Used 2014 Ford Focus Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,950 - $11,998

Used Focus for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Don't Be Fooled--It's JUNK

D. Liebling, 04/21/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
65 of 67 people found this review helpful

No matter what propaganda you may hear about the dual-clutch automatic, STAY AWAY. My 2014 started to exhibit intermittent, severe chatter/shudder/slip/gran/noise shortly after I bought it. Pulling out from a stop is problematic to the point of being unsafe, as you never know what the trans will do. Dealer applied several software updates over the next 18 months. Ford Customer Service indicated they would pursue the issue until I was satisfied. Didn't happen. As the miles and months and repair attempts accrued, dealer and Ford interest waned. One day, Ford CS simply announced, "Dealer says car is normal... There will be no further repair attempts nor trade/buyback assistance. "Coincidentally", this happened as the car was about to become eligible for Lemon law arbitration. Neither Ford nor the dealer have acted in good faith re this vehicle. Ford has finally acknowledged the DCT is a failed design--They are eliminating in the near future. That might help future customers but leaves the tens of thousands of us with the current model with a vehicle that is undriveable and unsellable and has a horribly suppressed blue-book value. Ford has not acted honorably nor professionally in this matter... Don't expect them to do any better when you have problems in the future... BUY SOME OTHER MAKE VEHICLE. AVOID FORD

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

STAY AWAY from the FOCUS

bigrob10, 05/15/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
58 of 62 people found this review helpful

Where do I start? I purchased a 2014 Focus, Have had it for over a year, and is falling apart. First the clutch was replaced, because it was "Jumping" and "Stalling" then 2 months later back to same problems. Now in addition to that the Tranny is over heating" light is going on as well as Brake Bulb and Tire lights are going off. Contact Ford and they say it will be 8 weeks before they can even look at my since they have so many other owners with the same problem. My Focus jumped forward in traffic out of no where and almost caused a serious accident on the freeway. Ford 100% knows about all these issues with the Focus but they do not care about anyone's safety they just give the run around

Report Abuse

Is it time for a class-action lawsuit

R Green, 01/20/2016
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
58 of 62 people found this review helpful

3500 miles on my 2014 Focus and the transmission failed. Not only did it fail, but failed dangerously in freeway traffic. This resulted in sudden unwanted accelerations and decelerations; almost like I had no control of the car. This is ridiculous!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Watch out for DCT auto transmissions

Unhappy Ford owner, 10/06/2015
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
37 of 39 people found this review helpful

Had a 2014 Ford focus se hatchback with DCT auto transmission. This is a great vehicle other than the transmission. Transmission would at slow speeds hesitate, shudder, jerk back and forth, go in and out of gear, and had metal sounds ( like silverware clanging) coming from under car. When I would take off from a stop you never knew if you were going to go or shake and shudder for 2 to 4 seconds sometimes more and then go. Sometimes it felt it would stall but never did. When I bought this car it did none of this at first and it started to do this after 5 to 7 thousand miles and progressively got worse. Had it in shop at Ford to fix and it was much worse after reprogram. Talked to Ford about it again and was told that the shuddering could never be totally fixed and would always be there due to nature of transmission. I told them I had looked on the internet and saw that this was a common problem and that it doesn't seemed to be able to be fixed by Ford and that I wasn't happy about this. At this point they tried to get me into another Ford vehicle but did not give me a good trade in value for my 1 year old vehicle (I wonder why???). It was the one chance the Ford dealer had at keeping me and they screwed up so I traded my vehicle in somewhere else. All the money I've spent on service visits repairs and new tires (4 sets) over the years on other fords I guess didn't mean much. I am now giving my business to a company that has very good reliability ratings for their vehicles so hopefully I don't run into this again. If looking at this vehicle for your next car do your homework first. Traded focus in for honda civic and have had zero problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

"I thought I was going to die driving this car"

Cindy, 07/16/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

I have always purchased Ford products in the past but, I am really re-thinking did I get a lemon with this 2014 this Ford Focus You should feel safe when you drive a new car not worried about it bogging down on the road. I have taken my new car in twice now, once the dealership replace the clutch and now they replace the transmission modules. The dealership told me right off the bat there is backlog of cars waiting for a new clutches again. I drive on the highway and was horrified when I tried to get car to speed up so a semi-truck could get off the ramp and my car acted liked the transmission stuck in gear. I am scared to take my grandkids in my car just in case the transmission locks up and caused a wreck that could hurt them. If Ford can fix the problems in a timely manor either by putting another transmission in or they should have to buy the cars back from the customers for want they paid for them. Buyer beware please do research before you buy this type of car for your own safety.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First New Car (Nightmare)

justingreer, 04/01/2014
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

The car ended up being traded in and I hadto threaten to sue Ford to receive any compensation. The car ended up falling under one of the articles of the Ohio Lemon law. In total the car was at the shop over 12 times in one year. The car stalled 3 times while driving and one of the times was caused an small accident (the other cars). The car sat in my driveway for 4 months since Ford refused to acknowledge anything was wrong with it. It was not safe to drive. When I say "Ford", I mean FORD and not the dealer (multiplier case managers and even an Engineer). The dealer was great (or as great as they could be). Ford gave the dealer a hard time with paying for warranty work that the dealer recommended. If it was not the wiring harness, it as the fuel pump, ECU, ECM, Shift Controller, o2 sensors (replaced both 6 times) and everything else. My lawyer cost me 2K and ended up finding a dealer out of state that would trade the car. I ended up going eating about 4K but the car is now gone and I could not be happier. Never again will I buy a brand new car. BUT when the car ran, it was great. So if you are willing to deal with the headache and feel lucky, go it! If it works out for you then awesome. If not, you will feel sick daily knowing that you have a 20K lawn ornament.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My second Focus with a bad transmission

Holly, 01/03/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
54 of 58 people found this review helpful

After two trips to the shop in under 30k miles, I thought my 2012 Ford Focus was a lemon so I traded it in and Holy Cow...my 2014 does exactly the same thing. The transmission shakes and jerks so badly that it scares my passengers. I feel like such a schmuck for buying this car twice , but I can't believe Ford gets away with this!!!

Performance
Report Abuse

1st FORD and NEVER again!

Jenni, 04/22/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Transmission issues just like everyone else! Mine has been replaced 3x and updated 4x... all under 25k miles. It takes a few thousand miles to act up again but it will! If I shifted a manual car the way this car shifts, I should never drive a manual. I just don't feel safe in this car, at times it has a delay in reacting to the acceleration. Other times I can feel a drag in the take off. I currently have a file open with the BBB to get this car bought back or at the very least allow me to pick an other car on the Dealership lot and lets trade keys! Ford offered me 1 month of my car payment. I DO NOT want money.. I just want out of my car! I have a pending appointment with Arbitration on May 6th and I am also taking the car back to dealership to have transmission tested again on April 30th!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One Huge Problem

Gilbert G., 12/31/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

I just have one complaint about this vehicle, but that one complaint makes this vehicle extremely unreliable. The vehicle's transmission has flaws that cannot be fixed by Ford. I have taken my vehicle into the dealership for transmission problems a total of 4 times. Every time it has been at the dealership ive been without a car for a week or more at a time. The vehicle makes grinding noises, shutters, slips gears, and transmission overheats. Everything else could be ignored except for the transmission overheating. It's gotten so bad, that when stuck in traffic the vehicle instructs you, through the small screen in between the gauges to pull over. When the transmission starts to overheat, you can really feel the vehicle shake and pull hard. Its gotten so bad to the point that I was almost stranded on the freeway at almost midnight, in some of the worse traffic I have ever been in. I had to pull over 3 times and after the second time I had to call into work because I did not think I was going to make it out of the freeway without being towed by AAA. I know this vehicle cannot be fixed no matter how many times its taken into the dealership, and even though my warranty was extended to 100,000 miles I know problems will continue.

Report Abuse

transmission issues that they will not fix

eileen, 01/04/2016
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
60 of 66 people found this review helpful

The 2014 Ford Focus has major transmission issues-"shudders' to the point of stalling. No one will fix it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford Focus & Fiesta - JUST SAY NO!

a76austin@gmail.com, 10/13/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Update to original review: car has now had transmission pulled twice, with clutches replaced both times, and more than 3 more visits to reprogram transmission, essentially not fixing the issues on any visit. The A/C quit working at 60,000 miles, right past the warranty period, and now having numerous electronic issues from the radio to the windows at 70,000 miles. Original review: First, I purchased the 2013 Ford Fiesta (Brand new). Went in for transmission repairs FIVE times. (Lurching, jerking, hesitation, failure to switch gears, and finally stalling out). The dealership kept telling me it was fixed each time. They gave me the run around until I was worried my warranty would run out before they actually got the problem fixed. So thinking I got a lemon, I traded it in for a new 2014 Ford Focus. This one is even worse. Same exact transmission problems. Shutters terribly when trying to switch gears, will stall out trying to upshift, and then suddenly LURCH forward with the RPM's going to 6,000 almost 7,000. Power will stall out when merging onto the highway. Has nearly caused numerous accidents. Not only are these cars poor quality, they are very dangerous and hazardous to drive. When the light turns green, and your car stops mid-intersection with oncoming traffic, and then suddenly lurches forward at top speed, thats a problem. I am currently waiting on my second repair for my Focus, and have been told by the dealership that the clutches for the transmissions are on 8-12 week backorder. Not sure if this transmission will even last that long. The car has 31,000 miles, issues started at 15,000. Have spoken with the class action attorney in California, and a lemon law attorney here in N.C. My advice if you get/have one of these cars, KEEP and collect ALL your repair records. The lemon law attorney here told me that Ford has been VERY slow, much more slow than other manufacturers to even respond to their lemon law complaints, because of the sheer number of them coming in. So in my opinion, stay away from Ford all together. I know I will from now on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Repeat Buyer Disappointment!!

D M Warden, 02/05/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd purchase of a new Ford Focus. The first was a 2011 which I loved. Great mileage, handled well and reasonably priced. I traded in the 2011 for a 2014. Initially I felt once again I'd purchased a reliable mid-size sedan which handled well, had great mileage, was comfortable, roomy and in my opinion a classy looking car. Approximately 17,000 miles in I started having acceleration issues. The car would jerk and was slow to get up to speed when accelerating. I had a scary situation when I was going up a ramp in a parking garage and it felt like the car was going to lose power and roll backwards. The sputtering and jerking usually starts after driving the car for a while. I've had the car inspected by a Ford Dealer and was told I needed the clutch assembly replaced. That was over a month ago. I contacted the dealer today and was told that clutch assembly parts have been ordered for many customers and none of the parts have been delivered by Ford. With all the complaints I don't understand why it's taking so long for the parts to be delivered. I have no choice but to drive my car everyday but I have to say the complaints I've read make me very leery. I'm also disappointed in the customer service and customer outreach due to I was never contacted by Ford or received any notification regarding the transmission issues. It was only after I heard about a report on my local news and I started doing some investigation on my own. When I purchased my 2nd Ford I could see myself being a Ford customer for many years to come; now I'm not so sure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2 transmissions in one month

Yolando, 07/30/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

My husband and I purchased a 2014 Ford Focus from Sunrise Ford in North Hollywood on February 20th, 2016. In April, the transmission light and a message gave me 5 minutes to pull over. The message read that the car was overheating. Transmission message appeared. I was traveling up a hill off Laurel Canyon. You could hear the gears every time you drove up a hill. I was in bumper to bumper traffic. The car was also rolling backwards. I know how that feels because I know how to drive a stick. It was a very hot day. Which is a trigger for the transmission. We took the car back to Sunrise. First, we were told that it was a computer chip malfunction. A module message. They said don't worry about it. It's a common message. Then we were given an appointment to replace the clutch and seals. The appointment was so far out because they were backed up due to so many appointments to repair transmissions. We dropped the car off on June 14. They had the car for 4 days. While they had the car we ask them to fix the windshield wipers and the speaker panel. We notice that in the early part of July the dashboard was malfunctioning. I have photos. The gas hand wouldn't move and the gas numbers, mileage numbers, degrees, and radio stations were jumping all over the place. The AC stop working properly. A few days ago we were approached by Sunrise to buy back our car. He said that the car had built up equity. My husband asked him how is that possible because it hasn't been 6 months yet. They offer us a lower payment and interest. My husband said no because it's a buy back scam buy Ford. Last night the car started to jerk, it wouldn't get out of first gear. We got the car home. It wouldn't start nor reverse. We had to push the car into our parking spot. The transmission service light is on. The car was making a rumbling sounds even though it was turned off. We picked up the car on after they replaced the transmission again. Guess what? The Gear is locked. I found out from an auto fraud attorney that the Sunrise is suppose to disclose to customers the issues with the transmission. I was told by a lemon law attorney and the fraud attorney that the car will never run correctly. When we dropped our car off the second time for service we came across frustrated owners dropping off their car for repairs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

AVOID FORD FOCUS

Harry Jenkins, 12/10/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2014 Ford Focus it is in the garage for the third time for transmission problems. Ford built it knowing they had bad transmissions. Auto-nation Bradenton Fl sold it to me knowing there was problems. The salesmen sold it to me knowing it had problems. Ford the dealer and salesman all lied to me and are immoral,unethical. Ford had to buy back my car. Thank God very unhappy with car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Bad transmissions - Ford will not fix the problem

Leslie, 12/22/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Please take time to Google the transmission problems Ford has caused with the Focuses and Fiestas. I have a 2014 Focus, and had to have my transmission repaired after owning the car for just a few months. The car lurches forward on its own, stalls when you're trying to accelerate, and is generally dangerous to drive. Ford switched to "automatic dual clutch" transmissions in these cars, saying they help with fuel economy. They are dangerous. I've been calling my dealership for four months since the problems came back, and every time I call they say that Ford won't send them the parts to repair these transmissions. Ford is choosing not to fix this. Buyer beware. Update: Happy to have sold this car and moved on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Unforeseen Transmission Problems

C Alan, 07/24/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I didn't like the transmission in my new 2014 Ford Focus the first time I test drove the car. I was told by my Ford dealer that it was a new system that would "adjust to my driving." It was fine for the first 7,500 miles but soon after it started to shutter, rumble, and vibrate at stops and jump while going into second gear. I haven't noticed any problems on the highway but in reading the other reviews, I'm scared. I just brought car in to the dealership where I bought it and they didn't appear to be upfront about the problems. When I badgered them, they told me the transmission was on an extended warranty and they have heard about the Focus's transmission problems. When I asked about a technical service bulletin regarding the transmission, they were once again quiet. They called me to say they weren't "experiencing anything too bad" and they would see if it met "Ford's specifications." I don't care if the car meets Ford's specifications or not. I am upset. I bought a new car and I expected it to work with a fully functional transmission and the dealership can tell me all day that there's nothing they can do because the car meets Ford's specifications. I'm not going to stop until I have a car that works like it should. If I could got back in time 11 months and tell myself to buy a Honda Fit, I would.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Second Guessing My Purchase

Fran C., 04/17/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This is about the transmission shuddering issue. Otherwise beside the interior not having a lot of storage space I really love my car. I bought my car last May and have not even reached 10k. After a few months I noticed this noise the car was making. Clunking/Clicking when Driving/Acceleration. I brought it to the dealer I got it from and had to wait 3 days for them to test drive to verify my claims. It took a few days to fix and all seemed well until this morning when I thought I heard the noise start up again. Not bad but enough to make me worry. I am due for my 10k service so I will talk to them about it. I heard through websites and other sources these cars are noted for transmission issues. I will update this post if anything changes. If you are having the same problem do not wait, bring it in and have them fix it. Transmissions are $$$$$$$$ !!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

lemon lemon lemon

mavoiture2014, 05/03/2015
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Transmission is terrible! It hesitates, jerks, jumps, shudders and is unsafe. I bought this car brand new and the issues are becoming increasingly worse. I have had it in for repairs and the service center assured that it only needed "reset". It operated slightly better for two weeks. Then warning lights appeared stating that the transmission was too hot. So there I was with a brand new car and left stranded in a traffic jam. I purchased this car to alleviate stress of car problems and for the safety ratings. I made a terrible choice.

Report Abuse

Shuttering Take Offs

Penny Boyles, 06/05/2016
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

My 76 year old mom bought her a Ford Focus brand new. The road noise was terrible - to the point you couldn't hear the person sitting next to you talk. Cresent Ford in High Point NC kept saying there was nothing wrong. I went to the dealership with her and after much conversation and driving the model above - Ford Focus Hatchback - she decided to trade. She got an extended warranty to cover the car during the entire loan. Now this car is doing the same thing and more. The road noise has increased - similar to the previous Focus. In addition, the car has a shuttering when you excel from a stop. We took it back and after several months waiting on a part - the dealership fixed the problem (so they said). It has only been a couple of months and the shuttering has started AGAIN!!!! I'm going back with her again. They are going to fix this car or give her one that doesn't do it. Dealership wouldn't make it right. They said it was "normal" and was not anything that needed repair. If that was the case, why did they try to fix something that wasn't broke? We was able to work with another Dealership - Modern Nissan - in a trade. She now drives a Toyota Camry and is thrilled to be rid of her Ford headache

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2014 focus se auto Trans slipping

Larry benton, 01/14/2016
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Our focus automatic transmission is having problems. It hesitates and slips when shifting from a stop.. dealer gave price of 1200.00 to install new clutch.. 500 miles over warranty. What a joke... The ford salesman said all ford focus shift that way when we test drove it...lied so he could get a sale...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Focus Titanium I finally made Ford take it back!

datman510, 09/10/2014
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

On my last review after careful consideration I chose the 2014 Ford Focus. DO NOT MAKE MY MISTAKE. Shortly after 8,000 miles the car began to exhibit odd transmission shifts. It became an impediment to drive smoothly and reliably. When I took the car back to Ford they told me it was known issue since 2011. The car visited the dealership so many times I lost count. At one point it spent 45 days at the dealership without a remedy to the problem. Somehow after re-booting the computer it also lost the function of the wipers. Two Ford Master techs and a Engineer were brought to resolve the issue and they were not able to. When I did my research I found out that there was a class action lawsuit with regards to the issues. The transmission shutters, grinds, and shifts erratically. Sometimes when you press on the gas pedal nothing happens. Then suddenly without any warning it takes off when you take the foot of the pedal. Ford has been putting the same transmission on Focus and Fiestas since 2011. The 2017 Focus is also getting the same transmission so beware. It amazes me that Ford would continue to put the transmission on 2017 models. After a long period of negotiating with Ford I applied the Florida Lemon Law to my car and Ford agreed to return all my moneys except for mileage. So I didn't loose all my money and I certainly received way more than trading it in or selling it to someone else. I wouldn't do that to anyone else anyways. The market is saturated with used Ford Focus's. Wonder why? They are worthless cars. Every time I pass one on the road I feel sorry for the driver. Every time I approach a Ford Focus driver and in a friendly way I ask how do you like your Focus, they all tell me the car has issues and they are not happy. Shame on you Ford!!! I gave you a chance. You lost me completely as a customer. So much for my first Ford. If Ford is still using the same transmission on the 2017 Focus it must be because they don't care about their customers. Shame on the the regulatory government entities that allow a manufacturer to continue to do this to the consumer. Final thought, Stay AWAY from the FORD FOCUS! If you have one get ride of it ASAP! It is now 2019 when I am updating this post. Happy to say I have purchased two new vehicles since 2017. One for my wife and one for me. Neither is a Ford. Both have been great cars without issues. Ford will never ever see me coming again. Consumer trust and satisfaction is earned. Ford didn't care then and doesn't care now. The transmission that was in my Ford is still being used on Ford Fiesta and Focus models. Do your homework before you buy a Ford compact sedan.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

ford focus misery

Diana, 10/06/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Shutters at every acceleration from a stop has a hard time picking up speed entering freeway

Safety
Performance
Reliability
Report Abuse

transmission nightmare

C Rowland, 12/10/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

My 2014 ford focus has become the biggest purchase regret. Just to start i live in ga with one of the strictest lemon laws. My transmission started having issues around 25,000 miles just outside of the lemon law guidelines. Our family car has been in the shop 6 times in seven months. Total days in shop over 75 days. Our ford dealership says repairs done are only according to ford motorcompany guidelines. They are only as good as what they are given. This was my answer the service manager gave me. Contacted ford and was given a refernce number to have a customer service manager to call me. She did.. Told i would hear back after she spoke with dealership manager. Over a course of three weeks and leaving her three voicemails i never heard back. Fourth week i made contact. She actually answered the phone. I asked why???? Her reply....i need to advise you your lemon law in the state of ga. There is nothing we can do for you. I was blown away! Now i have contacted the bbb auto line. No help lemon law in ga is one of the strictest i was told. We will contact ford for you but u are really at a loss. I drive a ford truck as well and love it. It will be my last. Buyer beware.... Ford did not back this customer. The ford vehicles i own now will be my last.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

omg me too

Paula C Bowden, 12/30/2015
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

so like everyone else I'm having transmission problems and I wish I'd read this before buying. I went from a Honda to a ford. sigh. it's dangerous. been repaired 3 times. I want to know how 'reasonable' and 'safety' are defined by the California lemon law.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford Focus are for crap 2014

Juan Santana Jr., 12/29/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My Ford Focus is a 2014 and having problems since the day I bought it with a recall on the Transmission and yes they Fixed it because its covered under our warranty, been having oil changes there at the dealership where I purchased this car and the recent oil change that I had done now has a oil leak and now the transmission is acting up again. I will be complain to Ford company and getting all the info I need and getting to see if I can get the Refund on the Lemon Law.. Very sad that we have to spend so much on these cars and they are crap and not to mention that the mileages on these are for crap as well. Now we need to take it in again for the transmission, keeps on slipping,, What the Heck is going on here, This car is a Lemon

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Clutch

Darlene Herald, 02/05/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

From the moment I purchased this car (which is an automatic) there was a shuddering when you stopped at a red light or stop sign and accelerated after the stop. When I finally called in August 2015 after I told them what the car was doing it took me two months to get in to have them diagnose the problem because as I was told this was a problem with this model. Once I got it looked at in October 2015 I was told it was the clutch as they had suspected. They returned the car to me and I was told 4 to 6 weeks to get the part in. In middle to late December 2015 I called to see if the part was in and NO. I was number 30 on the list (so there are 30 cars before mine that are waiting on this part) Called in late January 2016 to see about the part and NO part for my car yet I am number 23 on the list. In the meantime I continue to drive this car which shudders and sputters every time I drive it wondering if this is going to be the time that it will shudder and sputter until it dies and I am left stranded. Call a 1-800-392-3673 number I was told to contact to see why I cant't get this part for my car. This is a KNOWN problem with this car. Google it and you will be amazed at the problems they have with this car. I can't believe Ford isn't manufacturing this part faster than this so this can be repaired and that they continue to sell this car (It's just not with this model year. If you go online it with this model in general). This is the first Ford I have ever purchased and you can count on it that it will be the last. Customer service by Ford in manufacturing the part and getting out to the dealership (at least the dealership I am dealing with keeps telling me they are getting about 3 parts per week from Ford) so these repairs can be made is terrible. I am truly disappointed that I purchased this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Troubling Transmission!!!!

Becky, 07/12/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have had trouble with my transmission since day one. Shuttering and shaking. Dealership told me it just needed to get some miles on it and it would smooth out. No such luck. Took it back. Had to have a new clutch put in. The shuttering and shaking continued. The dealership really doesn't want to help me. They have excuses about each episode I have had with the transmission. The car even started to roll backwards at a stop sign. This should NEVER happen. New clutch again. Now, we are on our third clutch and the problem isn't fixed. WHY???? Ford people - hello??? are you reading these reviews? You have a major problem with your transmissions in this car. Help! Update: 1/12/2017 Still having trouble!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Automatic Trans is TERRIBLE

dobber10, 03/30/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

CAr has approx 13,000 miles on it and the transmission shutter/slipping is getting progressively worse. Dealer will not even talk about repairing it even though it didn't do it at time of purchase. They say it works the way it is suppose to and the service guy says they know it gets that way. Dealer should make people aware of the poor design before they buy it. I am investigating lemon laws to see what can be done but again, the dealer will not even accept an appointment to see if they can fix it. They stick to the position it is normal. We are in our 60's and this is not the first car we have even owned -- but it will be the last Focus we ever consider and possibly Ford's in general.

Report Abuse

Worst Mistake I ever made

Jamie, 04/02/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought my focus brand 2014 new and have had nothing but problems with it, 4 times in the shop over the shutter issue the last time I was waiting over 3 months for the clutch to be replaced due to back order part. I was scared driving this car the way it jerked when trying to take off. I finally got FMC on the phone and told them i do not feel safe at all driving this car. With in 2 weeks my part was sent to the dealer and the new clutch was installed. I am not holding my breath that it will not happen again from what I have been seeing from other owners.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford should be ashamed

Dale Smith, 09/12/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!!!! The dual clutch transmission is a joke. Ford has had chronic problems with this for 5 years yet they continue to produce this transmission. The transmission has as much trouble getting in and out of 1st gear as a 15 year old with a learner's permit. I honestly can't tell what the 2.0L engine can do because whenever you jump on the gas the transmission hesitates trying to figure out what gear to use or the clutch starts slipping as you are trying to merge into a tight spot on the freeway. I drove the car for 2 painful years and just traded it in for a Prius. With 29K miles I only got half what I paid for it and I consider myself lucky to have gotten that much. I will never buy a Ford again!!!

Technology
Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Same 'ol, same 'ol

Tisaac, 10/25/2015
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have a 2014 Focus Titanium...colossal mistake. With less than 15k miles I learned through my own investigation after having problems with the lower gears that there was a recall on the transmission! Took it in for repair to find that they also needed to order a new clutch assembly...8-12 week back order. Apparently this is a major problem! I have only had the car for one year and am already looking for a replacement. UPDATE: I had to just give it up and trade it in. The service agents were not able to give me a permanent resolution.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Focus transmissions are bad

Do not buy Focus or Fiesta, 11/28/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Do not buy. Period.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Gave it up

Charles W, 03/05/2016
Titanium 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Dissatisfied with driveability of th car and traded it for a new car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

terrible transmission

Jeff Traylor, 03/15/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Do not fall for Ford's claim about an extended warranty. This thing shudders all over the road but unless it meets certain transmission slippage rates (set of course by ford ) the warranty does not cover it. This car makes a drive to the corner grocery store a beating and takes any joy out of driving. You've been warned- don't buy any Ford, but especially not this one.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Excellent Car! Except...

John Donne, 11/09/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

When I first saw and drive the car I instantly fell in love with it. It was cool, fun,sporty, smooth and solid. I bought it (used) right away thinking I just got a very great deal and a great car. But right away I was finding the car to have really strange transmission feel. When I was test driving it the transmission felt like like a munual. I just assumed it reved high because it was a sport car. It felt sporty. But later on after I bought the car I started notice some jerking when starting from a stop. With all this going on I decided to do some research on the car and transition. I didn't realize it was a dual clutch transmission (automated manual) when I bought the car. This explained the manual feel of it. After that I when on a drive to test the transmission and I was terrible, rough starts, jerking up hill, weird reving. I read reviews on here and everyone says the same thing. Lemon transmission. Dual clutches tend to be not a smooth as tradition manuals but this one is just awful. I can't believe ford would put a transmission this terrible in a car this day and age. My advice to you...just spend the extra money and get a Mazda 3 of corolla. Luckily my dealer offers a 3 day return policy. I will be sadly returning this car at once.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do not buy Ford Focus!!!

Erwin Rempola, 11/20/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I made a big mistake buying my 2014 Ford Focus Hatchback Titanium. I bought this car brand new. After a year, it started to shake or jerk al low speed. It is so bad that I felt unsafe driving the car. I took the car to the Ford Dealership at Capitol Ford of San Jose, California for service and nothing happened. They have my car for 8 days now and they have not fix anything yet. One of the service advisor said that Ford have no fix for this issue. There have been a lot of lawsuit against Ford about Ford Focus and Ford Fiesta. Before you buy Ford please check online for Ford Transmission issue. I don't know what to do with my Ford Focus. Ford has not issued a recall for Ford Focus and Ford Fiesta (2011-2014). I cannot believe a company so big like Ford will not issue a recall. They would rather fight the lawsuit or wait until someone dies driving Ford Focus until they finally admit that there is something wrong with their cars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford Focus is the worst car I have ever owned.

VMT, 07/13/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

This model has a dual clutch and it starts "shuddering" around the 7k mark. I was told by the dealership that it needed a new clutch (warranty) so a new clutch was put in. After another 7k miles the new clutch started doing the same thing. Took it back to the dealership and they said the PCM/TCM software needed updating. Ok... but it didn't fix it the problem. A second clutch was put in. It took 3 months to get the new clutch and have it put in because there were over 50 people ahead of me! A third clutch was just put in at 36k miles. WHY didn't the dealership tell/warn buyers so we could make an informed decision??? WHY can't the dealership get in a clutch that will fix the issue permanently? WHY don't they just give us a new transmission without the dual clutch??? This car is a P.O.S. and not surprising, despite the "Ford" name.. it isn't considered American made! Update 2017: Awaiting my 4th clutch in 3 years. Terrible car. After a bit of research online I discovered this clutch issue apparently has been going on with Ford Focus' since the 2011's. So, attempted to have Ford buy the car back, they said no, and won't say why? It was well within the limits of the "lemon law". AND!!! Since dealers know about the Ford Focus clutch issues, the vehicle is not valued at what it should be for a 2 year old car! This car is a piece of CRAP!!! Do NOT Buy a Ford FOCUS! Update:. Still have the car. Clutch problem finally fixed and haven't had to change it in a year.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Consider other makes or another Ford product

eric ericksen, 11/29/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

While I bought my 2014 in March 2015 it has continued to have issues with transmission and lurching forward or rolling backward. Cant have car that rolls backwards in San Francisco with its hills. Then if its on a steep hill and you accelerate it won't go... Same with merging from stop not freeway traffic or bridge. Not a safe vehicle and especially on freeway. Horrible resale value and because these are used as rental cars the market is flooded with them.. I paid 23000 for a fully loaded one with leather, heated seats, navigation... I traded it in with 9000 miles at Ford dealer on an Escape and was given 12000 for trade. If you buy one buy it used as no matter the mileage a less than 1 year Focus will cost 11-14k.. It did get very good mileage in its defense the interior quality was excellent ..

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Defective Transmission

M. Ross, 03/31/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Ford sold a car with a knowingly defective transmission. I now make car payments of a vehicle that lurches, shudders, jerks and drives like an old jalopy and their is nothing I can do about it. Ford does not have a fix for this issue and will continue to replace parts to keep the customer quiet. Buying this vehicle was the biggest mistake I have ever made. I should have bought a Kia.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lemon?

jeff295, 09/14/2014
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

After owning a Ford Focus EV for a year, I advise consumers to be very skeptical about them. I loved it at first, until the battery died several times at stop lights! We were told it needed a software update to fix the problem. That seemed to work for several months, until the battery died completely again. Having an almost brand new car and then having to deal with towing, figuring out how to get to work with out it, etc., is a tremendous hassle and downside. There are no substitute cars because substitutes won't be able to use the car pool lane. Dealers have very little knowledge about the Focus EV, which also is incredibly frustrating. Overall, a very bad experience with this car.

Report Abuse

Not Impressed at all

Hypan, 08/27/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The transmission is a pure failure. Shutters like crazy under standard acceleration. The dealership and Ford are reluctant to provide a viable solution to this problem. I fear this car wont last at all. It will literally start shaking itself to pieces. Very dangerous when turning into streets as it just shitters and wont accelerate. During my research I have concluded that most (if not all) of the recent Focus models with auto trans suffer from this horrendous issue. Ford has been less than helpful in getting this straightened out. Very disappointed in the overall performance of this model as the looks and interior are top notch. Just steer clear of this one and save yourself the headache.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

lemon...agreed!

IT_m1n10n, 09/26/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

totally wish I hadn't bought this and will never buy another car not at least three years old. all these reviews are true. the transmission shakes and jolts horribly and is crazy embarrassing when driving around friends or a date. I've also had three tires blow on mine in the last year and the tire pressure warning will keep coming on. I take it to Ford and they feed me the same crap, "oh not sure why this keeps happening but I'll look it up and for now I reset the warning light and yes, your tires are full so it shouldn't have done this". I mean really? There is no such thing as service or standing behind your product any longer. I am filing a suit as this car is a lemon and I hope a class action comes from it.

Report Abuse

Gas pedal get stuck and Transmission shakes

Red Ford Focus Se, 09/30/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought a Brand New red 2014 Ford Focus Se this early April 2015. It had 22 miles on it when I purchased it. Anyway, now it's a vehicle from hell. The Gas pedal gets stuck when I try to accelerate at any speed and when I put my foot on the gas pedal the car shakes. I'be been in for service over 3x. I took it the Elder ford dealership and they it's the transmission programming. Smh Also, the a/c sucks it doesn't blow out cold. And it's an part from under the front passenger side under the seat that is just sitting there like they forgot to finish putting the car together! I feel like I got a Lemon. I really want my money back or get another Ford Focus with less problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do not buy a 2014 Ford Focus

Christy, 10/05/2015
Titanium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I wish I would've read these reviews before I bought mine. I have a 2014 Ford Focus Titanium. It started shaking, grinding, all sorts of trouble around second gear. I have taken it in 3 times and Ford keeps giving me the run around. I cannot believe they are not making this right. I am in the process of a lemon law complaint. Take my advice - look elsewhere. I wish I would have.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

You get what you pay for

Ashley B, 10/31/2015
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This was my first "new" car purchase; bought it with 14 miles! At first it drives like a dream, but I quickly realized something wasn't right with the transmission. I was told by the dealership twice that there's no recall but there have been many complaints. They reset the computer in the car and sent me on my way each time, stating a new clutch would be needed eventually. The car jerks in stop and go traffic and it's awful! The other day while driving 40-45mph the RPMs shot up to 7000 for no reason, the car didn't actually go faster but you could feel something wasn't right while the car was shifting. It always makes awful grinding noises that you can clearly hear even when you're listening to music. On a positive note the steering and brakes work great, no issues there. Tight handling and stops instantly. The interior is clean and the monitors are nice. I do have issues with my SYNC that's built into the car sometimes. I love the design of the exterior. Great MPG I avg about ~32mpg. Bottom line is I'm in the market to trade in my Focus. It is a nice little starter car, but I can't get past these issues. I wish I would've done more in depth research before my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good for what it is, don't expect a luxury car.

Evan Waller, 11/05/2015
SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for the past 10 months. I did my research on this vehicle before I bought it and I knew what I was getting myself into by purchasing the DCT transmission. Not going to lie this car absolutely sucks in traffic. It lurches and lunges along however Its the best car ever on the highway. My job sometimes has me commute a lot all over the city (and state) and the car is very smooth on the highway. Acceleration isn't an issue and it gains speed quickly (quickly enough to merge and pass cars safely that is). Ive put on close to 15 thousand miles on it so far and I still really like it. I have the SE hatchback (in the very nice Tuxedo Black) great for hauling all the stuff I need. The back seat is very small but I rarely have people sitting back there for long so space isn't an issue. It also does surprisingly well in the snow. Being from southern Ohio I had to drive it in a lot of it this past winter and not once did i get stuck. I get great MPG and average 32 mixed driving (mostly city). I have learned to live with this car and I hope the car will last as Im ok with the DCT quirks but Ive heard mixed reviews about DCT reliability in general. UPDATE: Had clutches replaced twice and then the car just died on the road in April 2017. I really wanted to like this car but upset I dumped it at a Ford dealer where I traded for an Escape. I really didnt want to trade but the reliability had gotten so bad I knew I couldn’t afford warranty repairs once the warranty was up. Update: The DCT transmission is having serious issues. Owning the car now 15 months and over 19 thousand miles the shifting nearly stalls the car few times a trip. Ford is replacing my clutches but I won't get them until July or August as the wait time is 12-16 weeks on back order. Still like this car but I wish I bought a 5speed manual.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do not buy! Terrible transmission

T. Walston, 02/13/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I love the Bluetooth capabilities but this does not outweigh the transmission problems. The car shudders terribly especially upon take off in the city. It never happens on the highway. I bought it in Aug 2014. Since i have taken it to the dealership more than once to fix the problem. The transmission has been reprogrammed multiple times. They told me it is just aggravating and not a safety issue. From some the posts I've read that is not true. I'm trading this in asap!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

This car is JUNK

Jessica, 03/17/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have the same problem with the transmission as all the other 2014 Focus owners. I do not recommend this car to anyone! I know two others that have the same car and both had the same problem! I looked it up online and find this.. Seems to be the norm. POS car and very upset customer. Taking my car back to the dealer today for the 5th time!!!! Trading it in as soon as I can!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Waiting to get clutch repaired for over 8 months -

TR, 04/13/2016
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Ford sold a car with a knowingly defective transmission. The clutch slips, shutters and shakes the whole car. When I took it into the Dealer 8 months ago I was told they know about the problem and there are so many to repair and with the backlog, it would be months before they had a replacement clutch for my car. They added me to the the bottom of a very long list. The car is miserable to drive and I find it unbelievable that it takes over 8 months to get service parts when its a current model production vehicle. Ford's lack of customer support is atrocious. How much longer before I get the call that they are ready to replace/repair the clutch is unknown, I call about once a month to check the status and they always give the same answer; "we have so many we need to repair it will take a while to get to yours"

Performance
Report Abuse

Worse transmission

Joe, 05/30/2016
SE 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

The transmission on it is so poor if you rely on a car as much as I do you would probably stay away from this one. I was lucky I was not far from home. I was driving down the road and the transmission started slipping. I got home and had no reverse gear at all. That car left me completely stranded. Who ever`s idea of the PowerShift 6- speed transmission was, was not much of a contributor to Strategic Air Power like General Curtis E. Lemay. As soon as the space weather confirms its okay launch, call in an SLBM strike from a Ballistic Missile Submarine on a Ford Focus Power Shift 6 speed transmission facility from SSBN734. I would never want to drink the same water as [non-permissible content removed] over at the Ford Motor Company drinks. When I got my 2014 Ford Focus back, I noticed a splash guard missing from under the front of the car. I did not even have the car for two and a half years and the poor mechanical condition of the vehicle forced me to trade it in on July 5, 2017on a Mazda3. Those Ford dealers don`t want anything to do with their customers at the first sign of trouble. Ford motor company must be an extremely adulterated UFOologist. No, more UFO$ for Ford Motor Company. Take the brawl with Ford Motor Company into outer space. I am telling you those idiots that work for the Ford Motor Company have as much physical training as a 8 year-old kid. I would never buy a Ford ever again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050