Used 2011 Volvo XC60 Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29 reviews
List Price
$9,899

Used XC60 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

Slick Ride with Great MPG

newjersey2, 08/07/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

Switched from Highlander and have been pleasantly surprised. Averaging 25 mpg in town and on highway by driving sensibly. Outstanding sound system with the NAV package. Not a whole lot of leg room in backseat, but front passenger seat folds down to tote large loads (10ft 2 bys). Not a super amount of off the line grunt, but cruises effortlessly at 80. Only complaint thus far is really dumb key start thingamajig. You can pull out the key and leave the car running inadvertantly, also you can leave accessories running without knowing it. Huh? What is Volvo thinking?

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best car in my 30 years of driving!

greatjohndini, 04/21/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I created an account just to review this car for anyone on the fence or evaluating cars in this class. I traded in my Infiniti EX35 for this car and I will never look back. Audi Q5 looked boring and audi/vw has a lot of issues. BMW X3 too small-image of driving a beemer:( And weird styling. Lexus.-comfortable but boring. Infinti.Was good but WAY too small and was not aging well after less than a year. And it felt -light?- VOLVO XC60. Totally solid car. I held back on it before because the audio/nav in the 09-10 was an absolute JOKE..but the 2011 version is great! Perfect! European. Safe. Best looking of the bunch. And 5/60 maintenance on everything but the tires! In love w/ driving again!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Buy It!

brew_daddy_27, 02/01/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I test drove and compared with the BMW X5, Audi Q5 and the Infiniti. Infiniti was tossed when I saw the size in person. Size matters! The only plus to the BMW was that I could add a third row of seating. The bad about both the BMW and the Audi was the price tag and what you get for that tag. The Volvo destroyed both in the safety department. I went with the T6 for the extra handling and body design. The curbside appeal of the T6 easily competes with the Audi (in my opinion wins). The end result is this, I have friend that purchased a loaded Q5 and another that purchased half loaded X5. Both are jealous of my loaded XC60. Not just the looks but the price tag was made them both weep.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

best ever

volvolove, 06/09/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Having abandoned leasing I had done for many years and retiring, I decided to buy. Having looked at the Audi, BMW, and Volvo reviews for a fast SUV, I tried and then bought a Xc60. It is the best car I have driven in 54 years. Second was an Audi S4 I had many years ago. The Volvo handles almost as well-the Audi was shorter and and lower, a sports car in disguise. But the Volvo handles so well in much greater comfort (Is this a function of age?), and elegance and relative silence that I cannot imagine a better bargain. It comes near enough to the Audi in turning corners that I was amazed, given its weight and height. The interior defines simple elegance. Perfect for over 40s.

Report Abuse

3.13 out of 5 stars

Go for a long test drive

missi4, 03/23/2013
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

After a week of driving the XC60, I noticed a problem with the transmission, a hesitation when accelerating from a complete stop/speeding up to pass etc. Like driving manual transmission in the wrong gear. Took it for service repetedly. Volvo wouldn't admit a problem and told me to use premium fuel. One mechanic said it's a 5000lb car you have to gun it (!!). Finally they said they knew what was wrong and to wait for a software update, that took 6 months. It helped but the problem was still there. Volvo went back to saying there was nothing wrong with the car. After a year, I had had it and asked how much they would give me for the car to end this, Carmax gave me more. The GPS stinks too.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Beware the OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE

mark, 11/10/2015
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Beware of the oil consumption issue. Bought a new 2011 xc60 turbo. After a few years, noticed that i needed to add a quart of oil between 5000 mile oil changes. didn't think much of it. Only to learn, after it was beyond the warranty the oil needed to be added at more and more frequency. After doing some research... "simply google Volvo oil consumption", then you begin to learn... After complaining to Volvo, they offered to look at it.. after about $1500 in repairs, noting offering to change my oil trap (which i told them was already repaired and paid for), they said they did some necessary computer adjustments, and I must also purchase a new dipstick for the oil??? Didn't know why I would need a new dipstick?? After getting my next oil change 5000 miles later (happily with no new warnings of low oil level), my mechanic informed me that the car now takes 8 quarts of oil, instead of 7, and the new dipstick won't trigger the computer to state low oil level. WOW..... look elsewhere or do your research

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV / Crossover! Better than expected!

Dave, 02/18/2016
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I'd recommend this SUV to anyone looking for a nice vehicle (Family or not). I am a new father and needed a family car so the Mustang had to go. My wife wanted the Volvo for it's superior safety rating and I liked the looks. Turns out this vehicle handles almost as good as my Mustang! Not SUV like at all, as it has a nice suspension and very confident handling. Power is not bad at all with the 3.2L non-turbo engine as it likes to rev, can only imagine the turbo would be much more fun. I'm getting 21.5 mpg with all local driving and winter idling which was the most my V6 Mustang could make with mixed highway/city. The seats are very comfortable and the build is much better than the Ford I traded from. I'll keep you updated as I drive it. -well almost 2 years later and 20k miles on it. New tires, a few little scratches from the little guy and shopping carts and I still love it. So far only oil changes and a new battery is all it took. Everything else works great, better in snow than my pickup truck. Still looks sleek and modern even with the gorgeous new models from Volvo out. About the only flaw was the Volvo badge on the front flaked apart so I had to buy a new one from eBay.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Satisfied Owner

rkurlander, 03/22/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

AWD, Premium, Sensus, Multimedia, Convenience, PCC. With 2,000 miles I give the Volvo XC60 an A-. Vehicle is very solid with excellent build quality. Performance with the 3.2 engine is good. There is no reason to spend extra for the turbo unless the "rush" is important. MPH is better than advertised with 20 city and 26.5 highway. Pirelli tires are excellent.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

A nice alternative to the snobmobiles

myob, 01/02/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Cross shopped with BMW X5 and considered others. The Volvo won because it combined good styling(inside and out), good handling for a crossover, great (prob the best in class) safety, a 5 year warranty with free service, and finally, a quality dealership experience that was close by. If you can swing it, I definitely recommend the T6 version with the 300hp, 325 lb torque turbo inline 6 engine. It is buttery smooth, has no real turbo lag.Much better power delivery than a similar hp Infiniti engine, with a lot less vibration and noise. We got the R design version for the tighter handling and steering, plus the design elements which make the car look better. It handles quite well.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

3.2 non-turbo with AWD is fantastic all-around

adamwrites, 01/26/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

This is, hands down, the most luxurious, comfortable, enjoyable vehicle I've ever owned (prior cars include: 08 BMW X3, 04 Acura TL, 99 BMW 3 Series sedan). Compared it to the latest Acura RDX, BMW X3, a few others. Great seats, handles great in the snow, lots of passenger and cargo space. Chose the naturally aspirated 6 and there's plenty of power without the turbo (tested both passing uphill on Rt. 280 near Livingston, NJ, those who have driven it can appreciate the statement). Love that it is a PZEV and AWD, and I expect better mileage sans turbo. Note: I picked the car up only a few days ago -- so my choice of 5 for reliability is what I'm hoping rather than what I've experienced.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

glennzwif, 02/27/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Hands down this is the best car that I have ever owned. From the day I drove it off the lot, I haven't had one complaint (which is rare!). It hugs the road even in our snowy New Hampshire winter, has made it easily through the slippery mountains of Vermont when others couldn't, and last weekend we drove it to Quebec in a blizzard and it handled great. My husband is a pretty big guy (6'4" and about 240) and he is extremely comfortable. Couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Happy Volvo XC60 Owner

thecount26, 05/09/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

When buying this car, I had also seriously considered and test drove the Audi Q5 and BMW X3. While all nice vehicles, I felt the Volvo had the best balance of performance, utility, and price. And it simply projects more attitude than the Audi and BMW. After 1500 miles, I have been very happy. Acceleration and handling are great for a crossover, and the car feels so solid and secure when driving. Also, interior comfort is top notch---I had heard good things about Volvo seats, and a recent 6 hour drive proved to me how comfortable the XC60 seats are.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2011 Volvo SUV

Robb, 06/07/2016
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I have been so impressed that I plan to get another. Other than oil changes, new wipers and a new battery, it has required no service in the past 5 years.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Stealth performance and style

myob, 04/03/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

This is our first "crossover". After years of sport sedan driving we wanted more space for things and a higher driving position for traffic. The engine is super smooth, it is quieter inside and smoother riding (even with R design) than previous Infiniti and BMW vehicles we've had. The interior looks great in two-tone leather, ergonomics are fine, and at the present it is rated the most reliable of the European brands. The 5 year warranty and free maintenance, including wear items(execept tires) is a plus. Safety is unequaled. I am not thrilled with the lack of steering feel, but the vehicle will take fast corners and sticks to the roadexcellently. Plenty of room for us.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

Volvo Xman, 12/03/2010
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Volvo XC60 is a great vehicle for anyone wanting to purchase in the "realm" of the luxury market. Although the price tag is easier to stomach than Mercedes, Audi, and BMW many of the luxury features you want are delivered, such as plush leather, bluetooth, premium ride. At 100mph the XC60 shows off its stability. "Smooth ride". There is plenty of cargo space, leg and head room, but the electronics such as Navigation system and radio display could be updated. Still a great car.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Bottom Line-opportunity and wife's opinion on looks of the XC60.

kk1969, 01/09/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Was deciding between a '10 XC60 and '09 BMW X3-both slightly used and great prices. Used comparison tools to look at space, residual value, warranties, gas mileage, standard features, etc. Save some $$ and get your own aftermarket NAV/DVD systems Hope this helps somebody...don't think you can go wrong with this car! Most luxurious I've ever owned and a pleasure to drive! Virtually no road noise!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Volvo got it right!

george167, 10/03/2011
3.2 R-Design 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 4th volvo. This is the best yet. The R-design interior/exterior trim accentuate the beauty of this vehicle. The 20" wheels are a surprise in handling and comfort. City safety, climate, nav, media, tech, and bliss packages w/satelite radio and remote keyless entry... all contribute to an excellent driving experience. 6 mos. /10,000+ miles to date and expect over 200k like my others. Volvo has come of age with this model. Solid, beautiful (R-design a must) and full of amenities. I can go on and on. Perfect SoCal freeway vehicle (with surf racks for the beach), especialy with adaptive cruise control, blind spot info system and collision warning. Only superlatives.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever owned

volvo_owner1, 11/24/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

What I like best about this car (after all the serious stuff like safety and reliability) is the Adaptive Cruise Control. How did I ever live without this feature? I've owned my Volvo for a year and am extremely happy with the vehicle

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Great llittle SUV....I stress 'little'

bhelgesen, 06/23/2012
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall, this car is a pleasure to drive. With the T6 and AWD it can be a blast. This is my wife's car and she drives it like a soccer mom but when I run out in it, it becomes an animal and is worthy of any road or traffic condition. We came out of two minivans so maybe my expectations were low. For what it's worth, we put our 18 yr old in a 10 year old s40 for safety.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The more I drive it, the more I love it!

Kevin, 11/16/2010
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First crossover. Needed more space. Went to this from a 3-series BMW sedan. Test drove all competitors. Handling is terrific. Acceleration is outstanding, with best low end torque of anything I've previously owned. Turbo is very smooth. Interior is comfortable and well organized. Great soundsystem. Bluetooth works great. Love the BLIS. Luckily haven't had to test the city safety yet. Love the exterior. It's a looker. Better gas mileage than others have experienced but not a sipper. Regular unleaded use, a plus.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Handing

jsandek1, 04/22/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Prior experience is 2004 XC70 which still have but the XC60 is so much better. Options are navi-audio/cold weather package/metallic paint. Would have liked homelink but not willing to pay for the unnecessary items in convenience package. Getting ~20 mpg with mix of driving (first 500 miles). Car is great in high speed sweepers-very stable. Quiet on highway. Baltic Blue/Black. Surprised how zippy considering it's 2 tons

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

What a great vehicle

fabdog, 05/13/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Moving out of a Lexus IS, needed more room. Looked at Lexus, Audi, BMW, Ford. Went with the Volvo. Sharp looking vehicle, AWD, great ground clearance. Drives very nicely, very comfortable front and back seats, lots of cargo room. Have most of the bells and whistles (NAV, backup camera, sound system) and they are very nice. Wife and kids love it. After 1500 miles am getting 21.5 to 22.5 MPG in mixed city/highway driving. Haven't had a chance to test it out in winter conditions, counting on the Volvo pedigree there

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

AMAZZZZIIINNNGGGGG

cheoto, 02/13/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Awesome, nic looking excelllent performance n dry, wet and snow weather. extremelly stable, 5 years no payments in service a lot of space, great seats and extemelly safe. FUNNNNNN to drive .....absolutly nothing to complain and to much to enjoy. Quality volvo, nice interior totaly different that other cars and i like it. Nice music system, phone connecion, and Ipod connection.... Just i am enjoing this car a lot. Even that i try to be green, with my second car being a Prius, i can not resist to drive the Xc60 instead of the prius. I known the dark side, but is an excellent car.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

A reliable car that I want to like more than I do

mihali129, 11/21/2013
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

I leased this car beginning in 2011 and it seemed like a perfect match for me. I wanted an SUV as I need to get to work in even the worst weather conditions. This is my first Swedish car after years of driving German and Japanese makes. The ride itself is firm. The acceleration is excellent with the T6. The XC60's only driving quirk that bothers me is that it has a very peculiar tight turn radius. That's fine if you want to make a U-turn in tight space but it actually takes care not to over-steer when parking. The seats are remarkably comfortable in front and back and that cargo space is good. The electronics and build quality of interior materials leave something to be desired.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Wow...and we thought the XC 70 was great!

rd940, 01/10/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 15 people found this review helpful

We took our XC 70 in for service and while waiting decided to test drive the XC 60...wow what a vehicle! Needless to say, the XC 60 came home with us. The XC 60 is a little smaller than the XC 70 but not enough to make a difference. Now after 500 miles we can honestly say that we are completely pleased with its styling, engine performance, handling, refinement overall fit and finish. Ours had a sticker price of $42,700 and we paid $38,600. (Includes the $1000 owner loyalty discount and the Costco discount) With a mixture of highway and city driving we are getting 20 MPG.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Completely Satisfied

shulmands131, 03/21/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2011 (With Sensus) XC60 last month, and so far have been very satisfied. I got the base model with Premium Pkg and Multimedia Pkg. Only problem so far is the center channel speaker in the dash (only in multimedia pkg) rattles a bit at certain volumes/frequencies, but the dealership said they'd see if they can pad it some when I get time to drive over there. This is my 3rd Volvo and I love it!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Very happy with the car...

jc12171, 05/18/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 17 people found this review helpful

Looking for a small-mid sized SUV after my Altima lease, consider and test drove Audi Q5 and BMW X3--both nice SUVs, but don't like the front grill in Audi and cheap looking front light on BMW. XC60 definitely is the best looking of all three. Plus better equipped and 5 yr free maintance, so went for Volvo. So far everything has been meeting my expectations. Very smooth and nimble handling with T6 engine. Comfortable seats, very little engine noise on highway. After 1000 miles, gas mileage has been better than advertised.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

Bob, 10/25/2010
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 7 people found this review helpful

Picked up the new XC60 last week. Have taken on one road trip and surprised to show 25.3 mpg on interstate. Smooth ride, quick front end, handles like a sports car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Car; Perfect Buy

aaa20, 08/03/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing. I love it. Better value than Q5, FX 35, and RX 350 (though those are good choices). I recommend the Volvo overseas delivery program because I got a great vehicle, met the people who made it, and got a great vacation to Sweden. My next purchase will likely be another Volvo.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050