Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$93,150

Save as much as $1,631
Select your trim:
12345...6

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 LC 500, so we've included reviews for other years of the LC 500 since its last redesign.
5 out of 5 stars

Bought it for the looks

W.B., 06/29/2017
updated 07/06/2018
2018 Lexus LC 500 2dr Coupe (5.0L 8cyl 10A)
133 of 134 people found this review helpful

Update for July 2018: Having now had the car for a year, I can say it gets better over time. I absolutely adore this car as a daily driver and road-tripper. The highway mileage is so good it seems fake. When cruising in Eco mode I'm easily getting 30 mpg. This doesn't even make sense until you realize the car can switch between Atkinson and Otto cycles. The engine scream never gets old in Sport+ mode. I just can't get enough. Sometimes I switch to Sport+ just to pass people with that crazy loud noise. After a year I expected to have buyer's remorse, or a wandering eye for the Mercedes AMG GT. Or the Porche 911 Carerra. But no. The LC 500 is a car that just grows on you and still turns heads. It's the supermodel you can actually live with everyday. *** Outstanding visual appeal inside and out, with disappointing acceleration. Go for the bespoke option, even though it's a 3-month wait. Neither the touring nor sport packages gives you the correct combination of options. Here's the combination you want, starting from bone-stock, in order of importance: 1. Limited Slip Differential (LSD), 2. Convenience Package, 3. Heads Up Display (HUD). Done. All other packages and options actually worsen the car's performance. Or they package excellent options (like the retractable spoiler) with unnecessary ones (like Variable Gear-Ratio steering). Basically you want the LSD to correct the flaws in the drivetrain. The stock, active, rear open-differential loses too much horsepower at the wheels. The LSD is mechanical: more horsepower, more traction. With the stock differential, you have to pay attention when you're kicking the tail loose. It's still fun, but the LSD gives you +HP +control. No-brainer option there. The Convenience Package gives you parking assist. You must have this. The dimensions of the car make it difficult to park. Parking assist will save you, again and again. Get it, save your body work, make parking garages your best friend. Option 3, the HUD, is just plain cool. It's actually an unintentional safety feature, keeping your eyes focused at near-driving distance. It even shows the song you've cued up from your phone via Bluetooth. After engine break-in, get the dealer to fix the rev limiter to 7,300rpm. It's limited to 7,000rpm off the lot. Peak horsepower is at 7,100rpm so the rev limiter is ruining the fun. Oh, and don't get the hybrid, seriously. You'll regret it. The 33% savings in mileage is not worth it. Just get a Tesla or a BMW i8. Pros: The looks, the sounds, the textures, a fantasy for the senses. True opulence. The car looks twice as expensive as it costs. Ride quality is Lexus smooth. Excellent steering feedback, in bone stock configuration. A masterpiece of emotional driving, makes you want to drive forever. Cons: Slower than a Roush Mustang 427 because the LC 500 drivetrain is not designed for performance. Handles like a Challenger SRT8 (it's that heavy). Costs more than a BMW M4. Out-of-touch infotainment controls. Why you should buy it: Honestly? Because it gives you the emotional response you would expect from a dream car. If you do not feel this way after seeing it then don't buy it. Simple. I personally would have gotten just as much raw driving pleasure from a Mustang GT. However, I have a transcendental experience every time I drive the LC 500. It just takes my breath away. Configuration reviewed: Black on black V8, Convenience Package, All-Weather Package, Touring Package, Heads Up Display.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Finest quality and most fun auto I've ever owned.

Point Man, 10/03/2018
2018 Lexus LC 500 2dr Coupe (5.0L 8cyl 10A)
48 of 48 people found this review helpful

When the time came to replace my aging 2008 BMW M6 (V10) the LC 500 immediately caught my eye. My wife has owned various Lexus SUVs for years, and although none of them or their sedans are my cup of tea, the new coupe was something I had to check out. We have a long first hand experience with the exceptional build quality one can expect from Lexus. My first impression was "wow, gorgeous." And it is. I was hooked after the initial test drive. Very powerful, but much more nimble than the M6. It is a heavy car, like the BMW, but without the "boat" feel. The exhaust note, although not a Formula 1 sound like the my M6 (with aftermarket Tubi pipes) is deep, pleasing, and sometimes almost throaty like a muscle car of another era. I absolutely love the sound, which is pronounced in the high performance mode, more quiet in normal or comfort mode. I got mine with every available option, and I can tell you the 4 wheel steering is incredible. I used to hate traffic circles. Now I love to drive them. The LC hugs the curves like it is glued to the road. You can accelerate going INTO a curve (as well as out), no problem. I had to order mine from Japan because with all of the options, there were none available in the US at the time in Infrared paint upgrade. This is a special 5 coat paint that changes with the time of day and angle of the sun. Incredible. People stop by my parking space and take selfies next to my care. I could go on and one. I've owned a lot of automobiles in my life, and the LC 500 is my favorite. I am so glad I own one. Worth every penny if you are fortunate to be able to afford one.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best high end Sports Coupe on the Market!

Lexus LC500, 05/16/2018
2018 Lexus LC 500 2dr Coupe (5.0L 8cyl 10A)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

Ive owed just about everything and purchased the Lexus LC500 recently and had to write a response and review regarding my opinion. First, this car has some of the finest fit and finish materials and unique designs throughout. It is extremely comfortable to drive and more than enough power to enjoy flashing through the 10 speed and let me tell you the sound you can generate with 10 gears paddling up and down is superb! You could NOT find a more reliable or fun coupe for this money with any other manufacturer! If you've owned Porsche, BMW, Ferrari, Maserati etc... like me you know how much they cost to maintain! This car is bullet proof nd easy on the pocket book...do yourself a favour and consider the Naturally aspirated V8 to your collection, you will never regret it!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love My LC500

t miller, 06/24/2019
updated 06/28/2022
2019 Lexus LC 500 2dr Coupe (5.0L 8cyl 10A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This car is a work of art. Its hard to get in/out of, and holds not much storage, but once you're strapped in, you wont want to leave ! It's a joy to operate and performs well under multiple personalities: in comfort/normal you slink around like any other respectable lexus, behaving yourself; in sport mode, look out, the beast is on the loose, and in sport +, things get a little scary. Granted its not a 911 but who wants to be a hard ass all the time. This thing is pure driving enjoyment, so get ready for a purely emotional response to driving it: it's fantastic ! Better start saving up. UPDATE: this baby just keeps getting better and better the longer we go along; pure enjoyment, not a whimper of a concern, ethereal sound pipes engineered by yamaha! there's no other car like it period; its the closet thing you could imagine to a perfect ride. get one before they're gone !

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Had a Corvette Guy High-5 me!

Doug, 08/28/2019
2019 Lexus LC 500 2dr Coupe (5.0L 8cyl 10A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have been a Corvette guy since the 60's This car replaces a 2013 427 Preferred / 500HP. Virtually a ZO6 with an iron frame. This car is very fun to look at and to drive. I goes like the wind albeit not quite as fast as my Corvette. It is much more fun for my wife to ride in however. That's a Plus Plus Plus! It's almost embarrassing how many people say "nice car"! Yes not much trunk room, but it works. Yes not a legit back seat, but works. Yes the pad control for display is dumb, but works. Yes it is a little spendy! This is one of the nicest cars I have owned in 60 years!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: