Skip to main content

Used 2022 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
70 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 Sonata, so we've included reviews for other years of the Sonata since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great car

Geoff G, 02/10/2021
2021 Hyundai Sonata Limited 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

Got the 2021 Hyundai Sonata Limited. This car is loaded with technology. All the bells and whistles. Like driving a Lexus with all the options at a much lower cost. Beautiful styling inside and out. Drives great!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Unique styling with great feature set and tech

Mirage_1, 09/25/2022
2022 Hyundai Sonata SEL 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl 8A)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

Purchased a 2022 Sonata SEL. The styling can be polarizing but I think it has a great look from most angles. The SEL is the sweet spot in the Sonata line. You get the unique daytime running lights, auto air, power driver's seat, heated seats and the full Hyundai safety suite including radar cruise. It rides well, is quiet and has plenty of power with the NA engine. (fuel economy is also good at 27/37 mpg EPA). You even get a real spare tire! Highly recommended. If your plan on purchasing this vehicle do so quickly as the 2023 SEL sticker is increasing by $1225! The only change I can see is an upgrade from the 8" MMI to the 10.25 ". Most Sonatas are currently built in Korea, the Kia K5 is built in the USA.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2021 Sonata N Line. I didn't want to like it..

Mark B., 04/18/2021
updated 04/25/2022
2021 Hyundai Sonata N Line 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 8AM)
51 of 53 people found this review helpful

When it comes to a daily driver, I have several parameters. I won't spend over 40G. I won't lease. And at 6ft 2 with nerve damaged legs from my battle with cancer, legroom and seat comfort are paramount. Comfort is also an extremely subjective category. What works for you might not work for me, and vice versa. Accord Sport/Touring seats don't work for me. Camry in TRD trim is too "Fast & Furious" for me. Altima has a CVT trans and horribly uncomfortable driver's seat for me. I was considering a K5 GT but none to be found locally. Figured I'd drive a Sonata N Line to get a feel for the package and scratch it off my list. I was not a huge fan of the 2020 exterior redesign although it slowly grew on me. And it does look better in N Line trim. I had a few cars on my list to spend a few days looking at and driving. The N Line was the closest so I started there. Sat in it for a bit and the driver's seat worked for me. Salesman threw a tag on it and told me to go have fun. Within a mile I was impressed. Twenty minutes later when I returned, I told the salesman to make me an offer I couldn't refuse. I drive it home 90 minutes later. The ride is firm but not harsh. It's definitely quieter than the previous generation Sonata. Handles great. Faster than a Hyundai should be allowed to be. The dual clutch transmission is fantastic. I've owned two dozen or so cars over the years, several German. I've never been approached about any of them the way I've been with this car. Seven weeks with it as I write this and I've been approached by strangers nearly two dozen times. Some knowing what the N Line is. Some asking if it's a Genesis or an Audi. Some genuinely not knowing what it could be. Gripes? Wish it had memory settings for the driver's seat. Wish it had ventilated seats although so far I really don't miss them. The light sensor for the auto headlights is beyond sensitive. I can barely clear going under an average overpass at highway speeds without the lights coming on in barely two seconds. Honestly, that's it. I don't regret my decision and I look forward to driving it every day. UPDATE 4/23/2022 Just over 20,000 miles in. Thermostat was replaced back in January. It was stuck open so wasn't really getting much heat. Other than that, routine oil changes, engine and cabin air filters, and replaced the tires only due to personal preference. I wasn't a fan of the Pirellis. A couple of 500 mile days with road trips. Still get asked what kind of car it it frequently. Fit and finish still like new.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Brand new N Line in Quartz White

Still got game , 11/15/2021
updated 11/17/2023
2022 Hyundai Sonata N Line 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 8AM)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

have had this 2022 N-Line Sonata a bit less than a month now.. best deal in the market right now. Rides like German sport sedan, most of the time. when it’s dry and flat outside( south florida) it’s in Sport+. when it rains I go to Sport mode. It can keep up with anyone out there. Looks sharp, fit and finish is great, has everything you need, including burying you in your comfy seat when you mash it. its a 4 series, C-Class, or S, for thousands less. It has heated seats , but wish they were ventilated. That is literally the only thing I miss. Its a great car, drive it before everyone realizes what they can get for < $35K.. UPDATE: This car has great tech, plenty of room, great looks and one of the quickest cars on the road. It’s a bargain and a real steal in N line trim. Would buy again.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Bought an N-Line a month ago - Great car

Bob from Georgia, 05/20/2021
2021 Hyundai Sonata N Line 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 8AM)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

I research my cars for a year or so before buying, and was particularly interested in the Sonata N-Line and the KIA K5 GT, both built on the same platform and mechanically identical. The KIA GT has a lower MSRP but all the cars I found for sale came with the $4000 GT1 package, which jumps the MSRP up over $35K compared to 33K for the Sonata N-Line that includes all the GT1 features in the MSRP. Those 12 BOSE speakers are very nice! The question: Is this a family sedan or a muscle car? My answer is that it's family sedan with teeth. The first impression of the car, riding high on the 19-inch tires, is that it's big. My previous car was a 2017 Sonata Eco, and when I told my wife that the N-Line was identical in length and width, she said, "No way, this is a much bigger car." It was only when she saw that it fit into the same space in the garage as my 2017 that she believed the dimensions were the same. I've owned some muscle cars in the past and most of them made you drive them hard. They just weren't that smooth at low speeds. The N-Line is not that way at all. Drive it with a light touch and you'll get 28 MPG combined and it's just as smooth and elegant as can be. But when you want the power, it's there. This car won't ever be described as tossable but you can take it into a curve fast and it will hold the line. I frankly don't plan to try to beat others off the line all that often, as the car burns rubber easily and I plan to hold onto to those expensive 19-inchers for a while. But the temptation can be hard to resist. Yesterday a guy with a tricked-out Mercedes came up beside me at a light and started gunning his engine. I didn't bother switching to Sport mode and started off the line lightly to avoid burning rubber. He got out a little ahead but I blew him away easily. Get the N Line up to 1650 RPM gently and then step on it and it will fly. The Mercedes chased me around for awhile trying to do it again and I just ignored him. Guess he just couldn't believe his hot car was clobbered by a Hyundai. But where the N-Line is particular impressive is in mid-range acceleration. Its goes from 60 to 100 so quickly, quietly and smoothly that you almost don't believe it's that fast. I really like the sleeper aspect of the car. I like to use the power just occasionally, like when you're cruising down an on-ramp to the interstate with a nice fat space waiting for you, and some jerk decides to speed up and cut you off. Or when someone is doing 55 in the fast lane in a 70 MPH zone and you need to go around. Or just pulling out and passing on a one-lane highway. The N-Line gets the job done easily and smoothly. Look at the cars with equivalent horsepower, DCT, brakes, suspension, safety features and amenities, and you'll find most of them run $20 to $30 K more. If you need baby-butt leather and wood paneling, you'll have to buy the more expensive car. The N line, despite nice seats and red stitching, looks like a Hyundai inside. But the exterior is beautiful and the features are awesome. It's the right car for someone like me who wants the power and comfort but doesn't believe in paying $20K for the hood ornament.

Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5