Used 2008 Chrysler Aspen Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,431 - $7,168

Used Aspen for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Fantastic SUV!

IOJ, 10/14/2010
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

We've had this vehicle for almost 2 years now and I have to say that is CERTAINLY the best SUV we have ever had! We have had Durangos in the past-- although nice they do not compare to the Aspen--especially in looks! The Aspen's ride is incredibly smooth! These vehicles do EXTREMELY well on snow and ice! We put 37K miles on our Aspen, and it has never had 1 problem of any kind. We have had Nissan Armadas in the past which only get 16- 17mpg on the highway whereas the Aspen gets 20 mpg. With the towing capacity and luxury you get for such a low price, I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a completely reliable, luxurious, and high quality SUV for a reasonable price.

Report Abuse

this not your grandpa's 1970's era dodge aspen

Tracy Brown, 10/07/2016
Limited 4dr SUV (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

total luxary, lazy boy type driving comfort, decades of chrysler realiable hemi power, years of lasting body styling on a dodge ram chassis, engineering dependabilty, what more can I tell.........60 years of purchasing more than 35 various cars/trucks, and this chrysler aspen, is most definately the very best that I have yet to own............I bought it for my birthday in 2007, and I still own it and still enjoy driving it every day.............. updated 4.12.2017 by Tracy Brown........well, readers, I still own my Chrysler Aspen Limited 5.7L Hemi RWD.........and I like it more today than before my last review..........I probably have the last Aspen Standing..........Chrysler put a gazzillion dollars into the Dorango Makeover, and they will never but never re-coup that money on the DOGG of a Dorango !!!! I would have, had I been Chrysler, never badged this SUV the Aspen.........I would have dumped the dorango brand, and re-upted the badge of the long time ago, Chrysler luxo finned crusier the " Imperial " its was pure luxary..........and I would have marketed this (ASPEN) as the Imperial, and aimed it directly at the GM's Caddy Esclade, and the Ford Lincoln Navigator, and brought back the rivarly of the "Big 3" auto makers from the 1960's and 1970's......there have only been two men in the automotive business ever, that were geniuss, Mr. Henry Ford and the great Lee Iococa !!!! everybody since those two men, and even up to this date.........could not walk and chew gum at the same time........ok ok put the tomatos you are about to throw at me down please .......... I am only talking about domistice car makers.........gezzzz give a guy a break. Tracy Brown 10.13.2017 update..........I was right with this review then, and the review stands firm of/for my Chrysler SUV is even more worthy of high praise today.......and I have the support of the worlds finest and most all around knowledgable mechanic...............because my daddy told me way back when..........son, get yourself a good heart specialist, and a great mechanic..............words of wisdom for the ages for any car guy.............lol Tracy Brown and on to a 10.13.2018 update........well I am still right about the above review.......however Mr. Chrysler threw me a curve......on the lifetime warranty.........they decided not to send me the manditory 5 year renewal notice to have my aspen inspected by the dealership..........and so my warranty will not be renewed by chrysler........the little back stabbing lieing cheating theiving pricks.......and then there is the totally negative bias from the slimy little creepy people at carfax, a few key strokes from those ignorate num nuts cost me $4000 in equity on a $150 dollar insurance claim from a parking lot incident with my aspen, while I was in the store shopping..........man o man do I hate carfax for sure they made this tiny tiny little incident sound like a huge roll over 6 times at a nascar race !!!!! but, I'm good to go for another few years, but I will never but never when the time comes, ever purchase another chrysler product ! a company who cheats its customers, just for the fun of it, any maybe a couple of dollars and maybe not, but that company Chrysler does not earn loyalty from me, and should not from you either. tracy brown well its 4/15/2020 and time to again to update my previous reviews, by adding that I still own it, I still use it as my daily driver, I still love it , its big, fast, and beautiful, and dependable, reliable, and drives like a brand new luxo cruiser, and still looks like fresh 2020 transportation just off the detroit assembly line........ 87003 miles and runs like top and purrs like a kitten until you open it up, then you get to power and the roar of the big cat...........I love it then and I love it now......... tracy brown well its 10.15.2020 and time to update you with my continuing review and remarks........it was time for a little touch-up paint on the ol girl, but wouldn't you know it the jerrrks at chrysler presented me with another curve ball to chase around ..........lol the early built Aspens have one paint code for my cognac pearl coat (red/maroon) and the later built SUV's have a different paint code no body seems to know what is what everybody uses the later code thinking that is it only because its the only paint code listed however the color is different so you have to literally become a paint detective to find the correct paint color paint code if you own a early model painted Aspen.......I love my truck and absolutely hate the company that built it, and if you own one of these truly great vehicles then you know exactly what I am talking about.......your pal, tracy hay all you covid crazies out there its April 2021 please get your vaccination.........its finally happened I have rolled over 91K and 14 years on the job and things are wearing out.........alternator, real main seal, shocks, brakes, washer pump, key fob more later..

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Completely Fantastic SUV-already own 3!

Jim Chalon, 10/25/2010
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
21 of 23 people found this review helpful

I bought my first Aspen in 2008 brand new. So far I've driven it 40k and it has NEVER had any problems of any kind! After owning it for 2 years I bought 2 more. The ride is extremely quiet and smooth and seats are comfortable. Leather interior is VERY high quality. Gas mileage is great at 22 mpg on the highway. This vehicle does VERY, VERY well on snow and ice. I tow a large boat and haul 6-7 adults with it regularly. Handling is SUPERB! When I found out they were going to be discontinued, I bought 2 more. All 3 have never had any problems. I would certainly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, large, high quality, luxury SUV.

Report Abuse

Great truck for the money!

cvh, 02/18/2009
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

When I first saw the Aspen, I had no idea what kind of truck it was. Chrysler does not advertise it, but am I glad I found it! We purchased a limited 5.7L Hemi and couldn't be happier with the performance. Compared to the Chevrolet trucks, you get a lot of nice extra features for the money! We love the heated leather seats, navigation system, rear DVD, Sirius radio, and roomy third row seats. Gas mileage not great, but we didn't expect it to be. The ride is smooth and quiet and the pick-up is outstanding. We previously owned a Chevrolet truck and I would never buy another one after finding the Aspen. It's a great buy!

Report Abuse

8 years, 85k miles, 0 problems

Greg, 05/18/2016
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

After eight years and 85k miles, I've not had a single problem with my Aspen. It has not a squeak or rattle, and the engine still runs without a trace of vibration. The interior still cleans up like new after detailing even after eight years of kid/dog abuse. Our dog goes on the leather seats a lot and her nails haven't so much as scratched the leather. My factory brake pads lasted past 60k miles. The 5.7 Hemi doesn't exactly sip fuel, but it sure does tow when needed. Other than seeing the trailer in the rear view mirror, I can hardly tell I'm towing at all. Off road handling has been good on mountain dirt roads and beach sands. Other than scheduled maintenance and battery changes, I've not had to shell out a dime's worth of maintenance for the Aspen. AC is still as strong as ever; no seals, gaskets, belts or hoses have needed replacing; no degradation from wear and tear yet other than cosmetic items. As the original owner with a lifetime power train warranty, I don't see much incentive to replace the Aspen any time soon.

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: