Skip to main content
12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV!

Stan W., 02/05/2022
2022 Hyundai Tucson Plug-In Hybrid Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 6A)
40 of 41 people found this review helpful

I've only had my Tucson Ltd PHEV for 3 months and so far it's been much nicer than I could have imagined. I've had 2 RAV4s a 2007 and a 2017 Ltd Hybrid. This Tucson is much better than the RAV's in every way. The ride is more comfortable, smoother & quieter, the sound system is way better, has a great panoramic roof and the technology is far more advanced. On a 1000 mi round trip (Palm Springs to SF Bay) ventilated seats, assisted cruise control & steering plus the great sounds - the trip was easy & enjoyable. Hyundai's 10y/100k power train & hybrid/electric sys., 5y- 24/7 roadside assist, 5y/60k new vehicle, 7yr/unlimited Anti-perforation and 3 yrs free maintenance. Other's can't match it. My only complaints are: 1. The small 11 gal. gas tank; it would have been better if could managed 2 or 3 gals more to increase total range. 2. I regret paying way over MSRP. Since it was the only Ltd PHEV (in the color & interior we liked) available within 300 mi of my car search. However, as gas keeps raising and with the $6587 Fed Tax Credit. I'm feeling much better. This is my first Hyundai and I'm impressed by build quality and technology of the Tucson. Time will tell but I think Hyundai made an great SUV.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Stylish SUV with Excellent Mileage

J. Weber, 07/02/2022
updated 01/06/2023
2022 Hyundai Tucson Plug-In Hybrid Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 6A)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

We’ve had our 2022 Hyundai Tucson plug-In Limited for a little more than a year, and we love this vehicle. During the time we’ve had it, our Tucson has averaged nearly 80 miles per gallon. Most of our driving is around town, but we have taken two or three trips of several hundred miles each. I usually go a month or more before having to buy gas. With the high price of fuel, we have saved hundreds of dollars on the first year of ownership. What is especially nice is that besides the impressive fuel economy, the Tucson has plenty of power, is fun to drive, looks great, and rides very smoothly. The Limited model comes with nearly every safety feature ever invented, a great sound system, and nice features such as a panoramic sun roof and heated and air conditioned seats. Because it is a plug-in hybrid, the Tucson qualifies for full-time access to HOV freeway lanes, so I zoom past congested traffic with a smile on my face. We paid approximately $46,000 for our Tucson, but with state and federal rebates and incentives totaling $10,000, we feel like we got a good deal on an excellent vehicle. Also very nice is the knowledge that we are using far less gas than we used to, significantly reducing our greenhouse gas emissions.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Impression after one month

Randy Grenier, 12/05/2022
2022 Hyundai Tucson Plug-In Hybrid Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

This is a quick impression of the 2022 Hyundai Tucson plugin hybrid with Limited trim. This vehicle has lots of technology and many safety and convenience features which take some time to learn. I don’t recommend this vehicle to anyone who is not willing to spend the time learning these features to include studying the owner’s manual. Otherwise, I recommend that you consider a lower (and less expensive) trim with fewer capabilities. The owner’s manual can be downloaded here: https://owners.hyundaiusa.com/content/dam/hyundai/us/myhyundai/manuals/glovebox-manual/2022/tucson-phev/2022-Tucson-Phev-Owners-Manual.pdf Styling The styling of the vehicle gets mixed reviews and is a matter of personal preference. Personally, I think it has an attractive appearance that is distinctive but doesn’t look like a Star Wars stormtrooper helmet (i.e. Toyota RAV4). But that’s just me. What’s important to me is that the interior is a pleasant, comfortable, functional, and attractive place to be. You can find interior and exterior pictures here: https://www.hyundaiusa.com/us/en/vehicles/tucson-plug-in-hybrid/gallery Controls The are many controls to accommodate the many safety and convenience technologies which could initially be overwhelming. There is a risk that a driver new to this car could easily be distracted when trying to find certain controls while driving. I recommend first learning the basics like lights, wipers, etc. that may need adjustments while driving, and practice the other controls while parked until you become very familiar with their operation. Since you paid for the Limited trim, take advantage of all the tech. Safety Tech The list of safety features is long: • Forward Collision-Avoidance Assist with Pedestrian (FCA-Ped), Cyclist and Junction-Turning Detection • Blind-Spot Collision-Avoidance Assist (BCA) • Blind-Spot View Monitor (BVM) • Driver Attention Warning (DAW) • Lane Keeping Assist (LKA) • Lane Following Assist (LFA) • Highway Driving Assist (HDA) • Smart Cruise Control (SCC) with Stop & Go • Navigation-based Smart Cruise Control with curve control • Rear Cross-Traffic Collision-Avoidance Assist (RCCA) • Safe Exit Warning (SEW) • Ultrasonic Rear Occupant Alert (ROA) • Parking Collision-Avoidance Assist – Reverse (PCA-R) • Parking Distance Warning – forward and reverse • Surround View Monitor (SVM) These features can be turned on or off in the settings menu. This vehicle is rated as Top Safety Pick Plus by the IIHS, and as of this writing the plugin hybrid is not yet rated by the NHTSA. Convenience Tech The list of convenience features is even longer. Here are some highlights: • Drive Mode Select (Eco, Sport, and Snow modes) • Downhill Brake Control (DBC) • Hands-free smart liftgate with auto open and adjustable height setting • Lumber support in driver’s seat • Heated and ventilated front seats • Heated rear seats • 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster • 10.25-inch Navigation/infotainment screen • Traffic flow including incident data via HD Radio™ • Dynamic Voice Recognition • Bose sound system • Android Auto and Apple CarPlay • HD Radio • SiriusXM Satellite Radio • Bluetooth phone connection • Bluelink® 3-year complimentary service • Heated steering wheel • Remote keyless entry system with alarm and panic • Proximity Key entry with push button start • Digital Key (use your smartphone to enter and start your car) • 64-color ambient interior lighting • Rain-sensing windshield wipers • Automatic on/off head and taillights • Remote self parking • Panoramic roof Full specs can be found here: https://www.hyundaiusa.com/us/en/vehicles/tucson-plug-in-hybrid/compare-specs Hybrid Operation Again, this is a plug-in hybrid. You plug in to a Level 2 charger for full battery charge in about 2 hours, or you can plug into regular AC for overnight charging. A full charge gets 33 miles of electric-only driving. After that it runs in hybrid mode (gas + regen) I’ve been averaging about 37 mpg in hybrid mode. There is a trip computer and other energy displays you can use to monitor battery usage and fuel use. Overall Impression My impression is biased because I’ve only had this car for about a month and I’m still experiencing new car euphoria. That being said, this is a really exciting and enjoyable ride. I discover new features all the time.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

UPDATE - still loving our Tucson PHEV Limited

dschiazza, 08/27/2022
updated 08/29/2023
2022 Hyundai Tucson Plug-In Hybrid Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

Update 8/29/23: We now have about 15,000 miles on our 2022 Tucson PHEV Limited. Very, very happy with this car, easy to drive, great in the snow, comfortable on long trips, great safety features. We bought a 2023 Elantra Hybrid Limited because we were so happy with the Tucson, and we're loving the Elantra as well (getting over 55mpg with the Elantra during the summer). Really appreciate the high-end features like heated AND cooled seats and all of the driving safety features on both cars. Well done, Hyundai! Original Review: We bought our 2022 Tucson PHEV Limited in March, and have put 6000 miles on it thus far. We’ve had many cars (this is car #22), mostly Hondas/Acuras; this is our first Hyundai, and it’s fantastic. So many high-end features, great hybrid mileage, and even in fully electric mode, it just zips right along. Very happy with this car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Nowhere near as fuel efficient as expected

Not A Fan, 03/14/2023
2022 Hyundai Tucson Plug-In Hybrid SEL 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo gas/electric plug-in hybrid 6A)
33 of 48 people found this review helpful

We bought the Tucson Ultimate Plug In. Definitely not what we expected. Overall a nice riding vehicle but that’s about it. Too many screen distractions. GPS is horrible - we were told we would need to upgrade the GPS at a cost of $400…we just got the car (new) 6 months ago. Ongoing discussion with Hyundai. Not good on fuel at all and we alternate using the battery. Drove it to Florida and it seemed we were constantly filling it. Only 53km on electric. Nowhere on cluster can you check oil life and even though using synthetic oil, has to be changed every 8,000km. Already had a thermostat replacement (9,000km in). Does not compare to our other car - a Honda Civic. Would not recommend to anyone nor would I buy another Hyundai.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: