Used 2015 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32 reviews
List Price Range
$13,499 - $20,290

Used Golf for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
3 out of 5 stars

2015 TSI SEL 4 Door Hatchback 1.8L

Mick, 10/15/2015
TSI SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I wanted one of these cars for the last year. After having a 2011 Tiguan, which I loved I decided to get the Golf. It's been a disappointment! The looks of the car, and the engine are wonderful. The interior is really nicely done. I love the sunroof. Power off the line is a little slow until the turbo spools up, but after that it has plenty of power. Fuel economy is a little less than I expected for the size of the car, but I can live with it. I purchased the car about 8 months ago, and now have almost 6000 miles on it. Around 4700 miles the transmission started to shutter when shifting gears. In sports mode it shifted much better, but had a real hard downshift. Took it in for maintenance, and they replaced both front axles. I was told that VW was aware of the problem and that this would solve the issue I was having. They told me usually most customers don't start having this problem until they have around 15,000 miles on the car. When I got the car back, for the first 600 miles it shifted better, but still did not shift like it did when I first purchased it. Now it's doing the same thing again. It's bad enough in drive, but in sports mode it's terrible. It's going back in the shop tomorrow. Maybe I'll be lucky and they'll get it fixed correctly this time. Sure hope so. If it wasn't for this issue I would be very happy with the car, and probably give it a 4 plus start rating. If you decide to purchase one, before doing so, get on some of the VW forums. There are a lot of people that are having the same issue that I'm having, and VW has not stepped up after the initial repair and solved the problem. Many are die hard VW owners that have had VW vehicles for years.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Audi quality at discounted price

lifeisahighway, 12/14/2014
TDI SEL 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
42 of 43 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love my Golf TDI. I do wish VW had kept the independent rear suspension, but I honestly don't notice that much of a handling difference. The solid quality build structure I think really helps the handling. VW can get away with the inferior suspension and it still drives like a car built for the Autobahn. I love the torquey diesel, and I've been getting 38 mpg city, which is awesome. On the highway, I have gotten 55 mpg under 70 mph. If the GTD had been available I would have bought that, but this little diesel is an awesome second choice. I've wanted this car for over two years...it's been worth the wait. I'll probably never go back to a gas engine or a non European car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewing the car and not the corporate lies

Robert Hoffman, 01/07/2016
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

Lets get the emission out of the way. I traded in a later model Mustang GT in on my TDI. I was obviously losing power, but I was gaining quality. A more balanced ideal for the urban jungle. The day we bought it, I bought a mid-size chest freezer. I didn't even hesitate, I just shoved it in my car. If you can buy one, get the manual. You MPG will amaze you sometimes. My engine is still breaking in and I am seeing 57+ on the highway. The DSG/Auto get about 47mpg, and is costly to maintain in comparison, so get the manual and it will reward you. My little smog-box hugs the road, makes a unique grumble that the diesel provides and has minimal turbo lag. Interior is better than anything under $30k from the USA, and more well-rounded than anything from Japan. Maintenance will be more, but I prepaid that and extended the warranty as far as I could. It was bitter sweet handing over the keys to my Mustang, that straight axle petro guzzling neighbor waking machine, but I have no regrets. Handling is amazing, the mileage makes Prius owners look like... well Prius owners. I would buy it again, even with the dieselgate drama. It is also a ton easier to load our camping gear into it. Though I will miss the funny looks we got when unpacking our belongings from the mustang.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

the Class of this Class

farfignewton, 11/12/2014
TSI SE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Five year update: Zero problems after 5 years, although it has less than 30k of (mostly city) miles. Only service other than oil changes was a VW recall on something in the steering wheel. I do worry about stiction issues when the car reaches the 50k mark, but so far, so good. Still doing oil changes at 3-5000 miles, rather than 10k reccomended by VW. No loss of power or gas mileage. I hear that VW is considering phasing out the Golf in a few years, and I feel that would be a huge mistake. Still Very pleased with this car. ....... Great ride, superior handling (low profile 17 inch tires) QUIET interior, even on the highway, terrific interior, awesome (Fender 400 watt) stereo. Surprisingly spacious back seat and good headroom. VWs are not known for reliability, but it has a 5 year warranty on the engine and powertrain. Planning on using this car for a trip to FL, rather than my Mid-size, because it's actually more comfortable (not to mention easier on gas). My only complaint is that when the Tiptronic transmission is in normal "Drive " mode, it up shifts a bit too soon for my liking , resulting in borderline engine lugging. Switching to Sport mode, at least on takeoff cures this, but it affects gas mileage if you leave it in Sport. Despite this, gas mileage has improved somewhat. Overall, we're very pleased with this car. One final note: Volkswagen says you can go for 10k between oil changes: but in a direct-injection engine like the TSI, I would go no longer than 5,000 to avoid engine sticktion (gunk). It's a small price to pay for peace of mind.

Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE this Car!!!

jiteng, 09/04/2014
TSI SE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I was looking for an economy hatch (around $25K) that was extremely comfortable for long trips, quiet at hwy speeds, gave great hwy mpgs and had decent tech. The choice came down to 3 cars- Mazda3 2.5GT, Kia Forte5 and the 2015 Golf TSI SE. The Kia has the best technology and creature comforts including heated and cooled driver seat, heated steering wheel etc... But I did not enjoy how it drove and the interior felt sort of lower tier. The Mazda3 was extremely impressive in just about every area but a lack of storage around the driver and no option for a lighter blue had me look toward the Golf. When I finally test drove it I felt like I was home. Just perfect in every area. Quieter (cont..) Update 3/4/16 Now with 55k miles on it - still running flawlessly! Averaging around 31mpg over the lifetime. I've added remote start and winter tires which is a real blessing in the MN winter. Still extremely happy with my purchase!! Update 9/4/16 Completed 2 yrs last month at 71,000 miles. Purchased OBD11 from Deutsche Auto Parts for $59 which has allowed me to modify functionality like allow me to open and close windows and sunroof with car remote, turn off annoying seat belt chime, keep headlight/DRL on when turn signal is activated, change number of times the turn signal flashes when tapped, dip rear view mirrors on reverse, etc. In addition it is a great scan tool to determine whether there might be any issues. As far as driving it is concerned I get just as excited to drive it today as I did when I first got it. That 1.8 turbo has some great low end torque and allows for effortless passing at highway speeds. Fuel economy has gotten even better and I now see 34-36 mpg on each tank with mixed driving. I haven't had any issues mechanically in the 2 years/71k miles. My 2008 Rabbit is still going strong at 234,000 miles with regular oil changes and routine maintenance every 10k miles. So I expect to get good longevity from this 2015 Golf! Update 9/4/2017 Still loving this car! Original brake pads still at 7mm but I finally had to change my tires at around 86k miles. Bought an obdeleven which let's me do diagnostic checks on the engine health and other cool things like programming the key fob to lower or raise the windows, turning off the annoying seat belt chime, changing the way the blinkers light up or the number of times they flash when changing lanes and a lot more. Cost was only $60 from Deutsche Auto parts. Well worth it. But the best part of owning this car is the driving excitement.... Make no mistake this is a really fun car to drive and the mpg is still around 32 in mixed driving.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Practically Perfect in every way

eldaino2, 10/27/2014
TSI S 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

I had owned 2 mkV vw's (rabbit and gti) and had been switching back and forth between various hondas but i'm so happy to get back into a premium compact. Cargo space is great, the solidity of the ride on the freeway is unmatched by anything in this price range...really a discount audi. Phenomenal passing power and good gas mileage plus a wealth of creature comforts. Also, the interior will shame many midsize sedans. Way more mature than other small cars; tasteful and refined, but quirky and different all at the same time. Standard equipment is strong compared to cars in the same price range, especially compared to honda and mazda. Handling is sublime. I freaking love my golf!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

From BIG to small

kruby2, 09/30/2014
TDI SEL 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
27 of 31 people found this review helpful

I was tired of pumping gas for my LX570 2 times per week so i made a big move or shall i say a small move.I always liked my daughters 2008 rabbit and have loved diesels in the past so i sold the suv and bought the golf. What a great car to drive. it is so responsive and fun. I am 6''5" and cannot have the seat all of the way back. I have more legroom than in the big LX. Go drive one, you will love it. my first tank took me 500 miles of mostly city and some highway driving. I am impressed. They look great too.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

2+ Years Down The Road

Sam G, 06/06/2017
TSI SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

The perfect size, good performance and German engineering. What's not to love? When I bought this vehicle about 2.5 years ago I really loved it. It was quick, quiet, frugal enough and had great handling. The Fender sound system was outstanding, the navigation was great and the interior looked classy and high quality. So what if I couldn't quite find that perfect driving position? So what if the transmission was a little crude at times, prone to hard shifts or occasional shudders? So what if the infotainment system would switch radio stations or forget my iPod at random times? These were quirks that gave the vehicle character, right? But 4000 miles in a check engine light indicated an emissions issue. Parts replaced. Then the sunroof began to rattle when closed. At 8000 miles another check engine light meant a new fuel pump. And then a dead battery. And the sunroof rattles again. Dealer has been great and all fixed under warranty but when the warranty expires in a couple of months, I'm worried I will begin to pay heftily to keep this car going. And the quirks are now just things waiting to go wrong. [Update 12/06/17] Now at 10,000 miles. New tire due to bubble in sidewall. Sunroof still rattles and dealer has become much less responsive to fixing it now out of warranty. New rattle in rear seat and perhaps the first hint of a suspension problem, front driver's side. [Update 6/6/18] Problems noted six months ago remain. Lost all confidence in this car and want to sell it. Less than 11,000 miles. [Update 12/7/18] Sold. Never buying a VW again.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

What a Great Golf!

jdh25, 06/02/2015
TSI SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have been a VW driver for over 25 years. 86 Scirocco, Jetta's and Passats. I thought my 06 2.0 Passat was the best VW ever, but this Golf is giving it some competition. Eye candy on the outside and inside. The interior looks and feels as luxurious as an Audi, BMW or MBZ. Great design too with easy to use technology and awesome sound system. Love the simplicity VW provides. The 1.8T is peppy and provides plenty of power for this car. It's not a GTI, but it is quick. The handling feels a little stiff, but not too much and very secure. Overall it's fun to look at and drive. I had considered an Audi A3 & A4 but the Golf won and my wallet was all the more happy! Update on this review after 1 year. The car is still all the above, but I am having trouble with the transmission "shuddering". It's mostly when the engine is cold and first put into gear. The dealer says that they don't know anything about this. I am going to leave the car with the dealer so they can experience it and/or at least I get it documented as a problem. I am also worried about a camshaft recall. a portion of the cam shaft can sheer off causing loss of break pressure. VW claims they can fix this with a software update. I don't understand how a mechanical item can be fixed with software. It just does not sound right. I still love the car, but am losing faith in VW especially after the Diesel problem, etc.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned. It will be my last

Edmonds VW review, 07/13/2017
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

2015 VW Golf, DSG TDi Tungsten Silver. Stunning MPG. My best trip was 61.1 MPG going over, and 58.5 coming back. Excellent handling. Hugs the road, with no "over steering" on lane changes. Easy entering and exiting doors. Air conditioner is cold in seconds. However Heater takes a little time to warm up! Auto trans is a dream. Great resale value. Torque for passing is outstanding. I bought mine in 2015 (July). Dealers are now selling *new* 2015s, but I would not get one of those, as some were *stored* in abusive conditions. via the "stop sale" of VWDIESELGATE.-- VW has done buy backs on GEN 3 (MK7 - GOLF) , and are available. But the best of the lot will be private owners who may be selling their used units. If you can fine one with the emissions modification, it comes with a 11 year 162,000 mile VW warranty. 100% transferable to all new owners. IMO, best warranty on the planet. My local dealer (staff) are professional and friendly. ~~ UP-DATE for EDMONDs Still the best car I ever owned. via dieselgate, I can sell it back to VW for $25,625 (more than I paid for it.) or do the "fix."I have (approx) 8 months to make a choice. HARD CHOICE. My car is perfect for me. And low mileage, prime condition, TDi used VW are holding great NADA-KBB values.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

2015 Used TSI S 4 DOOR W SUNROOF

VWGolfer, 03/11/2020
TSI S 4dr Hatchback w/Sunroof (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Purchased a clean VW Golf with 61k miles in 2020. Overall pleased except for the EPC warning light which nobody able to diagnose and the gas mileage isn't up to what expected. Averages around 28 highway snd 18 city.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

An Audi in Wolfsburg Clothing

emoryeagle, 09/23/2014
TSI SE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

I needed a more fuel efficient and affordable vehicle to replace my 2 year old Mercedes GLK350. Our income was downsized and after a lot of research, I kept coming back to the Golf. I finally bit the bullet and traded for a Night Blue 2015 Golf TSI SE with standard equipment plus the bi-xenon lighting system. After just a few days with this car, I'm totally impressed with the vehicle. Driving dynamics are impressive, well equipped, fit and finish are to German standards and the gas mileage is so much better than the GLK, plus no more premium fuel! It is fun to drive, punchy turbo power, bank-vault tight and roomier than what I had. I feel like I'm driving an Audi with a 50% off coupon! (Update-Having owned it for 18 months I'm still very impressed with the Golf. I've had an occasional minor electronic glitch which has been fixed with software patch and factory tinted windows would be nice to have. Will be taking the car on its first vacation in July. Have gotten as high as 40 mpg on highway but 36 city is the norm).

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great value!

eapj, 09/15/2014
TSI Launch Edition 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
11 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have had a series of fun cars - SVT Focus, GTI, GLI, Cooper S. I purchased an Audi A4 as a compromise between what I wanted and what I thought I needed and really missed the relative simplicity of a VW and also missed a manual transmission. I picked up a silk blue launch edition and am in love. It is a fantastic value! If you want to shift your own gears and don't mind two doors, this is by far the best deal in the 2015 Golf line.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

Just got it

toyota420xp, 09/14/2014
TSI S 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

It has plenty of power well more than I need. I had a corolla before. Good mpg. Don't know how accurate computer mpg readout is but my mpg is always higher than EPA. Slightly slow from take off on really low rpm but then it's great on power. Base speakers not fender are really good. Small car but I'm fat and 5ft 11 and I can sit in the back,or front easily. I live in bumpy road vermont and ride is compliant. Corners we'll. looks way better than mk6 golf. Price is now affordable. Compared to toyota products everything you touch feels sturdy. All the bins are lined to stop rattles hood is lined has a strut to hold it up not a cheap metal rod. Reliabilty is left to be said. Seats are firm.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Alternative to the Average Economy Car

Sean K, 09/26/2016
TSI S 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car has been a pleasure to own so far. I purchased it in August 2014 and have already put on 61,000 miles. After test driving many vehicles I was thoroughly impressed with the ride quality and overall build quality of the Golf. For just over $20,000, the base S trim comes very well equipped. I have taken this car on several road trips, and each time I'm pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the car is on long trips. The 1.8 TSI is a very peppy engine for a vehicle in this class, and although the EPA rating is 36 mpg, I can quite easily get 38-40mpg, if I'm not driving too aggressively. The car gives a sophisticated, quiet ride that many midsize cars can't even match. The only issue I've encountered was the suspension squeaking, which was quickly taken care of under warranty. Overall I'm very impressed by this car, and plan on sticking with VW for quite a while.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great car

Howie, 08/14/2018
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Got my '15 TDI S used with just under $14K miles. Far less than a new one. Drove the manual first and it wasn't bad but the DSG feels faster and easier to keep in the power band. Plus it shifts really quick. Golf TDI is a joy to drive. Handles great, awesome torque, very good acceleration. Never feels underpowered. I average about 34-35mpg overall with not much highway and I don't baby it. I'd get much better mileage if I drove it more conservatively. The S model has everything I need. Stock stereo is very good. Headlights are just OK. Black leatherette can cause a sweaty back on long drives. May get a sheepskin seat cover. But this car is built like an Audi. It's like a tank. I don't notice the cheaper suspension either. Feels similar to my '14 Jetta which has the upgraded rear supension. The steering in the Golf is better though and it handles a little better. No regrets.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

tornado red tdi

derekleeo, 03/10/2015
TDI SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
7 of 11 people found this review helpful

This is an outstanding car. I drive it like [non-permissible content removed] and my average mpg is 40.6. I thought the suspension change would be a negative, but it handles great.The only issues I have are the stereo being on 87.7 when I start it(sometimes) and the rear washer leaking. Oh, and the passenger door is hard to close... your door isn't shut...your door isn't shut....nope, nope, there you go.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Superb car

Sasha, 12/12/2017
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It is very sad that there would be no TDI again in USA! What’s wrong with US?

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

2015 golf tsi se 6a

Mick, 12/29/2017
TSI SE 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This golf has a great ride and handeling and is fun to drive, we have the lighting pkg and makes nighttime driving easier, we run blizzak snow tires in winter and makes the golf more than adequate in snow, had the car 3 years and 60,000 miles so far, had a water pump replaced at about 45,000 miles and was covered under the 60k power train warranty, after 60,000 miles of driving the golf still feels as good as the day we bought it, would I buy another? Sure would.. next time I’ll get the wagon for more room to carry things

Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Fun car for the money, but you get what you pay for

mheisey, 03/13/2015
TSI Launch Edition 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
7 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new in October 2014. A few positives are that it is surprisingly quick considering it is the base model. It handles fairly well and the touch screen interface is the best I have ever used. I love the exterior design of this car and the subtle interior styling is very nice as well. I have gotten better than rated mileage. up to 41hwy. Now, the not so great things I have noticed. Right away I realized the engine mounts are crap. They are too soft to handle firm shifts. At 2,000 miles it developed a hefty crunch when put in reverse. The throttle is very sensitive and takes getting used to. Right now at 11,000 miles I am ready to trade it in.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car!

dublove, 05/28/2015
TSI S 4dr Hatchback w/Sunroof (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

I've been a VW guy my whole life and when the mk7 Golf came out, I just knew I had to own it. And no that I have one, I just can't get over how awesome it is. The star of the show is this, gem of an engine, 1.8 TSI. It gets phenomenal fuel economy (over 40mpg, AND I have lots of power and can embarrass many cars on the road at a stoplight. And filling with 87 octane fuel is just another bonus. I love this car to bits! The NAV system is OK, touch screen response is okay, but zooming in and out is laggy and it glitches out sometimes but for the most part, this car is perfect.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

0 problems 100% fun

KC, 04/29/2016
TSI Launch Edition 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car gets great gas mileage. It loves Sunoco - super- for some reason. I get 40 mpg easy. Between 65 - 70 mph. Has great on-ramp acceleration, try 3rd gear at 3 grand. Going to 17's is going to drastically reduce your mpg. I averaged 32 mpg, went back to the 15's for mileage. In town gets decent mpg at 32 mpg. Great passing acceleration. I've had zero issue's with my car. I have a killer 7 year 100,000 mile warranty. At 6'2 I have no issues with room , plenty of it. Motor mounts are soft. The continentals on the car are all season and I have to say great little tires. No issues with rain or now. I believe I have finally found a trouble free car that gets me where I need to go. So I still own the car 5-2-18 and still no issues with car, still gets great gas mileage, and my 40k service was under $500.00. This is a very well built car. Update 11-2-18 Ended up with back issues and needed automatic. Traded up for a 2015 GLI and couldnt be happier. Miss my manual but love the DSG trans.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

German engineering gone a little wrong!

Brian, 07/14/2015
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
9 of 24 people found this review helpful

UPDATE....July 2017. The car has been boght back by VW as part of the Diesel emmisions issue. This was the worst ownership experience ever. .....................................................................Some design aspects of the car are now driven by cost cutters at VW. Lets take a look at some things simple....starting with the door hinges! They have shrunk dramatically compared to my 2013 Jetta hinges. Door detent stops are pretty useless and you will easily hit your door on the car next to you in a parking lot. Seats....creaking and popping from the backrest of the drivers seat is getting quite annoying. Oil changes look a bit more involved on the EA 288 engine due to the filter location. The dash icons have shrunk in size....you may need reading glasses to see them! Headlights are not as powerful as on my Jetta, high beam is pretty much useless. Get used to hitting your head when exiting this car....you need to be agile to get in and out. Hidden door key slot is not user friendly....ref Jetta again. Interior light buttons hard to find in the dark....four buttons in close proximity. The dash illumination reflects in the side window. The exterior mirror demisters only operate at under 68deg F.....not good for humid Texas mornings that start out at 8O deg F. Exterior mirrors have suffered due to fashion/aerodynamics taking over functionality....they are too small....ref Jetta again, much better! Performance.... pretty good but does get caught out below 1800 rpm....very noticeable turbo lag. Economy....good so far. Mark VII Golf has grown apart from it's predecessor. I'm not sure where VW are going with these design changes apart from cost cutting. Safety wise, add as many airbags as you wish but make visibility better starting with the door mirrors. I am thinking a lot has to do with the adoption of exhaust treatment equipment that has driven costs up and profits down. OK, lots of things have changed since the above review. The VW Diesel Emissions scandal being the main one! On top of this, visits to the Dealership for warranty repairs and a service have left me completely unimpressed. I understand this car will be bought back by VW and scrapped. So much for being environmentally less damaging. This has been the worst buying and owning experience of any car I have owned in over 35 years and over 40 vehicles over that time period. Update, January 2017. The Diesel emission scandal is still ongoing. I opted for the buy back but the process is extremely slow and time consuming with forms to be filled out, notarized and uploaded to the VW Claims portal. Due to an error in my form, the portal has to be reset and I have told this could take 28 days! No option to go back to the steps that was incorrect. On top of this, the Dealership where I go for service and parts have had many people quit since the emissions woes and the replacements are not very helpful. I waited 35 minutes for a parts guy to help last week as he was the only one there. I was the only walk in customer but his phone never stopped ringing. Other issues with the car include front brake rotors warped, (Dealer machined them true, under warranty) a noise from the drivers side front suspension when turning (Dealer can't find what it causing it) engine under tray fell off after an oil change....suspect it wasn't put back correctly ($290 to have it replaced) windshield mists over on the inside first thing in the morning when the blower is turned on, loose drivers inside door handle and drivers seat lumbar adjuster knob keeps falling off. Overall, this has been and is continuing to be, a poor experience and one not to expect from a company such as VW. JANUARY 2018. This car is now history. VW bought it back in March 2017 as part of the emissions settlement.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A fabulous catch of a hatch

Charles Benedict, 02/26/2017
TSI S 4dr Hatchback w/Sunroof (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love everything about this. Driver comfort, convenience, handling - overall a great driving experience. Any excuse or reason to run an errand to town or take a road trip!

Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

TDI - Dirty Emissions

Fengshooey, 09/20/2015
TDI SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
11 of 53 people found this review helpful

I'm motivated to post this review in light of the news that Volkswagen installed a "defeat device" algorithm on its emissions systems for its TDI vehicles that, in short, makes it appear it emits far less nitrogen oxide during emissions testing than it does during normal driving conditions. In short, folks, the TDI Golf and other TDI vehicles in the lineup from VW emit somewhere between 10-40 times the upper limit of acceptable (as determined by the EPA) of nitrogen oxide, a compound that is implicated in smog and worsening of pulmonary diseases such as asthma. Volkswagen apparently did this for years. When I learned about them, I wanted to buy a TDI vehicle in 2010, waited some time and eventually happily bought a 2015 VW Golf TDI in 8/2015. One month later in 9/2015 this issue comes to light and I find that the vehicle I bought in part for high MPG numbers inviting comparisons to some hybrids emits a huge amount of air pollutant. And while this is an issue VW will address with the EPA, it is me, the consumer, who was deceived by the marketing of the TDI lineup which resulted in a sale for VW. Talk about being suckered. If it was a bad component of the suspension or something less maleficent than intentionally misleading the consumer, I would not be so hot about this. Trust me, waiting a few years to buy something and then finding out you should have waited one additional month *really* sucks. Does the car perform well? Yes. Do I get 39-40MPG regularly with spirited driving and 40-50% city driving miles? Yes. Is the interior high quality? Yes. Did I love it prior to the 9/2015 news reports about the emissions being hugely misrepresented? Yes. Is my heart broken? Yes. And this will result in the loss of my business for the manufacturer in the future. There are perfectly lovely Mazda 3s and Ford Focus hatches out there for you. Edmunds rates them highly. Buy them. Save yourself a headache and stick it to a manufacturer that made its business over the last few years in part by intentionally misleading its customers.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

WOW WOW WOW

james hoyt, 06/29/2018
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchase used from Carvana, they delivered to my door for free with a full tank of fuel.The car was one owner Calf car off of 3 year lease.I have purchase NEW cars that were not as PERFECT as this one ! 100% AAA+++

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

First and last VW car.

Clark, 12/05/2015
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
9 of 62 people found this review helpful

Because of VW's terrible business practice of lying to both consumers and regulators, the value of my car and those of others has dropped sharply. Why foster proper engineering when you can just deceive customers into buying a sub-spec product? I took a chance on the VW brand and have regretted it since.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Technically Deficient but a great small car !

Madhoo, 02/24/2016
TSI Launch Edition 2dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 10 people found this review helpful

This model doesn't support CarPlay although the plan was to have it in their 2014 model. I wish they had MIB II on this model or at least had an option to upgrade to MIB II so that iPhone's CarPlay could run on it, even later in 2016 or beyond. Heard that Texas Instruments and Volkswagen have collaborated on a new infotainment platform i.e. MIB II to deliver this technology but details are unknown yet about upgrade into this model.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

TDI Golf

Eobert W Bahnsen, 06/14/2018
TDI SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
0 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have owned and operated diesel Golf and Jetta vehicles since 1984; with great pleasure. I'll not purchase another. My local dealership is and has been wonderful; the people are excellent, and as frustrated as I. VW corporate should be, well never mind. My last purchase was a TDI Golf, part of the diesel issue. Volkswagen corporate is making it very, very frustrating. They have wasted my time, the dealerships time, and fuel/maintenance costs. I do not have an opinion if they designed the "clean up" of their lies to be near impossible to resolve for the consumer or not. Personally, I've never experienced a more drawn out, inflexible, or frustrating process.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Pocket Rocket

HH, 11/27/2017
TSI SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Small, safe, fun and reliable.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Ultimate commuter vehicle

Nyrasgt, 01/20/2020
TDI S 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Though getting harder to find, VW TDIs, ending in 2015, are still unsurpassed as go-distance-to-work vehicle. VW does 2-part diesel fix free and throws in 11 yr, 160k (not a typo) warranty, and, if bought from VW dealer, 2yr, unlimited miles warranty. Was MT's Car-of-the-Year in 2015 s has some skills, does everything intended very well-added BlueDef diesel exhaust fluid once in 35K miles, costing $11.59 Find a 6sp manual to make it theft-proof, find a diesel Passat for 18.5 fuel tank and 1000 mile range (Golf only gets 600 miles on 13.2 gals.). What's not to like? Get the 6 sp manual to make it theft-proof

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2015 VW Golf TDI - Perfect !!!

jpl_texas, 01/03/2021
TDI SEL 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is perfect [for us]!!!! Will easily run 4 adults around town or cross country. Smart. Solid. Strong. Comfortable. Ergonomic. Efficient. Reliable. Good looking. I am a diesel fan [have 3 other diesel vehicles]. Plenty of Fahrvergnugen going on here !!! Love to the run the county roads in central Texas. That TDI and DSG transmission - incredible match. Quiet interior; Fender audio sounds great!!! Everybody loves it ......

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050