Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$34,600

Save as much as $1,805
Select your trim:
12345...16

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 Silverado 1500, so we've included reviews for other years of the Silverado 1500 since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
    Cons
    1 out of 5 stars

    Catastrophic ENGINE FAILURE 2021 Trail Boss Chevro

    Waiveringloyalist, 08/28/2021
    updated 03/04/2022
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT Trail Boss 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 6.6 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 10A)
    140 of 145 people found this review helpful

    2 TRUCKS - 90,000 TOTAL MILES - 1 FAILED ENGINE - 1 FAILED TRANSMISSION. After my 2017 GMC Sierra dropped its poorly engineered, and now discontinued 8 speed transmission at 74,000 easy hwy miles, my 2021 Silverado 1500 Trail Boss LT now has a catastrophic engine failure with only 16,000 miles. GM is breaking my heart. I have always been a GM loyalist. Both my grandfathers spent their entire careers working for GM. Nothing else has ever been allowed in the driveway. Seriously. Today, I am sadly rethinking that position. Let me detail my latest experience (still underway): - Repeated engine lights kick "service exhaust warning". - Take into the dealership who gives it back to me saying they followed the GM bulletin and could not service the vehicle because they could not get the issue to duplicate within 50 miles. - More engine lights. Make another appointment at dealership - Two days before appointment the lifters on one side of engine ail. Vehicle is undriveable. Service emergency brake light comes on. Service traction control comes on. Service ABS brakes comes on. - GM reported faulty parts on the engine's lifters, but will only fix the side that has already failed. They told me if it had failed with less miles on it then they would of replaced both sides. Remember I brought it in once already and they gave it back to me - "nothing wrong". Today it only has 16k miles on it. - So... I call GM. 3 Days to get my case advanced to a case manager - Shrazondalyn (who is very nice but neutered in her ability to help me) - I request a replacement engine or both sides of the engine's lifters replaced. 7 more days waiting on a response.... no call. - Call Shrazondalyn back who informs me my request for a new engine or full lifter replacement bas been denied. - My case is still open today waiting on a second "escalation" request which I've already been informed will take 2 to 4 more business days to get a response, and will likely result in the same denial of a proper repair, and that I will not be able to speak with the actual staff member making the decision. So where does that leave me... It leaves me with a brand new truck whose other lifters are likely to fail and leave me stranded on the road. It leaves me with a potentially damaged cam that will fail in another 10 - 15,000 miles and again leave me on the side of the road. It leaves me in a position where I am forced to sell the truck, or pay myself to fix it properly. The dealership quoted me $3500 to replace the other side of the engine's lifters. I am broken. Last year I forked out $4400 to replace a transmission, and now after patronizing GM and purchasing what I thought would be a reliable 2021 Silverado Trail Boss, I am left with the option of another huge vehicle expense or a forced sale of my truck. I am terribly disappointed in not only my personal experience, but discouraged by the the response of a company I have chosen to support my entire adult life. I currently own three GM vehicles, but if they don't get this one right, I am afraid it will be my last three. UPDATE: I sold it and bought a Tundra with the old and reliable 5.7

    Safety
    1 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    1 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    4 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    1 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    1 out of 5 stars

    Be Cautious!!!!

    Shawn, 05/03/2021
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT Trail Boss 4dr Crew Cab 4WD 5.8 ft. SB (5.3L 8cyl 10A)
    121 of 129 people found this review helpful

    The problems started with just 300 miles with A/C issues. I have had my Trail Boss 5.3l since December 2nd, and it has been in the shop 7 times. It has been in for A/C issues 5 times, purge valve once, and then a lifter failure which damaged 2 injectors and bent 2 push rods. Needless to say with just 6700 miles on it, I got rid of it. GM has no answers for the A/C issues and there are multiple trucks in the shop with lifter failures.

    Safety
    4 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    4 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    4 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    1 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    1 out of 5 stars

    Bad lifters

    Mell, 05/26/2021
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Work Truck 4dr Crew Cab 6.6 ft. SB (4.3L 6cyl 6A)
    80 of 86 people found this review helpful

    Have a new 2021 Silverado and engine stared with a ticking sound then went to a knocking sound then every light on the dash came on Check engine traction control brakes transmission everything so we brought it to the dealer they said it was a bad lifter her car is been there for five weeks now I know there’s more issues with the car than that lifter the sound of the engine was so bad

    Safety
    2 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    3 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    4 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    1 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    Advertisement
    Build Your 2024 Silverado 1500
    At a Glance:
    • 10 Colors
    • 1 Trim
    • 6 Packages
    • $36,800starting MSRP
    Build & PriceChevrolet.com
    The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges . Dealer sets the final price.

    1 out of 5 stars

    Check engine problems do not buy

    Darnell , 04/17/2021
    updated 04/25/2022
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT 4dr Crew Cab 6.6 ft. SB (2.7L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
    103 of 112 people found this review helpful

    I have a 2021 Chevrolet Silverado and I have been to the dealership 3 time with issues with my check engine light coming on with less then 3000 miles on the truck. Each time I go it’s the same code. They tell me we could not find any issues so we just reset the light. I am sick of this truck I will be going back to the dealership in the morning due to the fact my check engine light is back on for the 4th time in less then 3 months.

    Safety
    4 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    2 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    2 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    2 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    2 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    1 out of 5 stars

    8speed tranny terrible!!!!

    Glenn, 05/19/2021
    updated 05/19/2022
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Custom 4dr Crew Cab 5.8 ft. SB (4.3L 6cyl 6A)
    92 of 101 people found this review helpful

    Started noticing a intermittent vibration/shutter at about 4,000 miles when gently giving it gas. It has about 9,000 miles on it now and does it all the time. It's a 2.7l 4cyl. Has been to 3 dealers, 1 dealer twice. TheY magically say there's nothing wrong with it. One dealer did say yea I noticed it but, that's because it's a 4cyl. Every person that rides in it asks mE why it's doing that. I feel like I'm being lied to by the dealers just so they don't have to fix it. I absolutely hate driving this truck!!!!! Only kept it for 6 months do not but v8 or or any with 8speed tranny!!!

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    2 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    3 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    3 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    2 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    12345...16
    Items per page: