Skip to main content

2023 Jeep Wrangler 4xe Consumer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
33 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$50,226
20 for sale near you
1...

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Wrangler 4xe, so we've included reviews for other years of the Wrangler 4xe since its last redesign.
4 out of 5 stars

2023 Jeep Rubicon 4xe Does Not Disappoint

Leslie, 02/03/2023
2023 Jeep Wrangler 4xe Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

Excellent new rig from Jeep. By keeping it in hybrid most of the time I'm averaging 26mpg in city and 30+mpg highway - a major improvement over my old gas powered TJ and JK rigs with their average of 13 mpg on a good day. Engine doesn't feel like I've traded any power for this efficiency, which is fantastic. It took a bit to get used to how the engine sounds, but that's a me problem. You're not going to get that big, powerful Jeep rumble with a PHEV. So far it's been a dream on light trails and on the beach, as well. I haven't tested the towing capacity yet, but expect it will handle my trailer just fine. We have a lot of mixed terrain and slick weather where I live and the Jeep has been stable to drive: hugging the pavement when it's icy, surefooted in snow, good traction in wet sand, and solid on rain-slicked winter roads. It hasn't given me any problems on hills at all, though the real test will be when I go over the pass for the first time. I expect it will handle that well also. One aspect of having a PHEV Jeep that I find delightful is the ability to put it in esave mode and then run on electric once I reach the trailhead. It's been a pleasure to do some light off roading in relative quiet and actually hear nature instead of a loud engine. There is a tradeoff in my gas use efficiency when I do that, of course, but it's worth it. Just like my standard shift Jeeps, I expect choosing the correct dealer is going to make a difference with these Jeeps going forward. With my stick shift TJ and JK, finding a dealer in this decade that still understood stick shifts and their quirks was essential. Now I think finding a dealer that understands the combined complexities of a hybrid engine and a rig built for off road use will be key to owner happiness. My only personal gripe with this Jeep so far has nothing to do with the rig - it's that I detest the color blue ;) Happily, a quick de-badging session this summer when it's not so cold will take care of that. My only broad gripe with this Jeep is the price point! This Rubicon feels like it would be more appropriately priced in the $50K range new but I see it being sold as high as $80K in some areas. Overall, 10/10, absolutely pleased with my purchase. Can't wait to see how the models continue to improve and innovate as Jeep gets more time in the electric vehicle space.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love It

Jay, 04/28/2022
updated 05/15/2024
2022 Jeep Wrangler 4xe Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
45 of 52 people found this review helpful

I’ve had mostly BMWs and Audis over the years and cycled through a few TJs and a YJ as a weekend car. I’ve been driving my 4Xe as a daily for 6 weeks now and love it. It’s quiet, comfortable and generally fun to drive. Not a rocket but definitely quick enough to merge. It is loud on the highway and something to consider if you travel long distances. For me and my short commute, it’s perfect. I got 900 miles on my first tank of gas and average 32 MPG in hybrid. With everything going on in the world, it just makes me smile. Is it for everyone? No. Update, 7 months and 3,600 trouble free miles. I also took it offroading and loved the regen braking, quiet ride and torque. Sorry to those having trouble with theirs but still loving mine! Update, 17K miles, zero problem other than leaking shocks, replaced under warranty. I would suggest reading these reviews carefully. Many complaining of FORM simply do not understand the technology. It's not purely temperature related and something ALL PHEVs go through. If there were any reason not to buy a Jeep, I'd say it's less the vehicle and more the dealership experience. Mine is abysmal.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

2022 4xe Dangerous

MTV, 04/24/2023
2022 Jeep Wrangler 4xe Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
24 of 27 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2022 4xe July 2022 for my daughter and 8 months later the car died. Dealer replaced radio and battery and stated it was a glitch in the radio. Two days after I got the Jeep back it died again. Dealer again replaced radio and battery stating there was a short in the radio. Three weeks later the car died while driving on the road. Completely shut down! Thank goodness she was able to move to the shoulder. Towed to dealer again. Initiated Lemon law case. This is now a safety issue and dangerous on the road. Three times within a 5 week period at the dealer for repair. First time buying a Jeep and the last!! If I could rate it a "zero" I would.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Will end up killing you

Ayam De Leon, 08/24/2022
2022 Jeep Wrangler 4xe Unlimited Rubicon 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
47 of 56 people found this review helpful

Bought this Jeep last August 2021and it has already died on us twice. First time it happened was December last year while my son was driving on the highway the engine just died-all electronics and mechanical- just completely dead, thankfully my son was able to get it on the shoulder and nothing happened to him. Then this past weekend it went dead again despite being charged over nght and being used everyday. The door wouldn't open with the key fob and the engine wouldn't start at all. I gave it a jumpstart and the hybrid battery was charged 99% and the car battery readout was 12.2. We drove it to the jeep dealership where we bought it and it's been there for days and they still can't figure out what's wrong. If I can just give this back I will, It's a nice toy but not worth the hassle and the danger.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Plug-in convertible — loads of fun!

Bill, 01/04/2024
2022 Jeep Wrangler 4xe Unlimited Sahara 4dr SUV 4WD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I’ve had zero concerns with my Sahara 4xe after 13k miles. It has all the non-drivetrain DIY improvements you can make on all Wranglers. I keep the roof and doors off from May-October and I get about 27 miles of pure electricity on a charge. The engine sounds pretty rough the first 10k, but with the oil change it starts to sound a bit better. Much quieter than my ‘17 Sahara. For long trips it isn’t going to get even decent gas mileage, but for the daily driver you can really cut back on gas consumption. The OEM Bridgestone Duelers tires aren’t anything special and I would recommend getting a more rugged set if you are doing anything more than gravel. The concerns I had when I got it in August ‘22 were reports of the wrangler 4xe suddenly turning off while driving. This turned out to be a decent amount of cars with loose fuses. I checked mine and there were probably 10 or so loose (not good!) about a week after purchase. They’ve stayed in place since then. Another big concern that people would mention was a F.O.R.M. Notification. This meant that the car would not turn off the engine even when the battery was full. This primarily occurred when the gas would start to degrade (I’ve gone more than 5 weeks at a time without filling up even a 1/4 tank), or regular oil service was due and the oil was past prime. Getting the oil service would clear it and expending all but an 1/8 of a tank then refilling it would clear the other FORM notification.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5