Skip to main content

Used 2008 Lexus RX 400h Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$8,735 - $12,746

Used RX 400h for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great Hybrid SUV

Karin, 01/29/2016
updated 08/01/2016
4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
46 of 46 people found this review helpful

Loved this car from the minute we bought it new. Nearing 80,000 miles and no complaints! Only some paint chips on door edges. Not buying a new one though. Don't like the new design and new screens. No more touch screens - uses a mouse! OMG! They went backwards!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3.5 out of 5 stars

Love Hate Relationship

G Henry, 10/17/2007
4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

I have had my RXh for 4 months and I love it, and I hate it. It is comfortable, safe, easy to drive, quiet, stunning Levinson audio system and more but mine has problems with the regeneration. My regeneration worked perfect until the battery pack showed fully charged. Ever since then the regen works about 60% of the time. Two dealers have looked at it and found nothing. Now I have video proof I will take in this week to see how they will ignore my issue. If you get 19-22 mpg in the city your regen is also not working well. When it is working and you drive responsibly you will get 27 in the city. The RXh is wonderful and smooth and safe, but I bought a hybrid and expect it to work.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

slo-jim, 11/03/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

My RX 400h has been the very best, most reliable vehicle I have owned; buying my first car in 1967. Gas mileage has been super, averaging 28.5 MPG since day one. it is solid, very comfortable, has lots of power and a joy to drive. I recommend this car to anyone who wants a quality, energy efficient hybrid!

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Holding steady at 170xxx 24mpg avg

Reynold G, 07/25/2018
updated 07/31/2020
4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
45 of 47 people found this review helpful

So my RX400h has reached 150xxx, things are starting to go bad like wear out, after all it is now 10 years old (2008 model). Regular scheduled maintenance has been done like water pump and belt at 70000 etc. The front shocks and struts changed at 148000 . The stereo ML amplifier is on its last leg, it cuts out a lot rendering the sound system inoperable (no music)at 145000. The telescopic steering wheel quit at 149000, Lexus dealer said the upper column has to be changed 149000. Id say about $3000. Should get it all fixed but at this mileage it would be a loss since the resale value isn’t there. Engine and the CVT transmission is holding up very well with excellent performance and no fluid leaks .

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I bought it used...

Larry Campbell, 10/15/2017
updated 10/20/2020
4dr SUV AWD (3.3L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car three weeks ago with 127k miles on it. It has clearly had very good care taken of it and is in excellent condition. It is hard to believe that a car can have 127k miles on it, and still look, drive, ride and feel like this one. I am very used to Toyota's hybrid system as we have had 5 Prius in the past. Yes, they are much smaller and get amazing mileage, and I know how to squeeze every mile out of a gallon of gas with a hybrid. But I am not getting quite the mileage I was hoping for out of this RX. I am averaging in the mid 20's range. Not bad, but could be a little better. The technology, body construction, interior finishes and running gear on the car are all nothing short of amazing. It is definitely the nicest care I have ever owned. I'm hoping to drive it a a couple hundred thousand more miles.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: