Skip to main content
12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2020 Z4, so we've included reviews for other years of the Z4 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

It's very fun to drive

Sanfordrich, 12/27/2019
updated 06/30/2021
2020 BMW Z4 sDrive M40i 2dr Convertible (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

I purchased a Misano Blue M40i (the 6 cylinder) around Aug 1. I wanted a roadster and considered a Porsche Boxster but decided the BMW was the better value. I have not regretted the decision. The BMW is a blast to drive. I think its very attractive and it even sounds good. It is very quick and responsive. A manual transmission is important to some folks but not to me. If I want to manually shift, I can use the paddle shifters but the automatic is very quick. I appreciate all the convenience and safety options I ordered it with. A Porsche Boxster loaded up with comparable options would be tens of thousands of dollars more. I also considered a Miata, but I liked the over all size, trunk capacity and performance of the Z4.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Z4 M40i thoughts

Todd gipson, 07/11/2020
updated 07/14/2021
2020 BMW Z4 sDrive M40i 2dr Convertible (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 8A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

If you are questioning yourself about purchasing a convertible do not hesitate with the. New z4. The ride is as quiet as a hardtop and smooth in in comfort mode. Test dive one for yourself you will not be disappointed with the comfort and the power the z4 offers. It has been a year of ownership, I still love to drive my Z4. No regrets with my purchase. I get many complements on the looks plus you do not see this model around my area.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Z4 sDrive30i Drive A Blast

Robert, 10/10/2020
2020 BMW Z4 sDrive30i 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I've been a lifetime Toyota and Lexus owner. When I decided to trade in my 2019 Lexus NX300 and 2011 Lexus IS250C, I wanted a fun sports car to drive. I looked at the 2020 Lexus RC350, Audi TT, Mercedes C and E classes, and various Porsche models. I ultimately chose the BMW Z4 sDrive30i. Even though it's the 'base' engine' it has plenty of pep and has great get up and go. I can't believe how much better the BMW drives versus the Lexus RC350. I am mindful of reliability of BMWs due to the extensive use of plastics in their engine bays, which is why I'm leasing this car (otherwise I would have stuck with Lexus if I did a purchase). No regrets on buying this car as I've thoroughly enjoy it.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Fast, Fun and Flashy

Carol, 07/15/2020
2019 BMW Z4 sDrive30i 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

There are some blind spots but OMG is this car fun! Handles beautifully . Can’t imagine driving anything else !!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Sharp!

Marc, 10/27/2019
2020 BMW Z4 sDrive30i 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

Only thing missing is a stick! Loses a little bit of the driving experience

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: