Used 2001 Porsche Boxster Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$6,532 - $14,031

Used Boxster for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

oil and coolant mixing

Bruce Gray, 11/22/2009
60 of 62 people found this review helpful

My car at 8 years of age, but only 39,000 miles developed mixing of oil & coolant. There is no fix except a rebuilt engine ($14,000) from Porsche. One mechanic stated ran into problems needing parts on teardown that Porsche wouldn't supply. Turns out my problem not unique, Could not find one mechanic (coast to coast) or PCA or other tech advisers who had any other fix. Do your own research before buying any Porsche with M96 engine family which includes all Boxsters and 911's from 1999 through 2008. Bruce Gray, Roadrunner Region PCA

Report Abuse

Weeeeeeeeeee!

Impboy, 05/08/2010
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

When I got this Box 2 1/2 years ago, I had just finished driving a 1994 Honda Civic 220,000 miles from brand new. It was time for a new car. I love my Boxster. It's not the fastest car around but it drools every time we find a twisty back road. This car sticks like glue and I never feel out of control even in forced slides on wet pavement. (Hey, gotta have some fun some times!) I've taken it on long trips (over 600 miles in a day) and I have no back ache even though I'm 6'2". If you're thinking about getting one, do your research and get one now! I'm sorry I waited so long to do it myself.

Report Abuse

A Geriatric Buys A Boxter S

Mortimer Levy, 03/05/2004
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

At 75 yrs of age, a Boxster S was the last thing I had in mind. Contemplated an Audi A6 and saw this little Lapiz Blue sculpture on the showroom floor. I had to have it before I die. Have never regretted it. Have owned exciting cars all my life but nothing like this. The design and performance is a tribute to man's quest for excellence. I hope they never change the shape,..like the Taj mahal,..it's eternal.

Report Abuse

No regrets - Love my Boxster

az66bug, 08/05/2013
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought this car almost 4 years ago with 36,000 miles; I was concerned given the age but I've wanted a Porsche my entire life and couldn't resist the deal. I did buy a 3yr warranty but canceled it after learning most everything I was concerned about was not covered and considered maintenance items - I was refunded $3000.00 and best thing I ever did. My Boxster just hit 45,000 miles and I still smile from ear to ear when I drive her. No major problems outside of routine maintenance and yes, they are expensive to maintain but your driving a Porsche guys, not a Chevy.... Just had the 45K service done, costed $1400.00 but I had all the pulley's replaced because 1 was squeaking. BUY ONE

Report Abuse

A Great Experience & A Great Car

Jacob Savala, 03/11/2019
2dr Convertible (2.7L 6cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

It's a very fun car to drive and it's very reliable for being a sports car from Porsche. While it isn't a Miata in terms of reliability and repair prices, it catches peoples eyes and has just enough power to make it feel so much faster than a Miata. If you're looking to buy this car I highly recommend taking it to a trusted shop or a other Porsche dealership to have them inspect it before buying the car. It's an amazing car overall with little to no problems. It's amazing as a weekend car and when weather permits you could even use it as a daily commuter. If you're looking for a car that's tons of fun, looks great, and is pretty cheap then this is the perfect car for you. I would also recommend having around $1000 extra just in case something bad does manage to occur. Oh and the IMS Bearing failure only affected about 5% of the Boxsters so I wouldn't frant over it, if you can find out if it's been replaced that's great but if you can't then I wouldn't worry about it, just get it replaced the next time you need to replace the clutch.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: