my ECM fail and almost running into several cars trying to get my truck to stop, (its hard to avoid vehicles when your engine quits when on freeway and you lose power steering and brakes). I managed to limp to a garage a couple miles down the street. ECM failed (delivers gas to engine, that fails=not a running truck

Report Abuse

Junk

jjsmith, 07/05/2010
C1500 Cheyenne 2dr Extended Cab LB
0 of 11 people found this review helpful

We've had so many problems with this truck. We have already had to replace the ac bypass, fan belt, brakes, radiator hose, wheel cylinders on both sides and it's now July 2010. The truck constantly knocks and when the truck gets to 35 mph the rpm drop down and doesn't want to shift gears, the truck will die 2-3 times within 2 minutes and it's had a tune up so who knows what's wrong with it.. The gas is about 5mpg city and 10 highway, it's the 5.7 L V8. The driver side window motor has went out and we can no longer afford to keep repairing this truck so we decided to go ahead and start making payments on an 04 Hyundai. The truck has about 250K miles on it and runs horribly.

Report Abuse

Silverado good bang for the buck

Badassmekanik, 06/25/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These are great trucks for the money. Parts for repairs are super cheap and insurance is too. Fuel economy is not too bad for a full size truck long as you use the gas with no ethanol.

Report Abuse

Best truck on the Road

Kings Red Rider, 01/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has been a pleasure to drive! Truck rides and handles well whether for work or play!Lots of visibility. Easy to get in and out of. Fuel economy could be better for a v6. Long bed is nice for haulin stuff, but makes parking tough sometimes as the wheelbase is long. Glove box needs a lock on it. 60,000 miles and only a minimal amount of maintenance put to it.

Report Abuse

Very Reliable Truck

Paul, 06/25/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My daughter picked it out with 30,000 miles on it at a Missoula dealer while going to the University of Montana. I felt she ought to get something like a honda crv or civic but the wife said get what she wants. So......when she graduated she got a new VW Convertible bug, again, what she wanted. Me....I got her truck. It's got 209,000 miles on it now, I drive 50 miles 'round trip every day to work and it's still going strong. Broke the reverse gear in the trainny at about 150,000 miles,cost 1200 for trainny guy to rebuild but versus buy new? forget it...rebuild. I'm thinking about doing the "Cash for clunkers" Book says worth 2K. But having a Pickup worth more to us.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Chevy 1500 W/T, 06/06/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck in October of last year and it has been the best purchase I have ever made. I live in Ohio and have driven it to Minnesota twice and to this day it has never let me down. In the 8 months of owning it, i have spent $60 on front brakes and $20 on coolant. Along with regular oil changes. Its 4.3 L V6 engine gets about 12 mpg in the city and up to 21 mpg on my long highway trips. The engine and manual transmission are still running strong at 162,000 miles. I love the bench seat and have absolutely no complaints about its body. By far the best looking truck body style out there today.

Report Abuse

One Tough Truck

BigGuy, 02/06/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck from my dad and it has not let me down yet. Mine has the 5.0L V8 RWD and still gets around good in snow/mud. The 5.0L is a more capable choice than the 4.3L. Good engine with 191,085 miles. This truck can take a beating!

Report Abuse

7 years, 240k and still going!

Wingnut, 07/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very dependable vehicle. I travel over 60 miles each day to work, both rural and highway. On average, I get 30 to 50k out of the front brakes, and the same on a set of tires. The only repairs I've had are all normal for a vehicle over 200k, fuel pump, water pump, alternator, battery. Regular maintainance is done faithfully, including Transmission oil changes, tune-ups, tire rotation, and crankcase oil changes.

Report Abuse

Romulus Review

Eyecon, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Reliable truck, had little to no problems.

Report Abuse

OK But...

byoung, 12/08/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never had one problem with this truck, (bought with 45000 miles on it), then right at 100500 miles the engine gave up on me. Ive read there were a few years where Chevy made a "butter block" as in soft, and apparently I got one. But I love this truck and I put in a replacement motor from a 95 S-10, same 4.3 V-6 Vortec, and when I recieved it, had a badge on the engine block from GMC stating the engine had been rebuilt once already in 98!! Like I said I love this truck and barring this "little" problem the truck has been wonderful.

Report Abuse

A Work Truck

dhopkins, 02/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've only had mine for 2 Months but it's a great work truck. I have the 4.3L V6 and it has pretty good power. about 15MPG averaging ~150 miles/day since I bought it.

Report Abuse

My frist love

Hankster, 04/22/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck in 1994 and paid an extra $500 to have it clear coated. After 145,000 miles on it looks like the day I bought it. At 54K I put on a whipple supercharger and this truck runs like a dream. I will keep this truck to the end. Best truck I ever had and the last one as I see it out lasting me. Upkeep is just soap and water. I love this truck.

Report Abuse

dependable truck

acp3469, 04/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has been extremely dependable. Other than the normal battery, tires, brake pads, etc. we have had no mechanical or electrical problems. Although it doesn't get good gas mileage - that's not what we bought it for. It's got a great look with the stepside & chrome bumper that never goes out of style.

Report Abuse

Great p/u

nick, 12/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my pickup in 1998 with 39,000 miles on the odometer. This has been a great truck and I have driven it almost everyday since I bought it. It has survived everything from Montana winters to Texas summers and has been nothing but reliable. It always starts whether it's below zero or 105. The only thing that I have had to fix was a bearing in the transmission ($330) at about 65K. It now has over 160K on it and it fires up every morning and runs perfect. I will buy another Chevy if I can ever part with this one.

Report Abuse

Awesome Truck!

ProudZ71, 07/28/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my truck from the dealer (5000 miles) new while on a business trip 2000 miles from home. What a pleasure to trade in an old, tired, diesel Blazer for this truck! Still more comfortable to drive than most new cars or trucks and reliable to the end! I have had almost no problems with this truck and only normal stuff wear out; battery, alternator, tires, water pump. I went 100K on original brakes and mech told me only to change the front and clean and adjust the rear; they were fine. 12 years without service and the AC still freezes me out on hot days! This truck has never let me down even after pulling a 4000 trailer from coast to coast in 100+ degree heat! Great purchase!

Report Abuse

Like a Rock

alaurencde, 01/12/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned several Chevy full size trucks over the years. I purchased my current '94 from a friend at work that was relocating. The truck has never let me down and I have put it through hell. It starts everytime and just doesn't break It is by far the best bang for buck I have ever purchased. Everything works, cheap to operate and looks good too. Mine has the 5.0 V8, the gas mileage isn't great, but its paid for, insurance is cheap and I can buy a lot of gas for the cost of buying some used import that can't carry anything. Unless I crash it hard, I will never sell this truck! Plus any repair parts are cheap, look at ebay or Autozone.

Report Abuse

BigBlue

dman, 03/23/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this truck since '94 almost new, it had 7,000 miles when I bought it. It's got 199,345 on it now, and in all that time I've only replaced the ujoints and standard stuff belts, brakes, waterpump and fuel pump. I love this truck. I work as a network engineer so I'm on the road at least 150mi a day. Fill up now is 50 bucks but that's not going to stop bigblue. It rides and sounds good w/5.7l+dual exaust. Paint is finally going but she's still a looker. Great truck.

Report Abuse

94 Silverado

gish, 07/25/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this truck in 1999 for $10,000 I was sure it was a good deal, it had 140K on it. I put a transmission in at 200k and had an issue with carbon build up around 220K. I finally purchased another Silverado, for a family car and used this to travel daily. With the gas prices soaring and my daily trip being 70 miles a day I sold the truck with 294,000 on it. But the engine was still running strong. Biggest problem with the vehicle was the BAD primer which caused the paint to peel and rust to finally start.

Report Abuse

Silverado ext. cab

omar, 08/26/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my Silverado since 1998. At almost 160,000 miles, it still works great, has never given me any major mechanical problems. Just regular oil changes and tune-ups. Overall, excellent truck, very reliable

Report Abuse

Truck

Stetson, 03/27/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These trucks are good reliable trucks. Mine has over 200,000 miles on it and still running strong. I can honestly say it is the best truck I have ever had.

Report Abuse

Good Overall Truck

Lobo713, 04/30/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this truck for almost a year, I put about 20,000 miles on it and have had a few repairs, mostly normaal things, the A/C compressor is gone but at 190K that's to be expected and I will replace it with a bypass pulley. Other than that it just needs a tune-up to gain back some gas mileage. I have always sworn by Chevrolet for solid trucks and this trucck is proving me right, I drive a lot off-road and on dirt roads that tear cars apart and aside from needing an alignment this truck has held up to alot of pounding. The stepside design looks nice and even after 14 years the paint is only just beginning to fade. Highly recommend a Chevy to anyone who needs a solid, dependable truck.

Report Abuse

Great truck!

Davenj, 01/18/2020
C1500 Cheyenne 2dr Regular Cab LB
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

You can't go wrong with these things! I will have my 1994 Chevy 1500 till I die!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050