Skip to main content

Used 2020 Acura TLX Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$23,997 - $42,000

Used TLX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2020 TLX, so we've included reviews for other years of the TLX since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Don't listen to Edmunds, A-Spec package is a must!

Zoomn, 01/19/2019
updated 01/25/2021
2019 Acura TLX A-Spec Red 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 8AM)
46 of 49 people found this review helpful

This is my third Acura in a row. I've now had a 2013 TSX Special Edition, 2016 TLX 2.4 Tech and now this 2019 TLX A-Spec Red 2.4. While I have always been a fan of and owned many Hondas and Acuras over the years, this one is my favorite by a pretty fair margin. All of that said, the biggest improvement of this TLX over my '16 is the A-Spec package. While my '16 was a nice enough car, it was simply not exciting, or as engaging to drive. This one blends the best of both worlds that my TSX and previous TLX occupied. It has the crispness and interior cache of the TSX with the refinement and comfort of my last TLX. Where the 2.4 Tech was bland, the A-Spec package makes the car not only better looking, but more fun to drive. From the interior all of the way to the exterior enhancements, this car gets allot of compliments. And the A-Spec package runs more than skin deep. The suspension, while by no means harsh, gives a more connected feeling to the driving experience. As I had been satisfied with the 4 cylinder model, I was glad to see the A-Spec model expanded to that engine offering. While not as smooth and powerful as the V6, the 8 speed DCT does an admirable job of delivering good performance with gas mileage that not only exceeds the EPA estimates, but is quite good for this size of sedan. So, to wrap all of this up, anyone looking for an extremely well equipped, comfortable near performance sedan, this car is for you! Update: still driving and enjoying this car! The gas mileage, while not quite as good as my last TLX, is still respectable for a car this size. And performance from the 4 cylinder, while sometimes a bit underwhelming, is pretty snappy in no small part due to the nearly-superb DCT. Handling still impresses. The A-Spec suspension and PAWS makes this car a blast to push deep into corners. My lease is up in October and if I don't buy this one out, I may very well be looking at the all-new TLX. Stay tuned.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great value among the sea of 4cyl entry levels

don, 12/31/2019
2020 Acura TLX 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I looked at the current entry level sedans and what appealed to me is the safety tech that is not even standard on the Germans and you get a naturally aspirated V6. You can get this car cheaper than a 180hp Audi A4 and the bmw 330i with more standard equipment. The seats are comfortable for long commute and you are paying about $100 less per month.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2020 TLX V6 with Tech Package

Rick Reyn, 10/31/2019
2020 Acura TLX 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
40 of 43 people found this review helpful

Our previous two cars were a 2006 TSX and a 2016 TLX V6 with Tech Package. Prior to the 2006, we had a BMW 528i (so there is a suitable comparison). First, it's hard not to end up buying another Acura when you lease it. Unfortunately, their product line is limited and so is your selection. This is my wife's car and she loved the 2016. I've seen every manufacturer's white sedan offering and no, the TLX is not the sexiest. But it does have attractive styling and when compared to most, it holds its own. The wheels are gray so that white on black wheel look is present when you're rolling. The tail pipes and grill are good updates, although the 2016 without the pipes exposed had a "ground effects" look. The interior is EXACTLY the same, except for upgraded leather upholstery with striping in the 2020 model. One thing I'll say it's simple and sleek. No qualms. The info center. Well my vehicle is a 2013 4Runner. Anything's better, but it's my one solace in life, to be in a vehicle where I don't have to interact with an screen . My wife's has zero problems with it. Now I agree the transmission on the 2016 was a little jerky...until we put the car in permanent "sports" mode. Again, that's the answer with the 2020. Now I know I could have probably made due with the 2.4 L, but on our crazy expressway systems in Tampa, with, pardon the expression, idiots tailgating at 80 mph, I dearly love that raw power offered by the V6 as means of escape. This is no passing gear mind you. It's a cannon. It's like the power plant in the 528i. It's there if you need it and it will be effective. We have the AWS in the back, not AWD. To spend that kind of money for this car would not be wise, since there is a sweet spot for what you pay for this car, and the V6 may be the only frill you'd want. The ASpec is basically window dressing. Sportier, but look what you've got to work with. I'm the kind of guy that can get depressed when he reads all the lukewarm reviews about my car and that it's way outclassed, dated, pedestrian, etc. as a "luxury car." Know this, as someone who owned four previous Hondas, and the aforementioned Acuras, this is pretty much the end of the road, outside of the NSX. I asked my 68 year old salesman when we bought the 2016 "What kind of person buys an Acura?" He said "a thoughtful one."

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Who says the 4 cylinder is under powered?

Lee, 11/15/2019
2020 Acura TLX 4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl 8AM)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

Use the sport transmission mode and the power is more than adequate. Use sport 2 and you need to be on a race track. And paddle shifting gives you the transition choices. All the acceleration and torque you could ask for in this car, and I can exceed 31 mpg on the highway with radio and AC on in economy mode; normal mode in the city. The touch screen is till awkward in going from screen to screen; only area that needs improvement. I would trade the sunroof for a lower payment as it is never used. PS: the ILX should be replaced with a youthful hatchback for entry level drivers.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

LUXURY SPORT SEDAN with GREAT VALUE!!

altria7, 03/15/2020
updated 03/25/2022
2020 Acura TLX SH-AWD 4dr Sedan AWD w/Advance Package (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

This car is fantastic!! Let me say to many who believe it to be just a "High end Accord" drive one, there is a world of difference between the two. In Dec I traded my '17 Accord V6 Touring, this car handles way better, is quieter and heavier, and it rides nicer as well. Great handling with the SH-AWD...Only thing I liked better about the Accord was the rear seat legroom, this one is less in that department but still very comfortable for most. I prefer the 2 screen set up with the navigation having the upper screen, I absolutely HATE the stand up screens in most new vehicles as they look cheap and stuck on the dash as an afterthought. Everything works well and the build quality takes a back seat to none of the competition. I compared the MB C class, BMW 3 series, Lexus ES and Audi A6. First off as I have posted in other reviews that the TLX is NOT entry level luxury sedan, again if you want an entry level Acura sedan buy the ILX or perhaps the bare bones 4 cylinder TLX. The advance with V6 and all wheel drive is a totally different animal. The 3.5 V6 is super smooth and quick enough for me with 0-60 in the mid 5 second range. How much more do we really need? One suggestion is that you comply with Acura recommendation of burning Premium fuel. Dont cheap out on this as you will pay for it in the cars performance and repair bills later on down the road. If you can afford this car you can afford to burn premium. Cant say enough regarding my positives with this car, drive one for yourself, you may be surprised at the value for your hard earned dollar! UPDATE..March 24, 2022. Have to say I am extremely pleased with this car after over 2 yrs ownership. Zero regrets guys and gals!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: