Skip to main content

Used 2019 GMC Canyon Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$20,523 - $22,128

Used Canyon for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2019 Canyon, so we've included reviews for other years of the Canyon since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
1 out of 5 stars

Ridge line here we come

Mike, 08/31/2018
updated 09/06/2022
2018 GMC Canyon SLE 4dr Crew Cab LB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
45 of 45 people found this review helpful

Now has an oil leak at 40,000mi. Apparently very common on this model due to a poorly designed and shoddily constructed oil coolant lines. GM apparently not owning up to the problem. Not an expensive fix but a real reliability issue going forward. Wonder what other shortcuts might be lurking in this vehicle.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
7 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the GMC Canyon Elevation
View Offers
GMC.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. See your GMC dealer for details.

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Truck, 4 Cylinder diesel

Kelly, 08/20/2018
2018 GMC Canyon Denali 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

After 34 years in either Toyota, Lexus or Land Rover products I ventured out to GMC due to the available diesel engine (fuel economy), easier entry, better towing and incredible cabin comfort. This truck is as quiet as any Lexus I've been in and great ride comfort. I'm not into serious off-road driving anymore so the lower entry height is great. There is only 1 inch difference in ground clearance between my GMC and the Tacoma but it's definitely easier to get into for my wife when she's wearing heels. As for the turbo diesel it's performance is as good as any gas engine in it's class but add the extra torque and now I can tow up to 7600lbs but what's really amazing is averaging over 30 miles per gallon on the highway and 24 or better combined highway/city. My previous Land Rover required premium fuel so the upcharge for diesel is a wash. I figured the extra fuel economy will pay back the additional cost of the diesel engine is about 2 years. In other words this is a quiet, nice truck with great fuel economy, incredible payload all in a midsize truck package that is easier to park than full-size and draws looks wherever it goes. I definitely enjoy the better seating arrangements as the Tacoma always felt like you were sitting just above the floor even with the power seats. Technology wise this truck is way ahead of the Toyota as 4wheel disc brakes are standard on the GMC and Tacoma is still using drum brakes on the rear and no 4wheel disc brake is available.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2019 Crew Cab long box SLT

Michael, 10/15/2019
updated 04/22/2022
2019 GMC Canyon SLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I've had my Canyon for three months and I love it. I was driving a 2012 Sierra, but I was looking for something easier to maneuver and park and the Canyon is much better in that respect. Also, I'm not getting any younger, so I like the lower step in height. I will say that finding a Canyon configured like I wanted was quite a journey. Maybe 90% of the crew cab models have the short 5 foot box, and I wanted the 6 foot box. Plus I don't like black leather interiors, and nearly all have black. I was considering a factory order, but I finally found an emerald blue SLT 4WD with cocoa dune leather 350 miles away in a small town in Ohio. I really enjoy driving this truck! The ride is quiet and smooth, computer is showing 23 mpg. The V6 can really move. I'm impressed with the build quality. Seats are very comfortable, and the back seat area is roomy too. Much easier to park than my old truck, and its great in heavy traffic. The dash is laid out logically, with knobs where they are supposed to be on things that are supposed to have knobs. I don't have to hunt through a maze of buttons like I do with my wife's SUV. If I had to hunt for some gripes, here they are. Keep in mind that I consider these minor design issues. Rear view mirror visibility is limited with a small rear window. About half the view is the inside of the tailgate. Of course having a long bed contributes to that but the large screen HD back up camera helps a lot. The large front air dam is a little unsightly and limits ground clearance, but I don't plan on doing much off-roading anyway. Also, the way the hood is stamped, there is a surface that slopes back downward toward the windshield. This can result in some sun glare even if the sun is at a relatively high angle. Finally, the spare tire seems to be mounted so that most of it shows from the side. Great truck, I highly recommend it. UPDATE: After 15 months and 32000 miles, everything is fine. I have been on several 1000+ mile trips, rides smooth. Haven't towed anything yet. Update 4/22/22: now at 54,000 miles, original tires still look great. Had an issue with the transmission shuddering at highway speeds. Took it in to the GM dealer about 4 months ago, they said it was a known problem and a TSB bulletin had been issued by GM. The torque converter was not locking in properly due to the viscosity of the transmission fluid. The fluid was changed out and it's run perfectly ever since. I get a lot of compliments on the truck, especially the color and the combination of crew cab with a long box. Blue Emerald Metallic was offered only in 2019 and 2020 I believe.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Denali not necessarily the best value :

Tom, 01/16/2019
updated 07/17/2019
2018 GMC Canyon Denali 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

Denali overrated and overpriced when you consider the options. Very disappointed that my truck did not have the following: Front parking sensors, no homelink, (garage door opener) cross traffic sensors, power mirrors, no signal indicators in mirrors, running boards (standard on Denali) that are cumbersome to use (PIA) , no LED headlights. These are items I expected to be standard on the Denali and they were not. Buy the Canyon one model down and add the options you prefer and save yourself some $. Your paying a lot for the Denali name......jOn a more positive note I do really like the truck. Quite a good ride, good suspension, steering response very good, and the engine has plenty of power. Wish it had a better growl ! Kind of wimpy sounding. Oh, I almost forgot saying....the front collision avoidance system is a joke. It really does NOTHING meaningful to help avoid a collision. My 2017 Infinity QX 80 safety devices put this truck to shame.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best Canyon Yet

Tom, 02/13/2019
2019 GMC Canyon All Terrain 4dr Extended Cab 4WD SB (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
29 of 33 people found this review helpful

Sold my 2015 for a 2019 Canyon and very pleased with the improvements. The 8 speed AT shifts much smoother than my 6 speed in the 2015. The ride is also quieter in the 2019. The only suggestion I would give is to equip the All Terrain model with more active safety features.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: