Used 2009 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,950 - $7,989

Used Impala for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

great value

jtaft, 07/14/2012
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Got this car because it was roomy (I'm 6'4") and a solid price - I've owned since new, now have 42xxx miles on it - did have one warranty repair, had to replace the pass. side airbag, but other than that...no issues - the in car computer said I was averaging 26.5 mpg, I thought that was a little high, so I tracked it for a month myself and did the math, and I came up with 26.3, great milage with decent power...look, it doesn't handle the best, but it's not a sports car, it's not the most attractive car, but it's not a caddy - this is just simply good, solid, reliable transportation at a great price - love this car and would buy again in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

Great Daily Driver!

Michael George, 04/29/2016
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I've been using my 2009 LT impala for the past 4 years and other than a minor problem where one tire would consistently lose air pressure at a faster rate than the other tires I have not had a single problem. Fixing the tire issue also only took 1 day at the shop at an out cost of around $100. It definitely could be worse. Overall this car has served me extremely well whether I'm going to multi-day roadtrips or just driving in the city to school/work. I can't image what more I could ask for from a hand-me-down and I fully expect to use this car for atleast another 2 years before I look to trade it in for something a little faster and more fun.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It delivers

Joe Novak, 06/10/2016
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

It isn't sexy, it isn't fast. Fuel economy is ok but not great. More importantly, it's very comfortable, reasonably quiet, and spacious. Most eimportantly, it's been reliable and inexpensive to operate. It’s been turned in (company car) but never left me stranded and was reliable and exciting as your morning cup of coffee

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Best Impala since 1996

BigJon85, 08/06/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I got a Impala SS it was that or a Dodge Charger R/T for their fuel management systems. I love the car the gas mileage is awesome for a V8. I want a car that got the same gas mileage or better than my old car (3.0 L V6) with more power this car is it. The only regret I have is buying it where I did. The ride is great my and when you get into the gas it is so smooth it doesn't throw you back in seat but you can tell the power is there. I can get on the highway with a rough on ramp and never wake up my kids in the back. If you like power and mileage this car is it. The wheels are nice but I wouldn't prefer them. I love it so much I want a Monte Carlo SS same style and give the Impala to my wife.

Report Abuse

100% Pure Love!

levwop, 05/22/2013
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love this car it is so much fun to drive, it is an eye catcher! Have not done anything major to it besides oil changes etc the normal. The get up and go in this is amazing! When i found out they are not coming back with Impala SS in 2014, Very upset with Chevy on this! I will keep this car as a collector now bc they are not made anymoe 2009 was the last year this car was produced..

Report Abuse

No complaints, unexpected value

mhoffman2, 03/15/2011
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
19 of 22 people found this review helpful

After owning American, Japanese, Swedish and German automobiles, I unexpectedly purchased a 2009 Impala sitting on the dealer's showroom floor. The discount (25%with rebates) was too good to pass up. Included leather, moonroof, Sirrius radio, full power, traction control and 4 wheel disc brakes, remote start, upgraded alloy wheels. After 23,000 miles with only routine maintenance, the car has been great. According to the computer, we have averaged 25 mpg (29-31 on the highway). The trunk is huge and with the rear seat down is like a mid sized wagon. Reasonably smooth and quiet, has not changed since new. Would definitely recommend as a used car, particulary if under power train warranty.

Report Abuse

so far so good

Warren, 06/20/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Even though I just bought an SS model I found it to be very comfortable and quiet during driving. Gas mileage appears to be fair for now and my only hang-up would be the call for 91 octane for the best mileage/performance. On-Star system is tops in my book and the entire radio system is more than enough for the average adult. General quality is MUCH improved from these guys and no door rattling of any kind.

Report Abuse

Disappointed with Impala AGAIN . . .

drvmn, 01/27/2013
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 09' Implala new in February 2009. At around 50,000 miles, the head gaskets started leaking (fixed under GM's 100,000 mile warranty - faulty gaskets used by GM). Had to replace a transmission cooler line, I'm now on my third pair of front brake rotors, and even after a front-end allignment at the dealership, the front tires continue to wear out along the outer edge. I thought GM was better than this. Now at 66,000 miles, Check Engine light comes on due to a "gunked up" fuel injection system. Why put the fuel filter inside the tank where it can't be serviced on a regular basis??? This is my second Impala (my 05' had intake manifold gasket issues). I'm done with Impalas.

Report Abuse

Awesome SS

smczack1, 06/14/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my favorite car that I have ever owned! Combination of comfort and performance is just perfect. Fuel mileage is very good, considering there is 303 HP small block V-8 under the hood. I have significant back issues, and I am very comfortable after a couple hours in the drivers seat.

Report Abuse

Fun car to drive

Pat, 09/20/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Chevy SS is a great handling and performance car I am 71 yrs old but driving SS you fell like a teen again.

Report Abuse

Headrests overshadow all of the good

Patrick, 06/28/2010
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Everything I like abut this car is constantly overshadowed by the fact that the headrests protrude too far forward. It is not possible to sit back in the seat and up straight - even with the headrests extended to the max. - (and I am only 5'8"). I have called Chevrolet and have talked to two Chevy dealers. The Chevy help line would only say, "That's the way we engineered the car." The dealers said that they have had other complaints but they didn't have an answer for the problem. Both did not know that the headrests could not be adjusted forward and back.

Report Abuse

Bad Experience

taryn2013, 02/28/2013
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I am a current owner of a 2009 Chevy Impala. I purchased this car 2 1/2 years ago for a high price but I thought I was getting a reliable car that would last me a number of years. A year into owning it the problems began. My car continusely read service traction control, service airbags, and my check engine light was constantly on & off. I took it to 2 different garages and they could not figure out anything. I ended up at the Faulkner Chevy dealer. I ended up paying over $800 to get the air bags replaced, and a harness strap which had a bad connection. I am a young mother of 2 and NOT happy about this. GM does NOTHING to satisfy concerns or complaints

Report Abuse

At 78,000 miles, still drives like new

Melvin H Hoffman, 04/12/2015
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought this car primarily because I needed a reliable, reasonable efficient and large vehicle. At a discount of more than 20% it has proved thus far to be a bargain. Just put on new tires and brakes (although still had some pad left). Have changed oil and filters regularly, otherwise just drive it and maintain it. Only problems have been minor: ventilation door in dash needed replacement ($70); Dash in front has a crack from Florida sun (not unusual), replacement is about $120; otherwise no problems whatsoever. I also own a Mercedes (with $120 plus oil changes, crazy) and I prefer to drive this vehicle. In overall use it has averages more than 26 mpg, mostly local mileage.

Report Abuse

Shame on you Chevy **SHAME SHAME SHAME

Don, 03/16/2016
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

09 Impala, terrible engineering. And its no recall. It could be very expensive for some of you replacing sensors to finally replace the accelerator position sensor (pedal). I'm a tech and it had me stumped on my wife's car for 2 days. Did not buy or replace anything until I was sure I pinned it down. "Reduce engine power" "Service Traction Control" "Engine Light" codes P2122/P2138. Accelerator Position Pedal (APP) costed me $72 without any discount, 2 -10mm bolts & 5 minutes of my time. I'm a Chevy lover and this won't discourage me from any of my other Chevys or any future Chevys. Just don't believe it from the inside "quality control" side of it in our own American dealerships. ITS A REAL SHAME

Technology
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

LTZ! Reliable AND fun to drive!

OFFSTAR, 11/22/2010
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Driving this car is fun, Do not confuse the suspension on this car with that of the LS or the LT. Since I purchased this car I find myself taking more travel liberties and looking forward to the long drives. Acceleration is perfect with the active fuel 3.9 engine. I average 36 mpg on the highway AND that was manually calculated, not from the on-board computer (if I don't hot dog it). never less than 23 in town! I have only been to the dealer for maintenance and with 30k and no failures I am impressed and recommend this to anyone who wants some fun, reliability and great fuel mileage!

Report Abuse

constantly being fixed

rtfd, 11/26/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2011.Ihave replaced the transmission, steering rack, multiple sensers,the senser in the gas pedel i replaced 4 times, impossible to ever get all the warning lights off. I will never buy another GM product again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

alternator

amanda52, 03/09/2013
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Has anyone ever had there alternator go at 20,000k's. I own a 2009 Impala the alternator went and it is not covered by the warranty.The GM service people told me that these things happen,WOW I wonder what is going to happen next, I am in disbelief I had A Buick for 11 years and never replaced an alternator.I am so unhappy with GM.

Report Abuse

Smooth car

paul kay, 01/10/2009
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought my 09 impala 1/3/09 from Heinrich Chevy in Lockport,NY. Was looking for a cool car after my 07 Hyundai Sonata lemon was in the dealership every 2 weeks for problems. Go buy one, smooth ride, no engine noise, no road noise. Great on gas.29 MPG on a large v-6

Report Abuse

Big Bang For The Bucks

Robert Couture, 01/31/2009
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I replaced my 2004 Pontiac Bonneville with this Impala on 1/13/09. This car is a great value for the price, lots of nice options. Handles very well in the snow or on dry pavement. Build quality is high. This car provides roomy, comfortable, economical and reliable transportation.

Report Abuse

Love my Impala

Elle, 04/25/2009
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I drove almost every car before we purchased our 2008 Impala LTZ. I love it so much! The interior is beautiful, and the seats are really comfortable, I love my sun roof, and both of my boys have more than enough room in the back seat. The trunk is huge! We have an Eddie Bower stroller which is huge in itself and it fits in there with room to spare. We had to evacuate when hurricane Ike came through last year, we fit one pack&play, three suit cases, stroller, briefcase, big pack of diapers&wipes, small ice chest, dog food, toys, a portable baby swing, sheets and a comforter and it all fit, with more room in there. It drives so smooth and quiet! I recommend this to anyone!

Report Abuse

Love My Impala !!!!!!

Kenny Ray, 11/15/2009
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love this car, I owned a 2001 and when it was time to replace it, I gave the 2009 model a chance. Everyday I can't wait to get a chance to drive it. It commands attention everywhere I go with it. I love everything about this car, color, handling and the sound system (bose) I've always owned GM cars and mainly chevrolets and this is the best by far.

Report Abuse

No issuse until now

nickstjl, 08/30/2012
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was given my 09 impala as a graduation gift from my grandmother just a few months ago and it was a perfectly fine car until last week, i'm not sure if other people have these problems but I do and i makes me wanna sell the car at this point. First sometimes the key won't turn i have to physically move the steering wheel and push up in the shifter thing behind the steering wheel and then it will start, and the other problem i experience is that if I am waiting at a light or a stop sign for more then 10 seconds and i go to press the gas the break pedal sticks and the car revs up and burns gas. And when it dooes this the check engine light comes on for a split second, anyone else like this?

Report Abuse

Service ride

jimbo, 09/28/2010
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drive an average of 1000 miles per week at 70 mph most of the time @ 24 MPG. Since I bought it there have been no running gear or A/C problems. In fact greasing the doors and oil changes every 3k is all it has seen. It runs today as well as the day I drove it off the lot.

Report Abuse

Don't learn the hard way

mcollins19, 05/02/2012
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I would like to think of myself as an educated consumer, and after reading a lot about the Impala, I decided that it was a good mid-price sedan that would suite my needs. The interior is cheaply made, but functional, and the driving experience is less than impressive, but the car feels safe. The problem is with the reliablilty and support from GM. Since I have limited space to write this, I'll sum it up. The car is currently at 25k miles and has had a new torque converter, turbine shaft and valve body in the transmission, a new water pump, and the A/C is beginning to put out warm air. GM support (located overseas) has offered no warranty incentives and has been very dismissive. Buyer Beware

Report Abuse

Owned my 2009 since I purchased it brand new

Carm, 08/29/2016
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have about 50,000 miles on the car now and overall, I am content with the car. I believe with any mechanical item you own, you need some basic skills to do minor repairs to avoid the dealership and a garage where you know nobody. Repairs made to date by me: gas pedal replacement ($80), vent door blend control ($40), rear power door lock replacement ($75). Repairs done by someone who I knew: Head gasket replacement (about $300 including parts, heard that other owners had the same problem). Transmission fluid change ($100 and recommended highly after 50K). That is all the repairs I have completed to date today and overall, I'm happy owning the car. Time will tell if I remain happy :-)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A real performer.

Cee, 08/04/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We love our Impala. The best Chevy we have owned. No major problems in nine years. Replaced only brake pads and tires.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Should have done more research

Kathie, 11/28/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car is great looking and extremely comfortable. But.............we have replaced the rotors numerous times. We started getting a message to "tighten your gas cap" and shortly after that the check engine light stayed on. It's still on! Would not buy another Impala. 6/5/18 We have continued to replace the rotors and as we speak, the car is in the shop getting more new rotors installed. Also, we have had to replace the accuator numerous times. It has something to do with the doors and a fan right in the middle of the dashboard. It either starts knocking or growling. We have NEVER had these things happen on other cars - NEVER!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

DONT buy without reading this

garblooey@gmail.com, 04/20/2017
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

these 2009s have transmission problems to the extent that they should have been recalled! A solenoid goes bad and causes terrible slamming shifts, Chevy wont address it. Front brake rotors are TERRIBLE and go out on most of them. Chevy will replace the rotors at great expense with the same factory types that then go bad. I finally replaced them myself with aftermarket semi racing drilled and slotted rotors and have a great braking car . Amendment 10/17--- at 160,000 many things are gong bad. Steering pump ($450), heater venting controller ($800) Motor mounts, one cooling fan, seat belt sensor (again) accelerator pedal sensor and the transmission is worse. I will take a huge loss on this car. GM should be class action sued over the transmission and front rotors. Its running hot and gets terrible around town mileage. in the mid teens. Chevy says its all to specs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

what is wrong with chevrolet???

Catalinaaiden, 02/01/2016
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I hav 2009 impalla and have the same problem as everybody else the traction control light is dying on the freeway is not under warranty that they don't want to fix it the clicking noise in the dashboard went to dealership they wanted $950 to fix it and nothing is under warranty obviously is not something that the consumers are doing it's something that company did when they made this car but then they put a recall in for a key and needs to be redone but don't care about people having their vehicles dying on them on the freeway when they have children in the car can somebody answer me this question and what the hell is wrong with Chevrolet and why aren't they fixing these problems cuz everybody that has these cars have the same problem and what should we do

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

We're going 300,000 miles

Gregory, 09/12/2016
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2009 Impala 5 years ago with 28,000 miles on certified used car. Currently have 170,000 miles. I really have no complaints. Not much has gone wrong. Vacuum leak, $350., rear bushings that was causing a clunking noise in rear of car replaced, and just replaced ecm computer for $650. Rest has been regular and scheduled maintenance. Car still looks and drives like new. I learned working at an oil change place, the most important thing about car ownership is to replace your fluids at recommend intervals. And change oil every 3 to 6 thousand miles depending on usage. Update Sept 18, 2020. 188,000 miles. Still runs great. Starting to show her age. Getting some rust under drivers door. Michigan winters.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First time owner of Impala

2011franf, 09/25/2014
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

a friend who has a impala just like mind was having some issues with her car. on this edmunds.com site when i was reading some reviews about other people who had similiar issues with there impala.I was surprised to read the reviews..I purchased my impala in 2011 and one month later when driving home from work the check engine light, service traction control light, ABS light, service airbags light, and tire gage light all came on at the same time..needless to say i did not know what was going on. before I could get it into the shop the next day i was exiting the ramp to enter the freeway when suddenly the car accelerated on its own and slammed me into a brick wall.

Report Abuse

Short lived value

29karma13, 09/05/2012
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is one of those "seems to good to be true" kind of deals. When you purchase the deal just seems to be really good for what you get. But as soon as that warranty runs out... that is when you start paying for the car. At 36,000 miles it only has a 7.000 trade in value even if in mint condition. At 37,000 miles it is broke down in the middle of nowhere and even the onstar is unable to work to call for help. ( yes just 1000 miles after the warranty is out). I have put several sets of tires on this and had it aligned countless times because there is a problem that GM will not recognize with the suspension system. The people at goodyear told me that the impala is their best customers!

Report Abuse

great ride

louis, 08/02/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have the ss model which is great. Plenty of room Nice seats and this car drives real Nice and handles the road as expected if not better. As for gas its good but you don't buy the ss model for gas mileage right. I really enjoy driving again. Oh and I drive all day at work. If you buy an impala get the ss you wont be disappointed.

Report Abuse

Very Nice Car

BigDaddy, 09/23/2009
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

One of the roomiest cars I have owned in a long time. I am as comfortable in this car as I am in my Silverado Pick-up. I am over 6' tall and it is one of the few cars I have been in that I can't reach the pedals with the seat all the way back. Dealership was great. For the price, warranty and dealer support you cannot beat it.

Report Abuse

Super Car

XQQME, 03/18/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

always loved Chevy.I bought a 2009 left over when I found out they dropped the 8cy in 2010.I think there making a mistake again.My last Chevy was a 1994 SS. The gas mileage is acceptable for those of us that demand power when we step on the gas. I drove my car to and from Fla and NY right after I bought it.What a great ride.Lucky I didn't pick up a few speeding tickets along the way.The car handles great at above posted speed limits. I only stop overnight so I drive between 8-10 hrs on either leg.I was very comfortable the hole trip.Glad I bought it.

Report Abuse

Great American Built Car

Krehfeld2, 07/18/2010
LT2 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Buying a Chevy is warranted again. With the best warranty in the industry is the main reason I bought this car. The ride quality is amazing, Leather seats and Bose sound systems is great. Highway trips couldn't be better. 30+ MPG on a car that actually accelerates when you punch the gas is simply refreshing. Exterior styling is much better than in the past. Engine sounds fine tuned, and transmission shifts fluidly. I highly recommend this car for large people, leg room is high in quantity. I can fit my old cavalier in the trunk its so big. Dependable car, GM goodwrench stands by there product!

Report Abuse

My own Impala, not for everyone

greysky88, 10/16/2010
LT2 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this vehicle for about 6 weeks and so far it has been a pleasant and satisfying experience. I chose the impala because it has four doors, a 3.5 liter engine over the Ford's 3.0 liter, and it looks leaner and cooler than the Ford Fusion, before their redesign. Also the car was in my price range of under $15K. This is supposed to be a 2LT package but it does not have the heated mirrors or fog lamps. It has the moonroof, leather seats and spoiler. It has 16 inch wheels not 17. As for driving the car, it has been fun, turning is a little loose, and road vibrations are noticable. It has great HP and unobstructed viewing. For long trips it was pretty good, not a Cadillac but not bad.

Report Abuse

Problems with this Chevy

Kellie Leonard, 09/01/2015
LT2 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car used back in 2010 with average miles. Now on my 6th year everything is going wrong. Here's what went wrong and not under warranty seeing the five (5) years are up: 1.) Car won't shift out of drive into park. $300.00 visit to the Chevy Dealer to fix. 2.) ABS light, and reduced power light came on. Another $350.00 trip to the Chevy Dealer. 3.) Now a load tapping noise from the glove box area. Another $350.00 trip to the Chevy Dealer to fix. 2 of my 4 door locks don't work properly and my check air bag light is now going on. I can only wonder how much more this will cost me!!! Very disappointed in the quality of my Chevy Impala. Don't buy!

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Edison's nightmare

Jim Meyer, 08/05/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very poor electronics system. Chinese actuators have failed in the door locks, HVAC system, seat belt alarm system, DIC system, and the tire pressure monitor. Also leaky head gasket. Only drive benefits 8000 miles a year since 2011 purchase. GM has offered a 10% discount on repairs. That's a joke

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Inferior engineering and materials

Peck Mason, 03/31/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

No one maintains a car better than I do just the way it is. Problematic transmission solenoid valve, poorest quality wheel covers and Chevy emblems replaced all of each. Brake rotate of poor quality, I've replaced all four wheel bearings, car has always lost half a quart of oil every 3,500 miles. The car is just no match against my friends Camry with 285,000 miles and very little car. The cooling system on that car not flushed in 7 years is driving en 100 miles a day to work and home. Money pit do not purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor electrical reliability

Jim, 07/12/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I took my 2009 Chevy Impala over 250,000 miles but after the car turned 10 years old experienced a rash of electrical actuator failures. Three (3) of the remote door locks failed which I had to live with because the cost to fix was more than the car was worth. Apparently GM decided to use PLASTIC gears which become brittle and break over time. The HVAC actuator also had PLASTIC Gears that caused the vehicle to loudly tick (even after the keys were removed. Had to pay $160 to fix that defect). Car would go into limp mode due to a faulty Accelerator Actuator sensor (took me another $100 and an afternoon to DYI this failure). If it weren't for these avoidable actuator failures I'd give the car a 4 star due to the overall mechanical reliability. As of now I'll never buy a GM again.

Report Abuse

Poor electrical reliability

Jim, 07/12/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I took my 2009 Chevy Impala over 250,000 miles but after the car turned 10 years old experienced a rash of electrical actuator failures. Three (3) of the remote door locks failed which I had to live with because the cost to fix was more than the car was worth. Apparently GM decided to use PLASTIC gears which become brittle and break over time. The HVAC actuator also had PLASTIC Gears that caused the vehicle to loudly tick (even after the keys were removed. Had to pay $160 to fix that defect). Car would go into limp mode due to a faulty Accelerator Actuator sensor (took me another $100 and an afternoon to DYI this failure). If it weren't for these avoidable actuator failures I'd give the car a 4 star due to the overall mechanical reliability. As of now I'll never buy a GM again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Owner for 10 yrs no major repairs put 159,000 mile

Webtag , 03/16/2020
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best car I've owned since 2009 and had 3 Ford products the Chevy has outlast them !

Report Abuse

Owner for 10 yrs no major repairs put 159,000 mile

Webtag , 03/16/2020
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best car I've owned since 2009 and had 3 Ford products the Chevy has outlast them !

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What Idiot Re-Designed this [violative content deleted]

takeabreak, 07/04/2011
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 19 people found this review helpful

My dad has a 2005 Impala, with a V-6. It gets better gas mileage than the 2009, has more head room, has more shoulder room, more room through out the vehicle, I can clean the windshield in his, but this piece of junk. The rook line is lower, I bump my head while driving, entering or exiting the vehicle on the door seal area. I am only 6ft tall. With the stupid roof line being lower, objects, people and vehicles disappear behind the center review mirror when corenering.

Report Abuse

Dont buy this car(Pro Mechanic)

tommygee, 06/13/2009
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

This car is my worst nightmare. My friends said I downgraded from my 2000 buich century. In city, im loosing 8 mpg-on hwy-12-16 mpg. The steering is for a weightlifter--very difficult, hard. The high seats on passenger side& inside trim at rear, make blind spots, you cant see the cars coming on the right side. You ask--what about mirror? guess what, its so small, you can miss seeing traffic. Seats are very cheaply made, w/hardly any padding for comfort. And guess what---no glove box lock, or light to see, figure that. I was appealed by this car, by its looks, not as a car & don't want anyone to do this stupid action. If you take it home for 2 days---I promise you professionally--you will give it back.

Report Abuse

I love it so far

s2thep, 05/04/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Very nice ride, smooth & comfortable. Miles per gallon is low but I dont drive much. Zero Percent helped it make sense.

Report Abuse

Great car but could be better

outlook, 05/28/2009
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love the car. The gas mileage is a disappointment.(My 96 Caprice with the LT1 engine gets better gas mileage. The head rest is too far forward as it rubs my head all the time. The mirrors have limited visibility

Report Abuse

boat driving

Boat Driver, 07/14/2009
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got this care with 100 miles on it, new car...but it handles like a boat, you have to push the peddle in pretty dang hard to move the thing (i know its new but wow). also the things handles like a boat, i got caught by a cross wind and i did not move the steering wheel and the car starts swaying on the road like i moved the wheel, very uneasy. plus side is the interior is nice and there is plenty of room...other than that Chevy took a once awesome and fearsome car and turned it into the love boat.

Report Abuse

Solid, strong, reliable car

JHB, 04/24/2010
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

After my 00 Impala 3.5 racked up 250K miles I decided to buy another one. The 09 Impala LTZ has a tight responsive sport suspension that makes for a GREAT highway ride. Seat are vry comfortable leather. Door close with a solid clunk. Exhaust is finely tuned, sounds great. This 3.9 engine rocks with low end tourge. Put it on the floor from stop and you better hold on to the wheel. Engine sounds refined and tuned with the ohv design. Gas millage over 30 mpg if driven for economy on hwy. Avg 24 hwy/city. HUGE trunk. BOSE stereo sounds awesome. This care feels solid, drives solid and handles solid.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050