Used 2007 Volkswagen GTI Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
134 reviews
List Price Estimate
$3,768 - $7,125

Used GTI for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.38 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive, Best All Around Vehicle

david gorospe, 11/29/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I've had other GTIs, a VR6 and a 1.8T. This MK5 by far is the best of them all. It has great torque, handling and comfort. The interior looks way more expensive than the competition. It is fun to drive. I added a new suspension and a chip. They make it handle and go even better. This car might cost a little bit more compared to Honda, Mini, others, but you have to pay for all the same extras that comes with the GTI. For real everyday driving this has the best overall, you will still love this car even after five or more years, think about that! My good friends that drive Fords and Acuras test drove my car and the absolutely loved it!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

125,000 Miles, Still Waiting for it to Go Wrong...

theahnzzz, 07/27/2015
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have to say, coming from a Lexus to this car, I mentally prepared myself for a host of problems and maintenance issues after hearing horror stories of people owning Volkswagens and Audis. But to my surprise, this has been the most reliable car I've ever owned. Change the oil, and the car is like brand-new again. I think that folks have issues VW's because unlike Japanese cars, you really should stick to the maintenance schedules otherwise I can imagine you have a lot of problems. This engine for example, eats oil so you really shouldn't go over the recommended oil change intervals. Having owned this car for almost 8 years now I can say that I've only had a few things go wrong with it, there was an issue VW fixed under and extended warranty for a particular part. The 90K service was the only thing I ever paid for it, but that was the only major maintenance I have ever done on this car so far. It was about $2K for that services. $2K in maintenance over almost 8 years is not bad at all... This really is the perfect everyday car for young people or retirees without kids or for kids who have left the nest. The best thing about this car is that it is quick and responsive. The clutch travel is short and the torque means you have instant responses to input which means you can get out of tight situations in traffic, pass with ease, squeeze through cars and obstacles, take tight turns with stability and confidence, and you have enough space to carry pretty much anything in the trunk and more if you fold the seats down. The ride is rigid for sure, but refined in the same way. It's very comfortable at highway speeds, but the car seems to get a bit more frazzled as you approach the top speed the more and more you go above 115 mph or so. What I love most about this car however is that it thinks about practical things about the driver of the car and has little nuances I've never seen in American cars or Japanese luxury cars. It, for example, will automatically engage the rear window wiper when your front wipers are on and you go into reverse. This is so you can see behind you (very thoughtful). It also allows you to lock the car with the remote before closing the door so you can get your groceries out and close the door without worry about engaging the lock button with your hands full. Besides that it's got a great stereo and great xenon lights. It's such an awesome and well thought out car! The weaknesses of this car largely have to do with it's size. Because it's light, small, and quick, it's not terribly great at being a car for all seasons and not my ideal car for the long road trip (especially if you have 1 or more passengers). The cabin space can feel cramped after a while and with me being 6'1" I can't ever get the seat low enough without seeming to stare through the top part of the windshield. Large puddles have a way or really slowing this car down and it's not that great on snow. The major weakness of this car though I would have to say is the air conditioning. On really really hot days, 90+ degree heat with 90+% humidity in the D.C. area, it never seemed to get nearly as cool as you would want it. I guess it never gets that hot in Germany... who knows? But on days like that I always wish the air conditioner was better. The heating however is immaculate, with the window open on days of 50 degrees or less, it radiates heat automatically so you never feel cold. Having kids soon with more storage needs I kind of wish this car would start having problems, so I can have an excuse to get a larger car, but so far, it hasn't happened. It's really a great car, a masterpiece!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Sweeeeet!

Dennis from NY, 11/23/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Over the past five years I have had a total of six VW/Audi vehicles, including a 2001 GTI 1.8 Manual and a 2005 Audi A4 1.8 manual and this car blows them all away! I test drove the new A4 2.0T, as well as the Infiniti G35, and the new BMW 328xi which all are sweet, fun and capable cars however the GTI just came out even or ahead in most of the categories that are important. My decision came down to the GTI 4dr and the BMW 328xi and for the extra $17,000 for the Bimmer the decision was very easy, take the GTI and save a ton of money! The build quality is fantastic, the interior is high quality and comfortable, the car handles fantastically, the engine is extremely smooth. this car is very practical and fun!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

My Fast

Joe, 09/25/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This car is awesome. It has 200 hp and 207 lb. feet of torque! It gets up and goes. For those of you who are worried about reliability consider this: previous models where built in Mexico, this GTI is built in Wolfsburg, Germany. Its handling is top notch for a car that weighs 3,000 lbs. It is faster than its main competitor, the Honda Civic Si.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Little Car

soccerref9, 11/20/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This car is not only a true driver's car but is also refined and comfortable for a long distance drive. It's moderate pricing sets it apart from more expensive cars such as a BMW or Audi. Long term quality has in the past been an issue, but in my initial 5,000 miles and 7 weeks of ownership, I have not seen any problems.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Still going strong....

Nigel, 03/14/2016
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2007 GTI as a CPO with about 60k on the odometer and now have about 185k. Having never owned a vehicle with a turbocharged engine I was pleased with the acceleration to say the least. Interior and trim is heads above domestic vehicles and their cheap plastic interior pieces. Bi-xenon headlamps are stellar for night driving. Manual transmission shifts smooth. I just changed the gear oil about a month ago. Seems that my switch to Motul oil may have made the shifts a little harder. I may go back to the OEM gear oil. The car has been a gem for the most part. Only maintenance I have really done is oil, brakes, tires, timing belt (bought as a kit with water pump, pulleys and tensioner) and thermostat. Cost of parts isn't that bad either in the grand scheme of things. I will say that if you can do your own work you will be fine. VW dealerships aren't known for being cheap by any standard. I paid over $400 bucks for a simple service visit which basically consisted of an oil change and air filters (of course their multi-point inspection *rolling eyes*). Whatever it was it wasn't worth $400 bucks. I resigned myself to doing all my own maintenance and repairs after that visit. Luckily VW is supported by owners forums on the web that can basically walk you through most repairs and help diagnose problems. I will say that despite the ridiculous repair costs at the dealership, their customer service is fantastic. For example, VW has a 12 year anti-corrosion warranty on their vehicles. I had some rust appearing on the rear hatch and decided to take it in and see if they would honor their warranty. They took pictures, sent them to VW and was informed that it may take a few weeks to get an answer. Sure enough, they honored the repair and gave me a 2015 Golf for a loaner. Not bad, not bad at all. You surely would never get an American manufacturer to warranty a rust claim on a 8-9 year old car. In conclusion, it's been a great car for what it is. Fun, fast, handles well, great gas mileage, reliable and four doors. I'll be hard pressed to buy another domestic car after this.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Understanding the Car

Rich, 10/24/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I researched this car for months and looked at many different competitors, all of which averaged twice the price. After researching every scrap of opinion available, I came to want this car. My research somewhat prepared me for it, but the first drive took me out of this world. The performance to price ratio in this car makes it a lion, and the pure enjoyment of feeling the 200hp acceleration, really puts it in a class far above the price point. If you have "low ego emissions" and want something REALLY fun to drive, go GTI. You can't go wrong with this car. It's simply amazing, and the voluminous articles out there in the rags have NOT steered me wrong. I love this car!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

One Fast Rabbit

mvaillan, 11/09/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

There is an unbelievable difference between the 1.8L turbo (170hp) in my Passat and the 2.0L Turbo (200hp) in this GTI. It also feels a lot stronger than the 2.0L Turbo (210hp) that I had in my 2002 WRX, and overall is a much nicer car than the WRX, quicker off the line, better quality materials throughout, and you always feel in complete control of the GTI. This GTI wants to move out fast whether you have the DSG Auto transmission in normal drive mode, sport mode or manual shift mode. It shifts silky smooth in all three modes. The paddle shifters on the steering wheel are more toys than anything else, but really fun ones!

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Fun for a price

monkeykins, 12/15/2011
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Bought the car used in 2010. Selling it as soon as possible. I can't afford to keep sending it to the mechanic/fixing small things on the car. I've had two tail lights burn out, both the xenon headlights go out ($80 a piece), AC compressor, electrical problems, and now it seems the coil packs need to be replaced. It's a great car, and fun to drive, but I've had to drop it off almost every other month to get work done on it. Which wouldn't be as big a deal if the parts cost less than an arm+leg.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Why does it use oil?

Carl Stackhouse, 10/16/2008
Fahrenheit 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Overall the car is great, but uses approx. 1 quart every 2,000 miles. Should this happen? If someone out there is having the same problem, please let me know. I'm getting nowhere with the dealership. If it wasn't for this problem, I love the car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The Best Sports car for $25,000

Jon from Tampa, 09/18/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

From the moment I test drove one of these I had to have one. I drove a 2003 A4 before this and this car blows my Audi away! This car is near perfect from the factory, however, if I could recommend two things to current owners to make it PERFECT: Eibach Pro-kit springs and APR Stage I chip. Period. The springs lower the car about 1" and the chip adds about 45 HP and roughly 80-90 ft lbs. of torque (as if it doesn't have enough already:) which is just enough to bring the performance up to a level that allows this car to compete with 350Z's, G35's, Boxsters, 330Cis, and even IS300's.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

After Many Test Drives: The Winner!

J.S. Sumner, 12/20/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My son and I test drove eight different cars in the $20,000 to $25,000 price range and we both felt that hands down, the 4-door GTI was the winner. Many auto magazines felt the same. The quality inside and out, the safety (me), and the performance (him) won us over. I have owned German performance cars and this GTI has many of those factors. The DSG transmission is a major advancement in performance and to be in a car at this price point is hard to believe. Graduation from college has come and gone and this GTI will be with my son for many fun filled and safe years to come.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

2007 5-door GTI w/DSG

seminole_kev, 12/26/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a very nice car. It is a good blend of sport and comfort in the typical European fashion. It offers lots of nice features as well.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Driven for the Price!

Josh, 12/29/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The GTI is really fast. I don't think there is any Honda in the same class that can be a match for the MkV GTI. Even the S2000 only has 40hp more, but 50lb/ft less than the GTI. It's the best purchase I've ever made.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun, Fast Fast! :)

GTI, 01/16/2007
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After taking my car for a test drive, I was hooked. I felt like the little boy on the BMW add...I just had to have it! I was still supposed to shop around and look at all the other types of cars too, but never did. This car is very exciting stuff! Take it for a test drive, you`ll love it!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GTI MkV -- Nice

SpitfireCole, 09/26/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

After trading in a 350Z with reliability problems, I wanted something practical that would still be fun to drive. With the GTI, I do not feel like I made much of a sacrifice. This car is a blast to drive. It is quick and nimble. I'm not sure that I'm a joiner type, so the VW community still scares me a little..but I love the car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Just Fun

George, 12/08/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I intended to purchase a Mini Cooper S, but after driving he GTI I was sold that this was the car for me. I was looking for small and fun to drive vehicle and I made the right decision. The longer I own it, the more I appreciate the GTI's quality. I only wish it came with 4 wheel drive.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

VW MKV GTI

bigmiza, 12/20/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love the car. I looked at other cars such as the Civic SI and Subaru WRX, but I fell in love with the VW. I love the design, both exterior and interior. The performance is great, when requested. I love the ride--a great balance between comfort & performance.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

The Real GTI is Back

Nick S., 03/26/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had my GTI for almost two years now, and it's easily the finest car I've ever driven. There were so many duds that followed the 1983 original, but Volkswagen finally got serious again about this iconic model. The engine is the star here, propelling what's not a light vehicle with gusto. It pulls from below 2000 rpm, which means there's virtually no turbo lag. Great car for darting around Manhattan traffic, but the open road is where it shines. Buckets of torque make passing a breeze, and the VW is unflappable at high speed. Overall reliability has been surprisingly solid. Fuel economy has been atrocious.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Not impressed

car lover, 12/31/2007
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have owned the car for 4 months and already had 1 recall, rear windshield wiper stop working, passenger door seal came off, airbag fault. Dealer had to replace the harness.For a new car with 3500 mile I'm not impressed. Have always owned Hondas or Subaru and the Germans have got a bit of catching up to do. Oil filter is in an inconvenient place. You need to remove the shield on the bottom of the engine for access and it cost $12. Car lacks top end. Handles nice but awd would be a plus. Nice styling, comfortable seats, convenience of hatchback, My first and probably last VW

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Fun, Cheap (Relatively), and German....

Smyrnios, 07/01/2009
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My GTI has been with me for two years and 17K miles, and the experience has been positive. This is the original "hot hatch", the benchmark for this class. If you're looking for outright performance, go for a Mazdaspeed 3. But if you're seeking European character and sophistication, the choice is clear. The GTI goes about its business in a most German way. Feels solid as a bank vault when you get in and shut the door. On the interstate, it's unflappable and deceptively fast, so invest in a good radar detector. This model has ceased production, as the sixth-generation is already out and headed to the US in the fall of 2010. There should be many pre-owned examples to choose from.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

What makes Awesome.

Chris C, 08/09/2009
Fahrenheit 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Its just a fine piece of engineering. This car feels absolutely solid and locked on to the road. Driving becomes more intuitive when the car goes exactly where you point it, when you point it. Anyone who has ever driven an American car should be familiar with the amount of sag or 'play' between the actual motion of the steering wheel and whats transmitted to the wheels. That's what makes German cars so awesome - wheels turn with the drivers hands. The DSG is just about the most underrated technological innovation ever. This trans is a blast, blowing through gears at speeds previously unimaginable for any gearbox. Learn about how the dual clutch works -- its worth the education.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

90K miles, still excellent!

VPA, 10/21/2009
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The 2007 GTI is a very well made car, the only significant repair after 90K miles was rear wheel bearings. There was also a problem with the PCV valve which was fixed under a service bulletin. The car also loses or burns some oil - not unexpected for a turbo, I guess, but you must check the oil regularly. Numerous interior squeaks and rattles were corrected after I replaced the horrid stock Continental tires with BFG SuperSport A/S and then Goodyear Eagle GT A/S. Ride and handling are great, the stability control is excellent. No steering feel due to the electric steering, but you learn to live without it. An almost perfect, practical sporty 4- dr hatch at a reasonable price.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Best all-around car I've ever owned

Thomas, 07/09/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The perfect size car for city driving, FUN to drive, beautiful high quality interior, very comfortable sport seats, great customer service from my dealer & absolutely no reliability or repair issues. The hatchback & fold- down seats are very convenient. I have driven this car since new for almost 4 years now. It is the longest I have ever kept a car & it's one of my favorites. I have owned German, American, English & Japanese brands. In more affluent times, I have owned 2 Mercedes SL's & 5 BMW's. The Japanese are known for reliability, but the Germans win hands down for superior engineering & driving fun. I am shocked how much I continue to enjoy this GTI

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Check out this car

jman, 11/01/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is fun to drive. It's quick and nimble, and goes fast in a hurry. The seats are great. If you drive in the city, the automatic is perfect. They finally made a GTI like it's supposed to drive. Get it with four doors, drop the kids off at school and spend the day zipping around town. It's also under the radar screen, people look but don't oogle. It's really a prefect car. Let's see how it does on the long term. The people at VW still need to work on service.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

2007 Volkswagen GTI

chris , 12/09/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had a GTI for many years, including the MKIV and recently the MKV. The 2.0T motor is extremely powerful, much more so than the 1.8T was. The DSG transmission makes a world of difference.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Yep, It's a Yes!

jburnette, 01/16/2007
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I always wanted this car. I feels very solid, fast, and sporty. This car gets tons of attention no matter where you go. It is much more solid then the Honda I traded in for it. I love it.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

A Lot of Car for Little Money

detective40oz, 01/23/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I took delivery of mine this month. So far the car has been a pleasure to drive. From the subtle sporty looks to the refined interior this is a fun and practical car to drive. I'm never disappointed in the acceleration and having owned a 2003 GTI I can say this car is miles ahead of it in every category especially the handling! Simply put the 2007 GTI is more car than you would expect to get for $23,000.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Great Value All-Rounder

boba380, 01/30/2012
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2007 4-door GTI as a CPO in 2009 with 35k miles. Have put about 20k miles on it in approx 2 years. Haven't had any issues with the car since owning it other than expected maintenance, also not with higher-than-normal tire-wear (even with an occasionally heavy right foot...). Car has leather, sat-nav, sunroof, DSG, sport steering wheel with controls, factory 18" wheels. Even now, the car's very nimble, snug seats and the direct steering feedback make it exceptionally great fun to drive! The folding rear seats make it roomier than expected (hello Ikea). The DSG shifts super-fast when accelerating, but displays lag during kick-down.Bad: old nav is slow, road noise, occasional rattle.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding in Every Way

MaD HuNGaRIaN, 08/23/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is simply the best car I have ever owned. The DSG transmission is awesome. Forget about it, I use the automatic mode when I am tired/lazy or stuck in traffic and the manual mode when I want to play. The shifts are lightning fast and the ride is outstanding. This car's fit and finish matches the excellent design both inside and out.

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

dont buy a gti

lemongti, 06/08/2011
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

My 07 has less than 30,000 miles on it. Last week the transmission needed to be completely replaced luckily under warranty. Got it back and check engine light came on. Dealer said intake rotor motor needed replacing. Not under warranty and over 500 in parts and labor. The company sent an extended warranty on the camshaft because it has been found to wear out prematurely. I bought a new car in an effort to not get nickel and dimed on repairs. I guess I didn't get nickel and dimed they have all been major top dollar repairs. I will never even consider another VW or Audi or anything related.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Little, but Powerful Car

Carlos, 11/16/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
7 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have fun every time I drive my new GTI Red Tornado. I love everything about this little, but very powerful car. I am very happy with my new Fast. I named my car Puppy and the little toy that comes with the car Fasty... I leave you guys alone now, my little Puppy is waiting...RRRRRRR..

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GTI Turbo

Mandi Terry, 11/26/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

This car has been great for the short time I have owned it. I plan on owning it, until it falls apart. The first day I drove the car home, I hit a huge rabbit and it broke my fog light bulb. It scared the heck out of me, my first new car and I already killed an animal. I hope I never hit another animal for as long as I own the car.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Car for today

Mike, 10/05/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 19,000 miles, trading in a BMWX3. If you drive it conservatively, it's comfortable, economical, the hatch makes it versatile and it provides a lot of amenities that you get with more expensive cars. When you want it, the power and handling are terrific. The ride is a bit rough on rough roads but that was expected with low profile tires. I have had owned several sports sedans but always thought the power came at the expense of handling. This car makes a lot of sense and I could not be happier. Finally, one unexpected benefit is the cloth seats which are cooler than leather in the summer sun. The car cools quickly after a stint in a parking lot.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

fun hatch back,not cheap to tune!

hardd, 03/18/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my vw gti with dsg last year used with 11,000 miles.I spent most of the first year going from dealer to dealer because the car would almost die taking off from a stop.After weeks in the shop they found the pcv and crank case vent have failed.After the fix my gti runs great I get about 34mpg hwy/22mpg city.I love the 18inch huffs and i have the car lowered with a cold air intake.If you are looking to customize this car parts are not cheap because of the audi built motor. My gti Handles great and runs with car that have a 100hp more. I love the plaid seats and the exter doesn't look to bad for a hatch back.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

So Far So Good

Mil-town native, 09/02/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just got it and am loving it. I broke the 600 mile mark (safety purposes) and starting to break it in. She wants to go, that's all there is to it. I thought about getting the automatic, but missed the clutch and it's cheaper (1,075). It holds corners well, I would just like a little more response through the steering wheel. It has amazing leg room in the back. The shoulder room does not accommodate three sets of broad shoulders (being an ex-swimmer, it's hard to find that in a small car). With the seats down you have more room than you expect. I almost bought Mazda3. The GTI is a little more money but makes up for it in style and power.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

More Fun and More Room than in an Audi

nostatic, 09/25/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've never owned an "auto" tranny car until my DSG-equipped GTI. I was injured and couldn't work a clutch for a couple months. But I also club race and like control and performance. I also need to haul music gear and my 10 year old son to the beach, etc. This car does all of it and then some. It offers great luxury with the leather, heated seats, and climate control. The 2.0T engine has plenty of punch and the DSG transmission is a chameleon: drive it easy in D, harder in S, or full in manual mode with the paddle shifters. I drove an A3 also (same platform) but the GTI was more fun to drive *and* has more headroom, shoulder room, and more room in the back. I highly recommended this car. My other car is a '79 Porsche 911 that I'll never sell.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Mein Fast Makes Me Smile

anam, 11/16/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've got 2,000 miles on my GTI and she makes me smile! I'm 6'1" and I fit into the car nicely with plenty of space to go around, and still feel I'm part of the car. A lot of attention is paid in the finish details like a luxury car. In my shopping stage, it took me awhile to get over the stigma of the VW reliability that I heard from EVERYONE, but after doing a lot of research, the GTI is probably the BEST BET in the VW market. I got the candy white 4 door, and it's a beauty! The DSG transmission makes driving an auto more fun than it should be, however it takes time to get use to it, but it's a whole new experience. For city livin' and city drivin', this is the best practical and FUN car for my needs!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A Superior Automobile

Nederland, 06/16/2007
Fahrenheit 2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is a successful compromise, a sporty, thrifty, fun, unique, practical car. Very quick, fuel efficient (I'm doing a little better than the listed EPA), decent rear seat, plush, unique, racy, versatile. What's not to like? The car gets lots of looks. The orange is a love/hate thing, but everyone has strong feelings. This would be a bad choice for a shy introvert. This car is front and center, and was designed to be noticed.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

A car for all moods

Paul, 08/16/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I like this car because it follows my driving moods. Sometimes, I just like to adjust the climate, put it in drive, turn on Sirius Disorder and drive it like a normal car. And it does this marvelously. When I do this, it's fairly easy to get 30 mpg or more (according to the car's computer). Sometimes, I like to pick my own gears, put the windows down and the sunroof back, crank up Alt Nation and strap a brick to my shoe. It handles this impressively as well. And will still get around 27 mpg. No matter how I feel like driving, this car just delivers a great drive. It looks and feels rock solid. There's little features VW doesn't even flaunt giving me the impression of attention to details.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable for the money!

HSJ, 08/21/2007
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sure there are better-looking and sportier cars, but none can match the GTIs combination of good looks, great interiors, very sporty driving and great pricing. I have the manual base car, and the list of "stuff" that is standard is amazing: 10-speaker(!) kicker Monsoon audio, Bi-Xenon headlamps, Driver Information Display (with 2 awesome trip computers), auto up/down on all windows, heated power mirrors, lots of user-programmable features, steering wheel controls, sports front seats, power outlet in trunk, great "mood" lighting at night, map lights all around - list just goes on. I love the interior lighting at night. After this car, other non-luxury cars' interiors seem cheap.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best bang 4 the buck

Joel, 09/01/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car drives and performs great, the fuel economy is excellent. I previously owned a MK4 GTi and it was a great car but this one is far better, good job VW.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

It wins your heart!

sal42, 04/07/2013
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my GTI new and it was my first car. I have loved it!!! It's been very reliable and fun to drive, as well as economical on gas, a great value. I have had no problems with the car and it has over 40,000 mi on it now. I am happy to have had this as my first car! I hope to keep it until it finally dies one day.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

VW Rocks

Matt the VW Lova, 09/16/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The new GTI comes now in a four door model. The 2006 and 2007 modles have the new 2.0L turbocharged engine with 200 HP insted of the old 2006-2002 modles which had the 1.8L turbocharged engines with about 170HP. The turbocharger adds a lot of gas milage and gives it a lot of all around power. The exterior looks awesome, it looks very fast, don't you think, even the new 4 door version. The new Honda Civic Si is cool, but it does not have the turbocharger and the GTI gives you a lot more space for luggage. The rims avalible on the GTI are also way better than the Honda. That's what I think anyhow. I am not saying that the Honda is a is bad or anything, in fact Hondas are great cars but the Volkswagen GTI is the way to go.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

First VW is a Beast!

RoadkillPDX, 01/09/2007
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was a salesman at a Chevy dealership. I was looking for a fun-to-drive rig with aftermarket potential. I test drove many cars (Tiburon, Civic Si, Cobalt SS, Scion tC), but fell in lust with the ease of control, drivability, and the "oomph factor" that's found in turbocharged cars. This car may look like the Rabbit, with the exception of the sinister red grin on the grill, but underneath the cute exterior lies the quick-revving, adrenaline pumping, heart of an import-killing beast. The GTI is heavier than before (almost twice the weight of the A1 body), but with a power-to-weight ratio that puts many more expensive rigs to shame. Plus the car has almost no turbo lag. VW rocks!

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

A Manual in an Automatic's Clothing

yuray, 10/19/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

The DSG transmission is awesome. Somehow (maybe double clutch) it smooths out driving at low speeds while retaining the juice. It feels taut inside (apparently it is assembled in Germany in contrast to almost all other VW models). Unfortunately, the stereo display is third world and the Sirius trial is worthless because you only have a sample of channels. The sunroof could be bigger. The interior trim is spare, bordering on cheap. I see part of the reason why the A3 goes for more. I have the cloth, which is alright, but the seats don't feel like they'd treat me well on a long drive. I am glad that I chose the 4-door. It is not bigger than the 2-door, but seems to get more out of the rear row while maintaining near identical trunk space.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

The biggest mistake

jason, 02/01/2010
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I leased this car over 48months... it was my first new car! When I left the dealership I had a smile ear to ear. It was 2 months later that the problems started to pop up. At first it was a problem with the drivers seat. A couple of weeks later the check engine light came on (took two years for this to be fixed). In the 46 months I've had this car, it's been in the shop 82 times for a total of 133days. That is over 10% downtime. I wish I had bought this car so I could have gotten out of it earlier. I have promised VW customer service that I will never drive a VW, Audi or Porsche because of my experiences with this piece of crap GTI.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Most Fun Ever

gwolson, 10/23/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

What a blast! No one beats me at the lights. This car is always tempts me to drive fast. This is my first automatic transmission in decades, the DSG with paddle shifters is the most fun. While the other guy is shifting your done and can see his frustrations in the rear view. There is nothing to not like about this car. I am sure that the poor gas mileage is my fault.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Fun, but not Fun

NL, 03/09/2007
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've been for service ten times already in five months. Granted, everything is covered under warranty, but the hassle of coming in for burnt out LED's, airbag lights, wind noise, ticking sounds, immobilizer malfunctions, radio, squeaks and rattles (and I mean a lot!)... etc is really annoying. Also, I never imagined that a car like this would have so many design quirks. I can't name them all, I only have 250 words left. To paraphrase, you'll waste a lot of gas, a lot of tires, a lot of windshield washer fluid, a lot of your time and a lot of your money to fix problems. When I first received my car I had two scratches on the door and center console, and glue all over the inside of the roof.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great all around sprty car

GTI Fanboy, 05/30/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

After testing many cars (Fit, Mazda 3, Accord, Passat, Legacy, A3) I decided to go with the GTI 4-door. I don't regret my purchase in the least. The car is a lot of fun to drive and the seating position is great. The powertrain is fantastic, with torque available everywhere, and the DSG is flawless. The car has a nice compromise of ride quality and handling. The interior is ergonomically perfect except for cruise control, and is made out of high quality materials (and the plaid seats are a plus). The hatchback design is very versatile and manages to hold items that would just not fit in a sedan. Fuel economy is better than the 2007 EPA rating. 14K mi trouble free and only 1 minor rattle!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050