Used 2012 Honda Civic Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,495 - $13,995

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...18

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2012 civic Si - from Hell.

James, 07/06/2016
Si 4dr Sedan w/Nav (2.4L 4cyl 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this; all my life I've driven RWD performance cars (multiple 350z 05, and 07, s2000, eclipse v6 , 08 corvette) - this was my first FWD sporty car and IT DID NOT dissapoint comparing to all of those cars, which tells you a lot. The biggest issue you will see people mention is the bad interior quality, yes if you are coming from a BMW or a Lexus it will feel bad, but coming from the cars I listed above it felt like a definite upgrade. Key Pros: MPG, Torque (yes its not a v8, but a 4cyl pumping out 170 ft lbs in a lightweight sedan (2900lbs) is superb, transmission, handling. For the price & honda reliability/resale value it CAN NOT be beat, sure there are faster cars for the same price - but you won't get the reliability or the resale (gti I am looking at you) - Should you buy it ? YES. I can't wait for the 2017 civic si.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

NOT DISAPPOINTED!

Cameron, 01/21/2019
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my Civic coupe pre-owned with 54k miles. Over the course of the past 2.5 years I have driven it quite a bit. Odo is currently at 113k and she has never required any repairs other than general maintainence. The only lights I've seen lit up on the dash are the TPMS and low fuel light. The car is a great value and has plenty of tech considering it's almost 8 years old. Bluetooth connectivity is easy, but callers have a hard time understanding me while I'm driving at highway speeds. The stereo is nothing to sneeze at. 360w and 7 speakers is more than enough for a two door coupe. It's loud but bass is a bit lacking for me, considering it has a sub in the back window sill. Comfort is an easy 5 out of 5. I'm six foot but can easily sit comfortably in the back seat. The trunk on the other hand is a bit on the small side, but the rear seats do fold almost flat. Fuel milage combined for me is about 31, mostly highway miles ranging between speeds of 75-90. Not shabby. Only complaints I have are minor. With only 140hp and and the 5spd auto, the car is quite frankly a bit of a dog at times. I have no problems getting up to speed, but the car does feel under-powered occasionally in hilly areas. Also, the traction control cannot be disabled if the tire pressure is low enough to trip the tpms. Found that out when I got stuck in snow. Great car overall. I would recommend it to anyone!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

best Honda I've bought

lotsahondas, 06/23/2011
48 of 62 people found this review helpful

puzzled by "meh" reviews. 2nd Civic hybrid, 5th Honda I've owned. This is the best since my '77 Accord, and I've liked them all. They've all been reliable. Note that JD Powers elevated Honda to #2 today. Style: other than tail looks like a Camry, no complaints, but I wasn't in market for Corvette. "Cheap plastic"? plastic is plastic, it doesn't pretend to be burled wood or silver. And it is matte finish dash, which means less sun in the eyes. Comfort: supportive seats, roomy cabin front and back. Ride: incredibly smooth. Steering: responsive with very tight turning radius. Acceleration: adequate. Not a BMW, but hybrid owners don't burn rubber. Mileage: after 600 mi, 42+ MPG!

Report Abuse

2012 Civic EX 4door

dickbrub1, 08/01/2011
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Disappointed to hear CR wrote a poor review. I had an 06 same model, sold to grandson, bought 2012. Not a lot of difference. The dash display encourages thrifty driving; ECON setting really works. Good handling, etc., but perhaps it just "stayed the same" in many respects while competition improved. Get 40+ on highway, 30 in city. Seems quiet enough. Have to program door locks, sort of annoying the way they work. Hard to program radio. Recommend the car. Seems a bit roomier for the driver, seatls are better than '06.

Report Abuse

Not your son's Si

jsevier14, 01/21/2012
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Having driven an Acura RSX-S for 11 years I expected a lot from my new ride. In the end, I like the 2012 Civic Si, but ultimately it doesn't feel quite complete. The TSX engine and transmission are definitely improvements, and the fuel efficiency is pretty amazing for a performance vehicle. The electronics package is adequate, but the rest of the interior is cheap and frustrating. Compared to previous Si's, the 2012 is way less juvenile, and delivers a fun smooth ride for my long daily commute.

Report Abuse

The 2010 Ex got even better

jabutix, 08/17/2011
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

The Civic EX 2012 exceeded my expectations. It drives well and is quite responsive, making it a fun ride. Mileage got even better and the Economy button works very well for slow traffic conditions. The interior design is attractive and the accessibility to all commands makes it quite functional. It is a good buy for the money.

Report Abuse

2012 This Hybrid is Awesome!

peter789, 09/07/2012
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I just purchased at a fantastic price. Deal hard. Hybrids are not selling as well because old reviews were bad. So I did not pay the hybrid premium that I would have to make up with gas savings. I do 70% city and 30% highway and getting between 45 and 47 mpg so far. This Civic is made in Japan and sells very well there. Hence the Japanese near 6 dollar a gallon gas. I am sure that in my state the cost of gas will be in the 4.50 to 5.00 range soon which will make this purchase so much more justified.

Report Abuse

Well built, reliable, stellar mpg.

genegenre, 07/06/2015
Natural Gas 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

2012 Civic NG bought new for 21k fall 2013 (dealer left over), sold for 6k end of 2015 with 229,000 miles. Used as a courier delivery vehicle on 3-700 mile per day routes. Hwy mileage through hilly western PA driving 60-80mph averaged 45mpg annually (mind you this is long range hwy driving). Mixed 50/50 city hwy around 35, city low 20's. Best was hypermiling round trip through flat Ohio in summer, 58mph, no AC; dash read 61mpge but actual trip miles divided by gge at station (same pump similar psi) was over 63mpge. That's 63 miles on $1.90 worth of fuel! Total maintenance and repair history for the nearly quarter million miles entails; Full synth oil/filter changes every 25k miles. (oil analysis three times by Black Stone Labs indicated oil was nearing end of life at 25k). I try to change both fuel filters at 40k. Rear easy, front used breaker bar and housing bent rather than loosened. Cost to replace the housing part only was over $600!!! It was essentially a glorified canister not very robust either. F U Honda! Manual says change rear every 30k and front every 15k is factually inaccurate. I did a drain on rear every 15, change rear at 30 and front every 60k and both filters were nearing end of life. Dealer charges $80 labor for front and my local guy charges $15 because it takes 10 minutes. Drivers side wheel bearing started to go bad at 60k miles likely because of tires kept at 44psi. Wheel bearing changed at 103k, tires deflated to 34psi and no further issues... Timing and plugs at dealer at 125k miles. Vehicle began idling poorly and mpg drops 10%. Took to local mechanic and had timing again and solved problem. Transmission changed every 100k miles, coolant never changed. Both low beams and one high beam replaced at some point towards the end. Sold car at 229,xxx miles with no other issues. If I had taken to local mechanic for front fuel filter change and kept tires at normal levels, I'm guessing there wouldn't have been any issues. The interior is a little cheap but is comfy and controls are intuitive. Seat comfort is middling although not nearly as bad as the 2016 I bought afterward which I had to sell after ten months because I was in such pain driving it. The engine really struggles up hills and jerky down shifts to maintain speed but the flip side is impressive fuel economy even for a Civic. Overall this is a great car if you have adequate filling stations around you. The 8gge tank realistically holds 7-7.5gge and as little as 6.5 gallons if temps are sub freezing or your station happens to not work correctly which happens relatively often. I have been stranded more than once because cold weather or lack of maintenance at stations. Hope this helps!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's The Best In It's Class

dagoomba, 07/04/2011
36 of 49 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2012 Civic EX-L W/Navigation for about a week now. I have never owned a Honda before and for my 65th birthday I decided to get me a new Civic. My criteria for a new car was fuel economy, performance and resale value. The cars I considered were Elantra, Focus, Cruze and Civic. I read volumes of reviews and came to the conclusion that the so called expert reviewers felt the 2012 Civic did not make much of a change to the previous years and therefore they felt that Honda had taken a step back to the other models I was considering since they had surpassed the Civic in styling. Since styling was not one of my criteria points those reviews did not stray me away from considering a Civic. In fact since I never have owned a Honda I thought the styling was perfect for best fuel economy. Without going into all of the reasons I decided to buy the Civic (Elantra comes without a spare tire) I will give you my impressions of the first week of owning one. The Civic is very roomy and comfortable. I do wish the glove box and center console were a little bigger, but I can live with the size they are. The I-Mid and navigation screen give you more data than you could imagine. Some reviewers call it cheesy. I think it's pretty cool and very informative. Civics come with an "ECON" button that optimizes your fuel economy. When your ECON button is activated your performance takes a hit and acceleration is not as good as it would be with the ECON button not in use. Some reviewers say they can't see any difference between having the ECON button on or off. Well, I'm here to tell you there is a difference and it's noticeable. But, if you are trying to get the best possible fuel economy that you can then using the ECON button will save you fuel. On my first tank of gas I used the ECON as much as possible in city and highway and got a combined 34.3 mpg. In that first tank I drove from Sacramento to Reno and got 37.5 mpg ( lot of driving uphill and ECON was off while climbing those hills) Coming home from Reno I got 45.5 mpg ( lot of going downhill and had ECON on) So far I am very pleased with fuel economy. The Civic handles well in the turns and with the ECON off it has plenty of pep as far as I'm cornered. The air conditioning works great and cools off the cabin nicely. Those in the back seat were very comfortable in 97 degree weather. I do see me tinting the back windows though. The Bluetooth was easy to sync up with my Droid and call quality is very good. I'm impressed with the sound system and love being able to use a USB drive. I still have much to learn about this car but so far it is everything I was hoping it would be. I got the EX-L W/Navi for $22,500. I added some other accessories and of course tax, license and doc fees. I also got an 8 year 100,000 extended warranty for $1,200. If you decide to get yourself a 2012 Civic you will not be disappointed. You may not have the sexiest looking car on the road but you will have a solid car that you can depend on now and in the future.

Report Abuse

Love my civic!

Nyagresk, 10/06/2015
EX-L 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

ROAD NOISE SUCKS THOUGH!!! Very noisy. And there no outside air display which is kind of weird. Other than that it is amazing. I love the gas mileage and that it takes regular gas. Looks super sporty on the outside and slick interior is nice and simple. So far so good! 19.120k miles and going strong.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...18
Items per page:
51050