Skip to main content

2023 Toyota Mirai Consumer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
23 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$47,630
1

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Mirai, so we've included reviews for other years of the Mirai since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Honest opinion, purchased 03/2021

E-Money, 03/28/2021
2021 Toyota Mirai XLE 4dr Sedan (electric (fuel cell) CVT)
38 of 42 people found this review helpful

Toyota has GREAT deals on it now! Pros: Got 20k taken off list price $15,000 gas card for total of 6 years 8k federal rebate, 4.5k state rebate 0% interest for 6 years I bought the XLE with advanced package for 52.5k, the limited isn't worth the extra 20k imo.. after all the rebates and perks im guessing im going to be paying 12.5k for the car itself! Rides super smooth, great safety features, and the cruise control will drive the car for you on the freeway (even in heavy traffic!) Love the interface, and birds eye camera as well as a camera in both the front and rear! JBL speakers are amazing, seats are too! I love it.. What i don't love is the 402 miles they claim you can drive, i read thats only true if you drive 30mph (LA traffic), its more like 310 mile range on a full tank.. Takes about 95$-100$ to fill up a tank (5.6 capacity), expecting the 15k card to last 50k miles before I have to start paying for hydrogen myself.. Hydrogen is hard to find sometimes so if you find a h70 station use it (never know when supply chains may dry up) Besides that I love the car, expecting hydro to be same price as gas in 4 to 5 years or im f'd lol 😆

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota Mirai saved my life

Patrick Bodun, 03/21/2022
2021 Toyota Mirai XLE 4dr Sedan (electric (fuel cell) CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I had a terrible accident on 3/11/2022 with my 2021 Toyota Mirai. The other car ran red light and at high speed (much above 50 miles) came right for my driver side door, hitting my car so hard and pushing me to the passenger side. My car was totaled, while the other car caught fire on the spot (on impact). I was dragged out of my Mirai, with moderate wounds. Would have been worse if the car wasn't strongly built to absorb such impact. Thank you Toyota Mirai for your protection and saving my life.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Future!

Ionized, 10/05/2021
updated 10/10/2023
2021 Toyota Mirai XLE 4dr Sedan (electric (fuel cell) CVT)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

A colleague leased a 2021 Mirai Limited and sang its praises. I started researching and test drove one. Nice! I determined that purchasing the XLE would make sense for me if Toyota upped the incentive to $20K. Right after Labor Day, the incentive bumped from $15K to $20K, so I made a few phone calls. Glided home that evening in a gleaming Oxygen White XLE. I’ve promoted the Mirai to my daily driver for the last month and have fallen in love with its beauty, smooth radar cruise, silent operation, great handling, and driver comfort. It is true that “half full is the new empty.” Finding hydrogen becomes a thing. Apps help. My average city/highway mileage (driving like a spirited grandma) is 70 mpgE, which is 70 miles per kg of free hydrogen. This works out to 350 miles on 5.0 kg of H2 (the tanks hold 5.6 kg). Happy happy. However, H2 has gotten pricey in 2023 due to supply chain issues. The $15K free fuel card won’t stretch as far. Update after 2 years of ownership: still happy happy! I sold my gasoline-powered sedan for a nice price after a month of driving the Mirai. H2 infrastructure is improving in fits and starts. The Mirai is sharp-looking and a joy to drive. On the freeway with radar cruise engaged, it handles crazy California traffic like a champ. OK, the back seat and trunk are a bit tight. For a daily driver, not that relevant. I would choose this car again, assuming incentives sufficient to offset the moderate hassles of hunting for hydrogen. In my opinion, H2 fuel cell EVs will soon supplant the transitional technology of battery EVs. There is not enough lithium in the world, nor enough grid capacity, to power every car. Mirai in Japanese means “future” - and it is!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Stunning and Luxurious

Jose C., 06/08/2021
2021 Toyota Mirai Limited 4dr Sedan (electric (fuel cell) CVT)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

Bought this car over a month ago and have no regrets. I've been looking for an electric car after having a plugin for three years, but I didn't want to wait 4 - 10 weeks for the ones I wanted (Tesla/MachE) to be built. I wanted to take advantage of all the savings and rebates that are offered on EV cars and CA offers better rebates on fuel cell vehicles. Here's my opinion on my experience with the Mirai so far. The car is surprisingly faster than the quoted 0-60 times of 9 seconds, and it actually closer to 7 1/2 seconds, which is plenty fast enough, not Tesla-like, but comparable to other larger gas vehicles. The range is a little misleading, I have the limited with a stated range of 357 and after the first fil up it showed 250. Over the last few fill up that has increased to about 320, still not 357 but inching closer. The filling is fast compared to charging, but filling pumps/nozzles are different at each location, so far there have been three different types of nozzles. Back seats are usable, just don't plan on using the middle seat for anyone older than 6 and no one taller than 6 feet. The limited has some nice features, especially the color heads-up display and center A/C and audio controls for back seat occupants. As of this writing, I'm averaging about 60 mpge for the first 1450 miles. The Mirai has a smooth and luxurious ride and should be called a Lexus rather than a Toyota. Once the Infrastructure has developed, I can see hydrogen cars making up about 10-15% of car sales and an alternative to Electric vehicles. As for fueling, I have not been stranded nor in danger of running out of fuel. I drive the car like any other car not really having to worry about fuel for about a week. Once I get to about 75 miles I pay attention to my nearest station to check on the status, most are open 24/7 and they are constantly getting refueled. The best time to fuel up is early mornings or late nights. Lastly, Toyota gives you 21 days of free rental in case you need to travel outside of CA, plus free maintenance for the first three years or 35,000 miles.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

By far, the best car for the money I've ever had

Hank Lee, 06/07/2021
2021 Toyota Mirai XLE 4dr Sedan (electric (fuel cell) CVT)
30 of 35 people found this review helpful

Didn't need a new car, but when I saw that Toyota was offering their 2021 Mirai for $20,000 off, combined with the $8,000 federal tax credit, as well as the $4,500 California rebate, 0% financing for 72 months, and the kicker - $15,000 of free hydrogen, it was too good to pass up. Bought mine in March 2021, and aside from the paucity of hydrogen stations, this car is absolutely incredible. The car itself is beautiful; the body lines are sleek and eye-catching; just last week it got admiring glances (and even a thumbs-up) at Costco and Home Depot. The interior is not quite luxurious, but it is very nice, with a faux-leather interior that's very comfortable, the seats have just the right firmness, yet are still supple and inviting. The main dashboard display could be larger, but the multi-media screen is huge and easy to navigate. The sound system is very good. Interior room in back could be larger; my 2019 Avalon has more leg room than the Mirai, but the Mirai is quieter and smoother riding. The Mirai, while not blindingly fast, has very nice acceleration from stop, and passes very well on the freeway, with good throttle responsiveness, probably due to the electric motor's torque. In terms of range, I cannot get close to 402 miles on one tank of hydrogen, but I typically can get an indicated 340 to 350 miles (I usually don't let it go below 50 miles of remaining indicated range, due to the distance between filling stations, but three weeks ago, I drive an actual 347 miles, with 8 miles of range left when I refilled). And by the way, for drives out of state, Toyota offers 21 days of free rentals. Bottom line, yes, hydrogen re-fuelling stations are still too few and far between (at least here, in the San Ramon Valley). Except for this issue, this car is great. Beautiful, comfortable, fun to drive - and, after all of the credits and rebates, it was so cheap to buy, that I'm sure that, for the money, I'll never find a better, more satisfying, automotive value. Just don't let your hydrogen run too low!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5