Used 2008 INFINITI QX56 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,900 - $15,985

Used QX56 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2 yrs later- we'd still buy again

keg97, 02/17/2010
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

We cross shopped tons of large SUVs (MB GL450, Armada, Toyota Sequoia & Land Cruiser, GMC Denali, Cadillac Escalade, Lexus LX570, ) and this was the obvious choice. The 08 interior upgrade is dramatic and makes this truly feel like a luxury SUV. Lots of technology/luxury (HID lights, keyless start, HDD Navi, Front/Rear Sonar, intelligent cruise control, rear Camera, heated steering wheel, power 3rd row seat etc.) that make this truck feel like a million bucks. The interior is very flexible. We have the bench seat and 2 car seats and can still get 2-3 adults in the 3rd row. We take several trips/year from VA to HH, SC and can get 16/17 MPG even w/Thule box on top. No issues with reliabilty

Report Abuse

Best car I have ever owned. Still rolling 248K

Alaynna, 08/23/2018
4dr SUV (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

UPDATE: 268k miles and still going strong! Our trips from New Orleans to Nashville have been in total comfort. Thanks Ray Brandt Infiniti! I cannot stress enough that MAINTENANCE, MAINTENANCE, MAINTENANCE will keep your vehicle in top running condition. This includes cleaning the interior and exterior at regular intervals, because you know, your car drives and rides better when its clean :). Purchased used in 2010 with 28k miles from Atlanta. We have owned many Porsche's, BMW's, Ford Expedition, etc. This Infiniti ( 2008 QX56) is the best car we have ever owned. We purchased an extended warranty (100K additional miles) at 95k for $2400 from Carchex years ago in fear of a major catastrophe repair required before we were ready to replace " The Box" (one of many pet names). I'm pretty sure we didn't use the value of the warranty before it expired at 200k It slept in the garage all night but lived outside during the day. It rides and drives like a dream and we have taken it across the country. Minimal expected wear on the interior. Other than rock chips, no damage except for a small pea size dot on the back tailgate. My 2 girls grew up in this car. When we travel, we move into the car. Knock on wood, we have never been stranded in this vehicle. It has serious get up and go for a "bread truck" as we sometimes lovingly refer to it. Yes, at a gas expense. We do go through the effort of only having it serviced at the local Ray Brandt Infiniti dealership (40 miles away) where our service advisers have become like family. We have had no catastrophic failures with the engine, transmission, electrical or cooling/heating. Probably the most costly has been the struts. Then the brakes. Both I consider maintenance items. Oil changes are completed locally every 3-4K. Currently, I have 2 TPS sensors that are dead. Other than that everything on the car is operational. I just purchased a used Porsche Panamera and I refuse to get rid of my Infiniti. I LOVE THE BOX.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Nice

Family Man, 02/21/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I have now been driving this Truck for a 2 weeks. I did a small road trip around 400 mile. This truck has a very smooth ride. I would compare to more of a sedan ride. The technology is very user friendly. The cabin is loaded with comfort. The 3rd row is great for little kids which I have. The Dvd is nice and the back cabin heater/ac. The captain chairs in the 2nd row are very nice along with the push button seats. The drivers control area is well thought out. The only real problem with the Truck is the fuel economy. I am getting 11 mpg in city and 16 mgp highway. One has to be able to afford the gas. If you are driving more than 1000 miles a month I would not buy this truck.

Report Abuse

Great Chioce

CTJ, 04/18/2008
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle for the price. Even not factoring in the price, it is a great vehicle. I compared the QX to the Lexus LX 570. The LX has great bells and whistles, but the trade offs for going into the QX with the great price savings make the choice a no brainer.

Report Abuse

The pinnacle

Gus, 03/28/2009
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

The QX-56 is the best SUV secret out there. Stunning fit and finish inside, and excellent engine -- torque and power (mileage is poor though). We get 13 mpg in city driving and 16 mpg highway. If you drive 55, you'd be able to coax 17.5 or 18 mpg highway. Beautiful leather and wood accents. Electronics are abundant and XM Radio is terrific. Not a "beautiful" car on the outside, but still the best I've owned.

Report Abuse

Amazing SUV!

Extremely Happy!, 06/10/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I compared every SUV out there with a third row and this one gives you the most luxuries/technology for your dollar. We also looked at the Mercedes GL, Escalade ESV, Lexus LX 570 and the Navigator. This car has the whole package! If you want a vehicle with a third row that you use a lot this car is the best of what is out there. If a third row is not important it still is the best of what is out there.

Report Abuse

Love this car

Love this car, 09/25/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this 2008 Infiniti over the summer and have had a few months to drive it. I love it. We looked at EVERY SUV in this category and for the comfort, technology and price nothing can compete with it. I feel like I am in a living room with every option available to me. The third row is a dream to use and to sit in. The 1st/2nd row has a ton of room. I love that the navigation can be used while driving because it is a voice navigation. The voice also understands me! It is really an amazing vehicle.

Report Abuse

The Best Large SUV

Happy QX56 Owner, 10/23/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my second QX56, the first being a 2005. I can not say enough on how great this vehicle is. Neither of my trucks has ever had a issue. The dealership provides free oil changes ever 3,500 and is a pleasure to deal with. The QX56 has just about everything a large, luxury SUV should have. So quiet, so powerful, yet nimble given its size.

Report Abuse

It's a beast

John Cincy, 07/06/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just bought this beast a couple weeks ago and love it. My wife carts the kids around in it mostly but I have had some fun in it too. Very easy to drive and tons more room than the Escalade ESV. Gonna cost me a ton in gas - wish they had the Flex Fuel option. From last year, they added a heated steering wheel, automatic fold down third row (folds flat), 10 GB hard drive, compact flash drive, aux jack for iPods, MP3 players, etc., and bigger 20" wheels.

Report Abuse

Awesome Q!

LexLock, 09/23/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This SUV has all the bells and whistle that you would want and need. Drives and handles very well. I've owed several SUVs, hands down it's the best so far. Love all the new upgrades in the 08.

Report Abuse

QX56 4x4 Excellent Full Size SUV

Jay Zar of Calif., 11/08/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Excellent full size SUV for a medium to large family that needs space and the ability to haul or tow weight. We pack a lot when we travel. We have been on icy roads, full snow storms, up to 1 foot of snowed in driveways, mud, dirt, rain... you name, we have done it with a load of 2 adults, 3 medium to large dogs, and one child. This car outperforms Ford Expeditions, GMC Yukon, Chevy Tahoe's, and others in the areas of braking, handling and overall feel. With a full load, of around 800 lbs, we average about 15.2 mpg. Just in town around 14.5 and mostly freeway with no load around 16.5 going about 70 mph. Our 2007 Acura MDX with a full load averaged only 14.5 mpg. We use regular fuel 87.

Report Abuse

A Near-Perfect LuxoBrute

MountainMan, 03/28/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had a series of high-end super SUVs, including Landcruisers, Land Rovers, Lexus LX470, and I tested all of their most recent models before buying the QX56. This Infiniti is the best by far. It is huge on the inside, FAR larger than a Landcruiser/LX570 or Range Rover. Far more luxurious and full-featured than any other large SUV other than the Range Rover. Everything is well thought out. The exterior is handsome, especially the gigantic chrome grill and chrome roof racks. These trucks are rare enough to continually look fresh, unlike say an X5. At 5000 mile it is still solid, rattle-free, and a joy to drive. I don't think there is a better large SUV out there at any price.

Report Abuse

Awesome

George, 01/17/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am loving my new QX. I got it at the start of the new year. It has been great. I have 4 children and they fit very well. The 3rd row has theater seating so seeing the DVD is no problem. The ride is very smooth. It is as close to a sedan as any full size SUV I have been in. It has power to spare. Passing on 2 lane highways is a breeze. The cabin is very quiet despite the big 20in wheels. It has been great on the snow traction with the variable 4 wheel drive.

Report Abuse

The Best of the Best

Jeff C, 02/20/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned a 2004 (first year model) and had several problems with it. I finally decided to get a new one to take advantage of all the modifications and upgrades. Boy were there a lot of them. From the much more luxurious interior (more wood grain) to folding mirrors with directional signal, heated steering wheel, larger DVD screen, power rear seat, larger wheels.... and the list goes on and on. They did everything right and I am in love with my 2008.

Report Abuse

Love it!

branfordboater, 07/31/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The most comfortable, powerful, well equipped SUV that I have ever owned and I have owned them all. Highly recommended, unless you are not a fan of the gas pump.

Report Abuse

Great value vehicle

Johnhw2, 04/01/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very pleased with my first SUV. Considered Sequoia and landed on this due to value/features/looks giving it the nod over a great engine/drivetrain for Sequoia. Had the vehicle about a week now and very pleased. Fuel economy is better than I expected.

Report Abuse

Amazing Truck

Mike Penfold, 05/18/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

The truck is great, I purchased it to replace my 07 EXT due to a baby on the way. I needed something with better crash ratings. The funny thing is that two days after purchasing the truck, a 75FT tree fell across the highway and I had to go through it at 75MPH. If I were to have the GM, I would most likely not be typing this. This truck saved my wife's and my life. I added a remote starter on the truck. A bit pricey, but extremely useful. Also added an I-Pod attachment that plays video and made it so that I can control the GPS and watch video while driving.

Report Abuse

Best full size

Mike, 02/02/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love it. Has everything, sound system, bluetooth (connects and disconnects when needed, tried other manufacturers' systems, not happy), voice control, best rear view camera that displays image in milliseconds and has lines and noise alarm, anyone can park safely. Also great when rearing with a boat trailer. Engine has so much trust. Cannot drive without intelligent cruise control anymore. Luxurious, comfortable and roomy. It is like flying first class.

Report Abuse

THE BEST LARGE LUXURY SUV UNDER $60K

xxxACExxx, 02/10/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got 3 kids and my wife doesn't want a minivan. The QX56 is a true LUXURY SUV and I think it's the best deal out there for the price. If you are looking for a large luxury SUV for your family, I would suggest the QX56. It has all the bells and whistles included in the price except for nav and Tech Package. Not like other company with extra options can raise the price another 10K.

Report Abuse

Big disappointment

amber, 08/17/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just turned in my 04 Armada, got the 08 QX56, looking forward to a great sound system with all my music on the hardrive. Alas, I did not research it enough because I couldn't find any info it. Hardrive can only be loaded by recording CDs to it.Takes forever. I have no CDs anymore.The Compact Flash Medium is ill-conceived/junk. Infiniti sales people must have been told to play dumb because none of them acknowledge what a limited feature this is. Single CD player only. None of this info anywhere on website or marketing materials. I would not pay an extra nickel for it. Buy the Armada and don't option it. I had brake issues on the 04, I hope that is done with.

Report Abuse

The best Big SUV on the market

HHK, 09/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had the car for 45 days. Love it. Excellent fit and finish and gadgetry for the price (or any). Finally a big SUV with 20" rims standard (hated large cars with tiny wheels and empty wheel well). Entertainment center is an afterthought and not as well integrated (placed in the center console instead of the front dashboard, screens are not in headrest, plays only one dvd, interface not easily accessible), hence it's an option. Puts the Escalade ESV to shame (loud over priced truck) for 20K less. Handles like a large sedan, not a truck.

Report Abuse

Should be SUV of the year

Julie, 03/24/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my QX!! We made deal on 2007 then they got their first 2008 in, one look and I had to have it! changes are incredible and the 2008 QX should be SUV of the year. Beautiful inside, beautiful out...we love all the chrome! Luxury top notch. Love the bluetooth capability, the power 3rd row seats, intellicruise, music box is awesome. I buy all my songs on itunes and then load them in, we love that feature! Leather is beautiful, controls are perfectly placed and the power of this baby is hard to beat. First time I stepped on the gas, it gave new meaning to 'stepping on it'. I feel safe with my children in this SUV and we couldn't be happier to be driving this SUV. It deserves more credit!

Report Abuse

Nice Vehicle but Limited Music System

Dave, 04/08/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle if you need / want a large SUV and don't mind the poor gas mileage. My only major disappointment was to discover the only method of getting a song onto the hard drive is to rip it directly from an audio CD. Anyone who has spent the time to move their music collection to a computer understands the amount of time this requires and would find it ludicrous to have to do this again in a car one CD at a time. In addition, the Compact Flash slot will only read up to 500 songs regardless of the size of the CF card (A cheap 4 gigabyte CF card will hold approx 1000 songs). These issues limit the usefulness of the music system, but if that is not important, the car is great

Report Abuse

Everything Done Right

JB, 04/15/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We are extremely happy with the QX. After looking at everything out there, (and I do mean everything), we chose the QX for its blend of comfort, performance, quality, features and style. There are other vehicles out there that do some of the individual aspects better, but none that impart the thoughtful implementation that makes this vehicle the whole package. Everything is well thought out and very well executed. After living with it for awhile, you realize that all the "little things" are just right, and everything works together in harmony for a delightful driving experience. Exceptional value for the money.

Report Abuse

The search is over!!

EDEMESA, 05/17/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I test drove all the SUV in the same categories. After 3 mos. of searching I finally made my decision. Infiniti QX56 is the one. I searched for the roomiest third row seat, roomy 2nd row seat and all the gadget that I experienced in driving all competitors in the same categories I found that QX56 has it all.

Report Abuse

Owned almost 100 vehicles,this one is my FAVORITE

Mike Marshall, 03/17/2018
4dr SUV (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had 2002 Lincoln and it was OK but usually lower quality ford plastic parts, problems but was not looking until I saw this one for sale in Nov 2016 with 117K miles on it with all options except unneeded 4 wheel drive. Shocked at how nice of a car/muscle car/SUV/truck it is! This 400 ft lb of torque burns rubber and MOVES 0-60 in 7 seconds with the exhaust growl of a muscle car! The seat is as comfortable as my old Caddy Eldo seats but even better heated. Back seats heated and recline! BOSE stereo system with CD recorder built in! Have the full optional entertainment package ($3000 when new) that is amazing. So many options and gadgets that I still have not figured out how to use after owning it for 16 months. 2008 def. looks nicer than previous years with extra chrome everywhere and a much nicer interior as nice as a Mercedes S600 I once owned. Best looking SUV on the road, it has a "buffed" muscular look to it and an exhaust growl to match. It does have some "blind spots" that one must learn to watch, esp. at night with tinted windows. Just a few minor repair issues that come with buying a 9 year old SUV with 117K miles on it. Sits high, goes like a muscle car, carries 8 passengers or lots of stuff, love the power reclining rear seats. Keyless is nice. Nav. needs to be updated by dealer every few years which I have not done. Parts are expensive like all others and it is a luxury car with lots to go wrong when so heavily optioned. Gas as mentioned is bad but that's why it moves like a muscle car which I like. I did expect to get better than 12.9mpg on road trip to Phoenix from San Diego, so a little disappointed in that (3 total people and luggage only) Thought I'd get 16+. Oh well, I did not buy it for mgp, but instead for ALL ELSE. One GREAT vehicle and will keep long term, even think it looks better than the 2011 redesign (not as macho looking!)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

RUST!

nefouse, 04/04/2012
6 of 19 people found this review helpful

After only a few years the frame on this $65,000 full size SUV began to rust.

Report Abuse

Best vehicle purchase ever

Dan, 03/06/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is the 4th SUV we have owned and by far the finest. We loked at every large SUV available up to the $83K Lexus 570. And the value proposition of the QX56 was the best of class. Fit and finish is exceptional. It is a fun vehicle whose style is really coming into its own. Many think it was years ahead of its time when it was first introduced, but with the upgrades and minor front and rear fascia changes for 2008, is now just plain beautiful.

Report Abuse

It is just the best

Guillermo, 06/27/2007
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this big SUV days ago and it is the best car I ever had. The comfort, technology, engine response and features are way ahead any other SUV at this moment. The new features on the 08 model are exactly the ones I expected and the reason why I never bought a QX before. My previous car was an FX35 which I loved too, but it was kind of small for my family. I highly recommend this vehicle for a test drive, I am sure you won't be disappointed. The ride is much better than the previous version with the improved tire quality (Michelin) and 20" rims. The traffic feature helps you to avoid congested areas and is easy to use. The downside is fuel economy.

Report Abuse

Outstanding

kenn1926, 08/28/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I researched every fullsize SUV available, the QX is the best by far. I tow my 25 foot Sea Ray with weighs approx 8000 lbs with the trailer with ease. Great truck, features I still haven't used in 10 months of ownership.

Report Abuse

TOP SUV

Jasonthebomb, 01/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have just purchased this monster about a month and meets all my satisfaction. I traded in my 04 4Runner and got this beast and I am loving it. It has it all, power, fun, and look impressive. When I drive the road, people just keep looking at my car and asking how much I paid and so on on when it is parked. It is one hell of big impressive SUV and washing my car every weekend YAY! \(^.^)/

Report Abuse

Excellent SUV, BUT...

H in Houston, 09/11/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We just got our new QX. We really liked what we tested drove and ordered one. We are pleased with the car overall. If you want a BIG SUV, this is it. We had a Navigator before. It started falling apart at 48k miles. We looked at and/or drove the Escalade, Yukon Denali, GL 450 and LX 470. For the price and features, you can't beat the QX. What other SUV includes as standard equipment a moonroof, Bluetooth, power fold flat seats, 20 inch chrome wheels, a navigation system, HID lights, a harddrive for music that rips CDs, a rear camera and rear sonar. While others may not care for the looks, I think it has one of the nicest interiors.

Report Abuse

Has all of the bells and whistles!

Sally, 09/03/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got the new '08 QX56 as soon as it came out, I have about 500 miles on the car, I was waiting b/c improvements are so great over the '07. I traded in an Odyssey van. While the QX is true luxury, I have to say the Odyssey handles more smoothly on the road. I love the interior of the QX as well as all of the bells/whistles re: technology. I've only figured out about 60% of the features. In addition to the roughness on the road, I was also surprised by the engine noise/vibration under driver's seat while accelerating; I suppose that's due to the huge engine size.

Report Abuse

Big, Beautiful & The Best

BD, 10/17/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second Q and the difference between the two is substantial - previously owned a 2005. Infiniti has introduced to the market the quintessential SUV: style; comfort; luxury ride; quiet; technology; driving pleasure; smooth power; outstanding price point. I tested and researched all SUVs and literally there is no comparison. Those in the market for a SUV, all they have to do is test drive the Q and they will say the same. The Q56 has no rival and should be the SUV of the Year!

Report Abuse

QX56: Best Luxury SUV in the World

QX, 11/22/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just purchased my '08 QX and am completely in love w/it. I am a definite car enthusiast and there is simply no SUV that provides a better overall package of luxury and amenities in the world. It delivers powerful performance, it's very smooth and quiet on the road, the list of features is astounding, and it looks gorgeous. I test drove an Escalade. There is no comparison. The QX56 is smoother, quieter, has a lot more features, and actually provides better performance and quicker response than the Escalade.

Report Abuse

The Only SUV You Need

murphdog, 03/15/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just traded an 04 for an 08. You can't believe how different the two are. The 08 has been elegantly refreshed with wood, heated steering, Bluetooth, Power rear seats, etc etc. I didn't believe they could improve on the 04, which I thought was a great truck..but they did. The ride is far superior to the 04. The nav, DVD, XM, 20" wheels are all tremendous improvements. We have driven them all... Escalade, Denali, Range Rover, Navigator - nothing holds a candle to this car.

Report Abuse

Best Large Luxury SUV, Period

Luv QX56, 03/18/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We travel a lot with 2 very tall kids. So when searching for a large SUV, rear legroom is a must. Having looked at all the typical choices (GMC, Chevy, Ford, Cadillac, Toyota, Lexus) once we looked at the Infiniti, nothing else came close. The number of options that are standard are amazing (i.e. heated steering wheel, rear heated seats, auto fold side mirrors, power 3rd row seats, power liftgate, etc.). The interior design and legroom of the QX56 are far superior to the others. The space behind the 3rd row seat is somewhat limited, but rarely do we use that seat. Mileage isn't great, averaging about 15 mpg between city/highway driving, but I knew that going into the purchase.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050