Skip to main content

2023 Volkswagen Arteon Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
27 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$37,970
1...

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Arteon, so we've included reviews for other years of the Arteon since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Wow. This is a sleeper GEM

J Brown, 08/09/2021
2021 Volkswagen Arteon SEL Premium R-Line 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

Was looking for a decent sedan in an ever decreasing sedan market. So glad I noticed the Volkswagen Arteon. Its about the only sedan in the current market climate that is still heavily incentivized, still offering 72 months 0 % interest financing. It is a hatchback, but you would never know from the outside. 265 horsepower and loaded with tech ( True Drive assist) , full digital dash, available 4 wheel drive, and selective chassis dampening..... not to mention many others. Ride is magnificent. Backseat legroom is near limo "roomy". Its essentially an Audi A7 for $40,000 less. Volkswagen refreshed the Arteon exterior and interior for 2021. While not as plush as the A7, it is still very, very, nice. Research and test drive, I would challenge you not to agree. Handles like its on rails for a car of its length, especially with the 4 Motion 4 wheel drive. Its a hidden gem in a a sedan market that has been challenged by the SUV.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Just what we were looking for

Will Gessner, 07/30/2021
2021 Volkswagen Arteon SEL Premium R-Line 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I read a million reviews on the Arteon before purchasing it this week. The main complaint that came through those reviews is that the car doesn’t handle sharp enough or accelerate enough with blistering speed. Ok maybe so when compared to a V6 Audi or the like but enough is plenty enough. I put 1,000 miles on it this first week. It’s a great highway cruiser and handles nicely on back roads. It’s quiet and smooth and inspires confidence.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A German Touring Sedan As The New RoadMaster?

Scott in PA, 08/09/2022
updated 03/06/2023
2021 Volkswagen Arteon SEL Premium R-Line 4dr Hatchback AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

This is one fine piece of machinery. From the nicely-weighted door-closing thunk to the integration of high tech features, the driving experience ticks all the right boxes. It is not a sports sedan, but it is not sedate. It's not a canyon carver, but you'll exit your apex with confidence as you search for the next one. And all this with a cavernous hatchback area that swallows up cargo on par with SUV's and station wagons. I have the line-topping SEL-P R-Line AWD. The Good Interior Seats: on the same par as my Audi A8. Comfortable, supportive, infinitely adjustable and ventilated. Nice Nappa leather. Excellent contour. HVAC is exceptional. Recent 2500 mile trip to FL and hardly ever had to adjust the temperature. Fan does not blow excessively high on start-up, and the cabin maintains its temperature. Windows: there is no wind thump when you roll one down at speed. Nice! Dash: Not as gimmicky as the A5, much friendlier than the Volvo, and visually a delight to look at. The high degree of customization will ensure you find the right combination of what you want to see. Easily adapted for long-tripping, ripping around town, or visiting Grandma. Learning curve a bit steeper than you'd like. Engine/Transmission I have not wanted for power, although who wouldn't want more? The Edmunds ding on slow downshifts is NOT justified. If you are in Eco mode, of course you have to stabby stabby the accelerator, otherwise it responds just fine. The paddle shifters are nicely placed and just the right size. Steering/Braking/Suspension The adjustable dampers, along with your adjustments to throttle and suspension, make this a near-Audi in every sense. And you can save your favorite combo for future use. I find turn-in a breeze, the tires hold the line well, and stomping on it at exit does not loose the back end. Of course, another 30-40 ponies might change that. Tech We have a winner! Adaptive Cruise is just as Edmunds described: not too hard on the brakes, and a little slow to regain speed. Otherwise it works very well in all conditions. Lane Keeping also performs admirably. Drive Assist is a low-level autonomous system that kind of helps you along vs taking over. I like that. Touch screens are the future, and the future is now. Again, there is a learning curve. Once you've found how to do what you want to do, it is rather intuitive. Road Characteristics There is virtually no wind noise below 80 mph. The occasional tire thump comes through, but with 245/35-20's you have to expect that with tiny sidewalls. Gas mileage is as advertised.. I got 32.9 on the FL trip. --March 2023 Update-- almost 20k miles in 9 months. This is one great highway cruiser. Replaced front rotors at 21k, a known VW concern. Local indy much less expensive than dealer. Replaced OEM Conti's with Michelin Pilot Sport 4AS, changing size from OEM 245/35/20 to a 235/40/20 configuration. Wanted a little more sidewall to help with potholes. Two side effects: the Speedo now runs 2-3mph below actual at highway speeds, so I have to remember that when setting the ACC. Secondly, my MPG trip computer is now accurate to within 1-2 tenths. Recent FL trip produced trip computer MPG numbers that exactly matched manual calculations on 3 of 4 tanks, and the 4th was .02 off. No squeaks or rattles as I've zoomed past 25k. Thank you VW for providing a full-size matching spare.... I rashed up a wheel and it is now my spare tire! --- end update. **Special Commendation** to the headlights. They are nothing short of miraculous. The adaptable beam pattern illuminates everything ahead of you, regardless of corners or hills. Cornering lamps and fog lights wrap up the package. What a safety boost! The Not-As Good Steering wheel angle is only column-adjusted, so the wheel itself does not pivot independently. I'd like another 1" of drop, but that is purely subjective. Cubby for the phone is awkwardly located above the shifter and you need to learn to contort your fingers to remove it. Charge is very slow. Also, the only USB ports are USB-C, I had to upgrade my cables. Lastly, the glove box is so small the Owners Manual will not fit in it. Oh, and whoever designed the OM should be fired... it is very poorly laid out, making your learning curve a bit harder than it needs to be.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2nd go Around

JaxGMO, 09/06/2021
updated 09/08/2022
2021 Volkswagen Arteon SEL R-Line 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought a Sel in 2019 and loved it before it was totaled by a hit and run driver! Bought a SUV (Lincoln Corsair) nice interior, but it was no where near as comfortable, or drove as well as the Arteon. After 3 months traded it for the 2021 Lapiz Blue(Kudos on the color VW) Sel-R Arteon, a lot of great upgrades with the tech and materials from the 19 model I had! I can't understand why this car isn't a best seller! It is not underpowered, it was designed for highway/autobahn cruising at 70 MPH+ and it does that well!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

The (Few) People's Car

Darren, 06/08/2021
2021 Volkswagen Arteon SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

My wife and I once owned a 2011 Camry (the last year of the that body style). It was comfortable, efficient, reliable, and affordable (YAWN!). It was also difficult to pick out in a crowd, since there were 1.9 million of 7th-gen Camrys sold in the US. That's one reason my wife loved driving a 2014 Volkwagen CC. It was sleek, just as efficient as the Camry, and considerably sportier (with the DSG). The trunk was a bit cramped, and interior room was not as generous, but it was easy to pick out on a crowd. Regular dealership service visits meant I got to see the Arteon when it first came to the US, and the service guys eventually persuaded us into trading her beloved CC in on a 2021 Arteon SE. Our local VW dealer only had three Arteons in stock. Even if my wife had had wanted a black-on-black car (which, she did not), she did not go for the SEL R-Line since it simply had too many bells/whistles to take herself seriously (Haptic steering wheel controls? Multi-color interior LED lighting? Really?). Her base Arteon SE is a gorgeous Urano Gray, with two-tone interior seating. The sound system is great, the passenger seat leans ALL the way back (practically becomes a bed for her to nap in during long road trips), and she does not feel like she is driving an appliance the way she did with her Camry, or one of our former Honda sedans. Plus, VW had helpful incentives (dealer cash back and 0% financing, and our dealer gave us more for our trade than we had expected). Overall, it made it the Arteon a purchase we felt good about making. Other than its looks, here are the five things I have admired about the Arteon: 1. It generates >30% more power out of the same 2.0-liter displacement as our 2014 CC. 2. Using an Aisin 8-speed auto, the Arteon puts delivers twist-to-the-ground in a thoroughly satisfying manner. It is not blisteringly fast, just...quick. And, it should cost less to maintain than the DSG did. 3. It's roomy without feeling massive. (We drove a VW Atlas loaner vehicle while we had our old CC in for service, and the Atlas was nice, as far as it goes, but it was Just.Too.Big. Also, the Atlas was Just.Another.SUV.) 4. The quality of the interior surfaces is far more gratifying than similarly-equipped cars from other manufacturers. 5. It's more efficient than our 2014 CC, which had already been impressive. On a road trip in the Arteon from Knoxville to Atlanta (I-75, cruise control at 70mph), we drove more than 200 miles before the fuel gauge even moved. I felt compelled to do a little mental math (adding elapsed trip mileage to estimated remaining range). The sum went as high as 730 miles at one point. Our old CC never made it beyond 600 miles on a fill up, even though it had a slightly larger fuel capacity and the theoretically-more-efficient DSG. So, why the Arteon? It is a beautiful, sporty, efficient, well-engineered, well-built liftback sedan. It is not for everyone, which is precisely why we love it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5