Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$60,500

Save as much as $501
Select your trim:

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2022 718 Cayman, so we've included reviews for other years of the 718 Cayman since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Where has this car been all my life?!?!

Phil, 12/10/2016
2017 Porsche 718 Cayman 2dr Coupe (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Let's get the disclaimer out of the way first; this is my first Porsche, so I can't do the sound comparison - I'm happy, but I can't compare to "back in the day." What I can say is that this is one fine, well-built, high performing vehicle. This car simply attracted me, especially after I couldn't find much else that appealed to me. Several makes and models seemed to be going for luxury at the expense of performance. I've always preferred cars that I drove, rather than ones that drove me. And those were getting increasingly difficult to find. I've always driven manual transmissions, and several "sport sedans" and even "sport cars" were abandoning them. So I plunked down a deposit in mid-July, knowing I wouldn't get it until around the first of December. It was worth the wait. Is the Porsche 718 Cayman inexpensive? No. But it's also not cheap, either. This is a well put together car with very good materials. It has an intelligent layout that is pretty darn intuitive and easy to understand. It has the smoothest shifting of any of my previous ten cars. I'd always wondered if a car can really feel like "it corners on rails"; now I know one can. The handling of this car, and its responsiveness, is what I'd dream about if I dreamed about "the ultimate car." I wanted a car that would be just plain fun to drive on meandering country roads, and now I've got it. We've all had that one car we felt connected to - I had mine in my late 20s. But this Cayman looks like it will rival, and likely surpass, that connection. I suspect that in a very short time I will know what the car will do, and it will know what I'm up to. I've only had that one other car that generated that level of trust. And the look of this car is stunning (and with better lines than the previous Caymans). Also, a plug for Sun Motor Cars in Pennsylvania, an excellent dealership, is in order. So let's sum it up: looks, handling, the fun quotient, comfort, acceleration, a (gasp!) car with a manual transmission, that feeling of connection, a car that exudes thoughtful class and excellence - yes, this new Cayman checks all the boxes for me. One. Fine. Vehicle.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

718: there is no substitute

smerdyakov, 12/01/2016
updated 12/03/2018
2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S 2dr Coupe (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

Having been interested in Porsche for many years, I began reading reviews of the new 718 series as soon as they began to appear. I finally got the chance to drive one (a base Boxster) about a month ago, and I was very impressed: it was superior in every respect to the 2014 Boxster S that I was driving. After thinking it over for a while, I returned to my dealer last week, and drove the base car again, followed by an S. I was again impressed by the base car, but the S clearly had higher performance. Having had a Boxster, I decided to buy a Cayman this time: better visibility, the ability to take it through a car wash, getting away from troublesome sun glare with the top down and less expensive. My dealer (Checkered Flag in Virginia Beach) gave me an outstanding deal, and I bought my new Cayman S on 11-29-16. If you have read reviews that whine about the noise of the new engines, ignore them: the new engines have a bass note that is very satisfying. The 718 is also superior to its predecessor in every respect - better steering, better ride, better handling, better acceleration. I am very pleased, as anyone will be who is looking for the quintessential sports car. Update, 12-2-18. After having this car for 18 months, I got very tired of it. The instruments were hard to read, the controls were hard to see and use safely, and the blurpblurp engine noise got to be very tiresome. In addition, an oxygen sensor sailed after only 2,000 miles. Overall, a nice car, but I will never buy another. I traded it for an Audi TT RS, which is a much better car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Porsche is right - there is no substitute

Smerdyakov, 08/09/2019
2019 Porsche 718 Cayman 2dr Coupe (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

In 2018 I bought an Audi TT RS, which I thought was nearly perfect. That feeling lasted until I drove a high mileage 2012 Cayman R a few days ago. I was very surprised by how superior the driving experience was to my Audi. Two days later I bought a well optioned 2019 base Cayman with PDK, which felt very similar to the old R that I had driven. I bought a base car rather than an S because the performance is outstanding, more than sufficient for my needs, and it was much less expensive. I am delighted with it, and have resolved to never again buy any sports car but a Porsche. Excellence is expected, and always delivered.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Wow, I love my New Porsche Cayman S

smrt50, 02/05/2017
2017 Porsche 718 Cayman S 2dr Coupe (2.5L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I've owned an Porsche Panamera 4 for several years, but decided to trade it in for the new 2017 Porsche Cayman S. One word, "WOW", this vehicle is a totally Amazing. I enjoyed my Panamera 4, but driving the Cayman S will put a Smile on your face for hours. This vehicle is responsive, amazingly fast, and you'll fall in Love on the test drive. I researched this vehicle for several months and the reviews were excellent. After owning my Cayman S for 3 weeks, I have to agree with the Five Star reviews. I love everything about this car, the ride, handling, responsiveness, comfort, and true Porsche Driving experience. I thought I would miss my Panamera 4, but once I got behind the wheel of my new Cayman S only one word comes to mind, "Wow".

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

After 3 years...still glad I opted for the 718

willy j, 09/18/2020
updated 09/20/2021
2018 Porsche 718 Cayman 2dr Coupe (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

UPDATE: Very stable, comfortable, and easy to drive. Still feels like new. No problems. ORIGINAL: Glad I opted for this brand and model. Well made; high quality comfortable to drive for me and my wife; and sufficiently fast. Handles like a slot car on steroids. The PDK transmission is impressive. Unless you run 10,000 mile annually, I would not purchase the maintenance package--not worth the cost.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: