Used 2011 Volvo XC60 Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29 reviews
List Price Range
$9,899 - $14,998

Used XC60 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

Slick Ride with Great MPG

newjersey2, 08/07/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

Switched from Highlander and have been pleasantly surprised. Averaging 25 mpg in town and on highway by driving sensibly. Outstanding sound system with the NAV package. Not a whole lot of leg room in backseat, but front passenger seat folds down to tote large loads (10ft 2 bys). Not a super amount of off the line grunt, but cruises effortlessly at 80. Only complaint thus far is really dumb key start thingamajig. You can pull out the key and leave the car running inadvertantly, also you can leave accessories running without knowing it. Huh? What is Volvo thinking?

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best car in my 30 years of driving!

greatjohndini, 04/21/2011
T6 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I created an account just to review this car for anyone on the fence or evaluating cars in this class. I traded in my Infiniti EX35 for this car and I will never look back. Audi Q5 looked boring and audi/vw has a lot of issues. BMW X3 too small-image of driving a beemer:( And weird styling. Lexus.-comfortable but boring. Infinti.Was good but WAY too small and was not aging well after less than a year. And it felt -light?- VOLVO XC60. Totally solid car. I held back on it before because the audio/nav in the 09-10 was an absolute JOKE..but the 2011 version is great! Perfect! European. Safe. Best looking of the bunch. And 5/60 maintenance on everything but the tires! In love w/ driving again!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Buy It!

brew_daddy_27, 02/01/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I test drove and compared with the BMW X5, Audi Q5 and the Infiniti. Infiniti was tossed when I saw the size in person. Size matters! The only plus to the BMW was that I could add a third row of seating. The bad about both the BMW and the Audi was the price tag and what you get for that tag. The Volvo destroyed both in the safety department. I went with the T6 for the extra handling and body design. The curbside appeal of the T6 easily competes with the Audi (in my opinion wins). The end result is this, I have friend that purchased a loaded Q5 and another that purchased half loaded X5. Both are jealous of my loaded XC60. Not just the looks but the price tag was made them both weep.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

best ever

volvolove, 06/09/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Having abandoned leasing I had done for many years and retiring, I decided to buy. Having looked at the Audi, BMW, and Volvo reviews for a fast SUV, I tried and then bought a Xc60. It is the best car I have driven in 54 years. Second was an Audi S4 I had many years ago. The Volvo handles almost as well-the Audi was shorter and and lower, a sports car in disguise. But the Volvo handles so well in much greater comfort (Is this a function of age?), and elegance and relative silence that I cannot imagine a better bargain. It comes near enough to the Audi in turning corners that I was amazed, given its weight and height. The interior defines simple elegance. Perfect for over 40s.

Report Abuse

3.13 out of 5 stars

Go for a long test drive

missi4, 03/23/2013
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

After a week of driving the XC60, I noticed a problem with the transmission, a hesitation when accelerating from a complete stop/speeding up to pass etc. Like driving manual transmission in the wrong gear. Took it for service repetedly. Volvo wouldn't admit a problem and told me to use premium fuel. One mechanic said it's a 5000lb car you have to gun it (!!). Finally they said they knew what was wrong and to wait for a software update, that took 6 months. It helped but the problem was still there. Volvo went back to saying there was nothing wrong with the car. After a year, I had had it and asked how much they would give me for the car to end this, Carmax gave me more. The GPS stinks too.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Beware the OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE

mark, 11/10/2015
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

Beware of the oil consumption issue. Bought a new 2011 xc60 turbo. After a few years, noticed that i needed to add a quart of oil between 5000 mile oil changes. didn't think much of it. Only to learn, after it was beyond the warranty the oil needed to be added at more and more frequency. After doing some research... "simply google Volvo oil consumption", then you begin to learn... After complaining to Volvo, they offered to look at it.. after about $1500 in repairs, noting offering to change my oil trap (which i told them was already repaired and paid for), they said they did some necessary computer adjustments, and I must also purchase a new dipstick for the oil??? Didn't know why I would need a new dipstick?? After getting my next oil change 5000 miles later (happily with no new warnings of low oil level), my mechanic informed me that the car now takes 8 quarts of oil, instead of 7, and the new dipstick won't trigger the computer to state low oil level. WOW..... look elsewhere or do your research

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV / Crossover! Better than expected!

Dave, 02/18/2016
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I'd recommend this SUV to anyone looking for a nice vehicle (Family or not). I am a new father and needed a family car so the Mustang had to go. My wife wanted the Volvo for it's superior safety rating and I liked the looks. Turns out this vehicle handles almost as good as my Mustang! Not SUV like at all, as it has a nice suspension and very confident handling. Power is not bad at all with the 3.2L non-turbo engine as it likes to rev, can only imagine the turbo would be much more fun. I'm getting 21.5 mpg with all local driving and winter idling which was the most my V6 Mustang could make with mixed highway/city. The seats are very comfortable and the build is much better than the Ford I traded from. I'll keep you updated as I drive it. -well almost 2 years later and 20k miles on it. New tires, a few little scratches from the little guy and shopping carts and I still love it. So far only oil changes and a new battery is all it took. Everything else works great, better in snow than my pickup truck. Still looks sleek and modern even with the gorgeous new models from Volvo out. About the only flaw was the Volvo badge on the front flaked apart so I had to buy a new one from eBay.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Satisfied Owner

rkurlander, 03/22/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

AWD, Premium, Sensus, Multimedia, Convenience, PCC. With 2,000 miles I give the Volvo XC60 an A-. Vehicle is very solid with excellent build quality. Performance with the 3.2 engine is good. There is no reason to spend extra for the turbo unless the "rush" is important. MPH is better than advertised with 20 city and 26.5 highway. Pirelli tires are excellent.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

A nice alternative to the snobmobiles

myob, 01/02/2011
T6 R-Design 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Cross shopped with BMW X5 and considered others. The Volvo won because it combined good styling(inside and out), good handling for a crossover, great (prob the best in class) safety, a 5 year warranty with free service, and finally, a quality dealership experience that was close by. If you can swing it, I definitely recommend the T6 version with the 300hp, 325 lb torque turbo inline 6 engine. It is buttery smooth, has no real turbo lag.Much better power delivery than a similar hp Infiniti engine, with a lot less vibration and noise. We got the R design version for the tighter handling and steering, plus the design elements which make the car look better. It handles quite well.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

3.2 non-turbo with AWD is fantastic all-around

adamwrites, 01/26/2011
3.2 4dr SUV (3.2L 6cyl 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

This is, hands down, the most luxurious, comfortable, enjoyable vehicle I've ever owned (prior cars include: 08 BMW X3, 04 Acura TL, 99 BMW 3 Series sedan). Compared it to the latest Acura RDX, BMW X3, a few others. Great seats, handles great in the snow, lots of passenger and cargo space. Chose the naturally aspirated 6 and there's plenty of power without the turbo (tested both passing uphill on Rt. 280 near Livingston, NJ, those who have driven it can appreciate the statement). Love that it is a PZEV and AWD, and I expect better mileage sans turbo. Note: I picked the car up only a few days ago -- so my choice of 5 for reliability is what I'm hoping rather than what I've experienced.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050